DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on January 8, 2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Preliminary amendments filed on January 8, 2024 have been entered.
The abstract has been amended.
The specification has been amended.
Claims 1-19 have been amended.
Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 8, lines 12-14: Language “Advantageously, the screw 3 may comprise a plurality energy harvesting systems 13, including different kinds of ones” should read “Advantageously, the screw 3 may comprise a plurality of energy harvesting systems 13, including different kinds
Page 9, lines 21-22: Language “If a piezoelectric transducer 14 is deformed, as illustrated, a potential difference …” should read “If a piezoelectric transducer 14 is deformed
Page 10, line 31: Language “the electrodes 15” should read “the electrodes [[15]]16” in accordance with the details of the drawings (e.g., Figs. 2-3 refer to the electrodes 16).
Page 23, line 21: Language “the known methods)” should read “the known methods[[)]]” in order to correct for minor informalities (e.g., remove parenthesis).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“A monitoring method performed by a monitoring system, the monitoring system comprising:
a first terminal device and a second terminal device;
wherein the second terminal device comprises a fastener which fixes together, in use, two or more components of a mechanical apparatus;
wherein the second terminal device comprises one or more sensors and a printed circuit board,
wherein the printing circuit board comprises a microprocessor and a wireless communication portion,
wherein the wireless communication portion is configured to wirelessly exchange data and electromagnetic signals with the first terminal device directly and/or indirectly;
wherein the one or more sensors exchange signals with the printed circuit board of the second terminal device;
the monitoring method comprising
generating one or more signals by the one or more sensors , wherein the one or more signals correspond to working conditions of the two or more components of [[a]]the mechanical apparatus;
processing the one or more signals by the printed circuit board to generate data; and
exchanging the data wirelessly between the first terminal device and the second terminal device directly and/or indirectly” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the monitoring system comprises a plurality of the data with the first terminal device through a respective wireless communication portion” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring method according to claim 1,
wherein the first terminal device comprises a first Near Field Communication (NFC) transmitter/receiver;
wherein the wireless communication portion of the second terminal device further comprises a wireless rechargeable battery and a second NFC transmitter/receiver that is connected to the wireless rechargeable battery and receives both electromagnetic power and the data from the first NFC transmitter/receiver;
wherein the data comprises
interrogating the second terminal device via the first terminal device;
responding to the first terminal device with the second terminal device;
wherein, during the signals generated by the first terminal device wirelessly charge the wireless rechargeable battery of the second terminal device” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the monitoring system comprises a third terminal device, wherein the third terminal device comprises a third Near Field Communication (NFC) transmitter/receiver” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication portion comprises a mobile terminal device[[,]] configured to communicate with [[the]]an interface access of a transport network” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the fastener comprises an energy harvesting system energy from an energy source into electrical energy
wherein the printed circuit board is electrically powered by the energy harvesting system; and
wherein the printed circuit board is disposed, at least partially, within a housing of the fastener” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“A fastener which fixes together, in use, two or more components of a mechanical apparatus;
wherein the fastener comprises a printed circuit board connected to one or more sensors, wherein each sensor generates signals corresponding to working conditions of the one or more components of [[a]]the mechanical apparatus;
wherein the printed circuit board comprises a microprocessor, a wireless rechargeable battery, and a wireless communication portion that is configured to exchange, in use, data and electromagnetic signals wirelessly with a terminal device directly and/or indirectly” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastener[[,]] according to claim 7, wherein the wireless communication portion comprises [[an]]a Near Field Communication (NFC) transmitter/receiver” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastenerthe fastener comprises a screw, wherein the an interface access of a transport network” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastener[[,]] according to claim 9, wherein the transport network, wherein the transport network is selected from a group comprising a fixed telephone network, cellular telephone network, data network, internet network, Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), General Packet Radio Service (GPRSU), Universal Mobile Telecommunications System / Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution (UMTS/EDGE), Variable Spreading Factor Spread (VSF-Spread), Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM), and Global Positioning System (GPS)” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastener according to claim 7[[,]] further comprising one or more energy harvesting systems,
wherein each energy harvesting system is configured to convert energy of an energy source into electrical energy
wherein each energy harvesting system powers the one or more sensors and/or the printed circuit board and/or a storage unit” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastener according to claim 7[[,]] further comprising a shank having a longitudinal axis and a head having a housing;
wherein the fastener comprises a hermetic case made of stiff material and at least partially dielectric;
wherein the hermetic case is housed inside the housing;
wherein the printed circuit board is housed inside the hermetic case; and
wherein the one or more sensors are housed inside the hermetic case .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastener according to claim 12, wherein the hermetic case comprises Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs) that are visible from [[the]] outside and are connected, internally, to the printed circuit board” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastener according to claim 12, wherein the shank is solid” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The fastener according to claim 7, wherein the fastener has a cavity inside [[the]]a shank;
wherein, inside the cavitythe one or more sensors[[;]] and/or one or more energy harvesting systems[[;]] and/or the printed circuit board are at least partially housed” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“A monitoring system comprising a first terminal device and one or more second terminal devices,
wherein each second terminal device the fastener according to claim 7;
wherein the first terminal device and each second terminal device are configured to exchange the data and the electromagnetic signals wirelessly directly and/or indirectly” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring system according to claim [[15,]]16 further comprising a third terminal device comprising an additional Near Field Communication (NFC) transmitter/receiver” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
The examiner also notes that although claim 17 has been amended, it has not been properly labeled as currently amended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring system according to claim 17, wherein the third terminal device comprises a hardware platform that is configured to recharge the second terminal device; wherein the hardware platform is also configured to exchange the data with the second terminal device” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim language should read:
“[[A]]The monitoring system according to claim 16, wherein the first terminal device is included in a smartphone or a mobile device or a tool” in order to clarify the recited subject matter for compliance under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-19 were evaluated for patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 using the SUBJECT MATTER ELIGIBILITY TEST FOR PRODUCTS AND PROCESSES described in the 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Including on Artificial Intelligence (see also 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance) to determine patent eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 1, the examiner submits that under Step 1 of the test for evaluating claims for eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, the claim is to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Continuing with the analysis, under Step 2A - Prong One of the test, the examiner submits that claim 1 does not recite a judicial exception, therefore, the claim qualifies as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C.101 (see 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance – Revised Step 2A, see also MPEP 2106.04).
Similarly, independent claim 7 is directed to patent eligible subject matter as explained above with regards to claim 1.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-6 and 8-19, they were found to be patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 by either not reciting a judicial exception under Step 2A – Prong One of the test or by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application under Step 2A - Prong Two of the test (e.g., applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tillotson (US 20110181393 A1), hereinafter ‘Tillotson’.
Regarding claim 1.
Tillotson discloses:
A monitoring method by means of a monitoring system ([0006]: method and apparatus for remotely monitoring the status/condition of fasteners is provided), comprising:
a first terminal device (Fig. 1, item 38 – “reader”) and a second terminal device (Figs. 1 and 4, items 30 and 36 – “fastener” and “device”; [0042]: a device attached to a fastener wirelessly communicates with a remote reader (see also [0043]-[0044]));
wherein said second terminal device comprises a fastener (Figs. 1 and 4, item 30 – “fastener”) which fixes together, in use, two or more components of a mechanical apparatus (Fig. 1, item 34 – “structure”; [0042]: the fastener is installed in a structure to join, affix or clamp two or more members together (see also [0044] and [0057]));
wherein said second terminal device comprises one or more sensors (Figs. 1 and 4, item 32 – “sensor”; [0042], [0048]: the fastener includes a sensor to measure one or more parameters related to the condition of the fastener (see also [0050])) and a printed circuit board (Figs. 4 and 5, item 86 – “electronic circuit”; [0047]: the device includes an electronic circuit) comprising a microprocessor (Fig. 5, item 100 – “microprocessor”; [0053]: the electronic circuit includes a microprocessor to control components of the circuit or perform calculations) and a wireless communication portion (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”; [0051]: the electronic circuit includes radio frequency receiver and transmitter), which is configured to wirelessly exchange data and electromagnetic signals with the first terminal device directly and/or indirectly ([0043], [0048]: the device wirelessly receives signals from the external reader and transmits the measured parameters directly to the external reader for monitoring the condition of the fastener);
wherein said sensors exchange signals with said printed circuit board of the second terminal device ([0048], [0051], [0053]: the sensor measures at least one parameter indicative of the status of the fastener and transmits it to the electronic circuit for additional processing);
the method comprising the steps of:
generating one or more signals by means of said sensors (9) in function of the working conditions of said components of a mechanical apparatus ([0045], [0048]: sensor measurements are a function of the conditions of the structure (see also [0053]));
processing said signals by means of said printed circuit board to generate data ([0053]: electronic circuit includes components to process the sensor data);
exchanging data wirelessly between the first terminal device and the second terminal device directly and/or indirectly ([0043], [0048]: the device wireless transmits the measured parameters directly to the external reader for monitoring the condition of the fastener).
Regarding claim 2.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 1 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
the monitoring system comprises a plurality of said second terminal devices (Fig. 8, items 30 – “fasteners”; [0022]: multiple fasteners are used to monitor corresponding conditions), wherein each second terminal device exchanges data with the first terminal device through a respective wireless communication portion ([0054]-[0055], [0057]: fasteners and the external reader wirelessly transmit data using corresponding RF receivers and transmitters (see [0051]) for monitoring conditions of the structure (see also [0012], [0014], [0058]-[0059])).
Regarding claim 6.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 1 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
each fastener comprises an energy harvesting system (Fig. 5, items 96 and 98 – “electrical power storage” and “alternate power source”) which is configured to convert into electrical energy an energy source ([0051]: the electronic circuit attached to the fastener includes an electrical power storage that stores electrical power converted from the RF signal wirelessly transmitted by the external reader, and also an alternate power source);
wherein said printed circuit board is electrically powered by said energy harvesting system ([0051]: the electronic circuit is powered by the electrical power storage and/or the alternate power source); and
wherein said printed circuit board is disposed, at least partially, within a housing of the fastener ([0047]: the electronic circuit is housed within the cap included in the device (see Fig. 4)).
Regarding claim 7.
Tillotson discloses:
A fastener (Figs. 1 and 4, items 30 and 36 – “fastener” and “device”; [0042]: a device attached to a fastener wirelessly communicates with a remote reader for monitoring the status/condition of fasteners (see also [0006], [0043]-[0044])) which fixes together, in use, two or more components of a mechanical apparatus (Fig. 1, item 34 – “structure”; [0042]: the fastener is installed in a structure to join, affix or clamp two or more members together (see also [0044] and [0057]));
wherein said fastener comprises a printed circuit board (Figs. 4 and 5, item 86 – “electronic circuit”; [0047]: the device includes an electronic circuit) connected to one or more sensors (Figs. 1 and 4, item 32 – “sensor”; [0042], [0048]: the fastener includes a sensor connected to the electronic circuit and used to measure one or more parameters related to the condition of the fastener (see also [0050])), each of which generates signals in function of the working conditions of said components of a mechanical apparatus ([0045], [0048]: sensor measurements are a function of the conditions of the structure (see also [0053]));
wherein said printed circuit board comprises a microprocessor (Fig. 5, item 100 – “microprocessor”; [0053]: the electronic circuit includes a microprocessor to control components of the circuit or perform calculations), a wireless rechargeable battery (Fig. 5, items 96 and 98 – “electrical power storage” and “alternate power source”; [0051]: the electronic circuit includes an electrical power storage that stores electrical power converted from the RF signal wirelessly transmitted by the external reader, and also an alternate power source), and a wireless communication portion (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”; [0051]: the electronic circuit includes radio frequency receiver and transmitter) that is configured to exchange, in use, data and electromagnetic signals wirelessly with a terminal device (Fig. 1, item 38 – “reader”) directly and/or indirectly ([0048], [0051], [0053]: RF receiver receives the RF signal from the external reader for querying the fasteners (see [0043]) and for conversion into electrical power for storage in the electrical power storage, and the RF transmitter communicates sensor information directly to the external reader for monitoring the condition of the fastener).
Regarding claim 11.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 7 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
one or more energy harvesting systems (Fig. 5, items 96 and 98 – “electrical power storage” and “alternate power source”) each of which is configured to convert into electrical energy an energy source ([0051]: the electronic circuit includes an electrical power storage that stores electrical power converted from the RF signal wirelessly transmitted by the external reader, and also an alternate power source);
wherein each energy harvesting system powers said sensors and/or said printed circuit board and/or a storage unit ([0051]: the electronic circuit is powered by the electrical power storage and/or the alternate power source).
Regarding claim 16.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 7 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
A monitoring system ([0006]: method and apparatus for remotely monitoring the status/condition of fasteners is provided) comprising a first terminal device (Fig. 1, item 38 – “reader”) and one or more second terminal devices (Figs. 1 and 4, items 30 and 36 – “fastener” and “device”; [0042]: a device attached to a fastener wirelessly communicates with a remote reader (see also [0043]-[0044])), each of which is a fastener according to claim 7 (see claim 7 rejection above);
wherein the first terminal device and each second terminal device are configured to exchange data and electromagnetic signals wirelessly directly and/or indirectly ([0048], [0051], [0053]: RF receiver receives the RF signal from the external reader for querying the fasteners (see [0043]) and for conversion into electrical power for storage in the electrical power storage, and the RF transmitter communicates sensor information directly to the external reader for monitoring the condition of the fastener).
Regarding claim 19.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 16 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
said first terminal device is included in a smartphone or a mobile device or a tool (Fig. 9, item 180; Fig. 19, item 38; [0060], [0067], [0069]: the external reader is a handheld device or tool (see also [0065])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson, in view of Jurisch (US 20230258520 A1), hereinafter ‘Jurisch’.
Regarding claim 3.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 1 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
said first terminal device comprises a first transmitter/receiver ([0007]: the external reader includes a transmitter for wirelessly transmitting signals to the devices while also receiving data from the devices, which implies the use of a receiver (see also Fig. 1, item 38 - antenna; see also [0008]-[0009] and [0057]));
wherein said wireless communication portion of the second terminal device further comprises, a wireless rechargeable battery (Fig. 5, items 96 and 98 – “electrical power storage” and “alternate power source”; [0051]: the electronic circuit includes an electrical power storage that stores electrical power converted from the RF signal wirelessly transmitted by the external reader, and also an alternate power source) and a second transmitter/receiver (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”) that is connected to the rechargeable battery and receives both electromagnetic power and data from the first transmitter/receiver ([0051], [0053]: the electronic circuit of the device includes an RF receiver that receives the RF signal from the external reader for querying the fasteners (see [0043]) and for conversion into electrical power for storage in the electrical power storage, and an RF transmitter for transmitting sensor information resulting from using the stored electrical power to activate the sensor);
wherein the step of exchanging data comprises the sub-steps:
interrogating the second terminal device via the first terminal device ([0043]: the external reader queries the fasteners by transmitting wireless signals to the device which results in the activation of the sensor to measure the parameter);
responding to the first terminal device with the second terminal device ([0043]: the measured parameter is transmitted by the device to the external reader for determining the status of the fastener);
wherein, during the sub-steps of interrogating and/or responding, the electromagnetic signal generated by the first terminal device wirelessly charges the rechargeable battery of the second terminal device ([0051]: the electrical power storage stores the electrical power converted from the RF signal wirelessly transmitted by the external reader).
Tillotson does not disclose (see italic text):
the first transmitter/receiver is a first NFC transmitter/receiver; and
the second transmitter/receiver is a second NFC transmitter/receiver.
Jurisch teaches:
“If the special version of NFC (Near Field Communication) is used as the RFID technology, the measurement data determined can also be read, for example, with a cell phone, in particular a smartphone with an NFC interface or with other devices with an NFC interface, and can be displayed and processed particularly easily when transmitted, for example as an NDEF message. In one possible embodiment, the RFID transponder unit of the sensor module is thus designed as an NFC transponder unit and the RFID reader is designed as an NFC reader, for example as a cell phone, in particular smartphone, or as a portable computer, for example tablet or notebook, with an NFC interface” ([0068]: wireless transmission of data regarding a screw nut (see [0006]-[0007]) is achieved using NFC technology (see also [0140])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Jurisch, to incorporate the first transmitter/receiver as a first NFC transmitter/receiver, and the second transmitter/receiver as a second NFC transmitter/receiver, in order to easily process and display the data, as discussed by Jurisch ([0068]).
Regarding claim 4.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 1 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
the monitoring system comprises a third terminal device (Fig. 8, items 30 – “fasteners”), which comprises a third transmitter/receiver (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”; [0051], [0057]: the electronic circuit of each device attached to the fasteners includes an RF receiver and an RF transmitter (see also [0012], [0014], [0054]-[0055], [0058]-[0059])).
Tillotson does not disclose (see italic text):
the third transmitter/receiver is a third NFC transmitter/receiver.
Jurisch teaches:
“If the special version of NFC (Near Field Communication) is used as the RFID technology, the measurement data determined can also be read, for example, with a cell phone, in particular a smartphone with an NFC interface or with other devices with an NFC interface, and can be displayed and processed particularly easily when transmitted, for example as an NDEF message. In one possible embodiment, the RFID transponder unit of the sensor module is thus designed as an NFC transponder unit and the RFID reader is designed as an NFC reader, for example as a cell phone, in particular smartphone, or as a portable computer, for example tablet or notebook, with an NFC interface” ([0068]: wireless transmission of data regarding a screw nut (see [0006]-[0007]) is achieved using NFC technology (see also [0140])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Jurisch, to incorporate the third transmitter/receiver as a third NFC transmitter/receiver, in order to easily process and display the data, as discussed by Jurisch ([0068]).
Regarding claim 8.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 7 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
said wireless communication portion comprises a transmitter/receiver (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”; [0051]: the electronic circuit includes radio frequency receiver and transmitter).
Tillotson does not disclose (see italic text):
the transmitter/receiver is an NFC transmitter/receiver.
Jurisch teaches:
“If the special version of NFC (Near Field Communication) is used as the RFID technology, the measurement data determined can also be read, for example, with a cell phone, in particular a smartphone with an NFC interface or with other devices with an NFC interface, and can be displayed and processed particularly easily when transmitted, for example as an NDEF message. In one possible embodiment, the RFID transponder unit of the sensor module is thus designed as an NFC transponder unit and the RFID reader is designed as an NFC reader, for example as a cell phone, in particular smartphone, or as a portable computer, for example tablet or notebook, with an NFC interface” ([0068]: wireless transmission of data regarding a screw nut (see [0006]-[0007]) is achieved using NFC technology (see also [0140])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Jurisch, to incorporate the transmitter/receiver as an NFC transmitter/receiver, in order to easily process and display the data, as discussed by Jurisch ([0068]).
Claims 5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson, in view of Dooner (US 20130088069 A1), hereinafter ‘Dooner’.
Regarding claim 5.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 1 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
said wireless communication portion comprises a mobile terminal device (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”; [0051]: the electronic circuit of the device attached to the fastener includes an RF receiver and an RF transmitter (in light of the current application specification at page 15)).
Tillotson does not explicitly disclose:
a mobile terminal device configured to communicate with the interface access of a transport network.
Dooner teaches:
“A safety device configured to provide an indication of potential issues associated with a retention nut via a nut cap movably attached to a base. The nut cap(s) can have an electronic sensor configured to acquire and store digital data associated with a corresponding nut. Nut cap(s) can be coupled with a nut rotation indicator configured to provide an indication of a rotation of a corresponding nut” (Abstract: a nut cap includes an electronic sensor configured to acquire and store data associated to a nut, wherein communication of the data to other components is achieved using interfaces and networks (see [0031] and [0036])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Dooner, to configure a mobile terminal device to communicate with the interface access of a transport network, in order to provide secure data communications.
Regarding claim 9.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 7 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
A fastener, in particular a screw ([0042]: the fastener comprises a screw), according to claim 7, wherein said wireless communication portion comprises a mobile terminal device (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”; [0051]: the electronic circuit of the device attached to the fastener includes an RF receiver and an RF transmitter (in light of the current application specification at page 15)) (Fig. 1; [0042]-[0043]: wireless transmission of information implies an interface access of a transport network (see also Fig. 8, [0006], [0057], [0062])).
Tillotson does not explicitly disclose:
a mobile terminal device which is configured to communicate with the interface access of a transport network.
Dooner teaches:
“A safety device configured to provide an indication of potential issues associated with a retention nut via a nut cap movably attached to a base. The nut cap(s) can have an electronic sensor configured to acquire and store digital data associated with a corresponding nut. Nut cap(s) can be coupled with a nut rotation indicator configured to provide an indication of a rotation of a corresponding nut” (Abstract: a nut cap includes an electronic sensor configured to acquire and store data associated to a nut, wherein communication of the data to other components is achieved using interfaces and networks (see [0031] and [0036])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Dooner, to configure a mobile terminal device to communicate with the interface access of a transport network, in order to provide secure data communications.
Regarding claim 10.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 9 as described above.
Tillotson does not disclose:
said radio interface is configured to access a transport network selected from a group comprising a fixed telephone network, cellular telephone network, data network, internet network, GSM, GPRS, UMTS/EDGE, VSF-Spread, OFDM, GPS.
Dooner further teaches:
“A safety device configured to provide an indication of potential issues associated with a retention nut via a nut cap movably attached to a base. The nut cap(s) can have an electronic sensor configured to acquire and store digital data associated with a corresponding nut. Nut cap(s) can be coupled with a nut rotation indicator configured to provide an indication of a rotation of a corresponding nut” (Abstract: a nut cap includes an electronic sensor configured to acquire and store data associated to a nut, wherein communication of the data to other components is achieved using data or cellular networks (see [0031] and [0036])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Dooner, to configure said radio interface to access a transport network selected from a group comprising a fixed telephone network, cellular telephone network, data network, internet network, GSM, GPRS, UMTS/EDGE, VSF-Spread, OFDM, GPS, in order to provide high speeds and data integrity during communications.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson, in view of Mekid (US 20130064622 A1), hereinafter ‘Mekid’.
Regarding claim 12.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 7 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
a shank (Fig. 4, item 44 – “shank”) having a longitudinal axis (Fig. 4: examiner interprets longitudinal axis to run along the length of the shank) and a head (Fig. 4, item 56 – “head”) having a housing (Fig. 4, items 66 and 70 – “cap” and “inclined sides”; [0044]-[0046]: the fastener includes a shank and a head inside a cap and inclined sides);
wherein said fastener comprises a hermetic case (Fig. 4, item 66 – “cap”) made of stiff material ([0045]: cap is made of rigid or high strength materials);
wherein said printed circuit board is inserted inside said case ([0047]: electronic circuit is housed inside the cap);
wherein inside said case one or more sensors are housed ([0048]: the head of the fastener, which is inside the cap, includes the sensor).
Tillotson does not disclose:
“a hermetic case at least partially dielectric; which is inserted inside said housing”.
Mekid teaches:
“The smart lid 100 contains a color sensor 125 for sensing the color indication provided by the smart bolt 105 corresponding to the amount of tension experienced by the smart bolt 105 ... The color sensor 125 is mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) 130 in the smart lid housing 135. The smart lid housing 135 forms the primary exterior structure of the smart lid 100 ... The housing 135 is preferably formed out of polyvinyl chloride (PVC) or another comparable plastic material, but is not limited to any particular material” ([0023]: the housing of a smart lid for a smart bolt is made of PVC (dielectric material); examiner submits that more than one housing layer can be applied to increase protection of equipment against environmental conditions and/or tampering).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Mekid, to configure a hermetic case at least partially dielectric; which is inserted inside said housing, in order to provide robust communication while protecting the components of the device.
Regarding claim 14.
Tillotson in view of Mekid discloses all the features of claim 12 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
the shank is solid ([0044]: fastener includes a shank, which is interpreted to be solid in order to join affix or clamp two or more members together (see [0042])).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson, in view of Mekid, and in further view of Anstee (US 20240229852 A1), hereinafter ‘Anstee’.
Regarding claim 13.
Tillotson in view of Mekid discloses all the features of claim 12 as described above.
Tillotson does not disclose:
said case comprises LEDs that are visible from the outside and are connected, internally, to said printed circuit board.
Anstee teaches:
“The sensor element 14 includes a power source and a light unit 18. When in the fluid present state, the light unit 18 is arranged to be activated to emit light. Therefore, the sensor element 14 provides a positive confirmation that the sensor is in the fluid present state. This indicates both that the sensor is working, and the shear bolt 10 is not cracked. When the light unit 18 is not illuminated, it is apparent that either the shear bolt 10 is cracked, or the sensor element 14 or light unit 18 is not functioning. In either case, the shear bolt 10 required closer inspection and possible replacement” ([0047]: a shear bolt includes a sensor to measure fluid present state based on pressure, the sensor including a light unit (analogous to LED) to indicate sensor state (analogous to being connected to the printed circuit board)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Mekid, and in further view of Anstee, to incorporate said case comprising LEDs that are visible from the outside and are connected, internally, to said printed circuit board, in order to provide easy monitoring of conditions that can improve response time to anomalies.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson, in view of Anstee.
Regarding claim 15.
Tillotson discloses all the features of claim 7 as described above.
Tillotson does not disclose:
said fastener has a cavity inside the shank; wherein, inside said cavity, the following are at least partially housed: one or more sensors; and/or one or more energy harvesting systems; and/or said printed circuit board.
Anstee teaches:
“FIGS. 1 and 2 show a shear bolt 10. The shear bolt 10 comprises a load bearing body 16 including an inner volume 12. The inner volume 12 is defined by an internal surface of the load bearing body 16, along with a sensor element 14 located such that the inner volume 12 is plugged so as to be fluid-tight. In this embodiment, the sensor element 14 is a pressure sensor threaded and screwed into position” ([0047]: a shear bolt includes a load bearing body wherein a sensor element is positioned).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Anstee, to incorporate said fastener having a cavity inside the shank; wherein, inside said cavity, the following are at least partially housed: one or more sensors; and/or one or more energy harvesting systems; and/or said printed circuit board, in order to provide accurate measurements regarding the condition of the fastener.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson, in view of Anstee, and in further view of Jurisch.
Regarding claim 17.
Tillotson in view of Anstee discloses all the features of claim 15 as described above.
Tillotson further discloses:
a third terminal device (Fig. 8, items 30 – “fasteners”) which comprises an additional transmitter/receiver (Fig. 5, items 90 and 92 – “RF receiver” and “RF transmitter”; [0051], [0057]: the electronic circuit of each device attached to the fasteners includes an RF receiver and an RF transmitter (see also [0012], [0014], [0054]-[0055], [0058]-[0059])).
Tillotson does not disclose (see italic text):
the additional transmitter/receiver is an additional NFC transmitter/receiver.
Jurisch teaches:
“If the special version of NFC (Near Field Communication) is used as the RFID technology, the measurement data determined can also be read, for example, with a cell phone, in particular a smartphone with an NFC interface or with other devices with an NFC interface, and can be displayed and processed particularly easily when transmitted, for example as an NDEF message. In one possible embodiment, the RFID transponder unit of the sensor module is thus designed as an NFC transponder unit and the RFID reader is designed as an NFC reader, for example as a cell phone, in particular smartphone, or as a portable computer, for example tablet or notebook, with an NFC interface” ([0068]: wireless transmission of data regarding a screw nut (see [0006]-[0007]) is achieved using NFC technology (see also [0140])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Anstee, and in further view of Jurisch, to incorporate the additional transmitter/receiver as an additional NFC transmitter/receiver, in order to easily process and display the data, as discussed by Jurisch ([0068]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson, in view of Anstee and Jurisch, and in further view of Baroudi (US 20130139604 A1), hereinafter ‘Baroudi’.
Regarding claim 18.
Tillotson in view of Anstee and Jurisch discloses all the features of claim 17 as described above.
Tillotson does not disclose:
said third terminal device comprises a hardware platform that is configured to recharge the second terminal device;
preferably, said hardware platform is also configured to exchange data with said second terminal device.
Baroudi teaches:
“It should be understood that the system 10 may be used to communicate with other neighboring bolts equipped with similar systems, each individual system 10 forming a single node in a monitoring network. Each system in the network can send out a polling signal, including location/identification information, and a power reading from the on-board battery 22” ([0027]: a bolt tension monitoring system used for remote monitoring of tension of a bolt (see [0007]) can communicate with neighboring bolts systems and send out information and power reading from the battery; examiner interprets that these signal transmissions are used to recharge the neighboring systems (see [0021]-[0022])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tillotson in view of Anstee and Jurisch, and in further view of Baroudi, to incorporate said third terminal device comprising a hardware platform that is configured to recharge the second terminal device; preferably, said hardware platform is also configured to exchange data with said second terminal device, in order to implement a reliable monitoring system that utilizes signal transmission among multiple components for continuous operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FONDRIEST; Ivan Giovanni et al., US 20180252255 A1, SCREW AND METHOD FOR READING A SCREW TIGHTENING FORCE
Reference discloses a screw having a cavity wherein a sensor is positioned to determine its elongation or length.
Setiadi; Dadi et al., US 20090303076 A1, WIRELESS AND BATTERY-LESS MONITORING UNIT
Reference discloses RF power harvesting techniques.
S. Mekid, A. Bouhraoua, U. Baroudi, Battery-less wireless remote bolt tension monitoring system, Mechanical Systems and Signal Processing, Volume 128, 2019, Pages 572-587, ISSN 0888-3270, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ymssp.2019.04.022
Reference discloses RF power harvesting and the use of emitters to charge capacitors in bolt monitoring systems.
/LINA CORDERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857