DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species 2, Figure 2, claims 1-3, 5-8 in the reply filed on 2/2/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
Page 1, Applicant argued that “
“Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1 and 5-8 are generic; claims 2 and 3 are generic to Species 2 and 4; and claim 4 is generic to Species 3 and 5“.
Examiner agreed to examine claims 1-3 and 5-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shao et al. (CN 209134150U).
Regarding claim 1, Shao discloses a device comprising:
A magnetic element (100) comprising a plurality of magnetic units (12, 13),
the plurality of magnetic units (12, 13) being arranged in sequence wherein a groove (10) and a connecting portion (11) are provided between each two adjacent magnetic units of the plurality of magnetic units (12, 13),
the groove (10) is configured to block an eddy current path,
the connecting portion (11) is configured to connect the corresponding adjacent magnetic units (12, 13),
the connecting portion (11) is connected to the groove (10) to block the groove (10) from completely penetrating between the adjacent magnetic units (12. 13), and
the connecting portion (11) and the plurality of magnetic units (12, 13) are made of a same material and integrally formed.
Regarding claim 2, Shao discloses:
the connecting portion (11) is located at a middle position of the corresponding two adjacent magnetic units (12, 13), to allow the groove to be formed on each of both sides of the connecting portion.
Regarding claim 3, Shao discloses:
a line connecting centers of the plurality of the connecting portions (11) is perpendicular to a length direction of each of the plurality of magnetic units (12, 13).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Connecting centers)]
Regarding claim 5, Shao discloses:
the connecting portion (11) is flush with both sides of the magnetic element (12, 13) in a thickness direction.
Regarding claim 6, Shao discloses:
the groove (10) penetrates through the magnetic element (12, 13) in a thickness direction of the magnetic element (100).
Regarding claim 8, Shao discloses:
the groove (10) is filled with an insulating material (see para. [0005] – [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (CN 209134150U).
Regarding claim 7, Shao teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the width of the groove ranges from 0.05 mm to 0.2 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the groove ranges from 0.05 mm to 0.2 mm for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 271, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
May 8, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837