DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plissonnier et al. (US 7,868,243) in view of Leavitt et al. (US 2010/0269879).
Regarding claim 1, Plissonnier discloses a thermoelectromotive force generating element (abstract) including a substrate (8 in Fig. 2); a thermoelectric conversion layer that is stacked on the substrate and includes a P-type thermoelectric material and an N-type thermoelectric material (7 and 9 in Fig. 2); a first electrode connected to one end of the thermoelectric conversion layer (C3/L66; 13); a second electrode connected to the other end of the thermoelectric conversion layer (C4/L2; 14); and an absorption portion that is stacked in contact with the second electrode (C4/L58-67; note: the limitation “in contact” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components), the P-type thermoelectric material and the N-type thermoelectric material forming a PN series connection (C5/L50).
Plissonnier further discloses the thermoelectric conversion layer contains Si and Ge (C4/L55).
While Plissonnier does disclose doped semiconducting material of a first and second type (C3/L10-20), Plissonnier does not explicitly disclose the thermoelectric conversion layer further contains P, As, Sb, Al, or Ga.
Leavitt discloses a thermoelectric device (abstract) and further discloses a thermoelectric conversion layer containing phosphorous or antimony ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the n-type thermoelectric layer of Plissonnier with a phosphorous or antimony dopant, as disclosed by Leavitt, because as evidenced by Leavitt, the formation of an n-type thermoelectric material by doping with phosphorous or antimony amounts to the use of known materials in the art for their intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the n-type thermoelectric material of Plissonnier with a phosphorous or antimony dopant based on the teaching of Leavitt.
With regard to the limitations “on a low temperature side,” “on a high temperature side,” and “absorbs heat received from outside,” the limitations are directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 2, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Plissonnier further discloses the thermoelectric conversion layer is formed in a core-shell structure in which a periphery of the N-type thermoelectric material being covered by the P-type thermoelectric material (9 in relation to 7 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Plissonnier further discloses an insulation film for insulating a surface between the P-type thermoelectric material and the N-type thermoelectric material (10 in relation to 7 and 9 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Plissonnier further discloses the insulation film contains silicon oxide (C6/L48-49; C4/L55).
Regarding claim 8, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Plissonnier further discloses the thermoelectric conversion layer includes a plurality of thermoelectric conversion layers (7 and 9 in Fig. 2), the thermoelectromotive force generating element further comprising an insulating filling portion for filling a gap between the thermoelectric conversion layers (10 in relation to 7 and 9 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Plissonnier further discloses the thermoelectric conversion layer has a columnar shape (columnar shape depicted in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set
forth above.
While Plissonnier does not explicitly disclose the thermoelectric conversion layer
has an aspect ratio (columnar height/diameter of a base circle) of 10 or more; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the thermoelectric conversion layer of Plissonnier such that it has an aspect ratio of 10 or more because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 12, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Plissonnier further discloses the absorption layer has electrical conductivity (C4/L60 discloses platinum), the thermoelectromotive force generating element further comprising an electrical insulation heat transfer body (10 in Fig. 2).
With regard to the limitation “that transfers heat to the second electrode,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 16, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “the thermoelectromotive force generating element is a thermoelectric conversion element that generates thermoelectromotive force corresponding to an amount of heat absorbed from outside,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Additionally, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 17, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “the absorption layer absorbs heat due to incident light, and the thermoelectromotive force generating element is an infrared photodetector,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Additionally, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 18, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “the thermoelectromotive force is output from an extraction electrode connected to the first electrode,” the extraction electrode claimed is not recited as part of the thermoelectromotive force generating element, and the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 19, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “the extraction electrode outputs the thermoelectromotive force from one of a side of the substrate where the thermoelectric conversion layer is stacked and a side of the substrate where the thermoelectric conversion layer is not stacked,” the extraction electrode claimed is not recited as part of the thermoelectromotive force generating element, and the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plissonnier et al. (US 7,868,243) in view of Leavitt et al. (US 2010/0269879) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Zinn et al. (US 2011/0088739).
Regarding claim 9, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set
forth above.
While modified Plissonnier does disclose an insulating filling portion (Plissonnier–
10 in Fig. 2), modified Plissonnier does not explicitly disclose the insulation filling portion is formed of a porous material.
Zinn discloses a thermoelectric device (abstract) and further discloses the use of porous alumina as an insulating material ([0078] L10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the insulating filling portion of modified Plissonnier with porous alumina, as disclosed by Zinn, because as evidenced by Zinn, the use of porous alumina as an insulating material in a thermoelectric device amounts to the use of a known material in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the insulating filling portion of Plissonnier with porous alumina based on the teaching of Zinn.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plissonnier et al. (US 7,868,243) in view of Leavitt et al. (US 2010/0269879) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasutake (US 2006/0180191).
Regarding claim 13, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set
forth above.
Modified Plissonnier does not explicitly disclose the first electrode or the second electrode contains Au, Pt, Cu, Ag, Ni, Al, or graphene.
Yasutake discloses a thermoelectric module (abstract) and further discloses the electrode contains copper ([0045] L7-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the first or second electrode of modified Plissonnier with copper, as disclosed by Yasutake, because as evidenced by Yasutake, the use of copper in an electrode of a thermoelectric device amounts to the use of a known material in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when using copper in the electrodes of Plissonnier based on the teaching of Yasutake.
Regarding claim 14, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Plissonnier does not explicitly disclose the first electrode or the second electrode further includes an electrode seed layer on a side to be connected to the thermoelectric conversion layer.
Yasutake discloses a thermoelectric module (abstract) and further discloses an electrode including an electrode seed layer on a side connected to the thermoelectric conversion layer ([0045] L8-11; note: the limitation “connected” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the first or second electrode of modified Plissonnier with an electrode seed layer, as disclosed by Yasutake, because as evidenced by Yasutake, the use of an electrode seed layer to form an electrode of a thermoelectric device amounts to the use of a known component in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the electrodes of Plissonnier with a seed layer based on the teaching of Yasutake.
Regarding claim 15, modified Plissonnier discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Plissonnier further discloses the electrode seed layer contains chromium (Yasutake – [0045] L8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 6-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726