DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on June 5, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s reply filed on June 5, 2026 did not have an election of species, as required in the requirement for restriction mailed April 21, 2026. For purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will examine species directed to “one of the plurality of mixing bowl sensors is disposed proximal to the cavity wall opening to detect gaseous material flowing out of the mixing bowl”. Therefore, claims 1-8 and 10-11 will be examined.
Claims 9 and 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species/invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the distribution system includes at least one conduit for delivering a flow of the gaseous mixture directly to the process chamber (claim 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the cross reference to related applications needs to be updated to reflect the this application is a 371 of a PCT.
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: material distribution system in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7-line 2 has a typo of “planform”. For purposes of compact prosecution, the term is interpreted as platform.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1-line 5, the phrase of “the sensor” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is a plurality of mixing bowl sensors. It is unclear if the reference is one or some or all of the plurality of mixing bowl sensors. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the plurality of mixing bowl sensors.
In regards to claim 1-line 6, the phrase of “the detected gas” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is at least one gas. It is unclear if the reference is one or some or all of the at least one gas. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the at least one gas.
In regards to claim 1-line 7, the phrase of “gaseous material” is unclear if it is intended to different from the previously recited gaseous mixture of material. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the gaseous mixture or the gaseous mixture of material.
In regards to claim 1-line 8, the phrase of “the process chamber” lacks clear antecedent basis. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as a process chamber and the recitation in claim 9 is interpreted as the process chamber.
In regards to claim 1-line 14, the phrase of “the process chamber sensor” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is a at least one process chamber sensor. It is unclear if the reference is one or some or all of the at least process chamber sensor. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the at least process chamber sensor.
Claim 1-line 16 recites the limitation "the anticipated material on the surface of the substrate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as an anticipated material on the surface of the substrate.
In regards to claim 2-lines 1-2, the phrase of “the distribution system” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is a material distribution system. It is unclear if the reference is to the material distribution system or a different distribution system. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the material distribution system.
In regards to claim 2-line 3, the phrase of “a process chamber” is unclear if it is intended to different from the previously recited process chamber. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the process chamber.
In regards to claim 3-lines 1-2 and claim 4-lines 1-2, the phrase of “the distribution system” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is a material distribution system. It is unclear if the reference is to the material distribution system or a different distribution system. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the material distribution system.
In regards to claim 5-line 1, the phrase of “the mixing sensors” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is a plurality of mixing bowl sensors. It is unclear if the reference is some or all of the plurality of mixing bowl sensors. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the plurality of mixing bowl sensors.
In regards to claim 6-line 1, the phrase of “the material process chamber sensors” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is a at least one process chamber sensor. It is unclear if the reference is one or some or all of the at least process chamber sensor. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the at least process chamber sensor.
In regards to claim 7-lines 2-3, the phrase of “a mixing bowl sensor” lacks clarity, as previously the recitation is a plurality of mixing bowl sensors. It is unclear if there should be a reference to the plurality of mixing bowl sensors or is this sensor distinct. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the plurality of mixing bowl sensors.
In regards to claim 7-line 4, the phrase of “the sprinkler heads” lacks clear antecedent basis as previously the recitation is a plurality of sprinkler heads. It is unclear if the reference is one or some or all of the at least process chamber sensor. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the plurality of sprinkler heads.
Claim 8-line 2 recites the limitation "the cavity wall". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as a cavity wall.
Claim 8-line 5 recites the limitation "the sprinkler heads ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claim 11-line 1-2, the phrase of “a plurality of process chamber sensors” is unclear. It is unclear if there should be a reference to the previous the recitation is the plurality of process chamber sensors. For purposes compact prosecution, the phrase is interpreted as the at least process chamber sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregor (US 2020/0270748) in view of Tedeschi (US 2018/0374764).
In regards claim 1, Gregor teaches substrate processing system (50) comprising:
a manifold-68 and manifold-72 (mixing bowl) provide cavities which receive gases to form a gaseous mixture of material used for performing semiconductor processes on a substrate (fig. 1, 5-6, 8; para. 82-83);
a pressure sensor-90 and a pressure sensor-91 are provided within the manifold-68 and the manifold-72, the pressure sensors provide a signal representative to the pressure of the gases within the manifolds (fig. 1, 8; para. 83);
a multi-injector showerhead (74, material distribution system) receives gases from the manifold-72 and distributes the gases to within a processing chamber (52) (fig. 1, 5-6, 8; para. 81-82, 89);
the processing chamber (52) provides a housing for a substrate (56), the multi-injector showerhead which is proximal to the substrate, comprise pressure sensors-152/162 and temperature sensors-156/166, the processing chamber receives gases (fluid communication with) from the multi-injector showerhead and performs a semiconductor process on a surface of the substrate in the presence of the temperature and pressure sensors (fig. 1, 5-6, 8; para. 81, 89-91);
a controller (96) receives the signals from the sensors and controls the flow of gases (fig. 1, 5-6, 8; para. 84).
Gregor does not explicitly teach the process chamber sensor having a resonance property which changes upon exposure to the semiconductor processes, the process chamber sensor issuing a material process signal indicative of the anticipated material on the surface of the substrate.
However, Tedeschi teaches a particle monitoring device (200) comprising wafer substrate 202 which has a plurality of micro sensors (210/212/214) within locations of a chamber volume (406) of a process chamber (114) the micro sensors are proximate to the wafer/substrate (402). Tedeschi teaches the sensors detects when a material is deposited during a wafer fabrication process (fig. 2, 4; para. 45-50, 56, 59-63).
Tedeschi teaches the sensors provides signal to a processor (508) to provide monitoring or control of the process (fig. 5; para. 75, 89-91, 103-104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the micro sensors and processor of Tedeschi onto the process chamber and controller of Gregor because Tedeschi teaches it will provide for uniformity of the process over time (para. 109, 112).
In regards to claim 2, Gregor and Tedeschi as discussed, where Gregor teaches the multi-injector showerhead (74) comprises a plurality of injector assemblies (150/160, sprinkler heads), which provide outlets to distribute the gases within the process chamber (fig. 5-6; para. 89-91).
In regards to claim 3, Gregor and Tedeschi as discussed, where Gregor teaches a conduit connects the manifold-68 to the manifold-72 to deliver the gases to the processing chamber (fig. 1, 8).
In regards to claim 4, Gregor and Tedeschi as discussed, where Gregor teaches the manifold-72 provides a plurality of conduits which connects to the shower head (74), where the showerhead provide distribution of gas flow within the processing chamber (fig. 1, 5-6, 8; para. 82, 89-91).
In regards to claim 6, Gregor and Tedeschi as discussed, where Tedeschi teaches the micro sensor-210 are capacitive micro sensor which measures changes in the amount of material on the surface of the micro sensor-210 (para. 46-47, 50, 61, 63-64) which is equivalent to a Quartz Crystal Microbalance (QCM) or a MicroElectroMechanical (MEM) sensors.
In regards to claim 11, Gregor and Tedeschi as discussed, where Tedeschi teaches the plurality of micro sensors within the chamber volume (406) of the process chamber (114) and the micro sensors are proximate to the wafer/substrate (402). The temporary signals from the micro sensors to the processor are capable of the claimed correlated in accordance with the distance and orientation of the process chamber sensors relative to the substrate to enhance the correlation data between the substrate and the process chamber sensor (fig. 2, 4-5; para. 45-50, 56, 59-63, 75, 89-91, 103-104).
Claims 5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregor and Tedeschi as applied to claims 1-4, 6 and 11 above, and further in view of Satake (US 2002/0022087).
In regards to claim 5, Gregor and Tedeschi as discussed but do not explicitly teach one of the plurality of mixing bowl sensors include sensors from the group of: Quartz Crystal Microbalance (QCM), Optical and Mass Spectrometer sensors.
However, Satake teaches a gas analyzer (20) which does infrared spectrometry to monitor the concentration of gases within a mixing chamber (15) which allows for mass flow rate control of the materials which will be delivered to the reaction chamber (22) (fig. 1; para. 35-36, 43-45, 50-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the gas analyzer at the mixing chamber of Satake onto the manifold-68 and/or manifold-72 of Gregor and Tedeschi because Satake teaches it will provide adjustments so as to provide proper film depositions (para. 37).
In regards to claim 8, Gregor, Tedeschi and Satake as discussed, where Satake teaches the mixing chamber comprises an opening to enable the flow of materials to a conduit and the gas analyzer is close to wall of the mixing chamber (fig. 1; para. 35-36, 43-45).
In regards to claim 10, Gregor, Tedeschi and Satake as discussed to teach the gas analyzer along the wall of the mixing chamber , but do not explicitly teach the plurality of mixing bowl sensors is a Quartz Crystal Microbalance (QCM) disposed along an internal peripheral surface of the cavity.
However, Tedeschi teaches the use of Quartz Crystal Microbalance (QCM) within the processing tool to monitor particles during the wafer fabrication process (para. 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the QCM of Tedeschi onto the mixing chamber of Gregor, Tedeschi and Satake because Tedeschi teaches it will aid in process control or indicate when repair is needed (para. 9).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregor and Tedeschi as applied to claims 1-4, 6 and 11 above, and further in view of Lind (US 2022/0213599).
In regards to claim 7, Gregor and Tedeschi as discussed but do not explicitly teach the mixing bowl defines a circular platform having several cavity wall openings and wherein a mixing bowl sensor is disposed proximal to each cavity wall opening to detect gaseous material flowing out of the mixing bowl and toward a select one of the sprinkler heads.
However, Lind teaches a vapor accumulator reservoir (100) which is circular and provides opening such as sensor port (149) and a port which is connected to vapor concentration sensor (154) (fig. 1-2, 4; para. 39, 42, 45-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the vapor accumulator reservoir of Lind onto the manifold of Gregor and Tedeschi because Lind teaches it will provide accurate flow of materials (para. 33).
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717