DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 5/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments that the ducts taught by Werdelmann are too large to produce bubbles suitable for the instant invention i.e. applications such as desalination or water purification are not commensurate in scope with the claims. The claims require generation of microbubbles (which Werdelmann is capable of at least in the 0.7 mm gap embodiment as argued by applicant) in a system using DAF technology (Werdelmann teaches air flotation technology) in water treatment facilities (Werdelmann teaches water treatment i.e. “fumigation of turbidity” in the pulp industry). The claims do not require, either in functional or structural terms, features suitable for desalination, production of bubbles on the order of 100 microns or less, gaps smaller than 0.7 mm, or the like. The instant claim language is sufficiently broad to be read on the taught device. Further, even if the language were amended to incorporate different gap sizes or the like, Werdelmann further teaches in embodiments that the number, size, and distribution of boreholes can be adapted to the requirements of a particular flotation application, such that the use of different sizes for different applications based on different bubble properties may still be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Regardless, the claim language does not currently require such limitations and the rejections of record are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Werdelmann et al (DE 19950600 A1).
Werdelmann teaches [Fig. 1; 0001-0003; 0019-0021] a nozzle for gassing in air flotation cells and producing bubbles of sufficiently small size for use in associated water tanks and the like, which includes the following structural elements:
A main body with at least one first inlet and at least one second inlet in upper surface and lateral wall respectively [Fig. 1];
A first duct (1) that starts from the first inlet and is intended to conduct a water stream inside the main body;
A second duct (8) starting from the second inlet to convey air through the inside of the main body, and connecting to a hollow ring (5) surrounding the first duct to further direct air through third ducts (7); and
A gauge positioned below the main body which creates a separation (3) into which the first and third ducts open which produces bubbles via air contact; said separation is adjustable and allows the nozzle to be scaled via spacer sleeves (10).
Further, Werdelmann discusses testing of the invention under laboratory conditions using a gap size of 5 mm [0026]; as such, the structure taught by Werdelmann anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werdelmann et al in view of Ramirez (WO 2016/018504 A1).
Ramirez teaches as above but is silent to a lateral recess in the lateral wall at which the second inlet is positioned, and is further silent to threaded holes at the first and second inlets for receiving ducts for water and air respectively.
However, Ramirez teaches bubble generation systems employing pressurized gas sources [Abs] and teaches employing threaded connections for various housing components of the system to connect to relevant fluid conduits [0036, 0064] to allow the components to be easily retrofitted into existing systems e.g. with existing gas supply equipment. An embodiment of the diffuser structure includes a threaded connection for such a gas supply line [Fig. 8].
Because Werdelmann does not particularly limit the types of connection structures employed by the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ commonly used connection structures such as screw threaded connections because, as exemplified in the prior art as in Ramirez, these can be usefully compatible with likely pre-existing equipment such as gas lines and allow for convenient retrofit or other compatibility with existing infrastructure.
Regarding the presence of a lateral recess, see MPEP 2144.04 IV.B; changes in shape are obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art, and adjusting the shape of the object for reasons such as facilitating an easier connection (e.g. for accommodating screw threads) would have been an obvious engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, particularly when implementing connections for compatibility as in Ramirez.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werdelmann et al in view of Shimada et al (WO 2013/108548 A1).
See the discussion above; Werdelmann is silent to the presence of a lateral recess at the second inlet. However, Shimada teaches microbubble generators and includes a gas supply section (13) which may be supplied from an external pipe. To facilitate this, the section inlet is defined by a pipe joint (27) [pg. 3] as well as suitable recessed spaces for facilitating such a fitting e.g. seals, flanges, or similar [Fig. 1].
As above, changes in shape are generally obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art, and providing a recessed space in the housing to facilitate formation of an inlet connection region such as the space accommodating a pipe joint and similar equipment (seals, flanges, etc.) as in Shimada would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a modification of Werdelmann, to allow for easy connection to pipes or the like for gas supply.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776