CTFR 18/577,347 CTFR 70387 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Authorization for Internet Communication In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication. Doing so would permit the USPTO to communicate using Internet e-mail to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to Internet e-mail correspondence. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03. Authorizations in an Internet e-mail do not have the same effect as filing the form in the record. Information Disclosure Statement Applicant is respectfully reminded of the duty under 37 C.F.R. 1.56 to disclose all pertinent information and material pertaining to the patentability of the instant invention, by submitting in a timely manner PTO-1449, Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), with the filing of an application or thereafter. For example, any art cited, or report issued, in the search or examination of CN 202110768536, EP 22836935, and PCT/CN2022/104017 would seem to be pertinent and material. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 has been amended to recite the first link “comprises” a peer-link. The Specification discloses that the first link “includes” a peer-link. The difference in scope is unclear. The relation between “a first packet sent a gateway device” of claim 1 and “a first packet sent a gateway device” of claim 2 is unclear, e.g., whether these refer to the same or different packets and the same or different devices. The relation between “a state of the packet table entry” of claim 1 and “a state of the packet table entry of the first switch” of claim 2 is unclear, e.g., whether these refer to the same or different states and entries. Also, it is unclear to which, if any, of these plural recitations, “the packet table entry refers. The meaning of the acronym “CPU” is unclear. The claims have been interpreted to read on the prior art as explained in those grounds of rejection, infra . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150281075 (Park) in view of US 20220231942 (Hao) . Regarding claim 1, Park teaches or suggests a cross-device link packet processing method, applied to a first switch in a cross-device link aggregation switch system, wherein the link switch system comprises a second switch (¶ 43 switch 110-1 connected to switch 110-2 via a network), and the method comprises: receiving a first packet sent by a gateway device (¶ 104 switch 110-1 receives an ARP packet from an end system of the gateway, which is a gateway device because it is connected to a gateway switch); when a first address corresponding to the first packet is not found in a packet table entry, sending the first packet to the second switch through the first link (¶ 113 when MAC address is not found by switch 110-1, the switch transmits the ARP packet to switch 110-2 via the network); wherein the first link is a communication link between the first switch and the second switch (¶ 73 switch 110-1 connected to switch 110-2 via an L3 network), and corresponding relationship between the first packet and the first address is stored in the packet table entry (¶ 99 network connection information database 410-1 stores related IP addresses and MAC addresses). Park disclose that the first switch queries the first address according to the first packet or acquires the first address from a server communicatively connected to the cross-device link switching system (¶113 when the MAC address of the other end system is not found, the VTEP module 130-1 transmits the ARP packet to the cloud network management system 350 connected to the gateway switch 110-1 or the gateway switches) but does not expressly disclose the second switch queries the first address according to the first packet or acquires the first address from a server communicatively connected to the cross-device link switching system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the second switch to query the first address according to the first packet or acquire the first address from a server communicatively connected to the cross-device link switching system because Park teaches that this is how its switches perform ARP (¶ 112 switch determines whether the MAC address of the other end system indicated by the received ARP packet existing in the network connection information database 410-1). Park does not expressly disclose the second switch forwarding the first packet according to the first address. Park does teach or suggest more than two switches (¶ 109 plural gateway switches). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the second switch to forward the first packet according to the first address for another switch to perform ARP when the second switch fails to resolve the ARP request as the first switch did when it failed to resolve the ARP request. By teaching or suggesting more than two connecting switches, supra , Park implies does not expressly disclose link aggregation of the connections between the switches. For its part, Hao teaches or suggests cross-device link aggregation packet processing (¶ 3 cross-device link aggregation). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Park’s system and Hao’s cross-device link aggregation in order to improve link reliability. Regarding claim 4 and 12, Park teaches or suggests forwarding the ARP packet to the cloud network management server system and when the MAC address is found, returning a response to the ARP packet to the originating gateway device (¶ 113). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the server to forward the MAC address from the server to the switch so that the switch can return in to the originating gateway device. Regarding claims 9, 15, and 17-20 Park teaches or suggests a switch comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor; wherein, the memory stores an instruction executable by the at least one processor, when the instruction is executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement the aforementioned methods (¶¶ 144-47). Regarding claim 10, Park teaches or suggests a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, which stores a computer program, when being executed by a processor, the computer program is configured to implement the method as claimed in claim 1 (¶ 147). Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the claimed limitations as explained regarding claim 1 supra, mutatis mutandis , but from the perspective of the second switch and Park further teaches or suggests storing a corresponding relationship between the first packet and the first address (¶¶ 125, 136 updates the network information database). Regarding claim 6, Park teaches or suggests acquiring, according to the first packet, the first address from a server communicatively connected to the cross-device link aggregation switching system comprises: sending, to a server communicatively connected to the cross-device link aggregation switching system, a request for acquiring a first address of the first packet (¶ 113 transmits the ARP packet to the cloud network management system 350); when a response message of the server for the request is received, acquiring the first address according to the response message (¶ 113 MAC address of the other end system is found); when a response message of the server for the request and forwarded by the first switch is received, acquiring the first address according to the forwarded response message (¶ 113 transmit response to request). Regarding claims 7 and 14, Park teaches or suggests the first link comprises a peer-link (¶ 73); the packet table entry comprises an ARP packet that carries a target IP address (¶ 113). Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the claimed limitations as explained regarding claim 1 supra, mutatis mutandis , but from the perspective of both the first and second switches . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150281075 (Park) in view of US 20220231942 (Hao) further in view of US 9008091 Grosser . Regarding claim 2, Park teaches or suggests the first packet comprises an address resolution protocol (ARP) packet carrying a target IP address ( ¶113); the first address comprises a target MAC address ( ¶111), the first link comprises a peer-link (fig. 3), and a CPU (¶¶ 144-145). Hao teaches or suggests a CPU (¶¶ 37-40, 179). Park does not expressly disclose but Grosser teaches or suggests detecting a state of the packet table entry of the first switch, and in a case where the storage of the packet table entry is saturated, changing an egress of an interface route of the first switch from pointing to a CPU to pointing to a port of the first link (5:2-50, 6:43-47). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Park’s system, Hao’s cross-device link aggregation, and Grosser’s changing for complementing the existing mechanism provided by routing protocols .. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150281075 (Park) in view of US 20220231942 (Hao) further in view of IT TO980909 (Filippi) . Regarding claims 3 and 11, Park teaches or suggests after the first switch receives the first packet sent by the gateway device, and when a first address corresponding to the first packet is not found in the packet table entry, querying the first address according to the first packet, or acquiring the first address from the server, and forwarding the first packet according to the first address as explained regarding claim 1 supra, mutatis mutandis . Park does not expressly disclose but Filippi teaches or suggests part of contents in the packet table entry of the first switch are deleted (p. 11 of translation). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Park’s system, Hao’s cross-device link aggregation, and Filippi’s deletion in order to remove invalid entries. Regarding claim 13, the latter combination teaches or suggests the claimed limitations as explained regarding claim 4 supra, mutatis mutandis . Regarding claim 16, the latter combination teaches or suggests the claimed limitations as explained regarding claim 15 supra, mutatis mutandis . Response to Arguments The arguments have been fully considered. Many of the arguments rely on features unclaimed as of yet. Fig. 3 of Park refutes the other arguments. Other Art The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the instant disclosure. For example, in US 20140029618, based on the MAC destination address, the layer two switch will forward the packet to a port towards the destination without changing the packet, as occurs in layer three routing (¶ 19). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Lance Leonard Barry whose telephone number is (571)272-5856. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 700-430 ET 730-1630. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to email the Examiner. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ario Etienne can be reached on 571-272-4001. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LANCE LEONARD BARRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 2 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 3 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 4 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 5 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 6 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 7 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 8 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 9 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 10 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 11 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 12 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 13 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 14 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 15 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 18/577,347 Page 16 Art Unit: 2457