DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 01/08/2024. Claims 4, 7, 17 and 24-28 have been canceled, and claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-16, 18-21 and 23 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-16, and 18-23 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2024 is compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 11, 14-16, 18, 20, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DIMNIK et al. (US 2024/0214853 A1).
As to claim 1, DIMNIK discloses the invention as claimed, including a measurement relaxation instruction method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2, UE; ¶0011, “a communication entity in a wireless communication system, comprising deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode”), comprising:
obtaining at least one of relaxation instruction information or relaxation measurement configuration information (i.e., SSBs, measurement configuration) sent by a base station (Figs. 2, 5 and 7, “Measurement configuration”, “SSB”; ¶0055, “a relaxation in the relaxed measurement mode may include extending the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period, e.g. by a predefined or configurable scaling or relaxation factor with respect to the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period in the normal measurement mode”; ¶0068, “the gNB sends to the UE a measurement configuration (which may configure that and possibly also how a L1-RSRP measurement is to be performed) and an indication of relaxation being allowed (which may mean or specify to the UE that the UE is allowed to make the final decision about measurement relaxation)”; ¶0069, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0088-¶0089; ¶0103-¶0104); and
switching from a normal measurement state (i.e., normal measurement mode) to a measurement relaxation state (i.e., relaxed measurement mode) based on the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information sent by the base station (Fig. 6, S610-S620; ¶0011, “deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode”; ¶0069, “a change from the normal measurement mode to the relaxed measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is entered”; ¶0089, “a relaxed measurement mode (also referred to as relaxation mode) is to be entered, i.e. a change from the normal measurement mode to the relaxed measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0090; ¶0092, “changing from the relaxed measurement mode to the normal measurement mode (when it is assumed that the UE is at the start set to applying the relaxed measurement mode (for the L1-RSRP measurement), i.e. the relaxed measurement mode is the currently applied measurement mode)”; ¶0104; ¶0107).
As to claim 2, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information sent by the base station comprises: obtaining the relaxation instruction information sent by the base station, wherein the relaxation instruction information is configured to instruct a UE in a connected state to perform measurement relaxation (Figs. 2, 5 and 7, “Measurement configuration”; ¶0017; ¶0055, “a relaxation in the relaxed measurement mode may include extending the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period, e.g. by a predefined or configurable scaling or relaxation factor with respect to the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period in the normal measurement mode”; ¶0068, “the gNB sends to the UE a measurement configuration (which may configure that and possibly also how a L1-RSRP measurement is to be performed) and an indication of relaxation being allowed (which may mean or specify to the UE that the UE is allowed to make the final decision about measurement relaxation)”; ¶0069, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0088-¶0089; ¶0103-¶0104).
As to claim 3, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising obtaining a predefined measurement relaxation parameter indicated by the base station, wherein obtaining the predefined measurement relaxation parameter indicated by the base station comprises at least one of: obtaining the predefined measurement relaxation parameter sent by the base station through a system message; obtaining the predefined measurement relaxation parameter indicated by the base station based on a protocol; or obtaining the predefined measurement relaxation parameter sent by the base station through a radio resource control (RRC) message (¶0055, “in 3GPP Rel. 17, a relaxation in the relaxed measurement mode may include extending the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period, e.g. by a predefined or configurable scaling or relaxation factor with respect to the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period in the normal measurement mode”; ¶0112, “any signaling between the communication entity, such as the UE, and the control entity, such as the gNB, may be realized using RRC signaling”; ¶0118).
As to claim 5, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information sent by the base station comprises: obtaining the relaxation instruction information sent by the base station, wherein the relaxation instruction information is configured to instruct a UE in a connected state to perform measurement relaxation, and the relaxation instruction information comprises a measurement relaxation parameter (¶0004, “which criteria the UE can enter/exit a relaxed measurement mode, and whether fulfilling the criteria is to be defined by the UE or by the network (e.g. the gNB controlling/serving the UE)”; ¶0017, “the indication indicates that the normal measurement mode, the relaxed measurement mode or a mixture of the normal and relaxed measurement modes is applied for a respective measurement report”; ¶0061, “The characteristics may comprise one or more of a measurement or evaluation interval/period in the normal measurement mode, a measurement or evaluation interval/period in the relaxed measurement mode, a scaling or relaxation factor for extending the measurement or evaluation interval/period in the relaxed measurement mode as comparted with the normal measurement mode, a relation between one or more measurement properties between the relaxed measurement mode and the normal measurement mode”; ¶0068, “the gNB sends to the UE a measurement configuration (which may configure that and possibly also how a L1-RSRP measurement is to be performed) and an indication of relaxation being allowed (which may mean or specify to the UE that the UE is allowed to make the final decision about measurement relaxation)”; ¶0070, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is again illustrated for the sake of completeness”; ¶0088; ¶0103).
As to claim 11, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 10, wherein switching from the normal measurement state to the measurement relaxation state based on the information sent by the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration base station comprises: performing the measurement relaxation based on the relaxation measurement configuration information (Figs. 2, 5 and 7, “Measurement configuration”, “SSB”; Fig. 6, S610-S620; ¶0011, “deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode”; ¶0069, “a change from the normal measurement mode to the relaxed measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is entered”; ¶0089, “a relaxed measurement mode (also referred to as relaxation mode) is to be entered, i.e. a change from the normal measurement mode to the relaxed measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0090; ¶0092, “changing from the relaxed measurement mode to the normal measurement mode (when it is assumed that the UE is at the start set to applying the relaxed measurement mode (for the L1-RSRP measurement), i.e. the relaxed measurement mode is the currently applied measurement mode)”; ¶0104; ¶0107).
As to claim 14, DIMNIK discloses a measurement relaxation instruction method, performed by a base station, comprising: sending at least one of relaxation instruction information or relaxation measurement configuration information to a user equipment (UE) in a connected state (Figs. 2, 5 and 7, “Measurement configuration”, “SSB”; ¶0055, “a relaxation in the relaxed measurement mode may include extending the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period, e.g. by a predefined or configurable scaling or relaxation factor with respect to the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period in the normal measurement mode”; ¶0068, “the gNB sends to the UE a measurement configuration (which may configure that and possibly also how a L1-RSRP measurement is to be performed) and an indication of relaxation being allowed (which may mean or specify to the UE that the UE is allowed to make the final decision about measurement relaxation)”; ¶0069, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0088-¶0089; ¶0103-¶0104).
As to claim 15, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 14, wherein sending the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information to the UE in the connected state comprises: sending the relaxation instruction information to the UE in the connected state, wherein the relaxation instruction information is configured to instruct the UE in the connected state to perform measurement relaxation (Figs. 2, 5 and 7, “Measurement configuration”; ¶0017; ¶0055, “a relaxation in the relaxed measurement mode may include extending the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period, e.g. by a predefined or configurable scaling or relaxation factor with respect to the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period in the normal measurement mode”; ¶0068, “the gNB sends to the UE a measurement configuration (which may configure that and possibly also how a L1-RSRP measurement is to be performed) and an indication of relaxation being allowed (which may mean or specify to the UE that the UE is allowed to make the final decision about measurement relaxation)”; ¶0069, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0088-¶0089; ¶0103-¶0104).
As to claim 16, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: indicating a predefined measurement relaxation parameter to the UE in the connected state; wherein indicating the predefined measurement relaxation parameter to the UE in the connected state comprises at least one of: sending the predefined measurement relaxation parameter to the UE in the connected state through a system message; indicating the predefined measurement relaxation parameter to the UE in the connected state through a protocol; or sending the predefined measurement relaxation parameter to the UE in the connected state through a radio resource control (RRC) message (¶0055, “in 3GPP Rel. 17, a relaxation in the relaxed measurement mode may include extending the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period, e.g. by a predefined or configurable scaling or relaxation factor with respect to the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period in the normal measurement mode”; ¶0112, “any signaling between the communication entity, such as the UE, and the control entity, such as the gNB, may be realized using RRC signaling”; ¶0118).
As to claim 18, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 14, wherein sending the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information to the UE in the connected state comprises: sending the relaxation instruction information to the UE in the connected state, wherein the relaxation instruction information is configured to instruct the UE in the connected state to perform measurement relaxation, and the relaxation instruction information comprises a measurement relaxation parameter (¶0004, “which criteria the UE can enter/exit a relaxed measurement mode, and whether fulfilling the criteria is to be defined by the UE or by the network (e.g. the gNB controlling/serving the UE)”; ¶0017, “the indication indicates that the normal measurement mode, the relaxed measurement mode or a mixture of the normal and relaxed measurement modes is applied for a respective measurement report”; ¶0061, “The characteristics may comprise one or more of a measurement or evaluation interval/period in the normal measurement mode, a measurement or evaluation interval/period in the relaxed measurement mode, a scaling or relaxation factor for extending the measurement or evaluation interval/period in the relaxed measurement mode as comparted with the normal measurement mode, a relation between one or more measurement properties between the relaxed measurement mode and the normal measurement mode”; ¶0068, “the gNB sends to the UE a measurement configuration (which may configure that and possibly also how a L1-RSRP measurement is to be performed) and an indication of relaxation being allowed (which may mean or specify to the UE that the UE is allowed to make the final decision about measurement relaxation)”; ¶0070, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is again illustrated for the sake of completeness”; ¶0088; ¶0103).
As to claim 20, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving a first measurement report sent by the UE in the connected state, wherein the first measurement report (Fig. 2, “L1-RSRP Report”) is configured to indicate that the UE in the connected state has switched from the measurement relaxation state to the normal measurement state (Figs. 2, 5 and 7; ¶0012, “a measurement report including an information about the change of the measurement mode, said information specifying whether the normal measurement mode and/or the relaxed measurement mode is applied for or from the current measurement report and/or the next measurement report or reports, and means for issuing the measurement report for transmission to a control entity controlling and/or serving the communication entity”; ¶0070, “a change from the relaxed measurement mode to the normal measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is again illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is left, i.e. the normal measurement mode is entered”).
As to claim 22, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: obtaining a second measurement report sent by the UE in the connected state (Fig. 2, “L1-RSRP Report”); and sending new measurement configuration information (Fig. 2, “SSB”) for performing normal measurement to the UE in the connected state based on the second measurement report (Figs. 2, 5 and 7; ¶0069, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is entered. Thereafter, the UE prepares and issues a corresponding measurement report, which, in this example, is a L1-RSRP measurement report including an indication of the relaxed measurement mode being entered”; ¶0070, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is again illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is left, i.e. the normal measurement mode is entered. Thereafter, the UE prepares and issues a corresponding measurement report, which, in this example, is a L1-RSRP measurement report including an indication of the relaxed measurement mode being left (or the normal measurement mode being entered)”).
As to claim 23, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 14, wherein sending the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information to the UE in the connected state comprises: obtaining a third measurement report sent by the UE in the connected state; and sending the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information to the UE in the connected state based on the third measurement report (Figs. 2, 5 and 7; ¶0069, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is entered. Thereafter, the UE prepares and issues a corresponding measurement report, which, in this example, is a L1-RSRP measurement report including an indication of the relaxed measurement mode being entered”; ¶0070, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is again illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is left, i.e. the normal measurement mode is entered. Thereafter, the UE prepares and issues a corresponding measurement report, which, in this example, is a L1-RSRP measurement report including an indication of the relaxed measurement mode being left (or the normal measurement mode being entered)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DIMNIK et al. (US 2024/0214853 A1), in view of CHEN et al. (US 2025/0081225 A1).
As to claims 6, 10, 19 and 21, although DIMNIK discloses wherein switching from the normal measurement state to the measurement relaxation state based on the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information sent by the base station comprises: performing the measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation parameter (Figs. 2, 5 and 7, “Measurement configuration”, “SSB”; ¶0017, “the indication indicates that the normal measurement mode, the relaxed measurement mode or a mixture of the normal and relaxed measurement modes is applied for a respective measurement report”; ¶0055, “a relaxation in the relaxed measurement mode may include extending the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period, e.g. by a predefined or configurable scaling or relaxation factor with respect to the RRM/RLM/BFD measurement interval/period in the normal measurement mode”; ¶0061, “The characteristics may comprise one or more of a measurement or evaluation interval/period in the normal measurement mode, a measurement or evaluation interval/period in the relaxed measurement mode, a scaling or relaxation factor for extending the measurement or evaluation interval/period in the relaxed measurement mode as comparted with the normal measurement mode, a relation between one or more measurement properties between the relaxed measurement mode and the normal measurement mode”; ¶0068, “the gNB sends to the UE a measurement configuration (which may configure that and possibly also how a L1-RSRP measurement is to be performed) and an indication of relaxation being allowed (which may mean or specify to the UE that the UE is allowed to make the final decision about measurement relaxation)”; ¶0069, “a change from the normal measurement mode to the relaxed measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0070, “As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is again illustrated for the sake of completeness”; ¶0088; ¶0089, “a relaxed measurement mode (also referred to as relaxation mode) is to be entered, i.e. a change from the normal measurement mode to the relaxed measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB”; ¶0103), DIMNIK does not specifically disclose wherein the measurement relaxation parameter comprises at least one of: a measurement suspending duration; an expansion factor of a measurement period, wherein the expansion factor of the measurement period is configured to lengthen the measurement period in the normal measurement state; one or more dedicated measurement frequencies, wherein a number of the one or more dedicated measurement frequencies is less than a number of measurement frequencies in the normal measurement state; a predefined synchronization signal block measurement timing configuration (SMTC), wherein a period of the predefined SMTC is greater than a period of an SMTC in the normal measurement state; a predefined SMTC, wherein a window length of the predefined SMTC is smaller than a window length of an SMTC in the normal measurement state; a predefined synchronization signal block measurement (SSB-ToMeasure) parameter, wherein a number of measurement beams corresponding to the predefined SSB-ToMeasure parameter is less than a number of measurement beams corresponding to an SSB-ToMeasure parameter in the normal measurement state; or one or more predefined types of one or more pilot signals to be measured, wherein a number of the one or more predefined types of one or more pilot signals to be measured is less than a number of types of pilot signals to be measured in the normal measurement state.
However, CHEN discloses wherein the measurement relaxation parameter comprises at least one of: a measurement suspending duration; an expansion factor of a measurement period, wherein the expansion factor of the measurement period is configured to lengthen the measurement period in the normal measurement state; one or more dedicated measurement frequencies, wherein a number of the one or more dedicated measurement frequencies is less than a number of measurement frequencies in the normal measurement state; a predefined synchronization signal block measurement timing configuration (SMTC), wherein a period of the predefined SMTC is greater than a period of an SMTC in the normal measurement state; a predefined SMTC, wherein a window length of the predefined SMTC is smaller than a window length of an SMTC in the normal measurement state; a predefined synchronization signal block measurement (SSB-ToMeasure) parameter, wherein a number of measurement beams corresponding to the predefined SSB-ToMeasure parameter is less than a number of measurement beams corresponding to an SSB-ToMeasure parameter in the normal measurement state; or one or more predefined types of one or more pilot signals to be measured, wherein a number of the one or more predefined types of one or more pilot signals to be measured is less than a number of types of pilot signals to be measured in the normal measurement state (¶0069, “A measurement period in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is longer than a measurement period in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0073, “a measurement frequency in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is lower than a measurement frequency in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0077, “A quantity of target objects on which inter-frequency RRM measurement or inter-system measurement is performed in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is less than a quantity of target objects on which inter-frequency RRM measurement or inter-system measurement is performed in the normal RRM measurement mode, where the target object includes at least one of a carrier, a frequency, a band, and a bandwidth part”; ¶0080, “A measurement period in the enhanced RRM measurement mode is shorter than a measurement period in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0087; ¶0137; ¶0173, “Within a first preset time, a measurement frequency in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is lower than a measurement frequency in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0177; ¶0250, “a measurement period in the enhanced RRM measurement mode is shorter than a measurement period in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0283, “a measurement period in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is longer than a measurement period in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0285, “within a first preset time, a measurement frequency in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is lower than a measurement frequency in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0286, “a quantity of neighboring cells on which RRM measurement is performed in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is less than a quantity of neighboring cells on which RRM measurement is performed in the normal RRM measurement mode”; ¶0287, “a quantity of target objects on which inter-frequency RRM measurement or inter-system measurement is performed in the relaxed RRM measurement mode is less than a quantity of target objects on which inter-frequency RRM measurement or inter-system measurement is performed in the normal RRM measurement mode”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of DIMNIK to include the limitations above, as taught by CHEN because it would more accurately reduce user equipment (UE) power consumption and improve battery life (CHEN; ¶0168; ¶0270; ¶0321).
Claims 8-9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DIMNIK et al. (US 2024/0214853 A1), in view of TSENG et al. (US 2020/0314868 A1).
As to claims 8, 12 and 13, TSENG discloses the method further comprising: determining whether the UE in the connected state satisfies relaxation criteria, wherein the UE in the connected state is in the measurement relaxation state, wherein the relaxation criteria comprise a low mobility criterion, and a stationary criterion; and switching from the measurement relaxation state to the normal measurement state in response to the UE in the connected state not satisfying the relaxation criteria; sending a second measurement report to the base station in response to the UE in the connected state not satisfying the relaxation criteria; obtaining new measurement configuration information for performing normal measurement sent by the base station based on the second measurement report; and switching from the measurement relaxation state to the normal measurement state based on the new measurement configuration information; wherein obtaining the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information sent by the base station comprises: obtaining the at least one of the relaxation instruction information or the relaxation measurement configuration information sent by the base station based on the third measurement report (Figs. 3-5, 310; ¶0006, “determine the location based on signal strength of the received signal. The location can be one of 1) a first location being not at a cell edge of the serving cell and 2) a second location being at the cell edge of the serving cell. The processing circuitry can determine the mobility based on a signal variation of the received signal where the mobility can be one of 1) a low mobility and 2) a high mobility”; ¶0007, “determine that the mobility is the low mobility when that the signal variation is less than or equal to a threshold S1. The processing circuitry can determine that the electronic device is to be switched from the first state to the second state when the mobility is determined to be the low mobility and the location is determined to be the first location”; ¶0034, “determine the mobility based on a signal variation of the signal in the serving cell. The signal variation can be a variation of the signal strength (e.g., RSRP) of the signal in the serving cell. The processing circuitry 150 can determine that the mobility is the low mobility when the signal variation satisfies a condition, for example, the signal variation is less than or equal to a threshold S1. The electronic device 110 can be considered as having the low mobility when the electronic device 110 is stationary (e.g., the signal variation is zero)”; ¶0042, “determine whether a first switching criterion I is satisfied. The first switching criterion I can include: 1) the serving cell is determined to remain the same serving cell (e.g., the signal strength of the signal in the serving cell is larger than a threshold S3), 2) the mobility is determined to be the low mobility (e.g., the signal variation of the signal in the serving cell is less than or equal to the threshold S1)”; ¶0044-¶0046; ¶0064, “The first state corresponding to the normal level of RRM measurements and the second state corresponding to the relaxed level of RRM measurements are shown”; ¶0065, “when a switching criterion 310 is satisfied, the electronic device can be switched from the first state to the second state. The switching criterion 310 can be based on mobility and a location of the electronic device. In an example shown in FIG. 3, the switching criterion 310 includes: 1) a serving cell for the electronic device remains the same serving cell (e.g., signal strength of a signal in the serving cell is larger than a threshold), 2) a signal variation of the signal in the serving cell satisfies a first switch-to condition (e.g., the signal variation is less than or equal to the threshold S1), and 3) the signal strength of the signal in the serving cell satisfies a second switch-to condition (e.g., the signal strength is larger than the threshold l1, or a difference between the signal strength and largest neighbor signal strength is larger than the threshold D1, as described in the first embodiment)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of DIMNIK to include the limitations above, as taught by TSENG because it would ensure that when a handover is required, the UE has sufficient and updated information about neighboring cells, thereby improving the communication quality and user experience (TSENG; ¶0004-¶0005).
As to claim 9, DIMNIK discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: sending a first measurement report to the base station, wherein the first measurement report is configured to indicate that the UE in the connected state has switched from the measurement relaxation state back to the normal measurement state (Figs. 2, 5 and 7; ¶0012, “a measurement report including an information about the change of the measurement mode, said information specifying whether the normal measurement mode and/or the relaxed measurement mode is applied for or from the current measurement report and/or the next measurement report or reports, and means for issuing the measurement report for transmission to a control entity controlling and/or serving the communication entity”; ¶0070, “a change from the relaxed measurement mode to the normal measurement mode is to be performed. As the L1-RSRP measurement may be based on SSBs repeatedly sent from the gNB, this is again illustrated for the sake of completeness. Then, the UE decides on the change of the measurement mode such that the relaxed measurement mode is left, i.e. the normal measurement mode is entered”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHEN et al. (US 2023/0269614 A1), LASELVA et al. (US 2022/0174608 A1), HU (US 2024/0179546 A1), HVIID et al. (US 2022/0377635 A1), KIM (US 2022/0116802 A1) disclose method and apparatus for adjusting radio resource managements.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 February 21, 2026