Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-13,20,22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated
by Wang et al. (US20230209542A1)
Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches, A random access method, applied to a network device, comprising: configuring a first initial bandwidth part and a second initial bandwidth part; and sending first information; [40]- To transmit SIB 1 for RedCap UEs, configurations of CORESET 0 and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are disclosed. In the following, CORESET 0(=first bandwidth) and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are denoted as CORESET 0-RC=(second bandwidth) and search space 0-RC
[41-42]- Since reserved bits in MIB are limited, some parameters may need to be implicitly determined, for example, by using the same value as that of CORESET 0 and search space 0. Alternatively, SSB and MIB for RedCap UEs are disclosed, denoted as SSB-RC and MIB-RC, respectively.
wherein the first information indicates that synchronous signal block (SSB) information has a mapping relationship with second random access resource information configured in the second initial bandwidth part; and [43]- To configure CORESET 0-RC (=mapping relationship with second random access resource information ) and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized. The spare bit in MIB (=first information indicates) specified in 3GPP TS 38.331 may be used, as shown in Table 2. [45]- The spare bit of MIB and the reserved bits (e.g., a A+6, a A+7) are used to indicate the configuration of CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC. (=mapping relationship with second random access resource information )
Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches,The random access method of claim 9, wherein the first information indicates that the second random access resource information has a mapping relationship with first SSB information, and the first SSB information is SSB information configured in the first initial bandwidth part. [32]- A second initial DL BWP may be configured by SIB1, which fully contains the first initial DL BWP configured by MIB and may have a larger bandwidth than the first initial DL BWP, and may be used after receiving message 4 (Msg4) and before a dedicated DL BWP is configured by a gNB.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang teaches,The random access method of claim 10, wherein the first information is indicates that a second common control resource set in a second random access resource has a mapping relationship with the first SSB information. [42-43]- Method 1: Configure CORESET 0-RC and Search Space 0-RC by SSB for Legacy NR UEs.To configure CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang teaches,The random access method of claim 10, wherein the first information is indicates that a second physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set in a second random access resource has a mapping relationship with the first SSB information. [97]- the UL BWPs and the corresponding PRACH resource in each UL BWP that is used for a random access procedure are configured via SIB 1-RC. In some examples, the UL BWPs and the corresponding PRACH resource in each UL BWP that is used for a random-access procedure are configured via SIB1 if SIB1-RC is not provided to RedCap UEs.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang teaches, The random access method of claim 9, wherein the first information is indicates that a second common control resource set in a second random access resource has a mapping relationship with first SSB information, and[43]- To configure CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized. The spare bit in MIB specified in 3GPP TS 38.331 may be used, as shown in Table 2.
a second physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set in the second random access resource has a mapping relationship with second SSB information; [97]- the UL BWPs and the corresponding PRACH resource in each UL BWP that is used for a random access procedure are configured via SIB 1-RC. In some examples, the UL BWPs and the corresponding PRACH resource in each UL BWP that is used for a random-access procedure are configured via SIB1 if SIB1-RC is not provided to RedCap UEs.
wherein the first SSB information is SSB information configured in the first initial bandwidth part, and the second SSB information is SSB information configured in the second initial bandwidth part. See [32]
Regarding Claim 20, Wang teaches, A random access device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the random access method of claim 9. See Fig 4
Regarding Claim 22, Wang teaches,A non-transitory storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the random access method of claim 9any one of claims 9 See Fig 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,6-8,15,19,21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20230209542A1) in view of Lei et al. (US20220417997A1 )
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches, A random access method, applied to a terminal, comprising: determining first information, in response to the terminal having a first initial bandwidth part and a second initial bandwidth part; [40]- To transmit SIB 1 for RedCap UEs, configurations of CORESET 0 and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are disclosed. In the following, CORESET 0(=first bandwidth) and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are denoted as CORESET 0-RC=(second bandwidth) and search space 0-RC
[41-42]- Since reserved bits in MIB are limited, some parameters may need to be implicitly determined, for example, by using the same value as that of CORESET 0 and search space 0. Alternatively, SSB and MIB for RedCap UEs are disclosed, denoted as SSB-RC and MIB-RC, respectively.
wherein the first information indicates that synchronous signal block (SSB) information has a mapping relationship with second random access resource information configured in the second initial bandwidth part; and [43]- To configure CORESET 0-RC (=mapping relationship with second random access resource information ) and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized. The spare bit in MIB (=first information indicates) specified in 3GPP TS 38.331 may be used, as shown in Table 2. [45]- The spare bit of MIB and the reserved bits (e.g., a A+6, a A+7) are used to indicate the configuration of CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC. (=mapping relationship with second random access resource information )
Wang does not teach, performing random access based on the first information.
Lei teaches, performing random access based on the first information. [39]- As a result, the UE may not have sufficient time to transition to a transmit mode to transmit a random-access preamble in the RO in response to the selected SSB, and the random-access procedure at the UE may be delayed. [40]- These techniques may allow half-duplex RedCap UEs to efficiently perform random-access procedures to establish or reestablish a connection with a base station.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, performing random access based on the first information as taught by Lei to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches, The random access method of claim 1, wherein the first information indicates that the second random access resource information has a mapping relationship with first SSB information, and the first SSB information is SSB information configured in the first initial bandwidth part; [32]- A second initial DL BWP may be configured by SIB1, which fully contains the first initial DL BWP configured by MIB and may have a larger bandwidth than the first initial DL BWP, and may be used after receiving message 4 (Msg4) and before a dedicated DL BWP is configured by a gNB.
Wang does not teach, wherein performing the random access based on the first information comprises: monitoring the first SSB information in the first initial bandwidth part, determining the second random access resource information according to monitored the monitoring of the first SSB information, and performing the random access based on the second random access resource information.
Lei teaches, wherein performing the random access based on the first information comprises: monitoring the first SSB information in the first initial bandwidth part, determining the second random access resource information according to monitored the monitoring of the first SSB information, and [82]- the base station 105-a may ensure that the PRACH resources allocated for RedCap UEs 115 (e.g., half-duplex and full-duplex RedCap UEs) may be mapped to all SSBs indicated in system information (e.g., by ssb-PositionsInBurst in a system information block one (SIB1) or in ServingCellConfigCommon)
performing the random access based on the second random access resource information.[88]- In another aspect, half-duplex and full-duplex RedCap UEs 115 may follow the same rules in selecting the RO 520. In this aspect, a half-duplex or full-duplex RedCap UE 115 may transmit a RACH preamble on a valid RO if the RO is at least Ngap,RC symbols after a last downlink symbol.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, wherein performing the random access based on the first information comprises: monitoring the first SSB information in the first initial bandwidth part, determining the second random access resource information according to monitored the monitoring of the first SSB information, and performing the random access based on the second random access resource information as taught by Lei to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 6,Wang teaches, The random access method of claim 1, wherein the first information is indicates that the second random access resource information has a mapping relationship with second SSB information, and the second SSB information is SSB information configured in the second initial bandwidth part; [42]- Alternatively, SSB and MIB for RedCap UEs are disclosed, denoted as SSB-RC and MIB-RC, respectively. Configurations of CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC may be provided by the MIB-RC and SSB-RC.
Wang does not teach, wherein performing the random access based on the first information comprises: monitoring the second SSB information, in response to meeting a monitoring condition for monitoring a second SSB; determining the second random access resource information according to-monitored the monitoring of the second SSB information, and performing the random access based on the second random access resource information.
Lei teaches, wherein performing the random access based on the first information comprises: monitoring the second SSB information, in response to meeting a monitoring condition for monitoring a second SSB, [138]- irst mapping of a set of synchronization signal blocks to a first set of random-access channel occasions and a second mapping of the set of synchronization signal blocks to a second set of random-access channel occasions.
determining the second random access resource information according to-monitored the monitoring of the second SSB information, and performing the random access based on the second random access resource information. [146]- The system information manager 1325 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting system information to a set of multiple UEs indicating a first mapping of a set of synchronization signal blocks to a first set of random-access channel occasions and a second mapping of the set of synchronization signal blocks to a second set of random-access channel occasions.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art of Wang in view of Lei before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, wherein performing the random access based on the first information comprises: monitoring the second SSB information, in response to meeting a monitoring condition for monitoring a second SSB; determining the second random access resource information according to-monitored the monitoring of the second SSB information, and performing the random access based on the second random access resource information as taught by Cirik to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 7, Wang in view of Lei does not teach, The random access method of claim 6, wherein the monitoring condition comprises at least one of: a mapping relationship condition between a first SSB and the second SSB.
Cirik teaches, The random access method of claim 6, wherein the monitoring condition comprises at least one of: a mapping relationship condition between a first SSB and the second SSB. [145]- In an example, a first SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a first spatial direction using a first beam, and a second SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a second spatial direction using a second beam.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art of before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Lei, The random access method of claim 6, wherein the monitoring condition comprises at least one of: a mapping relationship condition between a first SSB and the second SSB as taught by Cirik to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 8, Wang does not teach, The random access method of claim 6 , wherein the monitoring condition is determined in one or a combination of the following ways: determining in a predefined way; determining based on a notification message carried in the first SSB information, wherein the notification message is indicates the monitoring condition.
Lei teaches, The random access method of claim 6 , wherein the monitoring condition is determined in one or a combination of the following ways: determining in a predefined way; determining based on a notification message carried in the first SSB information, wherein the notification message is indicates the monitoring condition.[101]- In some examples, the communications manager 720 may be configured to perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the receiver 710, the transmitter 715, or both.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art of before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The random access method of claim 6 , wherein the monitoring condition is determined in one or a combination of the following ways: determining in a predefined way; determining based on a notification message carried in the first SSB information, wherein the notification message is indicates the monitoring condition as taught by Lei to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang does not teach, The random access method of claim 14, further comprising: carrying a notification message in the first SSB information, wherein the notification message is configured to indicate a monitoring condition for monitoring a second SSB.
Lei teaches, The random access method of claim 14, further comprising: carrying a notification message in the first SSB information, wherein the notification message is configured to indicate a monitoring condition for monitoring a second SSB. [101]- In some examples, the communications manager 720 may be configured to perform various operations (e.g., receiving, monitoring, transmitting) using or otherwise in cooperation with the receiver 710, the transmitter 715, or both.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art of before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The random access method of claim 14, further comprising: carrying a notification message in the first SSB information, wherein the notification message is configured to indicate a monitoring condition for monitoring a second SSB as taught by Lei to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang teaches, A random access device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to determine first information, in response to a terminal being configured with a first initial bandwidth part and a second initial bandwidth part; [40]- To transmit SIB 1 for RedCap UEs, configurations of CORESET 0 and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are disclosed. In the following, CORESET 0(=first bandwidth) and search space 0 for RedCap UEs are denoted as CORESET 0-RC=(second bandwidth) and search space 0-RC
[41-42]- Since reserved bits in MIB are limited, some parameters may need to be implicitly determined, for example, by using the same value as that of CORESET 0 and search space 0. Alternatively, SSB and MIB for RedCap UEs are disclosed, denoted as SSB-RC and MIB-RC, respectively.
wherein the first information indicates that synchronous signal block (SSB) information has a mapping relationship with second random access resource information configured in the second initial bandwidth part; and [43]- To configure CORESET 0-RC (=mapping relationship with second random access resource information ) and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized. The spare bit in MIB (=first information indicates) specified in 3GPP TS 38.331 may be used, as shown in Table 2. [45]- The spare bit of MIB and the reserved bits (e.g., a A+6, a A+7) are used to indicate the configuration of CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC. (=mapping relationship with second random access resource information )
Wang does not teach, perform random access based on the first information.
Lei teaches, perform random access based on the first information. [39]- As a result, the UE may not have sufficient time to transition to a transmit mode to transmit a random-access preamble in the RO in response to the selected SSB, and the random-access procedure at the UE may be delayed. [40]- These techniques may allow half-duplex RedCap UEs to efficiently perform random-access procedures to establish or reestablish a connection with a base station.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, perform random access based on the first information as taught by Lei to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 21, Wang teaches, A non-transitory storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the random access method of claim 1 See Fig 4
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20230209542A1) in view of Lei et al. (US20220417997A1 ) in further view of Cirik et al. (US20220159733A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Wang teaches, The random access method of claim 2, wherein the first information is configured to indicate that a second common control resource set in a second random access resource has a mapping relationship with the first SSB information; [42-43]- Method 1: Configure CORESET 0-RC and Search Space 0-RC by SSB for Legacy NR UEs. To configure CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized.
Wang does not teach, wherein determining the second random access resource information according to the monitoring of the first SSB information comprises: determining spatial beam information of a first SSB according to the monitoring of the first SSB information; and taking the spatial beam information of the first SSB as spatial beam information of the second common control resource set.
wherein determining the second random access resource information according to the monitoring of the first SSB information comprises:
Cirik teaches determining spatial beam information of a first SSB according to the monitoring of the first SSB information; and [39]- Because the UE may receive each SSB on a different beam, the selection of the SSB may correspond to selecting a beam for communications with the base station[145]- In an example, a first SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a first spatial direction using a first beam, and a second SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a second spatial direction using a second beam.
taking the spatial beam information of the first SSB as spatial beam information of the second common control resource set.[225]- In an example, the wireless device may receive the PDCCH scheduling/indicating the random-access response via the second coreset with an error based on the first and second TRP using different beams.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Lei, wherein determining the second random access resource information according to the monitoring of the first SSB information comprises:determining spatial beam information of a first SSB according to the monitoring of the first SSB information; and taking the spatial beam information of the first SSB as spatial beam information of the second common control resource set as taught by Cirik to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches, The random access method of claim 2 , wherein the first information indicates that a second physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set in a second random access resource has a mapping relationship with the first SSB information; [97]- the UL BWPs and the corresponding PRACH resource in each UL BWP that is used for a random access procedure are configured via SIB 1-RC. In some examples, the UL BWPs and the corresponding PRACH resource in each UL BWP that is used for a random-access procedure are configured via SIB1 if SIB1-RC is not provided to RedCap UEs.
Wang in view of Lei does not teach, wherein determining the second random access resource information according to the monitoring of the first SSB information comprises: determining time-frequency domain information of a first PRACH resource set according to the monitoring of the first SSB information; and taking the time-frequency domain information of the first PRACH resource as time- frequency domain information of the second PRACH resource set.
Cirik teaches, wherein determining the second random access resource information according to the monitoring of the first SSB information comprises: determining time-frequency domain information of a first PRACH resource set according to the monitoring of the first SSB information; and [340]- The one or more configuration parameters may comprise physical random-access channel (PRACH) transmission parameters (e.g., PRACH preamble format, time resources, and frequency resources for PRACH transmission).See also [365]
taking the time-frequency domain information of the first PRACH resource as time- frequency domain information of the second PRACH resource set.[145]- SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a first spatial direction using a first beam, and a second SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a second spatial direction using a second beam.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang in view of Lei, wherein determining the second random access resource information according to the monitoring of the first SSB information comprises: determining time-frequency domain information of a first PRACH resource set according to the monitoring of the first SSB information; and taking the time-frequency domain information of the first PRACH resource as time- frequency domain information of the second PRACH resource set as taught by Cirik to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 5, Wang teaches, The random access method of claim 1, wherein the first information is indicates that a second common control resource set in a second random access resource has a mapping relationship with first SSB information, a [43]- To configure CORESET 0-RC and search space 0-RC by SSB, the following bits of MIB may be utilized. The spare bit in MIB specified in 3GPP TS 38.331 may be used, as shown in Table 2.
wherein the first SSB information is SSB information configured in the first initial bandwidth part, and the second SSB information is SSB information configured in the second initial bandwidth part. See [32]
Wang in view of lei does not teach, and a second physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set in the second random access resource has a mapping relationship with second SSB information;
Cirik teaches, and a second physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set in the second random access resource has a mapping relationship with second SSB information; [145-146]- base station may transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks. In an example, a first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the a inview of Leirt before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, and a second physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set in the second random access resource has a mapping relationship with second SSB information as taught by Cirik to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Claim(s) 14,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20230209542A1) in view of Cirik et al. (US20220159733A1)
Regarding Claim 14, Wang teaches, and the second SSB information is SSB information configured in the second initial bandwidth part See [32]
Wang does not teach, The random access method of claim 9, wherein the first information is configured to indicate indicates that the second random access resource information has a mapping relationship with second SSB information.
Cirik teaches, The random access method of claim 9, wherein the first information is configured to indicate indicates that the second random access resource information has a mapping relationship with second SSB information [145-146]- base station may transmit a plurality of SS/PBCH blocks. In an example, a first PCI of a first SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks may be different from a second PCI of a second SS/PBCH block of the plurality of SS/PBCH blocks.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art of before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The random access method of claim 9, wherein the first information is configured to indicate indicates that the second random access resource information has a mapping relationship with second SSB information. as taught by Cirik to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Regarding Claim 16, Wang does not teach, The random access method of claim 15, wherein the monitoring condition comprises at least one of: a time condition for monitoring the second SSB information; a mapping relationship condition between a first SSB and the second SSB.
Cirik teaches, The random access method of claim 15, wherein the monitoring condition comprises at least one of: a time condition for monitoring the second SSB information; a mapping relationship condition between a first SSB and the second SSB. [145]- In an example, a first SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a first spatial direction using a first beam, and a second SS/PBCH block may be transmitted in a second spatial direction using a second beam.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art of before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, The random access method of claim 15, wherein the monitoring condition comprises at least one of:a time condition for monitoring the second SSB information; a mapping relationship condition between a first SSB and the second SSB as taught by Lei to add perform random access using reduced capability BWP.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478