DETAILED ACTION
for
METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR DETERMINING A QUALITY PARAMETER OF
A REPRESENTATION OF A COATING COMPOSITION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/05/2024 & 01/30/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 01/05/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: The abstract using the phase “Disclosed herein are”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means in claim 12 (for example, “means for providing at least one modified or new representation of the coating composition”; “means for providing surface property data of at least one coating layer produced from the provided representation of the coating formulation”; and “means for determining at least one quality parameter of the provided modified or new representation of the coating composition”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kundem et al. [herein after Kundem] (US 2021/0187526) “Submitted by applicant on IDS”.
Regarding claim 1, Kundem discloses a process for determining a quality parameter of a representation of a coating composition (see abstract), said method comprising the steps of: (i) providing a modified representation of a coating composition (¶0039, lines 1-6); (ii) preparing the coating composition from the provided modified or new representation (¶0039, lines 6-9); (iii) producing a coating layer on at least a part of a substrate by manually applying the coating composition prepared in step (¶0040, lines 1-9 & ¶0082 lines 1-6) (ii) with a spray gun (100) comprising a sensor unit (622), a processing unit (614) and optionally a signal unit to at least part of the substrate while acquiring sensor data with the sensor unit [622; (¶0083, lines 1-6)]; (iv) optionally providing feedback to a user via the signal unit during manual application of the coating composition based on the sensor data acquired in step (¶0085, lines 11-16) (iii); (v) optionally repeating steps (i) to (iii) or steps (i) to (iv) (¶0083 & ¶0084, lines 1-7) (vi) providing to a computer processor (614) via a communication interface at least a part of the sensor data acquired in step (¶0063, lines 6-9) (iii); (vii) providing to the computer processor(614) via the communication interface surface property data of at least one coating layer produced in step (¶0083) (iii); (viii) determining with the computer processor at least one quality parameter of at least one representation provided in step (¶0063, lines 1-9) (i) based on the sensor data provided in step (vi), and the surface property data provided in step (vii); (ix) providing via the communication interface the at least one quality parameter determined in step (viii) (¶0100, lines 1-10); and (x) providing the representation of the coating composition via the communication interface to at least one database if the quality of said representation is determined in step (viii) to be acceptable (¶0116, lines 1-12 ).
Regarding claim 2, Kundem further discloses the modified or new representation of the coating composition may include providing a modified or new mixing formula or a modified or new recipe (¶0032, lines 8-13).
Regarding claim 3, Kundem further discloses the sensor unit includes at least one sensor [622; (¶0042, lines 20-26)].
Regarding claim 4, Kundem further discloses the sensor being a paint flow rate sensors [620; (¶0083, lines 25-31)].
Regarding claim 5, Kundem further discloses the sensor data acquired in step (iii) is selected from the group consisting of data on the distance between the spray gun and the substrate (¶0083, lines 25-31), data on the orientation of the spray gun with respect to the substrate (¶0085, lines 1-6), data on the movement of the spray gun (¶0085, lines 7-14), data on the contour of the substrate (¶0085, lines 14-16), data on the pressure of the compressed air, data on the flow of the coating composition, temperature data, humidity data and combinations thereof (¶0083, lines 25-31).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kundem further discloses providing feedback to a user during manual application of the coating composition with the spray gun in step (iv) includes providing the sensor data acquired in step (¶0063, lines 1-3) (iii) via a communication interface to the processing unit of the spray gun, processing with the processing unit the provided sensor data to determine whether the provided data is within or outside at least one predefined value (¶0091, lines 1-8), and providing with the signal unit at least one signal to the user in response to the processed sensor data (¶0091, lines 8-17).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Kundem further discloses providing surface property data in step (vii) includes determining surface property data of at least one coating layer applied in step (¶0063, lines 1-9) (iii) and providing the determined surface property data to the computer processor via the communication interface (¶0083, lines 1-8).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Kundem further discloses determining the quality of the provided modified representation of the coating composition in step (viii) includes providing at least one predefined application value (¶0071), and at least one predefined surface property value (¶0073, lines 12-20), via a communication interface to the computer processor and determining with the computer processor if the sensor data provided in step (vi) is within at least one predefined application value (¶0073, lines 22-29), and if the surface property data provided in step (vii) is within at least one predefined surface property value (¶0103, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Kundem further discloses the quality parameter is a classifier being indicative of the acceptability of the provided modified representation of the coating composition (¶0079, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, Kundem further discloses the quality of the provided modified representation of the coating composition is acceptable if the sensor data provided in step (vi) is within at least one predefined application value and if the surface property data provided in step (¶0070, lines 1-6) (vii) is within at least one predefined surface property value (¶0071, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 11, Kundem further discloses analyzing with the computer processor sensor data provided in step (vi); and/or (xi) optionally providing recommendations via the communication interface if the sensor data provided in step (¶0084, lines 15-21) (vi) and/or the surface property data provided in step (vii) is outside of predefined value(s) (¶0085, lines 1-6); and/or (xii) generating a further representation if the sensor data provided (¶0084, lines 15-21).
Regarding claim 12, Kundem discloses a system for determining a quality parameter of a representation of a coating composition, said system including: a) means for providing at least one modified representation of the coating composition (¶0079, lines 1-5); b) a spray gun for manually applying the coating composition to a substrate (¶0062, lines 37-41), the spray gun comprising a sensor unit (622) for acquiring sensor data during operation of the spray gun, a processing unit for processing the acquired sensor data and optionally a signal unit for providing at least one signal in response to the processed sensor data (¶0083, lines 1-6): c) at least one communication interface; d) means for providing surface property data of at least one coating layer produced from the provided representation of the coating formulation (¶0084, lines 15-21); and e) means for determining at least one quality parameter of the provided modified representation of the coating composition (¶0103, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Kundem further discloses a system (100) having a modified or new representation of a coating composition (¶0080), and b) a quality parameter, wherein the quality parameter is determined according to the method of claim 1 (see rejection claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Kundem further discloses database (¶0065, lines 1-4) having at least one modified representation of a coating composition (¶0086), wherein the modified or new representation of the coating composition is provided to the database according to the method of claim 1 (see rejection claim 1 above).
Conclusion
In addition, Dattilo et al, discloses methods, systems, and computer readable-medium with instructions for receiving data and providing calculated adjustments to a paint application process can comprise receiving at the server a first operating parameter associated with a first paint processing machine at a first painting facility. The method can also comprise receiving at the server a first quality control measurement from an analysis of a finished first paint product.
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855