DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the flexible foil" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 7 also recites the limitation "the carrier" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites “A micro-fluidic measuring arrangement, comprising a microfluidic cartridge according to claim 1”. Claim 1, however, recites “a microfluidic device” instead of a cartridge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jovanovich et al. (US 2011/0005932).
Regarding claims 1 and 2 – As shown in Figure 6, Jovanovich teaches an integrated photodetector circuit comprising at least one photodetector (optic assembly 410); a micro-fluidic cartridge (microchip 1) comprising at least one detection chamber (region 350) connected to a micro-channel (region 250) to receive a liquid to be tested, wherein the micro-fluidic cartridge (1) is arranged on the integrated photodetector circuit such that the at least one detection chamber (region 350) is aligned with the photodetector (410), a heating element (temperature modulator 400) thermally conductive to the detection chamber (region 350) and operable to alter a temperature of the liquid to be tested, and a cooling element thermally conductive to the photodetector (see Paragraph 0404 directed to a cooled CCD camera) and operable to alter a temperature of the photodetector.
Regarding claims 5 and 8 – Figure 7 of Jovanovich shows a combined device having integrated optical detection (410) that may include a CCD camera and temperature control device (400). See also Paragraphs 0161, 0231-0240, and 0430-0434.
Regarding claim 6 and 7 – Jovanovich discloses a computer controller as part of the integrated analysis system in Paragraphs 0194, 0209, 0290, 0319-0320, 0341-0343 and 0355-0366. The Examiner considers the use of a CCD camera to meet the limitation of photodetector circuits arranged on the carrier.
Regarding claim 9 – Jovanovich teaches heater elements on the form of heater coils in Paragraph 0211.
Regarding claims 10-14 – Jovanovich teaches Peltier elements for heating and cooling in Paragraphs 0024, 0166, 0211, 0231, 0236, 0321, and 0431. Jovanovich discloses integrating the Peltier into a microfluidic element in Paragraph 0166.
Regarding claim 15 – Jovanovich teaches forming the microfluidic device as a cartridge in Paragraphs 0020-0024, 0165-0203, and 0209-0231.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jovanovich et al. (US 2011/0005932) in view of Centa et al. (US 5,263,244). Jovanovich teaches every element of claims 3 and 4 except for the photodetector arranged on a flexible foil. Centa teaches a method of making a flexible printed circuit assembly to for detecting optical signals. The device is best shown in Figure 3 and includes a polyester sheet (4) laminated with a plurality of individual circuits (2) covered by another sheet or tape (26). Each of the plurality of individual circuits include a pair of light emitting diodes (24, 25) and photodetector (18) such that when the sheet (4) is folded, the circuits form a sensor that may be used to detect material in a channel formed by the sheet. See Figures 4-5B and column 6, line 11 – column 7, line 23. Centa teaches their sensor for detecting optical signals is easy to produce and cost effective to manufacture. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the photodetector circuit arranged on a flexible foil layer from Centa with the device of Jovanovich. Jovanovich teaches a variety of photodetectors including more complicated sensor devices. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would provide the photodetector from Centa to Jovanovich to provide a cheaper and easier sensing unit as taught by Centa.
Conclusion
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 July 24, 2026
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798