DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 7-10
Claims 7-10 recite the limitation "the polyester resin composition" in regard to the amount of branching agent, melting temperature, cold crystallization temperature, and crystallization half-time. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims as these claims are dependent upon claim 1 and claim 6, which refer only to a polyester resin and not a composition. The applicant is required to review and revise the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (WO 2020080634, herein using US version US 20210380770).
Regarding Claims 1-5,
Hwang teaches a polyester resin comprised of terephthalic acid (Paragraph 11), ethylene glycol (Paragraph 11), isosorbide (Paragraph 12) and cyclohexanedimethanol (Paragraph 12) where the amount of isosorbide and cyclohexanedimethanol in combination is between 5 and 20 mole% of the diol (Paragraph 13). This value overlaps with the range of 9 to 17 mole% found in claim 4. Further, Hwang teaches in Examples 4 (Paragraph 74) and 5 (Paragraph 78) resins that include 2% by mole isosorbide, meeting the requirements of claim 2 and additionally teaches the use of 8 mole% cyclohexanedimethanol (Example 5, Paragraph 78), meeting the requirements of claim 3. Hwang teaches that the amounts of these two diols have significant influence on the chemical resistance and transparency of the resin, affording the ordinarily skilled artisan motivation to alter these values within the range taught to obtain the desired levels of both transparency and chemical resistance. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding equation 1, Hwang is silent. However, the value of equation 1 is calculated based upon the melting point, cold crystallization temperature, and crystallization half-time of the polyester resin. These are properties of the polymer itself and would necessarily follow the monomers and amounts contained within the polymer. As the polymers of the instant application overlap in amounts of monomer with those of Hwang, it would logically follow that the polymers Hwang would also meet this requirement. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.II.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7,
Hwang teaches the use of trimellitic anhydride as a branching agent (Example 71, Paragraph 71), meeting the requirement of claim 6. Further, Hwang teaches the use of trimellitic anhydride in an amount of 22 grams relative to 2221.2 grams of diol, an amount that is less than 1% by weight relative to the total amount diol, meeting the requirements of claim 7.
Regarding Claims 8-10,
Hwang is silent on the melting point, cold crystallization temperature, and crystallization half-time of the resins. However, as the composition of the resins taught by Hwang overlap with those of the instant application, it would necessarily follow that the resins taught by Hwang would fall within the ranges of the instant claims. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.II.
Regarding Claims 11-20,
Hwang teaches that resin may be used together with other polymers, including polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Paragraph 51), meeting the requirements of the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8, and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,606668. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polyester resin of the instant application is required to contain isosorbide in amounts of up to 3% of the diol composition and between 8 and 16% of cyclohexanedimethanol relative to the amount of the diol with the combination of the two accounting for up to 17% of the diol. These amounts overlap with the amounts in claims 1, 9, and 11 of US 12,606,668. Further, the instant application requires a melting temperature of 200-230 °C in claim 8, which overlaps with a range of 210-245 °C in claim 8 of US 12,606,668. Finally, claims 11-20 are directed towards a polyester resin blend with polyethylene terephthalate, which is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,606,668. While claim 1 of the instant application requires the polymer to meet a value defined by equation 1, this value is calculated based upon the melting point, cold crystallization temperature, and crystallization half-time of the polyester resin. These are properties of the polymer itself and would necessarily follow the monomers and amounts contained within the polymer. As the polymers of the instant application overlap in amounts with those in US 12,606,668, it would logically follow that the polymers of US 12,606,668 would also meet this requirement. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.II.
Conclusion
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765