DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/14/2025, 9/17/2024, and 1/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 1/05/2024. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant summits the Preliminary Amendment filed on 1/05/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 34-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanda et al (US 2022/0046586), hereinafter “Dhanda“, in view of He et al (US 11,696,359), hereinafter “He“.
Regarding claim 34, Dhanda teaches a method, performed by a terminal device (Fig. 2 teaches paging carriers supporting the coverage level of the user equipment), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network device, a carrier list associated with at least one minimum discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (pars [0071-0073] [0083]),
determining, from the carrier list, at least one carrier corresponding to a coverage level in a plurality of coverage levels for carrier selection (pars [0071-0073] [0083]), and
Dhanda does not explicitly teach determining a target DRX cycle for paging based on a DRX cycle specific to the terminal device, a minimum DRX cycle within the at least one minimum DRX cycle associated with the coverage level, and a default DRX cycle.
He, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining a target DRX cycle for paging based on a DRX cycle specific to the terminal device (col. 10, lines 29 to col. 11, line 16), a minimum DRX cycle within the at least one minimum DRX cycle associated with the coverage level (col. 10, lines 29 to col. 11, line 16), and a default DRX cycle (col. 1, line 44 to col. 2, line 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Dhanda to He, in order to provide the growing demand for mobile broadband access to increase, advance, and enhance the user in the wireless communication systems (as suggested by He in col. 1, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the method of claim 34, Dhanda further teaches wherein the receiving, from the network device, the carrier list associated with the at least one minimum DRX cycle (Fig. 2, pars [0071-0073]) comprises: receiving, via a System Information Block (SIB) (pars [0069] [0071]), the carrier list associated with the at least one minimum DRX cycle (pars [0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the method of claim 34, Dhanda further teaches wherein each carrier of the carrier list is associated with one minimum DRX cycle of the at least one minimum DRX cycle (pars [0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the method of claim 34, Dhanda further teaches comprising: determining a carrier for paging from the at least one carrier based on the coverage level (pars [0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 38, Dhanda teaches a method, performed by a network device (Fig. 2 teaches paging carriers supporting the coverage level of the user equipment), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal device, a carrier list associated with at least one minimum discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (pars [0071-0073] [0083]), wherein the carrier list comprises at least one carrier corresponding to a coverage level in a plurality of coverage levels for carrier selection (pars [0071-0073] [0083]), and
Dhanda does not explicitly teach wherein a target DRX cycle for paging is based on a DRX cycle specific to the terminal device, a minimum DRX cycle within the at least one minimum DRX cycle associated with the coverage level, and a default DRX cycle; and performing paging with the target DRX cycle.
He, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a target DRX cycle for paging is based on a DRX cycle specific to the terminal device (col. 10, lines 29 to col. 11, line 16), a minimum DRX cycle within the at least one minimum DRX cycle associated with the coverage level (col. 10, lines 29 to col. 11, line 16), and a default DRX cycle; and performing paging with the target DRX cycle (col. 1, line 44 to col. 2, line 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Dhanda to He, in order to provide the growing demand for mobile broadband access to increase, advance, and enhance the user in the wireless communication systems (as suggested by He in col. 1, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the method of claim 38, Dhanda further teaches wherein the transmitting, to the terminal device, the carrier list associated with the at least one minimum DRX cycle (Fig. 2, pars [0071-0073]) comprises: transmitting, via a System Information Block (SIB) (pars [0069] [0071]), the carrier list associated with the at least one minimum DRX cycle (pars [0071-0073] [0083]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the method of claim 38, Dhanda further teaches wherein each carrier of the carrier list is associated with one minimum DRX cycle of the at least one minimum DRX cycle (Fig. 2, pars [0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the method of claim 38, Dhanda further teaches wherein: a carrier for paging is from the at least one carrier based on the coverage level (pars [0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Dhanda and He teach a terminal device, comprising a processor configured to cause the terminal device to:
receive, from a network device, a carrier list associated with at least one minimum discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Fig. 2, pars [0071-0073]),
determine, from the carrier list, at least one carrier corresponding to a coverage level in a plurality of coverage levels for carrier selection (pars [0071-0073] [0083]), and
Dhanda does not explicitly teach determine a target DRX cycle for paging based on a DRX cycle specific to the terminal device, a minimum DRX cycle within the at least one minimum DRX cycle associated with the coverage level, and a default DRX cycle.
He, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine a target DRX cycle for paging based on a DRX cycle specific to the terminal device, a minimum DRX cycle within the at least one minimum DRX cycle associated with the coverage level, and a default DRX cycle (col. 1, line 44 to col. 2, line 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Dhanda to He, in order to provide the growing demand for mobile broadband access to increase, advance, and enhance the user in the wireless communication systems (as suggested by He in col. 1, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the terminal device of claim 42, Dhanda further teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the terminal device to receive, from the network device, the carrier list associated with the at least one minimum DRX cycle by: receiving (pars [0071-0073] [0083]), via a System Information Block (SIB) (pars [0069] [0071]), the carrier list associated with the at least one minimum DRX cycle (pars [0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the terminal device of claim 42, Dhanda further teaches wherein each carrier of the carrier list is associated with one minimum DRX cycle of the at least one minimum DRX cycle (pars [0071-0073] [0083]).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Dhanda and He teach the terminal device of claim 42, Dhanda further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause the terminal device to: determine a carrier for paging from the at least one carrier based on the coverage level (pars [0071-0073] [0083]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641