Detailed Action
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
This Action is Non-Final.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 comprising “ the docking station of claim 8,……” ,the claim depended on itself, therefore ,examiner rejected claim 8 as depended on claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2024 and 02/25/2024,the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCamp et al.(US Patent Application Pub. No: 20210072792 A1) in view of Morse (Patent Application Pub. No: 20180321728 A1).
As Per claim 1, DeCamp teaches a docking station [Fig.2, the docking station 204], comprising:
a host link communicable with a host computer [Paragraph 0092,… the host device connector 218 (and associated circuitry) and/or the wireless protocol compatibilities necessary to connect with some types of host devices for the communication of data and/or power to and/or from that type of host device,…];
a display link communicable with a display device [Paragraph 0051,This interface between the direct data connector 112 of the display apparatus 102 and the direct data connector 112 of the docking station 104….];
a dock management controller comprising a serial data link [Fig.3C,Paragraph 0121, …the docking station 304 having been placed in the docking station receptacle 306 of the display apparatus 302,….]; and
a virtual control panel protocol to facilitate direct communications between the serial data link and the display link [Paragraph 0152,..., the docking station 904 may receive an instruction via the wireless transceiver 979 to communicate with a control panel of the primary display apparatus 902 (which may be a software engine that exists in one or more of the power controller 912,….].
DeCamp disclose data transition between a display device and a docking station but does not explicitly disclose immediately after a pre-emptive event associated with docking of the host computer, the dock management controller to transmit a command to the display link using the virtual control panel protocol to activate the display device.
Morse discloses immediately after a pre-emptive event associated with docking of the host computer […controlling a docking station (21) to wake a mobile device (23) from a sleep mode,…], the dock management controller to transmit a command to the display link using the virtual control panel protocol to activate the display device [Abstract, Paragraphs 0006-0007, A method of controlling a docking station (21) to wake a mobile device (23) from a sleep mode, the mobile device (23) having a data module that is powered off in sleep mode and is capable of transferring data to/from the docking station (21) over a data connection.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Morse’s controlling docking station to wake mobile device from sleep mode into DeCamp’s docking stand assembly for receiving and supporting portable electronic device, for use in docking station for the benefit of the new vendor-defined message acts as an instruction to power on the computing device even when the main USB module and other USB components are not powered (DeCamp, [0060]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station, wherein the pre-emptive event comprises one of the host computer being docked to the electronic device, the host computer being activated from a sleep state while docked [Morse, Abstract, Paragraphs 0006-0007, A method of controlling a docking station (21) to wake a mobile device (23) from a sleep mode, the mobile device (23) having a data module that is powered off in sleep mode and is capable of transferring data to/from the docking station (21) over a data connection.], the host computer being cold boot while docked, and the docking station receiving a wireless signal from the host computer to be docked [DeCamp, Paragraphs 0042; 0124, The wireless transceiver 402 may further include an external antenna 410. The external antenna 410 may be used to wirelessly communicate wireless signals to and/or from a host device and/or other wireless network device(s) in the manner described herein.].
As per claim 3, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station [DeCamp, Fig.1A-1B, a docking station 104.], further comprising a video output controller communicably coupled to the dock management controller through the serial data link [Morse, Paragraph 0003;0006, Commonly, the mobile computing device, such as a laptop or even a tablet computer or smartphone, is connected to the docking station via a general-purpose connection, usually via a Universal Serial Bus (USB) cable.].
As per claim 4, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 3 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station [DeCamp, Fig.1A-1B, a docking station 104.], wherein the command is transmitted from the dock management controller to the display link through the video output controller [Morse, Paragraphs 0008-0009,…; generating, by the docking station, in response to receiving the wake-up message, a wake-up control signal for transmittal over the power transfer connection to the mobile device;… transmitting the wake-up control signal, from the docking station, over the power transfer connection to the mobile device.].
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCamp et al.(US Patent Application Pub. No: 20210072792 A1) in view of Morse (Patent Application Pub. No: 20180321728 A1), and further in view of Zeng et al.(US Patent Application Pub. No: 20090278763 A1).
As per claim 5, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 3 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station [DeCamp, Fig.1A-1B, a docking station 104.], wherein the serial data link [Morse, Paragraph 0006, a data module capable of transferring data to/from the docking station over a Universal Serial Bus].
However, DeCamp and Morse don’t explicitly teach where the serial data link comprise comprises a I2C interface.
Zeng discloses where the serial data link comprise comprises a I2C interface [Paragraph 0073, … The source device reads the newly-added (hot plugged in) sink device's EDID data using an I2C-over-ext AUX_CH transaction that also includes use of the DEST_ID field 452 in the transaction request signal.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Zeng’s Video display apparatus into Morse’s controlling docking station to wake mobile device from sleep mode and DeCamp’s docking stand assembly for receiving and supporting portable electronic device, for use in docking station for the benefit of the new vendor-defined message acts as an instruction to power on the computing device even when the main USB module and other USB components are not powered (DeCamp, [0060]) and the selective data processing unit processes the passing-through serially transmitted digital signals in response to the multi-device identification (MDID) signals embedded in each passing-through serially transmitted digital signal, thus displaying different images on display monitors in a cost-effective manner (Zeng,[0013]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
As per claim 6, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 3 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station [DeCamp, Fig.1A-1B, a docking station 104.].
However, DeCamp and Morse don’t explicitly teach wherein the virtual control panel protocol is built on top of VESA standard DDC/CI protocol.
Zeng discloses wherein the virtual control panel protocol is built on top of VESA standard DDC/CI protocol [Abstract, Paragraphs 0005-0007, … A serial display interface such as the VESA-Display Port interface is expanded to support daisy chained coupling of one display monitor to the next.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Zeng’s Video display apparatus into Morse’s controlling docking station to wake mobile device from sleep mode and DeCamp’s docking stand assembly for receiving and supporting portable electronic device, for use in docking station for the benefit of the new vendor-defined message acts as an instruction to power on the computing device even when the main USB module and other USB components are not powered (DeCamp, [0060]) and the selective data processing unit processes the passing-through serially transmitted digital signals in response to the multi-device identification (MDID) signals embedded in each passing-through serially transmitted digital signal, thus displaying different images on display monitors in a cost-effective manner (Zeng,[0013]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
As per claim 7, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station [DeCamp, Fig.1A-1B, a docking station 104.].
However, DeCamp and Morse don’t explicitly teach wherein the dock management controller further comprises a memory to record a display connection profile that comprises information associated with the display device.
Zeng discloses wherein the dock management controller further comprises a memory to record a display connection profile that comprises information associated with the display device [Abstract, Paragraphs 0005-0007;0042, … the memory module 310 which stores the source EDID registers data and source DPCD registers data is large enough to accommodate 255 unique ones of such register sets with respective address values 00hex to 0FEhex where value 0FFhex is reserved to indicate an invalid source EDID and invalid source DPCD register area.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Zeng’s Video display apparatus into Morse’s controlling docking station to wake mobile device from sleep mode and DeCamp’s docking stand assembly for receiving and supporting portable electronic device, for use in docking station for the benefit of the new vendor-defined message acts as an instruction to power on the computing device even when the main USB module and other USB components are not powered (DeCamp, [0060]) and the selective data processing unit processes the passing-through serially transmitted digital signals in response to the multi-device identification (MDID) signals embedded in each passing-through serially transmitted digital signal, thus displaying different images on display monitors in a cost-effective manner (Zeng,[0013]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
As per claim 8, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station [DeCamp, Fig.1A-1B, a docking station 104.].
However, DeCamp and Morse don’t explicitly teach wherein the dock management controller updates the display connection profile when the display device is disconnected from the docking station or when another display device is connected to the docking station.
Zeng discloses wherein the dock management controller updates the display connection profile when the display device is disconnected from the docking station or when another display device is connected to the docking station [Abstract, Paragraphs 0005-0007;0042,claim 6, … (a) detecting when a first video sink device has been connected daisy chain style to a video signal relaying circuit driven by the video source device; and (b) in response to said detection of the connection of the first video sink device, automatically fetching local characterizing data from the first video sink device indicative of characteristics of a local display functions associated with the first video sink device.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Zeng’s Video display apparatus into Morse’s controlling docking station to wake mobile device from sleep mode and DeCamp’s docking stand assembly for receiving and supporting portable electronic device, for use in docking station for the benefit of the new vendor-defined message acts as an instruction to power on the computing device even when the main USB module and other USB components are not powered (DeCamp, [0060]) and the selective data processing unit processes the passing-through serially transmitted digital signals in response to the multi-device identification (MDID) signals embedded in each passing-through serially transmitted digital signal, thus displaying different images on display monitors in a cost-effective manner (Zeng,[0013]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
As per claim 9, DeCamp and Morse teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, where DeCamp and Morse teach, a docking station [DeCamp, Fig.1A-1B, a docking station 104.].
However, DeCamp and Morse don’t explicitly teach further comprising a detector to determine that the host computer is in close proximity to the docking station.
Zeng discloses further comprising a detector to determine that the host computer is in close proximity to the docking station [Abstract, Paragraphs 0005-0007;0042,claim 6, … (a) detecting when a first video sink device has been connected daisy chain style to a video signal relaying circuit driven by the video source device; and (b) in response to said detection of the connection of the first video sink device, automatically fetching local characterizing data from the first video sink device indicative of characteristics of a local display functions associated with the first video sink device.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Zeng’s Video display apparatus into Morse’s controlling docking station to wake mobile device from sleep mode and DeCamp’s docking stand assembly for receiving and supporting portable electronic device, for use in docking station for the benefit of the new vendor-defined message acts as an instruction to power on the computing device even when the main USB module and other USB components are not powered (DeCamp, [0060]) and the selective data processing unit processes the passing-through serially transmitted digital signals in response to the multi-device identification (MDID) signals embedded in each passing-through serially transmitted digital signal, thus displaying different images on display monitors in a cost-effective manner (Zeng,[0013]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
As per claims 10-14, claims 10-14 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above claims 1-4 and 8-9 above, wherein claims 10-14 are the apparatus claims for the apparatus of claims 1-4 and 8-9.
As per claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above claim 1 above, wherein claim 15 is the apparatus claim for the apparatus of claim 1.
Conclusion
RELEVANT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
References Considered Pertinent but not relied upon
Schneider et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20150070832 A1) teaches docking stations that may interface with various types of accessories. Schneider discloses physically and electrically support a connection to a portable computing device in either one or two orientations; and one or more receptacles or dedicated or tethered cables may provide connections to one or more accessories; also may be able to authenticate and identify themselves to portable computing devices such that the devices know how to configure data outputs provided to the docking stations. Schneider suggests an audio channel that converts digital audio signals and provides an analog audio signal at an audio jack may be included; and multiplexing circuitry that allows reversible connectors to be used may also be included.
RAVEENDRAN et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20130309973 A1) teaches various aspects of the present disclosure enable a persistent docking procedure that, once a persistent docking environment has been established, can simplify the future establishment of a docking environment between the dockee and docking host; and Other aspects, embodiments, and features are also claimed and described.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GETENTE A YIMER whose telephone number is (571)270-7106. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 6:30-3:00.Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, IDRISS N ALROBAYE can be reached on 571-270-1023. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GETENTE A YIMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181