DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication(s) filed on 1/8/2024.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Rescaling All Pages of a Document Based on the Widest Page for Two-Page Displaying
Claims Status
Claims 1-10 and 13 are pending and are currently being examined.
Claims 1, 6 and 13 are independent.
Claims 11-12 are canceled.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) of Claims 1-5 is/are listed below:
Claim 1:
a document display event generation unit generating
a horizontal length confirmation unit confirming
a page selection unit selecting
a region split unit splitting
a first scale value calculation unit confirming
a size adjustment unit adjusting
and a document display unit displaying
Claim 2:
a confirmation unit additionally confirming
a second scale value calculation unit calculating
a size additional adjustment unit additionally adjusting
Claim 3:
a page switching unit confirming
a page reverse switching unit confirming
Claim 4:
the page switching unit generates…displays
the page reverse switching unit generates…displays
Claim 5:
a word extraction unit extracting
an appearance frequency confirmation unit confirming
a page feature vector generation unit configuring
a vector similarity calculation unit calculating
a selection unit selecting
an overlap display unit displaying
a removal display unit removing
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or 112(2nd)
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 13 recite(s) the limitation(s) “the first page with a maximum horizontal length” in the phrase “selecting the first page with a maximum horizontal length among the k pages”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For purposes of compact prosecution only, the examiner interprets the limitation(s) as being directed to a page with a maximum horizontal length is selected from the k page. Correction required.
Dependent claims 2-5 and 7-10 are also rejected as they depend on claim(s) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagiri, Koji et al. (hereinafter NK916 – US 20050206916 A1) in view of Okugawa; Hirokazu et al. (hereinafter Okugawa – US 20180356753 A1).
Independent Claim 1:
NK916 teaches:
An electronic apparatus capable of displaying the page that constitutes an electronic document by two pages at the same time on one screen, the electronic apparatus comprising: (see apparatus(es) in fig. 1)
a document display event generation unit generating, when a document display instruction instructing two pages of an electronic document pre-constituted by k, wherein k is a natural number of 3 or more, pages to be displayed at the same time on one screen is applied from the user, a document display event for displaying the k pages by two pages at the same time on one screen; (as seen in fig. 8, a preview of a sheet displaying 2 pages at time is displayed when a page layout of a specific number of logical pages, e.g., two-page print, for a print job [document] is selected, ¶¶ 87, 125 and 217 and figs. 8, 17-18 and 28. A total number of logical pages [k pages] can be any amount including natural number of 3 or more, e.g., 4 pages, as exemplified, in fig. 28. Numbers reflecting pages, as shown in print previews, must be natural numbers because a page is a discrete, physical unit, and you cannot have a fraction of a printed page. A natural number, in this context, refers to a positive, non-zero integer. Here, a document display event generation unit is implied, since the function is accomplished, and the function is necessarily accomplished using a unit, e.g., program module or sub-module and/or hardware of the apparatus. The same rationale is used for the other units below. Although fig. 17 reflects a previewer 306 displaying a physical page composed of a single logical page, see ¶ 87 and fig. 17. It is also understood as displaying any number N of pages, including two-page logical pages on a physical page)
a [vertical size] confirmation unit confirming, when the document display event is generated, a [vertical size] of each of the k pages by confirming page size information predetermined for each of the k pages; (a maximum vertical size of the pages are determined, ¶ 226 and fig. 27)
a page selection unit selecting the first page with a maximum [vertical size] among the k pages; (a rendering template(s) of the pages are scaled down so that maximum size page is rendered within a display frame, a maximum vertical size of the pages are determined, ¶ 226 and fig. 27)
a region split unit splitting, when the first page is selected, a display region in which a document is displayed on a screen of the electronic apparatus into a left region and a right region based on a vertical axis passing through a center point of the display region; (the two logical pages are displayed in divided frames of physical page, which are to the left and right of the page with a vertical axis that is centered on physical page [passing through a center point], as shown in fig. 8)
a first scale value calculation unit confirming, when the display region is split into the left region and the right region, a [vertical size] of the left region, and then calculating a first scale value for a case of performing size adjustment of the first page so that the [vertical size] of the first page is equal to the [vertical size] of the left region; (the vertical size of the max page “just fits” in the preview window to efficiency use the display space [equal to the [vertical] of the left region], e.g., see ¶ 6 and figs. 8 and 28)
a size adjustment unit adjusting a size of each of the k pages according to the first scale value when the first scale value is calculated; (the same of all other pages are adjusted to the same scale as the maximum page, so that the maximum page can fall within a display window, Abstract and ¶ 226 and figs. 23 and 27)
and a document display unit displaying an n-th, wherein n is a natural number, page among the k pages at the left region, and simultaneously displays an n + 1-th page at the right region when the size of each of the k pages is adjusted. (the preview displays two pages of the total logical pages, a first [n-th] on the left side and a second page [n+1] on the right side of physical page, e.g., see figs. 8 and 17-18.)
NK916 does not appear to expressly teach, but Okugawa teaches:
that the size determined is a “horizontal length” (it is conventional to define a maximum size has a maximum width [i.e., horizontal length], ¶ 75).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of NK916 to include that the size determined is a “horizontal length”, as taught by Okugawa.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the versatility/flexibility of the device by applying any known example of maximum size, NK916 Abstract and Okugawa ¶ 75.
Claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. NK916 further teaches:
wherein the size adjustment unit includes a confirmation unit additionally confirming, after the size of each of the k pages is adjusted according to the first scale value, a vertical length of the left region and confirming whether there is a page of which vertical length is more than the vertical length of the left region among the k pages of which sizes are adjusted according to the first scale value, a second scale value calculation unit calculating, when it is confirmed that the second page is present as the page of which vertical length is more than the vertical length of the left region among the k pages of which sizes are adjusted according to the first scale value, a second scale value for a case of performing size adjustment of the second page so that the vertical length of the second page is equal to the vertical length of the left region, and a size additional adjustment unit additionally adjusting the size of each of the k pages of which sizes are adjusted according to the first scale value based on the second scale value when the second scale value is calculated. (every time a print job is edited, e.g., a page deleted or added, the process of finding a new maximum vertical size is re-executed to adjust and render the sizes of the pages to the same scale as the maximum page, in such a way that the maximum page is displayable in the display region(s), similar to the explanation given for claim 1, ¶ 228 and fig. 27)
Independent Claims 6 and 13:
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are directed to a method and recording medium for accomplishing the functions of the apparatus in claim 1, and are rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim 7:
The rejection of claim 6 is incorporated. Claim(s) 7 is/are directed to a method for accomplishing the functions of the apparatus in claim 2, and is rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NK916 ( US 20050206916 A1) in view of Okugawa (US 20180356753 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Kato; Tomokazu et al. (hereinafter Kato – US 5897251 A) and Nakagiri, Koji et al. (hereinafter NK870 – US 20050200870 A1).
Claim 3:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. NK916 further teaches:
further comprising:
when a page switching instruction to a next page for the electronic document is applied from the user in a situation in which the n-th page is displayed at the left region and the n + 1-th page is simultaneously displayed at the right region through the document display unit, a page switching unit confirming a size of n, and displaying an n + 2-th page at the left region and displays an n + 3-th page at the right region at the same time […], (turning of pages, ¶ 202. Since pages are juxtaposed and displayed, all pages can be previewed by only horizontally scrolling the window, ¶ 232, herein, it is broadly interpreted that using horizontal scrolling to preview pages is a page-switching operation because it requires a deliberate, directional user action to move between distinct, self-contained sections of content. Because the physical pages include more than one logical page [e.g., page 1 and 2, n and n+1], it naturally follows that turning the physical page would include displaying a 3rd and 4th page [that is, n+2 and n+3].)
and when a page reverse switching instruction to a previous page for the electronic document is applied from the user in a situation in which the n-th page is displayed at the left region and the n + 1-th page is simultaneously displayed at the right region through the document display unit, a page reverse switching unit confirming the size of n, and displays an n - 2-th page at the left region and displays an n - 1-th page at the right region at the same time […]. (the horizontal scrolling of the window, ¶ 232, and the two scroll arrows for left and right scrolling, see fig. 17, both teach that the scrolling or “page turning”, ¶ 202, is bi-directional, e.g., right/forward or left/reverse scrolling/turning. Furthermore, because multiple logical pages are displayed in the physical page display, scrolling my imply adding or subtracting 2 pages from the left or right portions after a navigation request from one physical page to another.)
NK916-Okugawa does not appear to expressly teach, but Kato suggests:
that the switching to next page is “when it is confirmed that n is less than k - 2, and displays only the n + 2-th page at the left region when it is confirmed that n is k - 2” (The Nth document which is the last document is printed on the right side of the sheet which is printed last as shown in FIG. 8(a) when the total number of pages N [k] of the documents is an even-number [when it is confirmed that n is less than k - 2]. When the total number of pages N [k] is an odd-number, it is printed on the left side of the sheet of recording paper printed last as shown in FIG. 8(b) and the right side of the sheet is blank [displays only the n + 2-th page at the left region], col 9:34-50 and fig. 8. Although Kato uses odd or even test for last page, which differs slightly over the claimed, Kato and the claimed concept are similar because both are based on the same core principle: using a total page count to determine how to handle the final pages of a two-page spread. Furthermore, the Furthermore, it was well within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art to have realized that in applying Kato to Okugawa-NK916, the output/printing would be in an output on a display/window)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of Okugawa to include that the switching to next page is “when it is confirmed that n is less than k - 2, and displays only the n + 2-th page at the left region when it is confirmed that n is k - 2”, as taught by Kato.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to implement page handling for two-page spread portion numbering/displaying in a known and effective manner, Kato ¶¶ 262-263.
NK916-Okugawa-Kato does not appear to expressly teach, but NK870 teaches:
that the page reverse switching is showing two pages on left and right region is “when it is confirmed that n is more than 2, and displaying only the n - 1-th page at the right region when it is confirmed that n is 2” (a first two-page spread with only page 1 on the right hand side and left side left blank and unnumbered, a second two-page spread pages 2 and 3 on the left and right sides [n=2], and a third two-page spread including page 4 on the left side [n=4], and fig. 35 and ¶ 263. It was well within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art to have realized that in applying NK870 to NK916-Okugawa-Kato, leftward/reverse page navigation would be as presented in the claimed limitations to ensure proper numbering of the two-page spreads when left section of a first two-page spread is left blank)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of NK916 to include that the page reverse switching is showing two pages on left and right region is “when it is confirmed that n is more than 2, and displaying only the n - 1-th page at the right region when it is confirmed that n is 2”, as taught by NK870.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the flexibility/versatility of the apparatus for allowing the leaving of blank page(s) on a first two-page spread, e.g., for cover page purposes, NK870 ¶ 263 and fig. 35.
Claim 8:
The rejection of claim 6 is incorporated. Claim(s) 8 is/are directed to a method for accomplishing the functions of the apparatus in claim 3, and is rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NK916 ( US 20050206916 A1) in view of Okugawa (US 20180356753 A1), and further in view of Kato (US 5897251 A) and NK870 (US 20050200870 A1), as applied to claims 3 and 8 above, and further in view of Kim; Kyung Hwa et al. (hereinafter Kim – US 20120200513 A1).
Claim 4:
The rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. NK916-Okugawa-Kato-NK870 does not appear to expressly teach, but Kim teaches:
wherein when it is confirmed that n is more than k - 2 according to a result of confirming the size of n, the page switching unit generates a first guidance message indicating that there is no next page for the electronic document, and then displays the first guidance message on the screen, (when a user navigates to a previous page or set of pages, but those pages do not exist, a temporary message is outputted to indicate that the pages do not exist, ¶ 77. Although the message in Kim is for a "no previous page" is also suggests a "no subsequent page" message, based on the principle of consistency in user interface design. When a system alerts the user that a certain action is unavailable at one end of a sequence (like the beginning of a page list), a user will expect similar feedback at the other end (the end of the list)).
and when it is confirmed that n is less than 2 according to a result of confirming the size of n, the page reverse switching unit generates a second guidance message indicating that there is no previous page for the electronic document, and then displays the second guidance message on the screen (when a user navigates to a previous page or set of pages, but those pages do not exist, a temporary message is outputted to indicate that the pages do not exist, ¶ 77.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of NK916 to include wherein when it is confirmed that n is more than k - 2 according to a result of confirming the size of n, the page switching unit generates a first guidance message indicating that there is no next page for the electronic document, and then displays the first guidance message on the screen, and when it is confirmed that n is less than 2 according to a result of confirming the size of n, the page reverse switching unit generates a second guidance message indicating that there is no previous page for the electronic document, and then displays the second guidance message on the screen, as taught by Kim.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the usability and ease of control, Kim ¶ 7, by explicit stating that there are no more pages, Kim ¶ 77, as feedback for a next or previous navigation. It was well within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art to have realized that this type of message/feedback would prevent the user from futilely expecting additional content, and avoiding frustration of multiple clicking of buttons to achieve the expected function.
Claim 9:
The rejection of claim 8 is incorporated. Claim(s) 9 is/are directed to a method for accomplishing the functions of the apparatus in claim 4, and is rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NK916 ( US 20050206916 A1) in view of Okugawa (US 20180356753 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Nadamoto, Akiyo et al. (hereinafter Nadamoto – US 20050120114 A1) and Husain; Anwar (hereinafter Husain – US 20210055842 A1).
Claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. NK916-Okugawa does not appear to expressly teach, but Nadamoto teaches:
when a similar page search instruction for the n-th page is applied from the user in a situation in which the n-th page is displayed at the left region and the n + 1-th page is displayed at the right region at the same time through the document display unit, a word extraction unit extracting t, wherein t is a natural number of 2 or more, words in an order of increasing an appearance frequency in the electronic document from the electronic document, (similar web page search function based on keywords, ¶ 29, e.g., title and subtitle keywords, [at least 2 keywords], ¶ 42, for a totality of the pages and sites in a database, ¶ 34. Each web page is analyzed based on vectors for each word based on the word frequency of each word, and is stored in Web configuration database, ¶ 30 and fig. 8. The basic web page is displayed on the left and the similar webpage on the right, see fig. 9, this together with the two-page spread display of NK916-Okugawa suggest “in a situation in which the n-th page is displayed at the left region and the n + 1-th page is displayed at the right region at the same time through the document display unit” )
an appearance frequency confirmation unit confirming an appearance frequency of each of the t words in each of the k pages, a page feature vector generation unit configuring a t-dimensional vector having the appearance frequency of each of the t words in each page as a component with respect to each of the k pages to generate a t-dimensional page feature vector corresponding to each of the k pages, (word frequency calculate portion, ¶ 38, each webpage may be tagged for identification, ¶ 36. Each web page is analyzed based on vectors for each word based on the word frequency of each word, and is stored in Web configuration database, ¶ 30 and fig. 8)
a vector similarity calculation unit calculating a vector similarity between a page feature vector of the n-th page and page feature vectors of the remaining pages other than the n-th page among the k pages, a selection unit selecting a third page having a page feature vector having a maximum vector similarity to the page feature vector of the n-th page, among the remaining pages, (Each web page is analyzed based on vectors for each word based on the word frequency of each word, and is stored in Web configuration database, ¶ 30 and fig. 8. a vector-based similarity search is performed, where keywords and web page elements are converted into vectors, wherein the similarity is then determined by calculating the Euclidean distance between these vectors, a fundamental operation in vector comparisons, ¶ 51-52. To find the webpage most similar to a "basic Web page," the text from each page in a target website is compared paragraph-by-paragraph to the basic page. A page with the highest number of similar paragraphs is chosen as the primary candidate, ¶ 54).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of NK916-Okugawa to include when a similar page search instruction for the n-th page is applied from the user in a situation in which the n-th page is displayed at the left region and the n + 1-th page is displayed at the right region at the same time through the document display unit, a word extraction unit extracting t, wherein t is a natural number of 2 or more, words in an order of increasing an appearance frequency in the electronic document from the electronic document, an appearance frequency confirmation unit confirming an appearance frequency of each of the t words in each of the k pages, a page feature vector generation unit configuring a t-dimensional vector having the appearance frequency of each of the t words in each page as a component with respect to each of the k pages to generate a t-dimensional page feature vector corresponding to each of the k pages, a vector similarity calculation unit calculating a vector similarity between a page feature vector of the n-th page and page feature vectors of the remaining pages other than the n-th page among the k pages, a selection unit selecting a third page having a page feature vector having a maximum vector similarity to the page feature vector of the n-th page, among the remaining pages, as taught by Nadamoto.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to enhance the functionalities and usability of the apparatus by allowing users to compare current pages to other pages, Nadamoto ¶ 5, in a reliable and easy to use fashion, Nadamoto ¶¶ 8-9.
NK916-Okugawa-Nadamoto does not appear to expressly teach, but Husain teaches:
an overlap display unit displaying the third page by overlapping the third page with an upper layer of the n+1-th page displayed at the right region when the third page is selected, and when the third page is displayed while being overlapped with the upper layer of the n + 1-th page displayed at the right region, (continually displaying related content in a viewable overlay, Husain Claims 1 and 6, until the related content is closed by the user, Husain Claim 1. It was well within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art to have realized that in applying Husain to NK916-Okugawa that the basic web page is similar to left page and the similar webpage/page may be on the right, see Nadamoto fig. 9, this together with the two-page spread display of NK916-Okugawa suggest “displaying the third page by overlapping the third page with an upper layer of the n+1-th page displayed at the right region when the third page is selected”)
and then a page removal instruction for the third page is applied from the user, a removal display unit removing the third page displayed while being overlapped with the upper layer of the n + 1-th page at the right region to process only the n + 1-th page to be displayed at the right region (continually displaying related content in a viewable overlay, Husain Claims 1 and 6, until the related content is closed by the user, Husain Claim 1.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the apparatus of NK916 to include an overlap display unit displaying the third page by overlapping the third page with an upper layer of the n+1-th page displayed at the right region when the third page is selected, and when the third page is displayed while being overlapped with the upper layer of the n + 1-th page displayed at the right region, and then a page removal instruction for the third page is applied from the user, a removal display unit removing the third page displayed while being overlapped with the upper layer of the n + 1-th page at the right region to process only the n + 1-th page to be displayed at the right region, as taught by Husain.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide and interact with related content that the user may be interested in seeing in a known and effective manner, Husain ¶ 6 and Claims 1 and 6.
Claim 10:
The rejection of claim 6 is incorporated. Claim(s) 10 is/are directed to a method for accomplishing the functions of the apparatus in claim 5, and is rejected using similar rationale(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Below is a list of these references, including why they are pertinent:
Gartland; Richard A. et al. US 20140033024 A1, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing FIGS. 1C and 1D illustrate examples of the original page item 110 resized vertically into page item 145 and subsequent resized horizontally into page item 155, ¶ 31.
Moore; Michael R. et al. US 20080301546 A1, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing two-page spreads, ¶ 76, which as shown by pages 370, 380, and 390, embodiments of the present invention maintain the aspect ratio and resolution of the graphic element 310 on each page, irrespective of whether page 320 is resized horizontally (page 370), vertically (page 380), or both horizontally and vertically (page 390), ¶ 37a and fig. 3.
/Gabriel Mercado/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171