DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18577308 filed 1/8/24.
Claim(s) 31-38 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 31-38 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “in a procedure for preparing an MN-initiated inter-SN Conditional Primary Secondary Cell Group (SCG) Cell (PSCeII) Change (CPC) from a source Secondary Node (SN) to a target SN with respect to a PSCeII of an SCG of the UE, transmit first information to the UE, the first information containing a CPC execution condition and configuration information”? The Examiner is not entirely sure what exactly what the Applicant trying to accomplished? To transmit the information for CPC execution condition and configuration? Is the configuration for the CPC or for the source SN to a target SN? How to determine the condition and configuration? Please clarify
Claim(s) 31-38 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “after sending the first information to the UE, send to the source SN a first inter-node message containing information indicating that this message is for an inter- SN CPC”? The Examiner is not entirely sure what exactly what is “this message” mean? What exactly the Applicant trying to accomplished? Why sending to the source SN when the system wanted to preparing for a target SN? Please clarify
Claim(s) 31-38 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “send a second inter-node message to the source SN in response to receiving from the UE a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration Complete message sent by the UE upon satisfaction of the CPC execution condition”? The Examiner is not entirely sure what exactly is the claimed invention? Why does the system keep sending back the message to the source SN when the system trying to prepare for the target SN? What about the CPC condition and configuration? To prepare for what? What exactly the Applicant trying to accomplished? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-32, 34-36 & 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0073753 A1.
As to claim 31, Zhang teaches a Radio Access Network (RAN) node configured to operate as a Master Node (MN) associated with a Master Cell Group (MCG) in dual connectivity for a User Equipment (UE), the RAN node comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
in a procedure for preparing an MN-initiated inter-SN Conditional Primary Secondary Cell Group (SCG) Cell (PSCeII) Change (CPC) from a source Secondary Node (SN) to a target SN with respect to a PSCeII of an SCG of the UE, transmit first information to the UE, the first information containing a CPC execution condition and configuration information (Zhang, page 3, paragraph 37-42; page 6, paragraph 116; i.e., [0037] A MN could initiate a CPA procedure by sending a SN addition request message to multiple candidate target SNs; [0038] 2. Candidate target SN(s) selects a number of cells from the list of cell(s) provided by the MN to be prepared as candidate PSCell(s), e.g., cells 1, 2, 3, ...and 5; [0040] 4. Upon receiving the CPA related RRC reconfiguration message, the UE starts evaluating whether the execution condition(s) is fulfilled ( e.g., if the measured link quality of one candidate target SN is better than a threshold). Upon the fulfillment of the execution condition(s), the UE starts accessing the corresponding target SN; [0042] Upon receiving the SN change required message
triggering the inter-SN CPC procedure, or upon the MN initiating the inter-SN CPC procedure, the MN sends a SN addition request message to multiple candidate
target SNs; [0116] the initiating node ( either a MN or a SN) indicates ten cells ( e.g., cells 1, 2, 3, ... and 10) as target PSCells, and the target SN has prepared five cells ( e.g., cells 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5), then, the target SN may decide to prepare remaining five cells (e.g., cells 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10) as additional prepared PSCells);
after sending the first information to the UE, send to the source SN a first inter-node message containing information indicating that this message is for an inter- SN CPC (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 56; i.e., [0056] a MN initiated inter-SN
CPC procedure, a MN may transmit a Xn or X2 message including CPC related configuration information provided by the MN ( e.g., the list of cells) to a T-SN, to initiate a MN initiated inter-SN CPC procedure); and
send a second inter-node message to the source SN in response to receiving from the UE a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration Complete message sent by the UE upon satisfaction of the CPC execution condition (Zhang, page 3, paragraph 40 & 48; i.e., [0040] 4. Upon receiving the CPA related RRC reconfiguration message, the UE starts evaluating whether the execution condition(s) is fulfilled ( e.g., if the measured link quality of one candidate target SN is better than a threshold). Upon the fulfillment of the execution condition(s), the UE starts accessing the corresponding target SN; [0048] For a SN initiated inter-SN CPC procedure, some embodiments of the present application ensure a proper inter-SN CPC replace operation, e.g., to modify the related execution condition(s) or to modify the related SN measurement configuration, and ensure that a source SN may know PSCell(s) prepared by the candidate target SN).
As to claim 32, Zhang teaches the RAN node as recited in claim 31, wherein the first inter-node message causes the source SN to continue providing user data to the UE until execution of the CPC (Zhang, page 3, paragraph 43; i.e., [0043] The SN addition request acknowledge message contains a RRC reconfiguration message that provides a UE with SN RRC reconfiguration to be used upon an execution of the inter-SN
CPC procedure.).
As to claim 35, Zhang teaches a Radio Access Network (RAN) node configured to operate as a source Secondary Node (SN) associated with a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) in dual connectivity for a User Equipment (UE), the RAN node comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
in a procedure for preparing an MN-initiated inter-SN Conditional Primary SCG Cell (PSCeII) Change (CPC) from the source SN to a target SN with respect to a PSCeII of the SCG of the UE, after a Master Node (MN) sends first information containing a CPC execution condition (Zhang, page 3, paragraph 37-42; page 6, paragraph 116; i.e., [0037] A MN could initiate a CPA procedure by sending a SN addition request message to multiple candidate target SNs; [0038] 2. Candidate target SN(s) selects a number of cells from the list of cell(s) provided by the MN to be prepared as candidate PSCell(s), e.g., cells 1, 2, 3, ...and 5; [0040] 4. Upon receiving the CPA related RRC reconfiguration message, the UE starts evaluating whether the execution condition(s) is fulfilled ( e.g., if the measured link quality of one candidate target SN is better than a threshold). Upon the fulfillment of the execution condition(s), the UE starts accessing the corresponding target SN; [0042] Upon receiving the SN change required message
triggering the inter-SN CPC procedure, or upon the MN initiating the inter-SN CPC procedure, the MN sends a SN addition request message to multiple candidate
target SNs; [0116] the initiating node ( either a MN or a SN) indicates ten cells ( e.g., cells 1, 2, 3, ... and 10) as target PSCells, and the target SN has prepared five cells ( e.g., cells 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5), then, the target SN may decide to prepare remaining five cells (e.g., cells 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10) as additional prepared PSCells)and configuration information to the UE, receive from the MN a first inter-node message containing information indicating that this message is for an inter-SN CPC (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 56; i.e., [0056] a MN initiated inter-SN CPC procedure, a MN may transmit a Xn or X2 message including CPC related configuration information provided by the MN ( e.g., the list of cells) to a T-SN, to initiate a MN initiated inter-SN CPC procedure); and
receive a second inter-node message from the MN, the second message being sent by the MN in response to receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration Complete message sent by the UE upon satisfaction of the CPC execution condition (Zhang, page 3, paragraph 40 & 48; i.e., [0040] 4. Upon receiving the CPA related RRC reconfiguration message, the UE starts evaluating whether the execution condition(s) is fulfilled ( e.g., if the measured link quality of one candidate target SN is better than a threshold). Upon the fulfillment of the execution condition(s), the UE starts accessing the corresponding target SN; [0048] For a SN initiated inter-SN CPC procedure, some embodiments of the present application ensure a proper inter-SN CPC replace operation, e.g., to modify the related execution condition(s) or to modify the related SN measurement configuration, and ensure that a source SN may know PSCell(s) prepared by the candidate target SN).
Claim(s) 34 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 31. Therefore, claim(s) 34 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 31.
Claim(s) 36 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 32. Therefore, claim(s) 36 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 32.
Claim(s) 38 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 35. Therefore, claim(s) 38 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 & 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0073753 A1 in view of Chen, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0099926 A1.
As to claim 33, Zhang teaches the RAN node as recited in claim 31. But Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second inter-node message causes the source SN to stop providing user data to the UE.
However, Chen teaches the limitation wherein the second inter-node message causes the source SN to stop providing user data to the UE (Chen, page 8, paragraph 119; page 9, paragraph 133; i.e., [0119] After receiving the response/bye message from the UE, the MN may forward the SN status (e.g., provided by the source SN) and/or the data (e.g., if there are some SN-terminated bearers on the source SN) to the target SN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute mMTC) from Chen for wireless communication from Zhang to improving data rate, latency,
reliability and mobility (Chen, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 37, Zhang teaches the RAN node as recited in claim 35. But Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to, after receiving the first inter-node message, stop providing user data to the UE in response to receiving the second inter-node message from the MN indicating execution of the CPC or satisfaction of the CPC execution condition (Chen, page 4, paragraph 62; page 8, paragraph 119; page 9, paragraph 133; i.e., [0062] conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedures and conditional PSCell change (CPC) procedures for intra-SN and inter-SN cases are provided in the present disclosure. Methods for a UE to determine what to do when a conditional reconfiguration command is executed and the corresponding UE behavior are also provided in the present disclosure; [0119] After receiving the response/bye message from the UE, the MN may forward the SN status (e.g., provided by the source SN) and/or the data (e.g., if there are some SN-terminated bearers on the source SN) to the target SN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute mMTC) from Chen for wireless communication from Zhang to improving data rate, latency,
reliability and mobility (Chen, page 1, paragraph 3)..
Listing of Relevant Arts
Purkayastha, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220116840 A1 discloses SN-initiated intra-SN conditional PSCell.
Silva, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20240040451 A1 discloses PSCell CPC, MN-initiated, SCG.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416