DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Palve does not disclose “a lens disposed at an uppermost end of the first area is coupled by an adhesive to a lens disposed at a lowermost end of the second area, the plurality of lenses disposed in the first area are coupled to each other along an optical axis direction, an outer surface of the lens holder includes a protrusion projecting in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction, an adhesive portion is disposed between the protrusion and an upper surface of the housing, a length of the housing in the optical axis direction is greater than a length from a top of the first area to a bottom surface of the housing, a length from a bottom surface of the protrusion to the top of the first area is smaller than the length from the top of the first area to the bottom surface of the housing, and a length of the first area in the optical axis direction is greater than one- tenth of a total length of the lens holder in the optical axis direction”, however, Applicant fails to make reference to any of the prior rejection that addressed these features.
Applicant argues that Palve modified by Mei fails to disclose “the overall housing length is greater than a defined internal reference length (L1 > L2), the distance between the protrusion and the first area satisfies a specific inequality (L3 < L2), or the first area occupies at least a predetermined proportion (≥ 1/10) of the lens holder length” , however, Applicant fails to make reference to any of the prior rejection that addressed these features.
As noted in the prior rejection of claim 5 Palve teaches wherein a length of the housing, relative to an optical axis direction, is longer than a length from a top of the first area to a bottom of the housing (as shown in the annotated figure 6, above, the housing extends past the top of the first area and therefore the length of the housing is greater than the length from the top of the first area to the bottom of the housing), this corresponds to (L1 > L2); in the prior rejection of claim 7, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu teaches wherein a length from a bottom of the protrusion to a top of the first area, relative to the optical axis direction, is less than a length from the top of the first area to a bottom of the housing (because the protrusion is set on the top of the lens holder and the top of the first area is in the upper half of the length of the lens holder, the distance between the top of the first area to the bottom of the protrusion must be less than a length from the top of the first area to the bottom of the housing), this corresponds to (L3<L2); and in the prior rejection of claim 8, Palve discloses wherein a length of the first area is greater than one-tenth of a length of the lens holder (figure 6 shows that the length of the first area is greater than one-tenth the length of the lens holder in the optical axis direction), this corresponds to (≥ 1/10).
As Applicant provided no arguments as to why Palve in view of Mei and Lu fails to teach these features, this argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., reduction of movement of lenses under mechanical or thermal stress) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In view of the foregoing, the examiner is not persuaded and therefore the claims stand rejected as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 12-15, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palve et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0357546), hereinafter referenced as Palve, in view of Mei et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0279097), hereinafter referenced as Mei, and further in view of Lu et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0019940), hereinafter referenced as Lu.
Regarding claim 1, Palve discloses a camera module comprising: a housing including a first space (figure 6 exhibits lens holder 202 with an open central space as disclosed at paragraph 35); a lens holder which that is disposed at least partially in the first space and includes a second space (figure 6, as annotated exhibits lens barrel 100 disposed in holder 202 and which includes a central second space as disclosed at paragraph 35); a lens module which that is disposed in the second space and includes a plurality of lenses (figure 6 exhibits a plurality of lenses disposed in the lens barrel); and a printed circuit board which that is disposed under the housing and has an image sensor disposed on the upper surface thereof (figure 6 exhibits PCB 204 which includes an image sensor as disclosed at paragraph 35), the image sensor being aligned with the lenses (figure 6 shows that the sensor is aligned with the lenses), wherein the second space includes a first area having a first cross-sectional area and a second area having a second cross-sectional area greater than the first cross-sectional area (figure 6, as annotated below shows an lower area with a smaller cross-sectional area than an upper area), wherein the plurality of lenses includes an outermost lens disposed in the second area, a lowermost lens disposed in the first area, and a plurality of central lenses disposed between the outermost lens and the lowermost lens, and wherein a portion of the plurality of the central lenses is disposed in the first area, and another portion of the plurality of the central lenses is disposed in the second area (figure 6, as annotated below shows uppermost and lowermost lenses with a plurality of central lenses, a portion of which are in the first area and a portion of which are in the second area), wherein an inner surface of the lens holder is provided with an inwardly protruding staircase, and the first area is formed on an inner side of the staircase (figure 6 shows that the lens barrel has an inwardly protruding staircase for the different sized lenses), wherein each of cross-sectional areas of lenses disposed in the first area is smaller than each of cross-sectional areas of the lenses disposed in the second area (figure 6 shows that a cross-sectional area of the top area lenses is greater than a cross-sectional areas of the bottom area lenses), and wherein the plurality of lenses disposed in the first area are coupled to each other along an optical axis direction (figure 6 exhibits the lenses coupled together via the lens barrel), wherein a length of the housing, in the optical axis direction, is greater than a length from a top of the first area to a bottom of the housing (as shown in the annotated figure 6, above, the housing extends past the top of the first area and therefore the length of the housing is greater than the length from the top of the first area to the bottom of the housing), wherein a length of the first area in the optical axis direction is greater than one-tenth of a total length of the lens holder in the optical axis direction (figure 6 shows that the length of the first area is greater than one-tenth the length of the lens holder in the optical axis direction).
However, Palve fails to disclose wherein a lens disposed at an uppermost end of the first area is coupled by an adhesive to a lens disposed at a lowermost end of the second area, wherein an outer surface of the lens holder includes a protrusion projecting in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, wherein a length from a bottom surface of the protrusion to the top surface of the first area is smaller than the length from the top of the first area to the bottom surface of the housing.
Mei is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Mei teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of ensuring that lenses remain properly spaced after calibration thereby ensuring proper focusing of the lens system would have prompted a predictable variation of Palve by applying Mei’s known principal of providing an adhesive that bonds the lens disposed at an uppermost end of the first area and the lens disposed at a lowermost end of the second area (figure 1 adhesive 300 applied between two surfaces of two lenses as disclosed at paragraph 90). When applying this known technique to Palve, it would have been obvious to glue the lenses at the edge of the first and second areas in order to ensure that the lenses in each respective area remain aligned even though they are different in size thereby compensating for any defects of the lens barrel during the manufacturing process.
In view of the motivations such as ensuring that lenses remain properly spaced after calibration thereby ensuring proper focusing of the lens system one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Palve.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Palve in view of Mei fails to disclose wherein an outer surface of the lens holder includes a protrusion projecting in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, wherein a length from a bottom surface of the protrusion to the top surface of the first area is smaller than the length from the top of the first area to the bottom surface of the housing.
Lu is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Lu teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of allowing for angular adjustment while providing a secure fit between the lens barrel and the lens holder would have prompted a predictable variation of Palve by applying Lu’s known principal of an outer surface of the lens holder includes a protrusion projecting in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, wherein an adhesive is disposed between the protrusion and an upper surface of the housing (figure 2 shows an outer surface of the lens barrel having a protrusion including axial face 34 which faces axial face 32 of the lens holder and has an adhesive 30 placed between the axial faces; paragraph 44 teaches that the adhesive is an epoxy). When applying this known technique to the camera module taught by Palve, the combination further discloses wherein a length from a bottom of the protrusion to the top of the first area, is smaller than the length from the top of the first area to a bottom of the housing (because the protrusion is set on the top of the lens holder and the top of the first area is in the upper half of the length of the lens holder, the distance between the top of the first area to the bottom of the protrusion must be less than a length from the top of the first area to the bottom of the housing).
In view of the motivations such as allowing for angular adjustment while providing a secure fit between the lens barrel and the lens holder one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of allowing for angular adjustment while providing a secure fit between the lens barrel and the lens holder.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, in addition, Lu discloses wherein the adhesive is an epoxy (paragraph 44 teaches that the adhesive is an epoxy).
Regarding claim 9, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, in addition, Palve discloses wherein at least a portion of the lens holder is screwed into the first space (figure 6 exhibits threads which allow the lens barrel to be screwed into the lens holder as disclosed at paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 12, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, in addition, Palve discloses wherein a top of the first area is located higher than a position corresponding to 1/10 of a total length of the lens holder based on an optical axis direction (figure 6 exhibits wherein the top of the first area is higher than an area which corresponds to the lowest 1/10 of the total length of the lends holder in the optical axis direction).
Regarding claim 13, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, in addition, Palve discloses comprising an adhesive portion disposed between the housing and the printed circuit board (figure 6 shows a glue joint between the housing and the circuit board).
Regarding claim 14, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 13, in addition, Palve discloses wherein, based on an optical axis direction, a length from a top of the housing to a top of the first area is shorter than a length from the top of the first area to a bottom of the housing (figure 6, as annotated above, exhibits wherein the top of the first area is below the top of the housing and in the upper half of the housing), therefore the length from the top of the housing to the top of the first area is less than the length of from the top of the first area to a bottom of the housing).
Regarding claim 15, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, in addition, Palve discloses wherein an upper surface of the outermost lens protrudes upward beyond an upper surface of the lens holder (figure 4 shows that the top of the top lens protrudes beyond the upper surface of the lens barrel).
Regarding claim 21, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, in addition, Palve discloses wherein the staircase is integrally formed with the lens holder (figure 6 shows that the staircase is an interior side of the lens holder).
Regarding claim 23, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, in addition, Palve discloses wherein the first area and the second area are coaxially aligned along the optical axis direction (figure 6 shows that the lens groups and their respective areas are coaxially aligned on the optical axis).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palve in view of Mei in view of Lu and further in view of Inaba et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0146777), hereinafter referenced as Inaba.
Regarding claim 22, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, however, Palve fails to disclose wherein the adhesive coupling the lenses has a ring-shaped cross section.
Palve in view of Mei discloses an adhesive coupling lenses with an unknown cross section. Inaba discloses an adhesive for coupling optical components with a ring-shaped cross section (fig. 8 exhibits adhesive 40 which has a ring-shaped cross section). Because both Palve in view of Mei and Inaba teach adhesive mediums for coupling optical components, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the adhesive for coupling optical components with a ring-shaped cross section taught by Inaba for the adhesive taught by Palve in view of Mei to achieve the predictable result of locking optical components in alignment with each other.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palve in view of Mei in view of Lu and further in view of Handshaw et al (United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0083732), hereinafter referenced as Handshaw.
Regarding claim 24, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, however, Palve fails to disclose wherein the lens holder is formed of a plastic material and the housing is formed of a metal material.
Handshaw is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Handshaw teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of providing a housing which can protect the image sensor and a non-conductive lens barrel would have prompted a predictable variation of Palve by applying Handshaw’s known principal of the lens holder is formed of a plastic material (paragraph 26 teaches that the lens barrel is made of plastic) and the housing is formed of a metal material (paragraph 28 teaches that the chassis 70 is made of a metal material).
In view of the motivations such as providing a housing which can protect the image sensor and a non-conductive lens barrel one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Palve.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palve in view of Mei in view of Lu and further in view of Horiuchi et al (United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0349475), hereinafter referenced as Horiuchi.
Regarding claim 25, Palve in view of Mei and further in view of Lu discloses the camera module of claim 1, however, Palve fails to disclose an infrared filter disposed between the lens module and the image sensor.
Horiuchi is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Horiuchi teaches a camera module wherein the motivation of improving image quality by blocking infrared light would have prompted a predictable variation of Palve by applying Horiuchi’s known principal of providing an infrared filter disposed between the lens module and the image sensor (figure 1A exhibits infrared cut filter between the lens module and the image sensor as disclosed at paragraph 34).
In view of the motivations such as improving image quality by blocking infrared light one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Palve.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0103120) discloses a lens module for a camera.
Conclusion
JASON A. FLOHRE
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/JASON A FLOHRE/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637