DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed February 13, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-11 of copending Application No. 18/851,645 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-4 and 8-11 of copending Application No. 18/851,645 recite all of the limitations set forth in Claims 1-5 and 7-10 of the instant application and therefore necessarily reads on Claims 1-5 and 7-10 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/851,645 in view of Rhee et al. (KR 2014-0027671 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) or Rhee et al. (KR 2014-0027671 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) in view of Wang (CN 105932330 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation).
Regarding Claim 6, copending Application No. 18/851,645 does not disclose wherein a content ratio of the polymer to a sum of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt is 1:1 to 1:8
However, Rhee or Rhee in view of Wang teaches the limitations as set forth in the rejection of record below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane of copending Application No. 18/851,645 to have a content ratio of the polymer to the sum of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt in the encompassing portion of the range disclosed by modified Rhee, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by modified Rhee.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: L4 of the claim should recite “…or polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP)
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites LiClO4 twice (e.g. in L3 and in L4). The Examiner requests that the Applicant cancel one of the recitations of LiClO4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein a content ratio of the polymer and sum of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt is 1:-1 to 1:-8”.
However, it is unclear how the sum of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt, which are required to be present, can have a negative value.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein a content ratio of the polymer to a sum of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt is 1:1 to 1:8” in light of P14, second paragraph of the instant specification.
Claim 7 recites “wherein a content ratio of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt is from 10:-1 to 1:-5”.
However, it is unclear how the lithium salt, which is required to be present, can have a negative value.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “wherein a content ratio of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to the lithium salt is from 10:1 to 1:5” in light of P14, third paragraph of the instant specification.
Examiner’s Interpretation
The Examiner notes that PEG-POSS is in a liquid phase at room temperature, as evidenced by [0030] of Wang (CN 105932330 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) and P8 of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee et al. (KR 2014-0027671 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 10, Rhee discloses a lithium secondary battery ([0040]) comprising:
a positive electrode ([0040]);
a negative electrode ([0040]); and
a solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane ([0040]) comprising:
a polymer ([0020]);
a liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane (POSS) represented by the following Formula 1 below ([0020], wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane is in a liquid phase at room temperature); and
a lithium salt ([0020]),
[Formula 1]
wherein, each R may be chosen to be a polyethylene glycol group with 1 repeating unit of ethylene oxide ([0024]-[0025], [0029]-[0033]).
The Examiner notes that when R is polyethylene glycol, such reads on Formula 1-1 wherein L1 and L2 are C2 alkylene groups, R1 is a C1 alkyl group, and m and n are 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a polyethylene glycol group with 1 repeating unit of ethylene oxide as each R in [Formula 1], as disclosed by Rhee, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by Rhee.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Rhee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the polymer is not particularly limited may be chosen to comprise a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) or a polyacrylonitrile (PAN) as a main chain ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the polymer to comprise a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) or a polyacrylonitrile (PAN) as a main chain, as disclosed by modified Rhee, as such is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by modified Rhee.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Rhee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the lithium salt is not particularly limited and may be chosen to comprise one selected from the group consisting of LiPF6, LiBF4, LiBOB, LiClO4, and a combination thereof ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize LiPF6, LiBF4, LiBOB, LiClO4, or a combination thereof as the lithium salt, as disclosed by modified Rhee, as such is not particularly limited and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by modified Rhee.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Rhee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a content of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane in the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane is 5 wt% to 50 wt% based on the total weight of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane ([0020], [0035]).
Therefore, modified Rhee discloses wherein a content of the lithium salt is necessarily and inherently greater than 0 wt% and less than 95 wt% and a content of the lithium salt is necessarily and inherently greater than 0 wt% and less than 95 wt% based on the total weight of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane.
In light of the above, modified Rhee discloses wherein a content of the polymer to a sum of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt may be 1:1 to 1:8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane to have a content ratio of the polymer to the sum of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt to be 1:1 to 1:8, as disclosed by modified Rhee, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by modified Rhee.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Rhee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a content of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane in the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane is 5 wt% to 50 wt% based on the total weight of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane ([0020], [0035]).
Therefore, modified Rhee discloses wherein a content of the lithium salt is necessarily and inherently greater than 0 wt% and less than 95 wt% based on the total weight of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane.
In light of the above, modified Rhee discloses wherein a content ratio of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to the lithium salt is greater than 0 and less than 1:19, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 1:1 to 1:8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane to have a content ratio of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to the lithium salt in the encompassing portion of the range disclosed by modified Rhee, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by modified Rhee.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Rhee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in the exemplary embodiments wherein an ion conductivity of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane is from 3.5 x 10-7 to 4.0 x 10-6 S/cm at room temperature ([0054], Table 1), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of 1.0 x 10-7 to 9.0 x 10-5 S/cm at 25°C.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee et al. (KR 2014-0027671 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN 105932330 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation).
In another interpretation, the following is relied upon.
Regarding Claims 6-7, modified Rhee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein a content of the liquid phase polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane in the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane is 5 wt% to 50 wt% based on the total weight of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane ([0020], [0035]).
Therefore, modified Rhee discloses wherein a content of the lithium salt is necessarily and inherently greater than 0 wt% and less than 95 wt% based on the total weight of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane.
Yang teaches an electrolyte membrane comprising a polymer, a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, and a lithium salt, wherein the electrolyte membrane comprises 1 part by weight of the polymer, 0.02-0.8 parts by weight of the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, and 0.01-3 parts by weight of the lithium salt ([0010]).
For example, Yang teaches in an exemplary embodiment wherein the electrolyte membrane comprises about 43 wt% of the polymer, about 35 wt% of the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, and 22 wt% of the lithium salt ([0086]).
The Examiner notes that the above exemplary embodiment of Yang has a content of the polymer, the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, and the lithium salt that fall within the suitable ranges disclosed by modified Rhee and further has a content ratio of the polymer to a sum of the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt of about 1:1.3, which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of 1:1 to 1:8, and a content ratio of the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to the lithium salt of about 1:0.6, which falls within the instantly claimed range of 10:1 to 1:5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane of modified Rhee to have a content of the polymer, the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, and the lithium salt that fall within the ranges taught by Yang, such that the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane has a content ratio of the polymer to a sum of the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane and the lithium salt that falls within the range of 1:1 to 1:8 and a content ratio of the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane to the lithium salt that falls within the instantly claimed range of 10:1 to 1:5, wherein such falls within the suitable ranges disclosed by modified Rhee and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by modified Rhee.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee et al. (KR 2014-0027671 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Xue et al. (CN 110994013 A, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Rhee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane has a strong mechanical strength such that it can maintain its performance even when its thickness is reduced ([0013]).
However, modified Rhee remains silent regarding the specific thickness and consequently does not disclose wherein a thickness of the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane is from 1 to 200 µm.
Xue teaches a thin-film electrolyte membrane for a lithium secondary battery comprising POSS, wherein the electrolyte membrane has a thickness preferably in the range from 50 to 300 µm ([0008], [0070]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 1 to 200 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane of modified Rhee to have a thickness in the overlapping portion of the range taught by Xue, as such is a known suitable thickness in the art for a thin-film electrolyte membrane and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the solid phase-liquid phase hybrid electrolyte membrane desired by modified Rhee.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan et al. (US PGPub 2018/0226679 A1) teaches an electrolyte membrane comprising a polymer, a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane (POSS), and a lithium salt ([0010]).
For example, Pan teaches wherein the polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane may be glycidyl POSS ([0029]).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725