Final Rejection
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the limitations “A system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug” as recited in claim 1 line 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The specifications disclose “a drug processing system 100” and a “dispensing system 120.” A “system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug” is not disclosed specifically as included in the claims.
Therefore, the limitations “an inspection system” as recited in claim 20 line 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the specific structure of the tray as recited in claim 4. Figure 2 shows the tray 122 imbedded in the workstation without an accompanying Figure which discloses the structure of the claimed tray alone. The combination of the workstation and the tray as shown in Figure 2 do not allow for specific details of the tray body to be determined as described in the specifications and recited in the claim. It is suggested the Applicant provide an additional figure to show only the structure of the claimed tray.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “A system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug comprising” in claim 1 line 1. The limitations as recited disclose three separate systems for dispensing for example:
A system for dispensing, inspecting, and processing a drug comprising:
A system for dispensing, inspecting a drug comprising:
A system for processing a drug comprising:
It is unclear as to which singular embodiment the applicant is intending to claim. The limitations are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the inventor. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the dispensing system" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,8-10,12-15 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Limer (US 2007/0189597 A1).
Referring to claim 1. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
a tray (418; Figure 9) adapted to be operably coupled with a workstation (400), the tray (418; Figure 9) having a body defining a recessed region (424) and a sidewall (426) positioned adjacent to the recessed region (424);
a handle member (438; Figure 11) operably coupled with the tray (418), the handle member (438; Figure 11) positioned at or near a first corner (right side corner of 418 as shown in Figure 11) of the tray; and
a funnel region (portion of tray adjacent member 428; Figure 11) operably coupled with the tray (418), the funnel region (portion of tray adjacent member 428; Figure 11) positioned at or near a second corner of the tray (bottom corner of 418), the first corner being opposite the second corner (see Figure 11).
Referring to claim 2. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
further comprising a hopper (436) positioned adjacent to a length of the body of the tray (418; see Figure 11).
Referring to claims 3 and 14. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
wherein the hopper (436) comprises a single use hopper adapted to be removably positioned adjacent to the length of the body of the tray (the hopper can be removed from the workstation; Figure 9).
Referring to claim 4. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
wherein
(a) the body of the tray (418) includes a ridge (428) extending from a portion of the recessed region (424) and/or (Applicant uses the limitations “and/or” thus only one following recited condition is required to be satisfy).
[limitations not considered (b) the funnel region includes a ramp extending from the recessed region to an upper edge of the sidewall.]
Referring to claim 5. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
wherein the handle member (438; Figure 11) includes an arm member (arm portion of 438) extending outwardly from the first corner of the tray (upper right side corner of 418) and a gripping member (tip of 438) operably coupled with the arm member (arm portion of 438).
Referring to claims 8 and 18. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
an edge guide (downward turned ledge adjacent member 400; Figure 11) positioned adjacent to the second corner of the tray (see Figure 9).
Referring to claim 9. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
wherein the edge guide (downward turned ledge adjacent member 400; Figure 11) comprises a raised wall extending from the sidewall of the body of the tray (see Figure 9).
Referring to claims 10 and 19. Limer discloses a system for dispensing, inspecting, and/or processing a drug (400; Figure 9) comprising:
wherein the tray (418) further includes a flange (down extending tabs on the tops side of the tray; Figure 9) extending around at least a portion of the sidewall (sidewall of 418), the flange adapted to rest upon a portion of the drug processing system (resting on 410).
Referring to claim 12. Limer discloses a drug processing system (400; Figure 9) comprising:
a workstation (400) including a platform (410) and an imaging system (406);
a dispensing system (dispensing system of 400) including:
a tray (418) adapted to be operably coupled with the workstation (400), the tray (418) having a body (body of 418) defining a recessed region (424) and a sidewall (426) positioned adjacent to the recessed region (424);
a handle member (438) operably coupled with the tray (418), the handle member (438) positioned at or near a first corner of the tray (right corner of 418);
a funnel region (portion of tray adjacent member 428; Figure 11) operably coupled with the tray (418), the funnel region (portion of tray adjacent member 428; Figure 11) positioned at or near a second corner of the tray (a bottom corner of 418), the first corner (right corner of 418) being opposite the second corner (a bottom corner of 418); and
a counting system operably coupled with the workstation, the counting system (counting apparatus Para. [0122]) adapted to count a quantity of items (the counter is used for counting pills to be dispensed by a pharmacist, Para. [0122]) sensed by the imaging system (406) that are disposed on the recessed region of the tray (418).
Referring to claim 13. Limer discloses a drug processing system (400; Figure 9) comprising:
a hopper (436) positioned adjacent to a length of the body of the tray (418) and along a portion of the workstation (400; see Figure 9).
Referring to claim 15. Limer discloses a drug processing system (400; Figure 9) comprising:
wherein
(a) the body of the tray (418) includes a ridge (428) extending from a portion of the recessed region (424)
wherein the handle member (438; Figure 11) includes an arm member (arm portion of 438) extending outwardly from the first corner of the tray (upper right side corner of 418) and a gripping member (tip of 438) operably coupled with the arm member (arm portion of 438).
and/or (Applicant uses the limitations “and/or” thus only one following recited condition is required to be satisfy).
[limitations not considered (b) the funnel region includes a ramp extending from the recessed region to an upper edge of the sidewall.]
Referring to claim 20. Limer discloses a drug processing system (400; Figure 9) comprising:
a workstation (400) including a base (base of 400; Figure 9) and an elevated platform (410) operably coupled with the base (base of 400); and
an inspection system (406) including:
a tray (418) adapted to be at least partially operably coupled with at least a portion of the elevated platform (410; see Figure 9), the tray (418) having a body defining a recessed region (424) and a sidewall (426) positioned adjacent to the recessed region (424), the tray (418) being constructed from an optically transparent material (In some embodiments of the invention the tray 502 is substantially clear; Para. [0123]); and
a funnel region (portion of tray adjacent member 428; Figure 11) operably coupled with the tray (418), the funnel region (portion of tray adjacent member 428; Figure 11) positioned at or near a corner of the tray (bottom corner of 418).
Referring to claim 21. Limer discloses a drug processing system (400; Figure 9) comprising:
wherein the elevated platform (410; see Figure 9) includes:
at least one arm (404) operably coupled with the base (bottom of 400), the at least one arm (404) including an upright member (support of 404) extending upwardly from the base (see Figure 400); and
a platform frame (410) operably coupled with the upright member (support of 404) of the at least one arm (404), the platform frame (410) defining an opening (center region for the tray 418) to receive at least a portion of the tray (418).
Referring to claim 22. Limer discloses a drug processing system (400; Figure 9) further comprising:
a reflective member (120; Figure 5) positioned below the tray (122).
Referring to claim 23. Limer discloses a drug processing system (400; Figure 9) further comprising:
wherein the dispensing system (400; Figure 9) further includes a handle member (438) operably coupled with the tray (418), the handle member (438) positioned at or near a corner of the tray (right corner of 418) that is opposite the funnel region (portion of tray adjacent member 428; Figure 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limer (US 2007/0189597 A1) in view of Yang (CN 201905751 U).
Referring to claim 6. Limer does not disclose the arm member is pivotably coupled with the first corner of the tray.
Yang discloses a baking tray (Figure 1) wherein the arm member (4; Figure 1) is pivotably coupled with the first corner of the tray (side of a tray).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Limer to include the arm member as being pivotably coupled with the first corner of the tray as taught by Yang because the pivotal handle would allow a user to more easily grasp the tray.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limer (US 2007/0189597 A1)(alone).
Referring to claim 11. Limer does not disclose wherein the tray is constructed from a vacuum molded material.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the Limer to have comprised the tray as being constructed from a vacuum molded material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See rejections cited above. Applicant’s amendment to the claims are the original submitted claims of date 01/05/2024 and comprise no changes. Applicant’s amendment also comprises an amendment to the drawings and indicate an attachment of replacement drawings. However, the amendment does not include the replacement drawings. The Arguments in the Remarks lack substantive argument in regards to the rejections cited in the Non-Final Action dated 09/30/2020. Therefore, the original rejections are maintained. It is suggested the Applicant amend the claims to overcome the cited references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651