DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the electrically conductive body” should read “an electrically conductive body”. Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed length. The closest relevant prior art of record, Kneeland (U.S. Patent # 5,574,815), fails to teach or suggest the claimed length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 – 8, 10 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kneeland (U.S. Patent # 5,574,815).
In Re claims 1, 5, 6, 14 and 15, ‘815 teaches a cable assembly for an electrosurgical instrument, comprising an inner conductive layer (16 or 36 and/or 38), an outer conductive layer (28) arranged coaxially with the inner conductive layer, a dielectric layer (22) separating the inner conductive layer and the outer conductive layer (fig. 2), and an optical fibre (12) for transmitting electromagnetic radiation in the ultraviolet spectrum, the visible spectrum, and/or in the infrared spectrum (col. 15, line 55, 850 – 1300 nm), a combiner (74 or 46 and 74) including a common transmission line section (CTL as annotated below), a first transmission line section (1st TL as annotated below), and a second transmission line section (2nd TL as annotated below), wherein the inner conductive layer, the dielectric layer, and the outer conductive layer form a coaxial cable providing a transmission line for conveying radiofrequency and/or microwave radiation (col. 18, lines 63 – 67), wherein the inner conductive layer surrounds the optical fibre, wherein the inner conductive layer and the optical fibre are bonded to each other (col. 8, lines 27 – 32), wherein an input (left side) of the common transmission line section is in communication with outputs of the first transmission line section (right side of 1st TL) and the second transmission line section (right side of 2nd TL), and wherein the first transmission line section includes a first optical fibre section (left part of fiber 12 within 1st TL) connected to a common optical fibre section (right part of fiber 12 within 1st TL) and configured to be connected to a light source (inherently supplying the 850 – 1300 nm wavelengths); a silver coating as claimed (38, col. 12, lines 22 – 25).
[AltContent: arrow] CTL 1st TL 2nd TL
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
In Re claims 3 and 4, ‘815 teaches in col. 9, lines 2 – 17 a core, cladding, and diameters as claimed.
In Re claim 7, ‘815 teaches wherein the common transmission line section includes a common optical fibre section (middle part of CTL) connected to the optical fibre, a common inner conductor (38) connected to the inner conductive layer, and optionally a common outer conductor connected to the outer conductive layer, and/or
the first transmission line section includes a first outer conductor connected to the common outer conductor, and/or
the second transmission line section includes a second inner conductor (38) connected to the common inner conductor and configured to be connected to an external radiofrequency and/or
microwave energy source, a second dielectric portion electrically insulating the second inner conductor, and optionally a second outer conductor connected to the common outer conductor (as seen in annotated fig. above).
In Re claim 8, ‘815 teaches body as claimed (72, col. 16, lines 23 – 27).
In Re claim 10, ‘815 teaches only 16 (fig. 2) thus no additional first inner conductor.
In Re claim 11, ‘815 teaches wherein the common transmission line section includes a common dielectric portion (22) and the first transmission line section includes a first dielectric portion (22) arranged between the first optical fibre section and the first outer conductor (as seen in fig. above) , wherein the common dielectric portion, the first dielectric portion, and/or the second dielectric portion include solid polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), wherein optionally the dielectric layer includes expanded PTFE (col. 11, lines 56 – 57).
In Re claim 12, ‘815 teaches a choke (left side opening of 42, fig. 4 or opening of 72) for preventing propagation of radiofrequency and/or microwave radiation, wherein the at least one choke is connected (at least indirectly) to the first transmission line section.
In Re claim 13, ‘815 teaches wherein the choke includes a cavity (opening in 72) within an electrically conductive body (72) which is in fluid connection with a first outer conductor (46 as it conducts at least thermal energy to some degree).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneeland (U.S. Patent # 5,574,815).
‘815 teaches the assembly of claim 1 and adhering the inner conductive layer to the optical fiber (col. 8, lines 27 – 32), but is silent to wherein the inner conductive layer and the optical fibre are bonded to each other by a chemical bond, optionally by a molecular bond.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a chemical bond as the means for adhering the inner conductive layer to the optical fiber as claimed so as to ensure a more robust assembly the inner conductive layer to the optical fiber.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874