DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 01/05/2024, 01/02/2025, 03/12/2025 and 04/30/2026 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 forms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murnane [ US 2021/0376626 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Murnane teaches a battery management apparatus configured to perform battery condition monitoring in conjunction with a battery protection device connected to one or more battery modules (BMS – 0019, 0020, 0021), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and a memory configured to store at least one instruction executed by the at least one processor (master controller, figures 1 and 2 - 0021, 0032), wherein the at least one instruction includes:
an instruction to monitor a plurality of battery cells included in the one or more battery modules (battery cells - 0021, battery cells 202.1-202.N - 0032);
an instruction to, in the instance that an abnormality occurs in the one or more battery cells among the plurality of battery cells, select one of the battery modules, except the battery module including the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred, as a power supply module (battery failure - 0031, detect over and under voltages – 0032);
an instruction to transmit a control signal to a battery power source control device connected to the plurality of battery modules to connect a selected power supply module and the battery protection device (control the safety switches - 0030); and
an instruction to obtain power from the battery protection device connected to the power supply module and to receive state data of the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred (via redundant component monitors - 0032).
Regarding claim 5, Murnane teaches the battery power source control device is configured to: receive the control signal from the battery management apparatus; and connect the power supply module and the battery protection device by closing a switch corresponding to the selected power supply module among a plurality of switches in the battery power source control device (figure 2 – 0026-0033, figure 3 – 0034-0038, figure 4 – 0039-0042).
Regarding claim 6, Murnane teaches the at least one instruction further includes an instruction to, upon a charge voltage of the power supply module dropping below a threshold value, reselect a battery module having a charge rate equal to or higher than a threshold value as the power supply module among battery modules excluding the battery module including the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred (voltage threshold - 0034, 0037; 0039, 0048).
Regarding claim 7, Murnane teaches a battery management method for performing battery condition monitoring in conjunction with a battery protection device connected to one or more battery modules (BMS – 0019, 0020, 0021) (master controller, figures 1 and 2 - 0021, 0032), the method comprising:
monitoring a plurality of battery cells included in the one or more battery modules (battery cells - 0021, battery cells 202.1-202.N - 0032);
upon an abnormality occuring in the one or more battery cells among the plurality of battery cells, selecting one of the battery modules, except the battery module including the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred, as a power supply module (battery failure - 0031, detect over and under voltages – 0032);
transmitting a control signal to a battery power source control device connected to the plurality of battery modules to connect a selected power supply module and the battery protection device (control the safety switches - 0030); and
receiving power from the battery protection device connected to the power supply module and obtaining state data of the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred (via redundant component monitors - 0032).
Regarding claim 11, Murnane teaches the battery power source control device is configured to: receive the control signal from the battery management apparatus; and connect the power supply module and the battery protection device by closing a switch corresponding to the selected power supply module among a plurality of switches in the battery power source control device (figure 2 – 0026-0033, figure 3 – 0034-0038, figure 4 – 0039-0042).
Regarding claim 12, Murnane teaches upon a charge voltage of the power supply module dropping below a threshold value, reselecting a battery module having a charge rate equal to or higher than a threshold value as the power supply module among battery modules excluding the battery module including the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred (voltage threshold - 0034, 0037; 0039, 0048).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 2 is objected to because the closest prior art, Murnane [ US 2021/0376626 A1], fails to anticipate or render obvious an instruction to determine a location of the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred; and an instruction to select a battery module farthest from the module including the battery cell in which the abnormality has occurred, as a power supply module, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Claim 8 is objected to because the closest prior art, Murnane [ US 2021/0376626 A1], fails to anticipate or render obvious determining a location of the battery cell in which the abnormality occurred; and selecting a battery module farthest from the module including the battery cell in which the abnormality has occurred, as a power supply module, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Relevant Prior Art / Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0182908 A1) discloses a battery management apparatus for controlling the quality of battery modules;
Wartenberg et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0240894 A1) discloses a battery management system for monitoring and regulating the operation of a rechargeable battery.
/RICKY GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857