DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed August 3, 2026. Currently, claims 26-50 are pending. Claims 30, 37 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the combination of genes, namely ALOX5AP, CXCL1, NAP1, RHOH, and S100A4 in the paper filed August 3, 2026 is acknowledged. The response also elects all bacteria recited in Claims 28 and 45.
Claims 30 and 37 have been withdrawn as the claims are drawn to 10 genes. Applicant elected 5 particular genes. In the event the elected genes become allowable, consideration of combinations comprising the allowable subcombination will be considered.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IL2022/05073 and claims priority to Israel 285031, filed July 21, 2021.
Drawings
MPEP 608.02, part VIII states:
Color drawings and color photographs are not accepted in utility applications filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) or (b)(2) is granted. Color drawings and color photographs are not permitted in international applications (see PCT Rule 11.13 ).
Unless a petition is filed and granted, color drawings or color photographs will not be accepted in a utility patent application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111. The examiner must object to the color drawings or color photographs as being improper and require applicant either to cancel the drawings or to provide substitute black and white drawings.
The description of Figures 2, 3C, 4B, for example, are directed to red color. No petition for color drawings has been filed; therefore, the color drawings or color photographs are being objected to as being improper. The specification is also objected to for not reciting the requisite color petition language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings.
Improper Markush Rejection
Claims 26-29, 31-34, 36, 46, 48, 50 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if:
(1) the species of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity,” or (2) the species do not share a common use. Members of a Markush group share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent. See MPEP § 2117.
Here each species is considered to be the combination of 5 genes recited in Table 1, 5 or 6.
The recited alternative species in the groups set forth here do not share a single structural similarity, as each different gene that could be detected is itself located in a separate region of the genome and has its own structure. The genes recited in the instant claims, do not share a single structural similarity since each consists of a different nucleotide sequences with different expression patterns. The only structural similarity present is that all detected positions are part of nucleic acid molecules. The fact that the markers comprise nucleotides per se does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a nucleotide alone is not essential to a common activity. Accordingly, the different markers do not share a single structural similarity.
MPEP 2117 (II)(A) provides the following guidance as to what constitutes a physical, chemical, or art recognized class:
A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein “there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved”
The recited genes do not belong to a recognized chemical class because there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that the genes will behave in the same manner and can be substituted for one another with the same intended result achieved. In other words, there is no expectation from the knowledge in the art that each of the recited genes would function in the same way in the claimed method; it is only in the context of this specification that it was disclosed that all members of this group may behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. Further there is no evidence of record to establish that it is clear from their very nature that each of the recited genes possess a common property.
MPEP 2117 (II) further states the following:
Where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the compounds do not appear to be members of a recognized physical or chemical class or members of an art-recognized class, the members are considered to share a "single structural similarity" and common use when the alternatively usable compounds share a substantial structural feature that is essential to a common use. Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
The recited alternative species do not share a substantial common structure just because they all have a sugar phosphate backbone. The sugar phosphate backbone of a nucleic acid chain is not considered to be a substantial common structural feature to the group of genes being claimed because it is shared by ALL nucleic acids. Further, the fact that the genes all have a sugar phosphate backbone does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a sugar phosphate backbone alone is not essential to an asserted common use.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Following this analysis, the claims are rejected as containing an improper Markush grouping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 26-29, 31-36, 38, 42, 49, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Question 1
The claimed invention is directed to a process that involves a natural principle and a judicial exception.
Question 2A Prong I
The claims are taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a law of nature and a natural phenomenon.
Claim 26 is directed to “a method for diagnosing an inflammatory bowel disease IBD) of a subject” by obtaining fecal RNA, depleting microbial RNA and analyzing gene expression levels by comparing the levels to a control and diagnosing IBD when the expression levels are statistically significantly altered. This is a recitation of a law of nature/natural phenomenon as well as an abstract idea.
Claim 33 is further directed to “diagnosing the IBD comprises determining the severity of the IBD”. This is a recitation of a law of nature/natural phenomenon as well as an abstract idea.
Claim 35 is also directed to a diagnostic method wherein the expression level is indicative of the disease.
Claims 26 and 33, 35 are directed to a process that involves the judicial exceptions of an abstract idea (i.e. the abstract steps of “diagnosing IBD when the expression levels of the analyzed human genes are statistically significantly altered over the level of the same genes in the control”) and a law of nature/natural phenomenon (i.e. the natural correlation between the expression level of fecal RNA and IBD).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons that follow.
Herein, Claims 26 and 33, 35 involve the patent-ineligible concept of an abstract process. Claims 26 and 33 and 35 require performing the step of “diagnosing IBD when the expression levels of the analyzed human genes are statistically significantly altered over the level of the same genes in the control”. Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for "diagnosing" and the claims do not set forth how “diagnosing” is accomplished. As broadly recited the diagnosing step may be accomplished mentally by thinking about a subject’s expression levels and assessing whether the subject has IBD. Thus, the determining step constitutes an abstract process idea.
Claim 26 further recites a comparison between the expression level and a normal control that is deemed an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A); • claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 763, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1246 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
A correlation that preexists in the human is an unpatentable phenomenon. The association between RNA expression level and risk of IBD is a law of nature/natural phenomenon. The “diagnosing" step which tells users of the process to predict IBD in the sample, amounts to no more than an "instruction to apply the natural law". This diagnosing step is no more than a mental step. Even if the step requires something more such as to verbalize the discovery of the natural law, this mere verbalization is not an application of the law of nature to a new and useful end. The "diagnosing" step does not require the process user to do anything in light of the correlation. The "diagnosing" step fails to provide the “practical assurance” sought by the Prometheus Court that the “process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself.”
Question 2A Prong II
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. While the claim recites obtaining a fecal RNA sample and analyzing RNA expression and depleting microbial RNA from the fecal sample, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, these elements are data gathering required to perform the method. Thus, the claim is “directed to” the exception.
The claims are directed to conditional diagnosis and are only diagnosed “when” the expression levels are statistically significantly altered. Thus, this diagnosis is not required “if” the levels of expression are not altered. Similarly, the administration or treatment of the subject is only “if” they are confirmed as having IBD (see Claim 34, 42). Thus, this administration step is not a required feature and is only performed conditionally “if” there is a diagnosis.
Accordingly, the claims are directed to judicial exceptions.
Question 2B
The second step of Alice involves determining whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the other non patent ineligible elements, are sufficient to “’transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent eligible application” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
The claims are not sufficiently defined to provide a method which is significantly more from a statement of a natural principle for at least these reasons:
The claims do not include applying the judicial exception, or by use of, a particular machine. The claims do not tie the steps to a “particular machine" and therefore do not meet the machine or transformation test on these grounds. The use of machines generally does not impose a meaningful limit on claim scope.
The claims also do not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. The measuring expression is a mere data gathering step that amounts to extra solution activity to the judicial exception. It merely tells the users of the method to determine the expression level of a sample without further specification as to how the sample should be analyzed. The claim does not recite a new, innovative method for such determination. The determining step essentially tells users to determine the markers through whatever known processes they wish to use.
The step of analyzing the expression levels was well known in the art at the time the invention was made. The prior art teaches that expression analysis using commercially available biochips and arrays that comprise the claimed genes. The steps are recited at a high level of generality. The claim merely instructs a scientist to use any expression analysis assay to determine the expression and mutation and methylation status. The claim does not require the use of any particular non-conventional reagents. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation that distinguishes this step from well understood, routine and conventional activities engaged in by scientists prior to applicant’s invention and at the time the application was filed.
Additionally, the teachings in the specification demonstrate the well understood, routine, conventional nature of additional elements because it teaches that the additional elements were well known. Specifically, the specification teaches “depleting particular RNAs are known in the art” page 11, lines 1-2). Further, the specification teaches “methods of analyzing the amount of RNA are known in the art and include Northern Blot analysis, RT-PCR, DNA microarray, DNA chips…..” (page 25, lines 3-6).
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For these reasons the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 26-29, 31-36, 38-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A) Claims 26-39, 31-34, 36, 46 refers to tables. MPEP 2173.05(s) states:
Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.” Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
Claims 26-39, 31-34, 36, 46 recites Table 1, 5 and/or 6. Appropriate correction is required.
B) Claims 35-36, 38, 42 are indefinite. The claims are indefinite. It is not clear how the recited preamble is intended to breathe life and meaning into the claim. The preamble of Claim 35 is directed to a method for diagnosis of a disease of the gastrointestinal tract. However, the claim only provides for analyzing is effected at the RNA level. The wherein clause is not an active method step. Thus it is not clear if applicant intends to cover any method for analyzing RNA, or if the method is intended to somehow require more to accomplish the goal set forth in the preamble. If the claim requires something
more, it is unclear what additional active process step the method requires and it appears that the claims are incomplete. The claims fail to provide any active steps that clearly accomplish the goal set for the by the preamble of the claims.
C) Claims 43-48 are indefinite because it is unclear what steps are required. The claim provides one active method step of depleting fecal RNA. The claim also states this depleting is prior to analyzing bacterial and/or fungal RNA, but is unclear if the claim actually requires analyzing human genes. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 43, 45-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. (BMC Genomics, Vol. 20, No. 493, pages 1-14, 2019).
Sharma teaches mapping gastrointestinal gene expression patterns in humans via fecal RNA-seq. Sharma teaches obtaining a fecal sample from humans page 11, col. 1). Sharma teaches depleting bacteria using rRNA removal kit page 11, col. 1). The RNA was subjected to mRNA isolation to capture host mRNA (page 11, col. 2). The mRNA was used to generate libraries and sequenced on NextSe 500 (page 11, col. 2). This analyzes RNA expression.
With respect to Claim 45, the depletion removed non-host mRNA (see Figure 1) including bacteria.
With respect to Claim 46-48, Sharma teaches using genome sequencing which inherently analyzes genes listed in the instant tables. Sharma specification enumerates ifitm2, fcgr2a, nfkb1a, for example. Figure 3 provides a depiction of differentially expressed genes.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-29, 31-36, 38-48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 19/041,876 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 26-29, 31-36, 38-48 are of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 19/041,876. That is, claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 19/041,876 falls entirely within the scope of Claims 26-29, 31-36, 38-48, or in other words, Claims 26-29, 31-36, 38-48 is anticipated by claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 19/041,876. Here, claims 1 of copending Application No. 19/041,876 is a method of analyzing fecal RNA by obtaining fecal RNA, depleting microbial rRNA, comparing to a sample and diagnosing an IBD (see Claims 1-3). The list of genes in the instant claims and claims of ‘876 are overlapping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-29, 31-36, 42-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlaberg et al. (Pathog Immun. Vol. 12, No. 3, pages 164-180, Sept 2018) in view of Huang et al. (Nucleic Acid Research, Vol. 48, No. 4, e20, December 27, 2019).
Schlaberg teaches analysis of fecal host transcriptomics for profiling. Schlaberg teaches extracting RNA from fecal samples of patients and profiling mRNA using amplicon based next-generation sequencing. Schlaberg also teaches comparing fecal host mRNA transcript expression profiles of patients with disease to controls to find differential expression. Schlaberg suggests performing this strategy for other gastrointestinal diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease and colon cancer (see discussion). Schalberg teaches the use of non-invasive fecal samples eliminate the need for colonoscopy and biopsy to assess the mucosal immune response and provide substantial benefits.
Schlaberg does not teach depleting microbial RNA prior analysis of fecal samples.
However Huang teaches scalable and cost effective ribonuclease-based rRNA depletion for transcriptomics. Huang teaches depleting bacteria from samples to generate custom libraries devoid of rRNA. Huang teaches the method efficiently depletes bacterial rRNA with minimal off-target effects to the transcriptome and demonstrate the use of the method on bacterial species from three different phyla page 2, col. 1). Moreover, species specific depletion probes can be generated by chemical syn thesis or from polymerase chain reaction (PCR) amplicons (with different cost considerations) and that probe-sets can be utilized on species with similar 16S/23S sequences (page 2, col. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have depleted microbial RNA as taught by Huang from the fecal sample of Schlaberg prior to RNA analysis. Huang teaches deplelting bacterial RNA from fecal samples does not alter the host transcripomic analysis. The ordinary artisan would have recognized that the removal or depletion of microbial targets would allow analysis of host transcripomes with less background and noise. Schalberg teaches the use of non-invasive fecal samples eliminate the need for colonoscopy and biopsy to assess the mucosal immune response and provide substantial benefits. Thus, it would be obvious to remove microbial RNA from fecal samples prior to analyzing host RNA expression.
With respect to Claim 26, it would have been obvious to have performed the analysis in inflammatory bowel disease subjects, as suggested by Schalberg to make diagnostic determinations based on differential expression. Schalberg teaches the next generation sequencing provided reads for more than 20,000 targeted genes including those of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Westreich et al. (BMC Bioinformatics, Vol. 17. No. 399, 2016) teaches metatranscriptome analysis on fecal samples and performs ribosomal RNA depletion prior to host analysis.
Ungar et al. (Gut, Vol. 71, pages 1988-1997, January 1, 2022) is Applicants’ post-filing date art directed at analyzing host transcriptome signatures in human faeces with IBD.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
October 31, 2026