Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7-9 and 13-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-20] of copending Application No. 19/493440(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable amount of the element in the composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/218089 A1 in view of Pursell et al (US 2012/0017659). WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses a composition comprising cellulose and a salt of a micronutrient such as iron or manganese. (See Paragraphs [0044] through [0048] and [0052].) WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses in Table 2 on page 14 that the iron loading can be as high as 8% (w/w). The difference between the composition disclosed by WO 2019/218089 A1, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that WO 2019/218089 A1 does not disclose that the particle size should range from about 0.05 mm to about 1.5 mm. Pursell et al disclose a fertilizer composition for delivering micronutrients, and teach that the particle size of the granules should range from 0.7 mm to 1.5 mm. (See Paragraph [0015].) It would have been obvious from Pursell et al to provide a particle size of 0.7 mm to 1.5 mm for the particles of WO 2019/218089 A1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since the compositions of WO 2019/218089 A1 and Pursell are analogous in that both entail delivery systems comprising micronutrients as fertilizers, and it is well-known that solid fertilizers are typically in the form of granules.
Regarding claim 7, WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0044] that the carrier may comprise about 0.2% to about 40% (w/w) lignin and about 60% to about 98.8% (w/w) cellulose.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses these carriers in Paragraph [0048].
Regarding claims 13 and 14, WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0062] that the mixture is heated to a temperature of about 80 C.
Regarding claims 13 and 15, WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses he addition of a base in claim 30. It would have been obvious to employ such conventional bases as sodium hydroxide or sodium carbonate as such base.
Regarding claim 16, WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses sodium bicarbonate as the base in claim 33.
Regarding claim 19, WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses in Paragraph [0050] that up to 30% (w/w) base to total weight of the carrier may be used.
Regarding claim 20, WO 2019/218089 A1 discloses in claim 38 that the composition is dried. It would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable degree to which the composition should be dried.
Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/218089 A1 in view of Pursell et al, as applied to claim1, 4, 7-9 and 13-20 above, even further in view of Medoff (US 9,970,039). It would have been even further obvious from Madoff]. To employ microwave heating to heat the composition of WO 2019/218089 A1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Medoff establishes microwave heaters as conventional aq conventional heat source, and one would have expected that any known or conventional heat source could be used for heating the composition of WO 2019/218089 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The e4citation of “up to about 30% (w/w) base…is combined with the base” is indefinite.
DE 202012001243U1 is made of record for disclosing fertilizer agglomerates comprising cellulose and trace elements in Paragraph [0006] of the English translation.
EP 2,258,159 A2 is made of record for disclosing fertilizer pellets comprising micronutrients on an organic a carrier.
WO 2005121051 A1 is made of record for disclosing an organic fertilizer including cellulose and starch elements.
Burnham (US 2002/0098982) is made of record for disclosing biosolids including a layer of zinc. (See Paragraph [0032].)
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736