DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/15/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim 16 is added.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. 20230403617) in view of Akl et al. (U.S. 12335842).
For claim 1, Wu et al. disclose a method performed by a source integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor-central unit (CU) in a communication, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a target IAB-donor-CU, a handover request message including an IAB node indication (at least Fig. 5A, [0081]-[0083] and [0107]. The source IAB-donor sends 506 a Handover Request message to the target IAB-donor 108B. The Handover Request message includes UE Context information of UE(s) (e.g., UE 102 and/or other UE(s)) and/or IAB-node 104, and IAB information.); and
as a response to the handover request message, receiving, from the target IAB- donor-CU, a handover request response message including a RRC reconfiguration message for each of the IAB-node 104 (or more specifically, IAB-MT function of IAB-node 104) and UE(s) including UE 102 (at least Fig. 5A, [0081]-[0083] and [0107]. In response to receiving the Handover Request message, the target IAB-donor 108B generates a RRC reconfiguration message for each of the IAB-node 104 (or more specifically, IAB-MT function of IAB-node 104) and UE(s) including UE 102 and includes the RRC reconfiguration messages in a Handover Request Acknowledge message and sends 508 the Handover Request Acknowledge message to the source IAB-donor 108A, in response to the Handover Request message 506, including the RRC reconfiguration messages for the IAB-node 104 (or more specifically, IAB-MT function of IAB-node 104) and UE(s) including UE 102. The target IAB-donor 108B can include data forwarding information in the Handover Request Acknowledge message so that the source IAB-donor 108A can use the data forwarding information to perform downlink data forwarding at event 520.) However, Wu et al. do not disclose a backhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channel and a transport network layer (TNL) address based on a target IAB-donor-distributed unit (DU).
In the same field of endeavor, Akl et al. disclose a backhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channel (at least Col. 21, lines 18-29. In addition to transmitting the other IP address information to the IAB donor CU 502, the IAB donor CU 504 may transmit a configuration of one or more backhaul radio link control (RLC) channels to carry traffic for the connection 524. In some aspects, the IAB donor CU 504 transmits the configuration based at least in part on receiving the indication that the IAB node 512 is to establish the connection 524, based at least in part on receiving the request for the other IP address information, based at least in part on receiving the load information, or a combination thereof. The configuration may identify a mapping between the traffic for the connection 524 and the one or more backhaul RLC channels.) and a transport network layer (TNL) address based on a target IAB-donor-distributed unit (DU) (at least Col. 19, lines 35-67. The IAB donor CU 504 may transmit the other TNL address information to the IAB donor CU 502 based at least in part on obtaining the other TNL address information from the IAB donor DU 510. The IAB donor CU 502 may receive the other TNL address information and may determine or derive the TNL address information based at least in part on the other TNL address information, and may transmit the TNL address information to the IAB node 512.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. as taught by Akl et al. for purpose of determining or deriving the TNL address information based at least in part on the other TNL address information, and may transmit the TNL address information to the IAB node.
For claim 2, the combination of Wu et al. and Akl et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Wu et al. disclose the handover request message includes configuration information on a migrating node, a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) address of the migrating node, and information associated with a topology of the migrating IAB node, and wherein the information associated with the topology of the migrating IAB node includes information on a number of hops from the migrating node, relation information between a parent node and a child node, a user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) and a radio bearer of an access UE for each node, a UE aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration of each node and the access UE (at least [0107]-[0108]. The Handover Request message includes UE Context information of UE(s) (e.g., UE 102 and/or other UE(s)) and/or IAB-node 104, and IAB information. The target IAB-donor 108B can generate the RRC reconfiguration message(s) for the UE(s) and IAB-node 104 in accordance with the UE Context information. The target IAB-donor 108B can transmit or route DL PDUs for the UE(s) to the IAB-node 104 in accordance with the IAB information. For example, the IAB information includes topology and backhaul related information, IP address information of the IAB-node 104 and intermediate IAB-node(s) (if existing) and/or identity(ies) of the IAB-node 104 and intermediate IAB-node(s) (if existing). The topology and backhaul related information may include information such as the BAP mapping configuration, which contains the backhaul routing information (e.g., the BAP Routing ID, BAP address(es)) and/or traffic mapping information. The BAP address(es) can include next-hop BAP address(es). The UE Context information of a particular UE (e.g., UE 102) or IAB-node 104 may include the NG-C UE associated Signaling Reference, Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side, UE Security Capabilities, AS security information, Index to RAT/Frequency Selection Priority, Location Reporting Information, UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate, PDU Session Resources To Be Setup List, RRC Context, UE Context Reference at the IAB-node (e.g., Global NG-RAN Node ID, GNB-DU UE F1AP ID). In some implementations, the Handover Request Acknowledge message includes one or more RRC reconfiguration messages for the IAB-MT function of the IAB-nodes and/or UEs. In one implementation the Handover Request message and the Handover Request Acknowledge message for group handover as mentioned above can be new X2AP or XnAP interface messages for migrating the IAB-nodes and UEs other than the current Handover Request message and the Handover Request Acknowledge message defined in TS 36.423 or TS 38.423.)
For claims 9-10, the claims have features similar to claims 1-2. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason in claims 1-2.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. 20230403617) in view of Akl et al. (U.S. 12335842) and further in view of Talukdar et al. (U.S. 20220400411).
For claim 3, the combination of Wu et al. and Akl et al. do not disclose the method of claim 2, wherein an admission control is performed by determining an amount of data for each descendant node and the access UE based on the information associated with the topology of the migrating IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, Talukdar et al. disclose an admission control is performed by determining an amount of data for each descendant node and the access UE based on the information associated with the topology of the migrating IAB node (at least [0063]. That may perform admission control or that may receive link capacity reports, a method may include: transmitting, to at least one integrated access backhauling (IAB) (e.g., relay) node within a wireless network, link capacity threshold information, wherein the at least one IAB node is requested to perform threshold-based reporting of updated link capacity based on the link capacity threshold information; and receiving, from a first IAB node of the at least one IAB node, an updated link capacity report that was triggered at the IAB node based on a change of available link capacity of the IAB node with respect to the capacity threshold information, the updated link capacity report indicating updated available link capacity of at least one a child backhaul link or at least one access link of the first IAB node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. as taught by Talukdar et al. for purpose of indicating updated available link capacity of at least one a child backhaul link or at least one access link of the IAB node.
For claim 11, the claim has features similar to claim 11. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 11.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. 20230403617) in view of Akl et al. (U.S. 12335842) and further in view of AKL et al. (U.S. 20220225060).
For claim 4, the combination of Wu et al. and Akl et al. do not disclose the method of claim 2, transmitting to a descendant node and an access UE having failed in an admission control, a mobility command message; and transmitting, to a descendant node and an access UE succeeded in the admission control, a delayed RRC reconfiguration message received from the handover request message.
In the same field of endeavor, AKL et al. disclose transmitting to a descendant node and an access UE having failed in an admission control, a mobility command message; and transmitting, to a descendant node and an access UE succeeded in the admission control, a delayed RRC reconfiguration message received from the handover request message (at least [0096]. The reconfiguration of the same topology may be performed by transmitting the RRC reconfiguration messages to the descendant nodes by the IAB-donor-CU 802 via the source path before the handover of the IAB-node 820. However, the RRC reconfiguration messages may be held back by the respective parent nodes until they receive an indication that the handover has been successfully executed and the target path has become available. Thus, a condition for sending the RRC reconfiguration message may be receipt of an indication that a handover is successful. That is, if the RRC reconfiguration message is transmitted to the respective child nodes before the handover has been successfully executed, the respective child nodes may initiate the TNL migration based on the received RRC reconfiguration message before the target path has become available, and the TNL migration may fail. Accordingly, the RRC reconfiguration message may be delivered to the DU of the respective parent IAB-nodes before the handover via the source path, and withhold the delivery of the RRC reconfiguration message until the handover is complete.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. as taught by AKL et al. for purpose of withholding the delivery of the RRC reconfiguration message until the handover is complete.
For claim 11, the claim has features similar to claim 11. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 11.
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. 20230403617) in view of Akl et al. (U.S. 12335842) and further in view of Jia et al. (U.S. 20240022988).
For claim 5, Wu et al. disclose a method performed by a target integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor-central unit (CU) in a communication, the method comprising:
receiving, from a source IAB-donor-CU, a handover request message including an IAB node indication (at least Fig. 5A, [0081]-[0083] and [0107]. The source IAB-donor sends 506 a Handover Request message to the target IAB-donor 108B. The Handover Request message includes UE Context information of UE(s) (e.g., UE 102 and/or other UE(s)) and/or IAB-node 104, and IAB information.); and
transmitting, to the source IAB-donor-CU, a handover request response message including a RRC reconfiguration message for each of the IAB-node 104 (or more specifically, IAB-MT function of IAB-node 104) and UE(s) including UE 102 (at least Fig. 5A, [0081]-[0083] and [0107]. In response to receiving the Handover Request message, the target IAB-donor 108B generates a RRC reconfiguration message for each of the IAB-node 104 (or more specifically, IAB-MT function of IAB-node 104) and UE(s) including UE 102 and includes the RRC reconfiguration messages in a Handover Request Acknowledge message and sends 508 the Handover Request Acknowledge message to the source IAB-donor 108A, in response to the Handover Request message 506, including the RRC reconfiguration messages for the IAB-node 104 (or more specifically, IAB-MT function of IAB-node 104) and UE(s) including UE 102. The target IAB-donor 108B can include data forwarding information in the Handover Request Acknowledge message so that the source IAB-donor 108A can use the data forwarding information to perform downlink data forwarding at event 520.) However, Wu et al. do not disclose performing an admission control; a backhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channel and a transport network layer (TNL) address based on a target IAB-donor-distributed unit (DU).
In the same field of endeavor, Akl et al. disclose a backhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channel (at least Col. 21, lines 18-29. In addition to transmitting the other IP address information to the IAB donor CU 502, the IAB donor CU 504 may transmit a configuration of one or more backhaul radio link control (RLC) channels to carry traffic for the connection 524. In some aspects, the IAB donor CU 504 transmits the configuration based at least in part on receiving the indication that the IAB node 512 is to establish the connection 524, based at least in part on receiving the request for the other IP address information, based at least in part on receiving the load information, or a combination thereof. The configuration may identify a mapping between the traffic for the connection 524 and the one or more backhaul RLC channels.) and a transport network layer (TNL) address based on a target IAB-donor-distributed unit (DU) (at least Col. 19, lines 35-67. The IAB donor CU 504 may transmit the other TNL address information to the IAB donor CU 502 based at least in part on obtaining the other TNL address information from the IAB donor DU 510. The IAB donor CU 502 may receive the other TNL address information and may determine or derive the TNL address information based at least in part on the other TNL address information, and may transmit the TNL address information to the IAB node 512.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. as taught by Akl et al. for purpose of determining or deriving the TNL address information based at least in part on the other TNL address information, and may transmit the TNL address information to the IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, Jia et al. disclose performing an admission control (at least Fig. 23 and [0335]-[0339]. Step 2302: transmitting a handover request by the source IAB-donor-node to the target IAB-donor-node; and step 2303: performing admission control by the target IAB-donor-node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. as taught by Jia et al. for purpose of reducing the time of services interruption and improving user experiences.
For claim 6, the combination of Wu et al., Jia et al. and Akl et al. disclose the method of claim 5. Wu et al. disclose wherein the handover request message includes configuration information on a migrating node, a backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) address of the migrating node, and information associated with a topology of the migrating IAB node, and wherein the information associated with the topology of the migrating IAB node includes information on a number of hops from the migrating node, relation information between a parent node and a child node, a user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) and a radio bearer of an access UE for each node, a UE aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration of each node and the access UE (at least [0107]-[0108]. The Handover Request message includes UE Context information of UE(s) (e.g., UE 102 and/or other UE(s)) and/or IAB-node 104, and IAB information. The target IAB-donor 108B can generate the RRC reconfiguration message(s) for the UE(s) and IAB-node 104 in accordance with the UE Context information. The target IAB-donor 108B can transmit or route DL PDUs for the UE(s) to the IAB-node 104 in accordance with the IAB information. For example, the IAB information includes topology and backhaul related information, IP address information of the IAB-node 104 and intermediate IAB-node(s) (if existing) and/or identity(ies) of the IAB-node 104 and intermediate IAB-node(s) (if existing). The topology and backhaul related information may include information such as the BAP mapping configuration, which contains the backhaul routing information (e.g., the BAP Routing ID, BAP address(es)) and/or traffic mapping information. The BAP address(es) can include next-hop BAP address(es). The UE Context information of a particular UE (e.g., UE 102) or IAB-node 104 may include the NG-C UE associated Signaling Reference, Signaling TNL association address at source NG-C side, UE Security Capabilities, AS security information, Index to RAT/Frequency Selection Priority, Location Reporting Information, UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate, PDU Session Resources To Be Setup List, RRC Context, UE Context Reference at the IAB-node (e.g., Global NG-RAN Node ID, GNB-DU UE F1AP ID). In some implementations, the Handover Request Acknowledge message includes one or more RRC reconfiguration messages for the IAB-MT function of the IAB-nodes and/or UEs. In one implementation the Handover Request message and the Handover Request Acknowledge message for group handover as mentioned above can be new X2AP or XnAP interface messages for migrating the IAB-nodes and UEs other than the current Handover Request message and the Handover Request Acknowledge message defined in TS 36.423 or TS 38.423.)
For claims 13-14, the claims have features similar to claims 5-6. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason in claims 5-6.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. 20230403617) in view of Akl et al. (U.S. 12335842) and further in view of Jia et al. (U.S. 20240022988) and further in view of Talukdar et al. (U.S. 20220400411).
For claim 7, the combination of Wu et al. and Akl et al. do not disclose the method of claim 6, the admission control is performed by determining an amount of data required for each descendant node and the access UE based on the information associated with the topology of the migrating IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, Talukdar et al. disclose determining an amount of data required for each descendant node and the access UE based on the information associated with the topology of the migrating IAB node. (at least [0063]. That may perform admission control or that may receive link capacity reports, a method may include: transmitting, to at least one integrated access backhauling (IAB) (e.g., relay) node within a wireless network, link capacity threshold information, wherein the at least one IAB node is requested to perform threshold-based reporting of updated link capacity based on the link capacity threshold information; and receiving, from a first IAB node of the at least one IAB node, an updated link capacity report that was triggered at the IAB node based on a change of available link capacity of the IAB node with respect to the capacity threshold information, the updated link capacity report indicating updated available link capacity of at least one a child backhaul link or at least one access link of the first IAB node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. as taught by Talukdar et al. for purpose of indicating updated available link capacity of at least one a child backhaul link or at least one access link of the IAB node.
For claim 15, the claim has features similar to claim 7. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 7.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. 20230403617) in view of Akl et al. (U.S. 12335842) and further in view of Jia et al. (U.S. 20240022988) and further in view of AKL et al. (U.S. 20220225060).
For claim 8, the combination of Wu et al., Jia and Akl et al. do not disclose the method of claim 5, the handover request response message further includes a delayed RRC reconfiguration message for an IAB node succeeded in the admission control.
In the same field of endeavor, AKL et al. disclose the handover request response message further includes a delayed RRC reconfiguration message for an IAB node succeeded in the admission control (at least [0096]. The reconfiguration of the same topology may be performed by transmitting the RRC reconfiguration messages to the descendant nodes by the IAB-donor-CU 802 via the source path before the handover of the IAB-node 820. However, the RRC reconfiguration messages may be held back by the respective parent nodes until they receive an indication that the handover has been successfully executed and the target path has become available. Thus, a condition for sending the RRC reconfiguration message may be receipt of an indication that a handover is successful. That is, if the RRC reconfiguration message is transmitted to the respective child nodes before the handover has been successfully executed, the respective child nodes may initiate the TNL migration based on the received RRC reconfiguration message before the target path has become available, and the TNL migration may fail. Accordingly, the RRC reconfiguration message may be delivered to the DU of the respective parent IAB-nodes before the handover via the source path, and withhold the delivery of the RRC reconfiguration message until the handover is complete.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. as taught by AKL et al. for purpose of withholding the delivery of the RRC reconfiguration message until the handover is complete.
For claim 16, the claim has features similar to claim 8. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644