DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 20, 23, 25, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0022384; Note CN 202110055474 [“474”], attached, with all citations to translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Liu discloses a method for configuring a time domain position of a reference signal, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising and a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory (paragraphs 0348-0351; note also 474, page 58) having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the processor is configured to:
determining/determine an available symbol in a special slot, and acquiring a parameter configured and/or indicated by a base station; (Liu discloses a determination of a starting/first available symbol in a special slot is governed separately from other slot types in type A mapping rule, as the starting/first available symbol length may be directly configured [paragraph 0210-0213; see also 474, pages 40-42] or determined using a various calculation techniques unique to the special slot [paragraphs 0214-0226; see also 474, pages 40-42]. The location of the DMRS is then determined based on a parameter including the DMRS-TypeA-Position and the first available symbol and length of the special slot as discussed, supra, by offsetting/adding, from the starting/first available slot of the special slot, a number of symbols indicated by the parameter/dmrs-TypeA-Position plus 1 [i.e. the DMRS symbol offset value], as the parameter/dmrs-TypeA-Position starts at zero indicating an offset of one [paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43 – note that one is added dmrs-TypeA-Position to indicate the offset as the offset of dmrs-TypeA-Position is indicated starting at 0 such that, for example, “The value configured in “dmrs-TypeA-Position” is 2, indicating that a first symbol of PUSCH resources is for sending the DMRS” [paragraph 0230; see also 474, page 43].)
determining/determine a symbol resource for data communication in the special slot and at least one first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol offset value based on the parameter; and (paragraphs 0228-0232 – see (a), supra)
determining/determine a first time domain position of a DMRS based on a first available symbol in the symbol resource and the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value (paragraphs 0228-0232 – see (a), supra).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses determining the first time domain position of the DMRS based on the first available symbol in the symbol resource and the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value comprises determining a sum of a symbol numeral of the first available symbol in the symbol resource and each of the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value to obtain at least one first sum value and determining a symbol corresponding to a symbol numeral and each of the at least one first sum value as the first time domain position of the DMRS. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra, the position is determined by adding one to dmrs-TypeA-Position to compensate for the position starting at 0 to calculate the least one first DMRS symbol offset value and then adding that to the starting/first available symbol to determine the symbol for transmission [paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43].)
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the parameter comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) mapping type, wherein the PUSCH mapping type comprises a type A and a type B; a symbol length for data communication in the special slot a start symbol position for data communication in the special slot a DMRS-additional position (as discussed in the independent claim, supra, the parameter may comprise the starting position and length of the first/available symbol and the dmrs-TypeA-Position, which is an additional DMRS type a position for the special symbol, from which the offset is calculated and a type A mapping type [note type B mapping type is also discussed- paragraph 0120, see also 474, page 24] [paragraph 0210-0213; see also 474, pages 40-42; paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43].)
Regarding claim 5, Liu disclose determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value according to a mapping rule of a type A or a type B, wherein a PUSCH time domain type comprised in the parameter is the type A wherein a PUSCH time domain type is a type A (As discussed in the independent claim, supra, the symbol offset is determined from dmrs-TypeA-Position which is a mapping rule of type A [paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43; see also paragraph 0120, see also 474, page 24 – discussing the time-domain PUSCH types, type A and type B].)
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value comprises determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value based on a number of available symbols in the symbol resource and other parameters in the parameters other than the symbol length for data communication in the special slot. (Liu further discloses that the UE determines the special symbol offset value based on a number of available symbols, as the UE determines if the offset is to be used at all based on a sixth and seventh threshold, which determine if the first resource is to be used for PUSCH transmission in frequency hopping or frequency non-hopping modes [paragraphs 0205-0209, 404, pages 39-40 – if size is below seventh threshold, neither frequency hopping or non-hopping transmission is used].)
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses performing DMRS communication based on the first time domain position. (paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43 – the DMRS position is calculated based on the start/first time domain position and transmitted; see independent claim, supra).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses A method for configuring a time domain position of a reference signal, performed by a base station, comprising:
determining/determine an available symbol in a special slot, and acquiring a parameter configured and/or indicated by a base station; (Liu discloses a determination of a starting/first available symbol in a special slot is governed separately from other slot types in type A mapping rule, as the starting/first available symbol length may be directly configured [paragraph 0210-0213; see also 474, pages 40-42] or determined using a various calculation techniques unique to the special slot [paragraphs 0214-0226; see also 474, pages 40-42]. The location of the DMRS is then determined based on a parameter including the DMRS-TypeA-Position and the first available symbol and length of the special slot as discussed, supra, by offsetting/adding, from the starting/first available slot of the special slot, a number of symbols indicated by the parameter/dmrs-TypeA-Position plus 1 [i.e. the DMRS symbol offset value], as the parameter/dmrs-TypeA-Position starts at zero indicating an offset of one [paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43 – note that one is added dmrs-TypeA-Position to indicate the offset as the offset of dmrs-TypeA-Position is indicated starting at 0 such that, for example, “The value configured in “dmrs-TypeA-Position” is 2, indicating that a first symbol of PUSCH resources is for sending the DMRS” [paragraph 0230; see also 474, page 43]. Note that the base station/network device also performs the determinations to know the symbols for reception of the DMRS [paragraphs 195-0196, 474, page 37].)
determining/determine a symbol resource for data communication in the special slot and at least one first demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol offset value based on the parameter; and (paragraphs 0228-0232 – see (a), supra)
determining/determine a first time domain position of a DMRS based on a first available symbol in the symbol resource and the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value (paragraphs 0228-0232 – see (a), supra).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses determining the first time domain position of the DMRS based on the first available symbol in the symbol resource and the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value comprises determining a sum of a symbol numeral of the first available symbol in the symbol resource and each of the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value to obtain at least one first sum value and determining a symbol corresponding to a symbol numeral and each of the at least one first sum value as the first time domain position of the DMRS. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra, the position is determined by adding one to dmrs-TypeA-Position to compensate for the position starting at 0 to calculate the least one first DMRS symbol offset value and then adding that to the starting/first available symbol to determine the symbol for transmission [paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43].)
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses the parameter comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) mapping type, wherein the PUSCH mapping type comprises a type A and a type B; a symbol length for data communication in the special slot a start symbol position for data communication in the special slot a DMRS-additional position (as discussed in the independent claim, supra, the parameter may comprise the starting position and length of the first/available symbol and the dmrs-TypeA-Position, which is an additional DMRS type a position for the special symbol, from which the offset is calculated and a type A mapping type [note type B mapping type is also discussed- paragraph 0120, see also 474, page 24] [paragraph 0210-0213; see also 474, pages 40-42; paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43].)
Regarding claim 17, Liu disclose determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value according to a mapping rule of a type A or a type B, wherein a PUSCH time domain type comprised in the parameter is the type A wherein a PUSCH time domain type is a type A (As discussed in the independent claim, supra, the symbol offset is determined from dmrs-TypeA-Position which is a mapping rule of type A [paragraphs 0228-0232; see also 474, page 43; see also paragraph 0120, see also 474, page 24 – discussing the time-domain PUSCH types, type A and type B].)
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value comprises determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value based on a number of available symbols in the symbol resource and other parameters in the parameters other than the symbol length for data communication in the special slot. (Liu further discloses that the UE determines the special symbol offset value based on a number of available symbols, as the UE determines if the offset is to be used at all based on a sixth and seventh threshold, which determine if the first resource is to be used for PUSCH transmission in frequency hopping or frequency non-hopping modes [paragraphs 0205-0209, 404, pages 39-40 – if size is below seventh threshold, neither frequency hopping or non-hopping transmission is used].)
Regarding claim 23, Liu discloses receiving and demodulating the DMRS based on the first time domain position (Note that the base station/network device also performs the determinations to know the symbols for reception of the DMRS [paragraphs 195-0196, 474, page 37; paragraph 0118, 474, page 24 – reception and demodulation of DMRS and data].)
Regarding claim 25, Liu discloses configuring and/or indicating the parameter to a UE (see independent claim, supra, regarding the parameters; paragraph 0241, 474, page 44 – base station sends the parameters to the UE).
Regarding claim 26, Liu discloses sending at least one of a slot format indicator (SFI) dynamic indication signaling or a semi-persistent slot format configuration signaling to a UE. (paragraph 0164, 474, page 33 –“ The network device may semi-statically or dynamically configure the slot format for the terminal”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0022384; Note CN 202110055474 [“474”], attached, with all citations to translation) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Jung, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0150987; note KIPO 10-2020-0150450 [“450”], attached, with all citations to translation)
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the UE is singled an unavailable symbol from the special slot based on a slot format indicator (SFI) dynamic indication signaling and/or a semi-persistent slot format configuration signaling (UE is semi-statically or dynamically configured with slot format [paragraph 0164, 474, page 33 –“ The network device may semi-statically or dynamically configure the slot format for the terminal”]. The slot format indicates the unavailable portions including guard periods in the special slots [paragraph 0113-0114; 474, page 24].)
Liu fails to disclose determining an unavailable symbol from the special slot determining an available symbol in the special slot comprises determining an unavailable symbol from the special slot determining the available symbol to be a symbol in the special slot other than the unavailable symbol wherein the unavailable symbol comprises a guard interval symbol used by downlink to uplink conversion. In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses determining the available symbol in the special slot comprises: determining an unavailable symbol from the special slot determining the available symbol to be a symbol in the special slot other than the unavailable symbol wherein the unavailable symbol comprises a guard interval symbol used by downlink to uplink conversion. (Although Jung relates to transmitting PRACH, it still shows that the PUSCH of the special slot, which contains the DMRS in Liu, should have a starting/first available symbol determined to be after unavailable symbols such as the GT/guard period and the CP [paragraph 0259 and fig. 21 - GT/guard period and cyclic prefix before sending PUSCH; paragraph 0263 – allocation relates to TDD configuration, indicating the guard time in the special slot is UL/DL switching time; note also 450, drawing 21 [in Korean document, drawing does not need translation] and page 12]).
Therefore, since Jung discloses start determination based on unavailable guard interval and Liu discloses the UE may calculate the special slot start, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the start determination of Jung with the system of Liu by having the terminal determine the start of the special subframe and PDSCH based on excluding unavailable symbols, such as a guard period/interval for UL/DL switching. The motive to combine is to allow for successful transmission by respecting a guard period necessary for transceiver reconfiguration so the terminal will be ready to transmit the PUSCH when the symbol is scheduled.
Regarding claim 15, Liu fails to disclose determining the available symbol in the special slot comprises: determining an unavailable symbol from the special slot determining the available symbol to be a symbol in the special slot other than the unavailable symbol wherein the unavailable symbol comprises a guard interval symbol used by downlink to uplink conversion. In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses determining the available symbol in the special slot comprises: determining an unavailable symbol from the special slot determining the available symbol to be a symbol in the special slot other than the unavailable symbol wherein the unavailable symbol comprises a guard interval symbol used by downlink to uplink conversion. (Although Jung relates to transmitting PRACH, it still shows that the PUSCH of the special slot, which contains the DMRS in Liu, should have a starting/first available symbol determined to be after unavailable symbols such as the GT/guard period and the CP [paragraph 0259 and fig. 21 - GT/guard period and cyclic prefix before sending PUSCH; paragraph 0263 – allocation relates to TDD configuration, indicating the guard time in the special slot is UL/DL switching time; note also 450, drawing 21 [in Korean document, drawing does not need translation] and page 12]).
Therefore, since Jung discloses start determination based on unavailable guard interval, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the start determination of Jung with the system of Liu by having the base station determine the start of the special subframe and PDSCH based on excluding unavailable symbols, such as a guard period/interval for UL/DL switching. The motive to combine is to allow for successful transmission by respecting a guard period necessary for transceiver reconfiguration so the terminal will be ready to receive the signal and successfully receive it.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 10 and 22, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose determining the first time domain position of the DMRS based on a position of the first available symbol in the symbol resource and the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value comprises:
determining that a time domain position beyond the symbol resource exists in the at least one time domain position, discarding the time domain position beyond the symbol resource in the at least one time domain position to obtain a remaining time domain position, and determining the remaining time domain position as the first time domain position of the DMRS; and
determining that no time domain position beyond the symbol resource exists in the at least one time domain position, and determining the at least one time domain position as the first time domain position of the DMRS.
That is, the closest prior art of Liu gives little guidance of how to determine the position of the DMRS, let alone performing the discarding and determination steps stated here. Furthermore, no other art teaching this limitation could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose before determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value based on the parameter configured and/or indicated by the base station, further comprising:
determining at least one second DMRS symbol offset value in the special slot based on the parameter, determining a sum of a symbol numeral of the first symbol in the symbol resource and each second DMRS symbol offset value to obtain at least one second sum value, and determining a symbol corresponding to a symbol numeral and each second sum value as a second time domain position of the DMRS;
determining that the second time domain position satisfies a preset condition, and determining the at least one first DMRS symbol offset value based on the parameter,
wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of:
the second time domain position conflicting with an unavailable symbol in the special slot, and the second time domain position being not located on the available symbol; and
determining that the second time domain position does not satisfy the preset condition, and performing the DMRS communication based on a time domain position located on the available symbol of the special slot in the second time domain position
That is, as was the case with claim 11, the closest prior art of Liu gives little guidance of how to determine the position of the DMRS, let alone performing the discarding and determination steps stated here. Furthermore, no other art teaching this limitation could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Su, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2025/0286673) – disclosing DMRS position relative to a starting position in a special slot
Khoshnevisan, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0227564) – disclosing placement of DMPR in PDSCH at a first occastion
Hu, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0218539) – disclosing offset DMRS type A transmission
R1-2205351 (Author Unknown, FL Summary of joint channel estimation for PUSCH and PUCCH, Doc. No. R1-2205351, pages 1-63, 20 May 2022) – disclosing briefly DMRS position in special subframes, page 62
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466