DETAILED ACTION
Notice for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Status of the Claims
This communication is in response to communications received on 12/8/25. Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are amended, claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are cancelled, claim(s) none is/are new, and applicant does not provide any information on where support for the amendments can be found in the instant specification as there are no amendments. Therefore, Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 is/are pending and have been addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remarks, filed 12/8/25, with respect to rejections under 35 USC 101 for claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as far as they apply to the amended 101 rejection(s) below.
Applicant respectfully traversed the rejection on pg. 8-10.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claims here are not like those the Federal Circuit (Court) found patent eligible in Core Wireless because the claims here are not directed to an improved user interface for computing devices such as a particular manner of summarizing and presenting information in electronic devices. For example the claims here do not require “restraining the type of data that can be displayed in the summary window or that the summary window “is displayed while the one or more applications are in an un-launched state,” a requirement that the device applications exist in a particular state.” The claims here do not disclose “limitations disclose a specific manner of displaying a limited set of information to the user, rather than using conventional user interface methods to display a generic index on a computer.”
Applicant is relying on 2106.05(d) “well understood, routine, and conventional” however Examiner is relying on 2106.05(f) “apply it.” Examiner relied on “apply it” because of item (2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process of 2106.05(f).
Thus, the argument(s) are unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remarks, filed 12/8/25, with respect to rejections under 35 USC 102 for claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as far as they apply to the amended 102 rejection(s) below.
Applicant respectfully traversed the rejection on pg. 10-13.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the amendment does not appear to be supported by the specification. The interpretation as noted in the 112 rejection and 102 rejection is taught by the prior art.
Thus, the argument(s) are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1350, 94 USPQ2d at 1171; Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed)”. Additionally, original claims may fail to satisfy the written description requirement when the invention is claimed and described in functional language but the specification does not sufficiently identify how the invention achieves the claimed function. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349, 94 USPQ2d at 1171.
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Representative claim(s) 1 and 14 recite(s) “wherein the dynamically updating the graphical user interface comprises simultaneously displaying the plurality of user skillsets and the plurality of updated skillsets on the spider web graph, each updated skillset of the plurality of updated skillsets corresponding to a respective radial axis of the plurality of radial axes and an updated skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications associated with the respective radial axis,
wherein the displayed plurality of user skillsets are skillsets of a first user, and
wherein the displayed plurality of updated skillsets are skillsets of the first user.
Examiner notes the bolded portion of the representative claims above is new matter. Initially, Examiner notes the bolded portion recites “wherein the displayed plurality of updated skillsets are skillsets of the first user” which does not appear to be supported by the originally filed disclosure. Examiner notes the closest portions of the original disclosure include Fig. 9B and [0135-0136]
Fig. 9B and [0135-0136] merely states an users actual skill and the updated skill is the desired or needed skillset not the user’s true updated skillset “For example, the user 902 can have a current overall skill level 952 (e.g., Junior) and select an advanced overall skill level 954 (e.g., “Senior”) for the user career path (e.g., “Data Scientist”). If the advanced overall skill level 954 uses an additional career skill (e.g., Project Management Skills) to perform tasks as a senior data scientist, the server 102 can dynamically display an additional radial axis to correspond to the additional career skill with multiple skill level indications for the additional career skill on the spider web graph 910 in response to the user input 954. The server 102 can also indicate an updated skillset including the additional career skill with an updated skill level indication among the multiple skill level indications to sufficiently perform tasks for the career skill as the advanced overall skill level 954. For example, the server 102 can indicate Level 3 of Project Management Skills for the senior data scientist. Thus, the server 102 can determine multiple updated skillsets based on the user input (e.g., selected overall skill level).”
None of these portions however disclose the above bolded claim language. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. Claim(s) 3-13 and 16-20 is/are rejected because they depend on claim(s) 1 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as noted below.
The limitation(s) below for representative claim(s) 1 and 14 that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is directed to dynamic and interactive skills identification.
Step 1: The claim(s) as drafted, is/are a process (claim(s) 1-13 recites a series of steps) and system (claim(s) 14-20 recites a series of components).
Step 2A – Prong 1: The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) (emphasis added):
Claim 1: determining a plurality of career skills;
displaying a spider web graph comprising a plurality of radial axes corresponding to the plurality of career skills, each radial axis of the plurality of radial axes comprising a plurality of skill level indications;
determining a plurality of user skillsets corresponding to the plurality of career skills, each user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets comprising a career skill and a user skill level indication of the career skill;
displaying the plurality of user skillsets on the spider web graph, each user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets corresponding to a respective radial axis of the plurality of radial axes and a skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications associated with the respective radial axis;
receiving a first user input to determine a plurality of updated skillsets; and
in response to the first user input, dynamically updating the to display the plurality of updated skillsets on the spider web graph,
wherein the dynamically updating the graphical user interface comprises simultaneously displaying the plurality of user skillsets and the plurality of updated skillsets on the spider web graph, each updated skillset of the plurality of updated skillsets corresponding to a respective radial axis of the plurality of radial axes and an updated skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications associated with the respective radial axis,
wherein the displayed plurality of user skillsets are skillsets of a first user, and
wherein the displayed plurality of updated skillsets are skillsets of the first user.
Claim(s) 14: same analysis as claim(s) 1.
Dependent claims 3-13 and 16-20 recite the same or similar abstract idea(s) as independent claim(s) 1 and 14 with merely a further narrowing of the abstract idea(s): .
The identified limitations of the independent and dependent claims above fall well-within the groupings of subject matter identified by the courts as being abstract concepts of:
a method of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, or business relations) because the invention is directed to economic and/or business relationships as they are associated with dynamic and interactive skills identification for a business.
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because:
The additional elements unencompassed by the abstract idea include graphical user interface (claim(s) 1, 14) a system comprising: a memory, a processor (claim(s) 14), computer (claim(s) 11), processor (claim(s) 15-17).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 fails to describe:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine – see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Thus the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to (as additionally noted by instant specification [0024]) invoked as a tool and/or general purpose computer to apply instructions of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and/or mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f)&(h)).
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to (as additionally noted by instant specification [0024]) invoked as a tool and/or a general purpose computer to apply instructions of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and/or mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application and thus similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons as set forth above (MPEP 2106.05(f)&(h)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herman et al. (US 2016/0371652 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 14 (currently amended), Herman teaches a method for user skill identification on a graphical user interface, the method comprising {a system for user skill identification on a graphical user interface, comprising: a memory; and a processor in communication with the memory, the processor configured to: - claim 14}:
determining a plurality of career skills [see at least Fig. 1 and [0033, 0038, 0041-0042] “information environment 100 includes information system 102. … As depicted, information system 102 includes radar chart system 108 and database 110. Radar chart system 108 and database 110 may be implemented in computer system 112. … As depicted, display system 118 is a hardware system and includes one or more display devices on which graphical user interface 116 may be displayed. Operator 120 is a person who may interact with graphical user interface 116 through user input 122 generated by user input device 124 in computer system 112.”;
[0056] “With reference next to FIG. 2, an illustration of a block diagram of identifying a balance of skills”;
[0122-0124] “The process begins by identifying skills for a group of people (operation 900). Next, the process displays the skills identified on a radar chart in a graphical user interface in a display system (operation 902). The radar chart has axes extending from a common origin in which a skill in skills for a person in the group of people is displayed on an axis in the axes corresponding to the skill.
The process identifies a balance of skills for the group of people (operation 904). The balance of skills has desired values for skills needed for the group of people. The balance of skills for the group of people is displayed on the radar chart (operation 906) with the process terminating thereafter.
The process illustrated in this example enables analyzing the skills through the balance of skills displayed in the radar chart. With this analysis, real-world operations may be performed for organization 106. These real-world operations may include hiring a person, forming a team, identifying continuing education classes for people, and other operations for organization 106.”];
displaying a spider web graph comprising a plurality of radial axes corresponding to the plurality of career skills, each radial axis of the plurality of radial axes comprising a plurality of skill level indications [see at least Fig. 5 and [0099] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”];
determining a plurality of user skillsets corresponding to the plurality of career skills, each user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets comprising a career skill and a user skill level indication of the career skill [see at least [0126-0128] “The process begins by identifying values for skills for a group of people (operation 1000). Next, the process identifies a balance of skills for the group of people that meets a policy for desired values for the skills (operation 1002) with the process terminating thereafter. For example, if the policy in operation 1002 is that the group of people has the desired value of 5 for the skills, the balance of skills is values for the skills that meet the desired value of 5 when the balance of skills is added to the group of people.
As another example, the policy in operation 1002 may be that the group of people has average values for the skills that do not go outside a range of values. A range of values is the values between two values. For example, when the highest value of skill is 10, the range of values for the policy may be for maintaining an average of between 3 and 10 for the average values for the skills.
As still another example, the policy in operation 1002 may be that the group of people has average values for the skills that meet a list of values selected for the skills. For example, an operator may have selected the list of values for the average values for the policy.”];
displaying the plurality of user skillsets on the spider web graph, each user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets corresponding to a respective radial axis of the plurality of radial axes and a skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications associated with the respective radial axis [see at least Fig. 5 and [0099] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”];
receiving a first user input to determine a plurality of updated skillsets; and
in response to the first user input, dynamically updating the graphical user interface to display the plurality of updated skillsets on the spider web graph [for the limitations above, see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”],
wherein the dynamically updating the graphical user interface comprises simultaneously displaying the plurality of user skillsets and the plurality of updated skillsets on the spider web graph, each updated skillset of the plurality of updated skillsets corresponding to a respective radial axis of the plurality of radial axes and an updated skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications associated with the respective radial axis,
wherein the displayed plurality of user skillsets are skillsets of a first user, and
wherein the displayed plurality of updated skillsets are skillsets of the first user [as noted by the 112 rejection the third wherein limitations not supported by the specification and are interpreted as wherein the displayed plurality of updated skillsets are skillsets of a user,
then see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 5 and [0099] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”].
Regarding claim 3 and 16, Herman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the displaying the plurality of user skillsets on the spider web graph comprises:
displaying the plurality of user skillsets as a first polygon with each radial axis of the first polygon defined by a respective user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets [see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 5 and [0099] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”].
Regarding claim 4, Herman teaches the method of claim 3, wherein a first user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets corresponds to a first radial axis of the first polygon,
wherein a second user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets corresponds to a second radial axis of the first polygon, the second radial axis being adjacent to the first radial axis, and
wherein the first radial axis of the first polygon is connected to the second radial axis of the first polygon [see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 5 and [0099-0113] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”].
Regarding claim 5, Herman teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the dynamically updating the graphical user interface comprises: displaying the plurality of updated skillsets as a second polygon with each radial axis of the second polygon defined by a respective updated skillset of the plurality of updated skillsets [see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 5 and [0099-0113] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”].
Regarding claim(s) 17, the claim(s) recite(s) analogous limitations to claim(s) 5 above and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 6, Herman teaches the method of claim 5, wherein a first updated skillset of the plurality of updated skillsets corresponds to a first radial axis of the second polygon,
wherein a second updated skillset of the plurality of updated skillsets corresponds to a second radial axis of the second polygon, the second radial axis being adjacent to the first radial axis, and
wherein the first radial axis of the second polygon is connected to the second axis of the second polygon [for the limitations above, see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 5 and [0099-0113] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”].
Regarding claim 7, Herman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the spider web graph comprises a polygon with each radial axis of the polygon defined by a respective skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications [see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 5 and [0099-0113] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”].
Regarding claim 8, Herman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying the plurality of skill level indications of each radial axis of the plurality of radial axes such that a low skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications is closer to a center of the spider web graph than a high skill level indication of the plurality of skill level indications [see at least [0133-0134] “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 5 and [0099-0113] “For example, radar chart system 108 may be used to select people 136 for team 207 for radar chart 202 and display balance of skills 200 on radar chart 202 all at once.”].
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Herman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first user input comprises an overall skill level for an employee position type, and
wherein the determining the plurality of updated skillsets comprises:
determining the plurality of updated skillsets based on the overall skill level [for the limitations above, see at least [0006] “For example, combining information about employees may be desirable for performing operations such as identifying new hires, selecting teams for projects, and other operations in the organization”;
[0009] “For example, an overall score based on skills and other factors for potential hires or existing employees may be made and displayed on bar or line charts.”;
[0004] “As yet another example, an information system may be used to hire new employees, assign employees to projects, perform reviews for employees, and other suitable operations for the organization.”;
[0107] “In this illustrative example, bar chart 506 includes bars 544 and average value 546 for skills 134. In this illustrative example, policy 216 is for having average value 546 for skills 134 for team 510.”;
[0110] “In the illustrative example, the people shown in radar chart 502 are updated as people are moved between list of people 508 and team 510. The height of bars 544 and average value 546 are also updated as people are moved between list of people 508 and team 510. Thus, graphical user interface 500 may be used to analyze different combinations of adding or removing people from team 510 to meet policy 216.”;
[0118-0119] “Turning to FIG. 8, an illustration of changing values for skills for a group of people on a radar chart in a graphical user interface is depicted in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. In this illustrative example, the value in values 542 for skill 703 has been changed.
As depicted, the height of a bar in bars 544 for skill 703 has been updated to show the change in the average for skill 703 for team 510. Thus, graphical user interface 500 may be used to analyze different combinations of values for skills of people in team 510 for suggesting changes to skills for people in team 510.”;
[0015] the radar chart (spider web graph) can be for an individual or team with various skills as noted in ([0006, 0009, 0004]) and their implementation as noted in ([0107, 0110, 0118-0119]) is the same as it is based on skills for an individual (all skills) or team (one skill per team member) “The features and functions can be achieved independently in various embodiments of the present disclosure or may be combined in yet other embodiments in which further details can be seen with reference to the following description and drawings”;
[0133-0134] first input is average value 546 from policy 216 “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”].
Regarding claim 10 and 19, Herman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a user career path,
wherein the determining the plurality of career skills comprises:
determining the plurality of career skills based on the user career path [for the limitations above, see at least [0006, 0009, 0004, 0107] determine a career path for a single user based on multiple users;
[0006] “For example, combining information about employees may be desirable for performing operations such as identifying new hires, selecting teams for projects, and other operations in the organization”;
[0009] “For example, an overall score based on skills and other factors for potential hires or existing employees may be made and displayed on bar or line charts.”;
[0004] “As yet another example, an information system may be used to hire new employees, assign employees to projects, perform reviews for employees, and other suitable operations for the organization.”;
[0107] “In this illustrative example, bar chart 506 includes bars 544 and average value 546 for skills 134. In this illustrative example, policy 216 is for having average value 546 for skills 134 for team 510.”;
[0015] the radar chart (spider web graph) can be for an individual or team with various skills as noted in ([0006, 0009, 0004]) and their implementation as noted in ([0107, 0110, 0118-0119]) is the same as it is based on skills for an individual (all skills) or team (one skill per team member) “The features and functions can be achieved independently in various embodiments of the present disclosure or may be combined in yet other embodiments in which further details can be seen with reference to the following description and drawings”].
Regarding claim 11 and 20, Herman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first user input comprises a potential career path, and
the method further comprising:
redetermining the plurality of career skills based on the potential career path;
dynamically updating the spider web graph based on the redetermining the plurality of career skills;
redetermining the plurality of user skillsets based on the redetermining the plurality of career skills; and
dynamically updating the plurality of user skillsets on the spider web graph based on the redetermining the plurality of user skillsets [for the limitations above, see at least [0006, 0009, 0004, 0107] determine a career path for a single user based on multiple users;
[0006] “For example, combining information about employees may be desirable for performing operations such as identifying new hires, selecting teams for projects, and other operations in the organization”;
[0009] “For example, an overall score based on skills and other factors for potential hires or existing employees may be made and displayed on bar or line charts.”;
[0004] “As yet another example, an information system may be used to hire new employees, assign employees to projects, perform reviews for employees, and other suitable operations for the organization.”;
[0107] “In this illustrative example, bar chart 506 includes bars 544 and average value 546 for skills 134. In this illustrative example, policy 216 is for having average value 546 for skills 134 for team 510.”;
[0110] “In the illustrative example, the people shown in radar chart 502 are updated as people are moved between list of people 508 and team 510. The height of bars 544 and average value 546 are also updated as people are moved between list of people 508 and team 510. Thus, graphical user interface 500 may be used to analyze different combinations of adding or removing people from team 510 to meet policy 216.”;
[0118-0119] “Turning to FIG. 8, an illustration of changing values for skills for a group of people on a radar chart in a graphical user interface is depicted in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. In this illustrative example, the value in values 542 for skill 703 has been changed.
As depicted, the height of a bar in bars 544 for skill 703 has been updated to show the change in the average for skill 703 for team 510. Thus, graphical user interface 500 may be used to analyze different combinations of values for skills of people in team 510 for suggesting changes to skills for people in team 510.”;
[0015] the radar chart (spider web graph) can be for an individual or team with various skills as noted in ([0006, 0009, 0004]) and their implementation as noted in ([0107, 0110, 0118-0119]) is the same as it is based on skills for an individual (all skills) or team (one skill per team member) “The features and functions can be achieved independently in various embodiments of the present disclosure or may be combined in yet other embodiments in which further details can be seen with reference to the following description and drawings”;
[0133-0134] first input is average value 546 from policy 216 “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”].
Regarding claim 12, Herman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the plurality of user skillsets comprises:
determining each user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets based on evidence associated with a respective user skillset, the evidence comprising at least one of: a second user input, a completed challenge, a completed project, a completed course, or a third-party input [see at least [0126-0128] “The process begins by identifying values for skills for a group of people (operation 1000). Next, the process identifies a balance of skills for the group of people that meets a policy for desired values for the skills (operation 1002) with the process terminating thereafter. For example, if the policy in operation 1002 is that the group of people has the desired value of 5 for the skills, the balance of skills is values for the skills that meet the desired value of 5 when the balance of skills is added to the group of people.
As another example, the policy in operation 1002 may be that the group of people has average values for the skills that do not go outside a range of values. A range of values is the values between two values. For example, when the highest value of skill is 10, the range of values for the policy may be for maintaining an average of between 3 and 10 for the average values for the skills.
As still another example, the policy in operation 1002 may be that the group of people has average values for the skills that meet a list of values selected for the skills. For example, an operator may have selected the list of values for the average values for the policy.”;
[0133-0134] where the data from ([0126-128]) is updated data “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 1 and [0033, 0038, 0041-0042] “information environment 100 includes information system 102. … As depicted, information system 102 includes radar chart system 108 and database 110. Radar chart system 108 and database 110 may be implemented in computer system 112. … As depicted, display system 118 is a hardware system and includes one or more display devices on which graphical user interface 116 may be displayed. Operator 120 is a person who may interact with graphical user interface 116 through user input 122 generated by user input device 124 in computer system 112.”].
Regarding claim 13, Herman teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising:
receiving a third user input on a user skillset of the plurality of user skillsets; and
in response to the third user input, displaying the evidence associated with the user skillset [for the limitations above, see at least [0126-0128] “The process begins by identifying values for skills for a group of people (operation 1000). Next, the process identifies a balance of skills for the group of people that meets a policy for desired values for the skills (operation 1002) with the process terminating thereafter. For example, if the policy in operation 1002 is that the group of people has the desired value of 5 for the skills, the balance of skills is values for the skills that meet the desired value of 5 when the balance of skills is added to the group of people.
As another example, the policy in operation 1002 may be that the group of people has average values for the skills that do not go outside a range of values. A range of values is the values between two values. For example, when the highest value of skill is 10, the range of values for the policy may be for maintaining an average of between 3 and 10 for the average values for the skills.
As still another example, the policy in operation 1002 may be that the group of people has average values for the skills that meet a list of values selected for the skills. For example, an operator may have selected the list of values for the average values for the policy.”;
[0133-0134] where the data from ([0126-128]) is updated data “The process begins by displaying values for skills for a group of people on axes of a radar chart (operation 1200). Next, the process receives a request to change the values (operation 1202).
The process displays graphical controls on the axes for changing the values (operation 1204). The process receives changes to the values in user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1206). The process then changes the values based on the user input made to the graphical controls (operation 1208) with the process terminating thereafter.”;
Fig. 1 and [0033, 0038, 0041-0042] “information environment 100 includes information system 102. … As depicted, information system 102 includes radar chart system 108 and database 110. Radar chart system 108 and database 110 may be implemented in computer system 112. … As depicted, display system 118 is a hardware system and includes one or more display devices on which graphical user interface 116 may be displayed. Operator 120 is a person who may interact with graphical user interface 116 through user input 122 generated by user input device 124 in computer system 112.”].
Conclusion
When responding to the office action, any new claims and/or limitations should be accompanied by a reference as to where the new claims and/or limitations are supported in the original disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624