DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The Amendment filed on 17Jul2026 is acknowledged in which claim(s) 1-16, 18-30, and 32-33 were canceled, and claim(s) 34-47 are new.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 4 (e.g., claim 17 and amended claim 31) in the reply filed on 17 Jul 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the examination of all the claims does not create an undue search burden on the examiner”. This is not found persuasive because the instant application was submitted under 35 USC 371, therefore the requirement for restriction between groups was based on breaking of unity of invention (see MPEP 1893.03(d), MPEP 1850, MPEP 801), and search burden is not an factor considered under unity of invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 40-46 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention (e.g., if included in the previous claim set would have been part of Group 1), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 17 Jul 2026.
Claim(s) 17, 31, 34-39, 47 is/are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 17, 31, 34-39, 47, recite(s) “…CD8 positive stem-like chronic resource cells…” in line 1. The instant specification does not define said cells. MPEP 2112.01 provides “Where the claimed and prior art products…are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)…”. Given the above, prior art teaching an identical or substantially identical process (e.g., the instant claimed active method steps) will be considered to teach the “…CD8 positive stem-like chronic resource cells…”.
Claim(s) 37, recite(s) “…wherein resting is in vitro…” in line 1. The instant specification provides multiple embodiments for resting the T cells in vitro [e.g., pg. 5, lines 4-12; etc.]:
The instant specification is considered to provide a list of examples, and not a closed definition of ‘resting in vitro’. Given the above, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) is considered to include any prior art teachings of containing/maintaining the instant claimed cells in vitro for any amount of time (e.g., in blood collection tube, in culture medium, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 17, 31, 34-39, 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 17, 31, 34-39, 47, recite(s) “…have no or low expression of…” in line(s) 7, rendering the claim(s) indefinite. The instant specification does not define low expression. Specifically, it is unclear if the phrase means (1) low expression compared to some unspecified control; (2) low expression based on set gating (e.g., based on some unknown controls); (3) low expression based on subject specific gating (e.g., gating is adjusted for each individual sample); (4) low expression relative to the expression of other surface markers (e.g., compared to the CD8+ signal); or (5) something else. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the phrase will be considered to mean any level of expression. This rejection may be overcome by amending claim(s) 17 as recited to clearly recite the limitation(s) of the instant invention. Claim(s) 31, 34-39, and 47 can overcome this rejection by amending claim(s) 17 as recited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 31, 34-39, 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/170231 A1 (hereinafter “WO231”), in view of Krishna et al. (Science 370, 1328–1334 (2020); hereinafter “Krishna”).
CD8+/PD1+/TCF1+/CD44+/TIM3-/CD39- are considered to be “stem-like chronic resource cells” (see claim interpretation above for details).
Regarding instant claim(s) 17, 31, 35, WO231 teaches a method of obtaining a sample and purifying multipotent (e.g., stem-like) T cells [e.g., title, abstract], wherein said multipotent T cells are CD8+/PD1+/CD44+/CD62L+ /CD127+ [e.g., pg. 4, ¶ 3; pg. 43, ¶ 2; figs. 7A-B]. WO231 further teaches that the multipotent T cells express TCF7, which encodes the TCF1 protein, and that expression of TCF7 (e.g., and therefore of TCF1 protein; e.g., cells are CD8+/PD1+/CD44+/CD62L+ /CD127+/TCF1+) is associated with increased stemness of said T cells, and [e.g., pg. 41, ¶ 1; pg. 42, ¶ 1; pg. 43, ¶ 2].
Regarding instant claim(s) 34, WO231 teaches said T cells are expanded [e.g., pg. 49, ¶ 2].
Regarding instant claim(s) 36, WO231 teaches CD127 and CD62L are detected by flow cytometry [e.g., figs. 7A-B].
Regarding instant claim(s) 37-38, WO231 teaches samples were collected in blood tubes and maintained in cell culture medium (e.g., resting in vitro; see claim interpretation above for details) [e.g., pg. 47, ¶ 2; pg. 49, ¶ 2].
Regarding instant claim(s) 39, WO231 teaches the T cell is a CAR T cell [e.g., pg. 14, ¶ 3].
Regarding instant claim(s) 47, WO231 teaches the subject is human [e.g., pg. 14, ¶ 3; fig. 3C].
WO231 does not expressly teach that the T cells are TIM3-/CD39-.
Regarding instant claim(s) 17, 31, 3-39, 47, Krishna teaches that TIM3 and CD39 are inhibitory surface markers on T cells, that adoptive T cell therapies with stem cell like properties are TIM3-/CD39-, and that such CAR T cells exhibit superior anti-tumor responses [e.g., abstract; pg. 1, col. 2, ¶ 1].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of isolating CD8+/PD1+/ CD44+/CD62L+/CD127+/TCF1+ CAR T cells taught by WO231, with the further negative selection of TIM3 and CD39 for CAR T cells as taught by Krishna, to arrive at a method for isolating CD8+/PD1+/CD44+/ CD62L+/CD127+/TCF1+/TIM3-/CD39- T cells. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to combine the method of isolating CD8+/PD1+/CD44+/CD62L+/CD127+/TCF1+ CAR T cells taught by WO231 to include that the CAR T cells are TIM3-/CD39- as taught by Krishna, because WO231 teaches the base isolation method and target population (e.g., phenotype characterized by listed cell markers) of CAR T cells with stem cell like properties, and Krishna further teaches that TIM3-/CD39- CAR T cells exhibit stem cell like properties which superior anti-tumor responses. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for a PHOSITA to combine the method of isolating CD8+/PD1+/CD44+/CD62L+/CD127+/TCF1+ CAR T cells taught by WO231 to include that the CAR T cells are TIM3-/CD39- as taught by Krishna, because WO231 teaches the base isolation method (e.g., flow cytometry) and target population markers, and Krishna teaches the additional cell surface markers which were detected using flow cytometry [e.g., pg. 1, col. 3, ¶ 2]. This rationale aligns with the principle of applying a known technique to a known method to yield predictable results, supporting a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP § 2143).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
/AMY M. CHATTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643