Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 8 of the Remarks comprises an argument regarding Matsuyama’s power control device 330 not reading on the claimed “gateway” for managing a local communications network for access to a remote communications network. Pages 8 and 9 also comprise arguments regarding the Examiner’s assertion that Matsuyama teaches a remote communications network.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments. The limitation, “the local communications network being managed by a gateway for access to a remote communications network”, is broadly claimed as “for access”, which does not require a specific type of access. The devices of Matsuyama’s local communications network (electric devices, master, and slaves) are accessible to the devices represented by the remote communications network (electric company, and devices 320, 340, 350) by way of power control device 330. Having “access” to receive/provide power via the power control device reads on the claimed “for access”.
As detailed in the rejection (Paragraphs 296-302, Figure 29), power control device 330 controls the power received from a power company, an electricity generating device 320, and an electricity storage device 340 to manage the power distribution within the home network of devices (i.e. electric devices 21-30). The power and information communicated by the power company, electricity storage device 340, and electricity generating device 320 read on the broadly claimed “remote communications network” as it is a network of devices capable of communicating.
Page 9 of the Remarks comprises arguments that Matsuyama’s gateway is not being implemented as a gateway having WAN access functionality. It is noted that “WAN access functionality” is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the installation”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the term installation is introduced in claim 16, and not claim 1, which claim 19 is dependent upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11-13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuyama et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0141442.
Per Claim 1, Matsuyama discloses:
a method of managing the power consumption of a local communications network (LAN) (home network 100 (Fig. 1) or home network 300 (Fig. 29)) to which at least one piece of user equipment is connected (electric devices 21-30), the local communications network (LAN) being managed by a gateway (GW) (power control device 330) for access to a remote communications network (WAN) (Paragraphs 296-302, Figure 29; Power control device 330 controls the power received from a power company, an electricity generating device 320, and an electricity storage device 340 to manage the power distribution within the home network of devices (i.e. electric devices 21-30. The power and information communicated outside of the electric devices, slaves, and master are considered a remote communications network to these respective devices.), wherein the method is implemented by the gateway (GW) and comprises:
obtaining at least one piece of information relating to at least one power supply source for the local communications network (LAN) (Paragraph 21; “power outage information” refers to a power source provided by a power company. Paragraphs 21 and 22; “power stored in the electricity storage device” represents an amount of power stored in a battery (340) resident to the household.);
obtaining at least one piece of information relating to a power consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment (Paragraph 22; “recalculates power stored in the electricity storage device and the power consumption of electric devices”; Paragraphs 89-90, 130, 131; Master 1 receives power usage states of the electric devices 21-30. Power control device 330 receives this information from master 1/1A to perform the actions described in Paragraph 309 (i.e. “determining whether the sum of power…is larger than the power consumption of the electric devices 21 to 30 in the house 200”.).;
and a command for modifying the power consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment and/or the at least one power supply source according to the information obtained (Paragraphs 19-22 and 301-303; Note: The and/or language only requires the prior art to teach one of the limitations to anticipate the claim. In this example, Matsuyama teaches both in limiting the power supplied to electric devices and also teaches using power stored in an electricity storage device 340 to supply power to those devices deemed vital/priority to the residents of the house.),
the modification command depending on a priority level and/or an individual power consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment (Paragraph 19; “Preferably, in case of power outage, the power control device controls k modules (k is a positive integer that satisfies k.ltoreq.n) provided corresponding to k electric devices necessary to sustain the lives of the residents so that power stored in the electricity storage device is supplied to the k electric devices.” – Paragraph 21 “controls power supply from the electricity storage device to an electric device with the usage priority higher than a reference value”. – Paragraphs 301-303; In the case of a power outage, power control device 330 detects priority devices, such as a refrigerator, and taps into the power stored in a local power storage device 340 to supply power to those vital devices within the home.).
Per Claim 3, Matsuyama discloses the method of managing power consumption according to claim 1, wherein the command for modifying the power consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment is selected from (Note: only one of the listed limitations needs to be taught by the prior art to anticipate the claim.): a command for shutting down the at least one piece of equipment according to said the priority level and/or the individual consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment; a command for putting the at least one piece of equipment on standby according to the priority level and/or the individual consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment (Paragraphs 19, 29, and 350-352; Devices deemed not necessary in the case of a power outage can have the power supplied to them limited to zero if there is not enough power stored in the power storage device 340 for providing power to the higher priority electric devices deemed to be more necessary to the users of the household.); and a command for reactivating the at least one piece of equipment.
Per Claim 4, Matsuyama discloses the method of managing power consumption according to claim 1, wherein the command for modifying the at least one power supply source is selected from (Note: only one of the listed limitations needs to be taught by the prior art to anticipate the claim.): a command for putting into service another power supply source (Paragraphs 19-21 and 298-302, Figure 29; In the event of a power outage, power stored in storage device 340 can be distributed to electric devices 21-30 based on their priority.); a command for planned outage of the at least one power supply source.
Per Claim 8, Matsuyama discloses a processing circuit (computer 600) comprising a processor (CPU 601) and a memory (ROM 602), the memory storing program code instructions of a computer program product for implementing the method for managing a power consumption (Paragraphs 365-366; The ROM 602 stores a program including the flowchart shown in Figures 10, 20, 22, 24, 28, 31, and 38.) according to claim 1 (Please refer to the above rejection of Claim 1), when the computer program is executed by the processor (Paragraph 366; “The CPU 601 reads out and executes the respective programs stored in the Rom 602”).
Per Claim 9, Matsuyama discloses:
a device (Paragraphs 363-367, Figure 39; Computer 600 represents a “device” capable of implementing the teachings of the invention.) for managing a power consumption of a local communications network (LAN) (home network 100 (Fig. 1) or home network 300 (Fig. 29)) to which at least one piece of equipment (electric devices 21-30) is connected, the local communications network (LAN) being managed by a gateway (GW) (power control device 330) for access to a remote communications network (Paragraphs 296-302, Figure 29; Power control device 330 controls the power received from a power company, an electricity generating device 320, and an electricity storage device 340 to manage the power distribution within the home network of devices (i.e. electric devices 21-30. The power and information communicated outside of the electric devices, slaves, and master are considered a remote communications network to these respective devices.), wherein the management device comprises:
a first module for obtaining at least one piece of information relating to at least one power supply source for the local communications network (LAN) (Paragraph 21; “power outage information” refers to a power source provided by a power company. Paragraphs 21 and 22; “power stored in the electricity storage device” represents an amount of power stored in a battery (340) resident to the household. Note: paragraph 51 of the instant Specification defines “module” as being any combination of hardware and software components. Matsuyama teaches program(s) for performing the teachings of the invention.);
a second module for obtaining at least one piece of information relating to a power consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment (Paragraph 22; “recalculates power stored in the electricity storage device and the power consumption of electric devices”; Paragraphs 89-90, 130, 131; Master 1 receives power usage states of the electric devices 21-30. Power control device 330 receives this information from master 1/1A to perform the actions described in Paragraph 309 (i.e. “determining whether the sum of power…is larger than the power consumption of the electric devices 21 to 30 in the house 200”.); and
a command module for modifying the power consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment and/or the at least one power supply source according to the information obtained (Paragraphs 19-22 and 301-303; Note: The and/or language only requires the prior art to teach one of the limitations to anticipate the claim. In this example, Matsuyama teaches both in limiting the power supplied to electric devices and also teaches using power stored in an electricity storage device 340 to supply power to those devices deemed vital/priority to the residents of the house.), the command module being configured to take into account a priority level and/or an individual power consumption level of the at least one piece of equipment (Paragraph 19; “Preferably, in case of power outage, the power control device controls k modules (k is a positive integer that satisfies k.ltoreq.n) provided corresponding to k electric devices necessary to sustain the lives of the residents so that power stored in the electricity storage device is supplied to the k electric devices.” – Paragraph 21 “controls power supply from the electricity storage device to an electric device with the usage priority higher than a reference value”. – Paragraphs 301-303; In the case of a power outage, power control device 330 detects priority devices, such as a refrigerator, and taps into the power stored in a local power storage device 340 to supply power to those vital devices within the home.).
Per Claims 11 and 12, please refer to the above rejection of claims 3 and 4, respectively, as the limitations are substantially similar and the mapping of the reference to the limitations is equally applicable.
Per Claim 13, Matsuyama discloses a gateway (power control device 330) of a local communications network configured to manage the local communications network (Fig. 29; LAN consisting of electric devices, slaves, and master) to which at least one piece of equipment is connected (electric devices 21-30), the gateway being a device for managing power consumption according to claim 9 (Please refer above to the rejection of claim 9.).
Per Claim 18, Matsuyama discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the command for modifying the at least one power supply source comprises selecting or deselecting an energy supplier for a period of time (Paragraph 322; “The power outage information includes a beginning time of the power outage and a duration time thereof.”).
Per Claim 20, Matsuyama discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the modification command is a command to use a local alternative energy source to supply the at least one piece of user equipment (Paragraphs 19-22 and 301-303; Note: Using power stored in an electricity storage device 340 to supply power to those devices deemed vital/priority to the residents of the house.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-7, 10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0141442 in view of Lewin et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0060017.
Per Claim 2, Matsuyama does not specifically teach the method of managing power consumption according to claim 1, wherein the modification command further depends on a cost threshold associated with an energy power level supplied by at least one power supply source external to the local communications network (LAN).
However, Lewin similarly teaches an electronic power management device 150 for controlling power to connected electronic devices 166 within a local network connection (see Figure 1 and solid line power connections) and also providing access to a remote communications network (Figure 1; via network 102).
Lewin further teaches the limitations not taught by Matsuyama, the modification command further depends on a cost threshold associated with an energy power level supplied by at least one power supply source external to the local communications network (LAN) (Paragraph 46: “In addition to providing useful information at varying levels of granularity, the technology may manage the consumption of power of particular devices to boost the efficiency of power utilization for individuals as well as energy companies. For instance, the technology may modify typical utilization patterns of devices in a variety of ways. In another aspect, the systems and methods may communicate with power suppliers and consumers to coordinate non-essential (e.g., charging of electronic devices, charging of batteries) power usage to periods of low demand. Similar to aspects mentioned above, this may diminish the impact of power interruption events as well as significantly reduce individual energy costs for consumers.” Paragraph 54; Information such as home power usage, scheduled power outages, and energy pricing information is used in making power consumption decisions.).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the energy cost teachings of Lewin within the power management system of Matsuyama because knowing energy pricing data is useful in scheduling the consumption of energy to non-peak time periods when there is lower demand in order to reduce individual energy costs for consumers (Lewin; paragraph 25).
Per Claim 5, Matsuyama discloses the method of managing power consumption according to claim 2, wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the at least one power supply source belongs to a group comprising (Note: Only one of the listed limitations needs to be taught by the prior art to anticipate the claim due to the “at least one of” limitation.):
a piece of information relating to the energy power level supplied by the at least one power supply source (Paragraph 21; “based on power stored in the electricity storage device”);
a piece of information relating to a time limit for the availability of the energy power level supplied by the at least one power supply source;
a piece of information relating to a cost associated with the energy power level supplied by the at least one external power supply source; and
a piece of information relating to a supply incident involving the external energy source (Paragraph 21; Power outage information).
Per Claim 6, Matsuyama discloses that the power control device preliminarily holds power outage information (Paragraph 21), but does not specifically state that this information is received from an information platform relating to the power supply from the remote communications network.
However, Lewin teaches receiving scheduled power outage information from a power company (Paragraphs 3 and 54), which represents an information platform relating to the power supply from the remote communications network.
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Lewin’s power outage information communication teaching within the system of Matsuyama because it allows for pre-emptive action by a user to obtain secondary power means to alleviate inconveniences caused by power outages (Lewin, Paragraph 3).
Per Claim 7, Matsuyama discloses the method of managing power consumption according to claim 5, wherein the at least one piece of information relating to the at least one power supply source is obtained from a message received from a piece of equipment of the local communications network (LAN) comprising an internal power supply source configured to supply the at least one piece of equipment of the local communications network (LAN) (Paragraph 21; “based on power stored in the electricity storage device” represents an amount of power stored within backup battery power supply 340.).
Per Claim 10, Matsuyama does not specifically teach the management device according to claim 9, wherein the command module is further configured to take into account a cost threshold associated with an energy power level supplied by at least one power supply source external to the local communications network (LAN).
However, Lewin similarly teaches an electronic power management device 150 for controlling power to connected electronic devices 166 within a local network connection (see Figure 1 and solid line power connections) and also providing access to a remote communications network (Figure 1; via network 102).
Lewin further teaches the limitations not taught by Matsuyama, the modification command further depends on a cost threshold associated with an energy power level supplied by at least one power supply source external to the local communications network (LAN) (Paragraph 46: “In addition to providing useful information at varying levels of granularity, the technology may manage the consumption of power of particular devices to boost the efficiency of power utilization for individuals as well as energy companies. For instance, the technology may modify typical utilization patterns of devices in a variety of ways. In another aspect, the systems and methods may communicate with power suppliers and consumers to coordinate non-essential (e.g., charging of electronic devices, charging of batteries) power usage to periods of low demand. Similar to aspects mentioned above, this may diminish the impact of power interruption events as well as significantly reduce individual energy costs for consumers.” Paragraph 54; Information such as home power usage, scheduled power outages, and energy pricing information is used in making power consumption decisions.).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the energy cost teachings of Lewin within the power management system of Matsuyama because knowing energy pricing data is useful in scheduling the consumption of energy to non-peak time periods when there is lower demand in order to reduce individual energy costs for consumers (Lewin; paragraph 25).
Per Claim 14, please refer to the above rejection of claims 9 and 13, as claim 14 is directed to a “system” comprising a gateway according to claim 13, and claim 13 was directed to a gateway comprising a dive for managing power consumption according to claim 9. Therefore, the above rejections of claims 9 and 13 are equally applicable to claim 14.
Additionally, Matsuyama discloses a system (home network 300) for managing the power consumption of a local communications network (LAN) to which at least one piece of equipment is connected (Fig. 29; Electric devices 21-30 are pieces of equipment within a LAN consisting of electric devices, slaves, and a master.).
Matsuyama discloses that the power control device preliminarily holds power outage information (Paragraph 21), but does not specifically state that this information is received from an information platform relating to the power supply connected to the at least one information system of an energy supplier.
However, Lewin teaches receiving scheduled power outage information from a power company (Paragraphs 3 and 54), which represents an information platform relating to the power supply from the remote communications network.
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Lewin’s power outage information communication teaching within the system of Matsuyama because it allows for pre-emptive action by a user to obtain secondary power means to alleviate inconveniences caused by power outages (Lewin, Paragraph 3).
Per Claim 15, Matsuyama discloses a management system according to claim 14 (Please refer to the above rejection of claim 14), wherein the management system further comprises at least one piece of equipment of the local communication network (LAN) comprising an internal power supply configured to power the at least one piece of equipment of the local communication network (LAN) (Paragraph 21; “based on power stored in the electricity storage device”. Battery 340 is considered internal to the home network 300.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 16, no combination of Matsuyama, Lewin, and the prior art specifically teaches the gateway receiving from the information platform via the remote communications network, information relating to at least one power supply source from information systems of a plurality of energy suppliers, when considered in combination with the other limitations of the interceding claims.
With respect to claim 17, no combination of Matsuyama, Lewin, and the prior art specifically teaches the gateway identifying and authenticating itself with the information platform and downloading a file detailing a current status or schedule of pricing or load changes for a system/installation associated with the gateway, when considered in combination with the other limitations of the interceding claims.
With respect to claim 19, no combination of Matsuyama and the prior art specifically teaches the gateway determining by calculation one or more periods where a max acceptable energy cost threshold is likely to be exceeded, and performing the modification to the power supply source accordingly, when considered in combination with the other limitations of the interceding claims.
- Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN T MISIURA whose telephone number is (571)272-0889. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 8-4:30PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Andrew Jung can be reached on (571) 272-3779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175