Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 13, 14, the applicant asserts that “Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the objections to the drawings.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
As indicated by 35 U.S.C. § 113, “The applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented. When the nature of such subject matter admits of illustration by a drawing and the applicant has not furnished such a drawing, the Director may require its submission within a time period of not less than two months from the sending of a notice thereof…,” and 37 CFR § 1.81(a), stating "[t]he applicant for a patent is required to furnish a drawing of the invention where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented [emphasis added].”
As indicated by the claims, the subject matter sought to be patented, “based on a comparison between a first threshold value and a total number of first physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) with Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request- ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information and second PSFCH with conflict information, and a comparison between a second threshold value and a total power of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information: determine whether to use a first priority related to the first PSFCH with the HARQ- ACK information and a second priority related to the second PSFCH with the conflict information for determining a number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information,” but there is no drawing that would furnish the necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented.
And as indicated by fig. 1, fig. 2A-2B, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6, and fig. 7A-7B do not have descriptive legends that are necessary for understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented.
The objects are maintained. updated
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 32-35, 37-40, 42-46, 48-51, 53-55 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “based on a comparison between a first threshold value and a total number of first physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) with Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request- ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information and second PSFCH with conflict information, and a comparison between a second threshold value and a total power of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information: determine whether to use a first priority related to the first PSFCH with the HARQ- ACK information and a second priority related to the second PSFCH with the conflict information for determining a number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information,” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because fig. 1, fig. 2A-2B, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6, and fig. 7A-7B do not have descriptive legends. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-35, 37-40, 43-46, 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140 with foreign app. CN 202110507886.9 filed on 05/10/2021) in view of HUANG et al. (US 20230361933 with continuation from PCT/CN2021/072327 filed on 01/15/2021).
Regarding claims 32, 43, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches a first user equipment (UE) (fig. 10, par. 200, user equipment) comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (fig. 10, par. 200, user equipment); and
one or more processors configured to process the instructions to control the first UE (fig. 10, par. 200, user equipment) to:
based on a comparison between a first threshold value and a total number of first physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) with Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request- ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information and second PSFCH with conflict information, and a comparison between a second threshold value and a total power of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 159, 200, 201, if a sum of a quantity of pieces of coordination information and a quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information that need to be sent is less than or equal to a sum x (x is greater than or equal to 1) of a maximum quantity of pieces of coordination information and a maximum quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information that can be sent by the first user equipment, and a sum of a power for transmitting the coordination information and a power for transmitting the HARQ feedback information does not exceed a maximum transmit power supported by the first user equipment):
determine whether to use a first priority related to the first PSFCH with the HARQ- ACK information and a second priority related to the second PSFCH with the conflict information for determining a number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 200, 203-208, the first user equipment selects, based on a priority, to send NTX pieces of coordination information and/or HARQ feedback information, N.sub.Tx≥max(1,Σ.sub.i=1.sup.KM.sub.i); where M.sub.i denotes a sum of a quantity of pieces of coordination information and/or a quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information corresponding to priority value i, and K denotes a maximum value), wherein a priority value of the second priority, related to the second PSFCH with the conflict information, is equal to a priority value determined by a corresponding Sidelink Control Information (SCI) from a second UE (par. 139, 160, 172, 173, 184, 280-282, it is determined, based on a service priority of a packet included in the SCI, whether to coordinate the second user equipments on which a resource conflict occurs, and perform a coordination indication on the target second user equipment in the second user equipments based on a service priority order of the second user equipments on which a resource conflict occurs… comparing a priority corresponding to the HARQ feedback with a priority corresponding to transmission of the coordination information).
However, ZHENG does not teach wherein a priority value of the second priority is equal to a priority value determined by a corresponding Sidelink Control Information (SCI).
But, HUANG et al. (US 20230361933) teaches wherein a priority value of the second priority, related to the second PSFCH with the conflict information, is equal to a priority value determined by a corresponding Sidelink Control Information (SCI) from a second UE (par .9, 084, 140, 196, 197, 236-238; par. 239-240, the priority value of the HARQ is usually equal to a priority value included in SCI corresponding to the HARQ, in a HARQ and resource conflict indication information that correspond to a same piece of SCI, a priority of the HARQ can be higher than a priority of the resource conflict indication information by setting a compensation value. In this way, importance of the resource conflict indication information can be associated with importance of data corresponding to a resource indicated by the resource conflict indication information, so that the terminal determines, based on the importance of the data corresponding to the resource indicated by the resource conflict indication information, whether to send the resource conflict indication information or receive the resource conflict indication information).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HUANG in the system of ZHENG to compare equal quality.
The motivation would have been to deal with race conditions and provide best priority data for transmission.
Regarding claims 33, 44, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 32, wherein
based on a determination that the total number of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is smaller than or equal to the first threshold, and a determination that the total power of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is smaller than or equal to the second threshold (par. 200, 201, if a sum of a quantity of pieces of coordination information and a quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information that need to be sent is less than or equal to a sum x (x is greater than or equal to 1) of a maximum quantity of pieces of coordination information and a maximum quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information that can be sent by the first user equipment, and a sum of a power for transmitting the coordination information and a power for transmitting the HARQ feedback information does not exceed a maximum transmit power supported by the first user equipment):
the one or more processors is configured to process the instructions to control the first UE to:
determine the number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 200, 203-208, the first user equipment selects, based on a priority, to send NTX pieces of coordination information and/or HARQ feedback information, N.sub.Tx≥max(1,Σ.sub.i=1.sup.KM.sub.i); where M.sub.i denotes a sum of a quantity of pieces of coordination information and/or a quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information corresponding to priority value i, and K denotes a maximum value).
Regarding claims 34, 45, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 32, wherein
based on a determination that the total number of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is smaller than or equal to the first threshold, and a determination that the total power of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is greater than the second threshold (par. 201, 202, 207, if a sum of a quantity of pieces of coordination information and a quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information that need to be sent is less than or equal to a sum x (x is greater than or equal to 1) of a maximum quantity of pieces of coordination information and a maximum quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information that can be sent by the first user equipment…if a power for transmitting the coordination information and a power for transmitting the HARQ feedback information exceeds a maximum transmit power supported by the first user equipment), or
based on a determination that the total number of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is greater than the first threshold, and a determination that the total power of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is smaller than or equal to the second threshold (par. 207, if a sum of a quantity of pieces of coordination information that needs to be sent and a quantity of HARQ feedback information that needs to be sent is greater than a maximum quantity y of transmissions of the first user equipment, y pieces of coordination information…then if a total power for transmitting y pieces of information according to a transmit power requirement does not exceed a maximum transmit power of the first user equipment), or
based on a determination that the total number of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is greater than the first threshold, and a determination that the total power of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information is greater than the second threshold (par. 207, if a sum of a quantity of pieces of coordination information that needs to be sent and a quantity of HARQ feedback information that needs to be sent is greater than a maximum quantity y of transmissions of the first user equipment, y pieces of coordination information… if a total power for transmitting y pieces of information according to a transmit power requirement exceeds a maximum transmit power of the first user equipment):
the one or more processors is configured to process the instructions to control the first UE to:
determine, based on an ascending order of the first priority related to the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and an ascending order of the second priority related to the second PSFCH with the conflict information, the number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions of the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 200, 203-208, service priorities of HARQ feedback information to be sent and service priorities corresponding to coordination information to be sent are sorted, y service priorities with the highest service priority are selected in a descending order of service priorities, and y pieces of information corresponding to the y highest service priorities are transmitted, where y is greater than or equal to 1… in a case that the first user equipment needs to simultaneously transmit the coordination information and HARQ feedback…comparing a priority corresponding to the HARQ feedback with a priority corresponding to transmission of the coordination information).
Regarding claim 35, 46, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 32, wherein
based on simultaneous transmission and reception of the first PSFCH with the HARQ- ACK information and the second PSFCH with the conflict information in a PUSCH transmission occasion (par. 203-206, in a case that the first user equipment needs to simultaneously transmit the coordination information and HARQ feedback):
the first priority related to the first PSFCH with the HARQ-ACK information is always higher than the second priority related to the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 203-207, preferentially ensuring the HARQ feedback).
Regarding claim 37, 48, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 32, wherein
the one or more processors is configured to process the instructions to control the first UE to:
communicate with the second UE via sidelink channel (par. 231, a frequency domain sub-channel index j (0<=j<S) occupied by a target second user equipment, an index i (0<=i<N) of a slot occupied by a target second user equipment in N PSSCH slot sets), and
determine, based on an identity of the second UE and a number of at least one first PSFCH resource available for multiplexing the conflict information in the second PSFCH, an index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 231-234, where PSFCH_index denotes a resource location at which a PSFCH is transmitted, K denotes a truncated Layer-2 source ID (or a priority) carried in SCI associated with a PSSCH sent by the target second user equipment, M=0, Z denotes a quantity of PRBs included in a candidate subset of coordination information).
Regarding claim 38, 49, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 37, wherein
the index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information is represented by a formula:
R= BID mod R_CI (par. 122, 234, PSFCH_index=(K+M)Mod(Z*Y*N type)), wherein
R denotes the index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 122, 234, PSFCH_index=(K+M)Mod(Z*Y*N type)),
B_ID denotes the identity of the second UE (par. 122, 234, PSFCH_index=(K+M)Mod(Z*Y*N type), K denotes a truncated Layer-2 source ID (or a priority) carried in SCI associated with a PSSCH sent by the target second user equipment), and
R_CI denotes the number of the at least one first PSFCH resource available for multiplexing the conflict information in the second PSFCH (par. 122,233, 234, PSFCH_index=(K+M)Mod(Z*Y*N type), a quantity Z of cyclic shifts pairs available in a resource pool… Z denotes a quantity of PRBs included in a candidate subset of coordination information, Y denotes a quantity of cyclic shift pairs fed back through ACK/NACK that can be carried in one PRB, and a value of N_type has two possibilities: N_type=1 or N_type=N, which depends on higher layer configuration, where N is a quantity of sub-channels occupied by data of the target second user equipment).
Regarding claims 39, 50, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 37, wherein
the one or more processors is configured to process the instructions to control the first UE to:
transmit the second PSFCH with the conflict information in a first slot (par. 231, 232, N_F RBs that may be used to transmit coordination information), wherein
the first slot includes the at least one first PSFCH resource (fig. 7, par. 200, 201, 213, simultaneously transmit a quantity of pieces of coordination information and/or a quantity of pieces of HARQ feedback information), and
the first slot is at least one slots of a resource pool before a resource associated with the conflict information (par. 139, 224, 231, 232, an index i (0<=i<N) of a slot occupied by a target second user equipment in N PSSCH slot sets that are associated with coordination information).
Regarding claim 40, 51, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 37, wherein
for a case of the second PSFCH with the conflict information (par. 134, 135, 200, 203-208, coordination information),
the one or more processors is configured to process the instructions to control the first UE to: transmit a sequence related to a value of 0 (table 2, par. 134, 135, 159, 174, 234, there are two types of feedback modes: one is NACK-based HARQ (0), which is only for a multicast mode, and all UEs share one PSFCH (only NACK is fed back)…The PSFCH mainly uses a sequence-based channel…the coordination information is a sequence-based indication, which is similar to a PSFCH, or may be a PSFCH…Z denotes a quantity of PRBs included in a candidate subset of coordination information, Y denotes a quantity of cyclic shift pairs fed back through ACK/NACK that can be carried in one PRB).
Claim(s) 42, 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140 with foreign app. CN 202110507886.9 filed on 05/10/2021) and HUANG et al. (US 20230361933 with continuation from PCT/CN2021/072327 filed on 01/15/2021) as applied to claims 32, 43 above, and further in view of YOSHIOKA et al. (US 20240292385).
Regarding claims 42, 53, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) teaches the first UE according to Claim 32,
the one or more processors is configured to process the instructions to control the first UE to: transmit, to the second UE, a first information related to inter-UE coordination (fig. 6, par. 237, 247, the second user equipment, after receiving the coordination information, the second user equipment may determine, in combination with a sensing result of the second user equipment itself and the coordination information, whether to perform reselection if a preemption pre-emption function is not configured in a current resource pool).
However, ZHENG does not teach inter-UE coordination scheme 2, and receive, from a network, the first information related to inter-UE coordination scheme 2 by higher layer, wherein the first UE is in resource allocation Mode 2.
But, YOSHIOKA et al. (US 20240292385) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches transmit, to the second UE, a first information related to inter-UE coordination scheme 2 (par. 139, 165, 189, Inter-terminal coordination method 2) The UE-A transmits, to the UE-B, information indicating that there is an expected collision, a possibility of a collision, or a fact of a detected collision, for a resource received from the UE-B or a resource indicated by SCI received from the UE-B… SCI may indicate whether the SL transmission information, which is an indication related to the preferred resource set and/or the non-preferred resource set, is for the resource allocation mode 1 UE or is for the resource allocation mode 2 UE), and receive, from a network, the first information related to inter-UE coordination scheme 2 by higher layer (par. 165, 173, 185, 198, in a case where a channel is newly defined for transmitting and receiving an indication related to the preferred resource set and/or the non-preferred resource set corresponding to the SL resource configured or indicated by the gNB, the terminal 20 that is a resource allocation mode 1 UE is not required to perform an operation of receiving the channel…higher layer), wherein the first UE is in resource allocation Mode 2 (par. 165, 173, 185, a case where sl-UE-Selected ConfigRP is included in SL-ResourcePool may indicate that the resource pool is for the resource allocation mode 2 UE, and a case where sl-UE-SelectedConfigRP is not included in SL-ResourcePool may indicate that the resource pool is for the resource allocation mode 1 UE… the inter-terminal coordination operation may be configured or pre-configured in the resource pool for the resource allocation mode 2 UE (for example, sl-TxPoolSelectedNormal), and is not required to be configured in the resource pool for the resource allocation mode 1 UE (for example, sl-TxPoolScheduling)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YOSHIOKA in the system of ZHENG and HUANG to inform gNB of inter-UE coordination information.
The motivation to provide reliability transmission of data.
Claim(s) 54, 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140 with foreign app. CN 202110507886.9 filed on 05/10/2021) and HUANG et al. (US 20230361933 with continuation from PCT/CN2021/072327 filed on 01/15/2021) as applied to claims 37, 48 above, and further in view of JI et al. (US 20220360371).
Regarding claim 54, 55, ZHENG et al. (US 20240023140) does not teach the first UE according to Claim 37, wherein
the index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information is represented by a formula:
R = (B_ID + A_ID) mod R_CI, wherein
R denotes the index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information,
B_ID denotes the identity of the second UE,
A_ID denotes an identity of the conflict information, and the A_ID is configured by a higher layer, and
R_CI denotes the number of the at least one first PSFCH resource available for multiplexing the conflict information in the second PSFCH.
But, JI et al. (US 20220360371) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information is represented by a formula:
R = (B_ID + A_ID) mod R_CI (Par. 93, 112, 128, (P.sub.ID+M.sub.ID)mod R.sub.PRB, CS.sup.PSFCH), wherein
R denotes the index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information (Par. 93, 112, 128, (P.sub.ID+M.sub.ID)mod R.sub.PRB, CS.sup.PSFCH),
B_ID denotes the identity of the second UE (Par. 93, 112, 128, where P.sub.ID is a physical layer source ID provided by SCI format 2-A or 2-B),
A_ID denotes an identity of the conflict information, and the A_ID is configured by a higher layer (Par. 93, 112, 128, M.sub.ID is the identity of the UE receiving the PSSCH, as indicated by higher layers if the UE detects a SCI format 2-A with Cast type indicator field value of “01”; otherwise, M.sub.ID is zero…UE-A determination of an index of a PSFCH resource for resource conflict indication by using UE-B's group member ID as M.sub.ID), and
R_CI denotes the number of the at least one first PSFCH resource available for multiplexing the conflict information in the second PSFCH (Par. 93, 112, 128, R.sub.PRB, CS.sup.PSFCH is the number of PSFCH resources available for multiplexing HARQ-ACK information in a PSFCH transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by JI in the system of ZHENG and HUANG to determine the index of one of the at least one first PSFCH resource for the second PSFCH with the conflict information.
The motivation to enhance resource allocation (Ji par. 89).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 10/11/2026