DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged for preliminary amendment filed 01/08/2024 and IDS filed 02/29/2024 and 01/08/2024.
Claims 3-5 and 7-15 are amended.
New claim 16 is added.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Priority
This application is 371 of PCT/EP2022/068831 filed 07/07/2022 and which claims benefit of EPO application 21184702.5 filed 07/09/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 02/29/2024 and 01/08/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., (US 20150150894 A1) as evidenced by ASSMUS et al., (WO 2020114714 A1).
Baron et al., (US 20150150894 A1) teaches compositions having at least one chemosensory ligand (see the whole document with emphasis on the title and the abstract). In one embodiment, the composition is in liquid form including solutions, suspension, dispersions and colloid (paragraphs [0183], [0254]). In an embodiment the chemosensory receptor ligands are coated to modify delivery to the intestine and colon (paragraph [0183]). The coating is accomplished with enteric coatings and pH dependent systems enteric polymers namely copolymers derived from acrylic and/or methacrylic acid ester (paragraphs [0200]-[0203]) and EUDRAGIT FS 30D is used in the example in paragraph [0526]). The composition also contains release excipients including sodium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, glyceryl behenate and Baron contemplates that varying amounts of these excipients may be used to achieve designated release time (paragraph [0197]). Stearic acid, sodium stearates, magnesium stearates, glycerol, talc, glyceryl distearate, polyethylene glycol, corn starch are further acknowledged as excipients for the composition (paragraph [0260]). In paragraph [0262] Baron teaches that talc, corn starch, sodium stearate, magnesium stearate are flow aids or glidants that improve the flow characteristic of powder mixture. The composition of Baron further comprises plasticizer (paragraphs [0240], [0262]).
EUDRAGIT FS 30D is 10% methacrylic acid, 65% methyl acrylate and 25% methyl methacrylate (see page 2, lines 28-32 of ASSMUS) such that EUDRAGIT FS 30D meets the limitation of claim 1 a) and 12 a).
Thus for claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 10, 12 and 14, the composition of Baron as described above teaches the elements of these claims. Baron differs from claims 1 and 12 by not teaching the amount of the sodium stearate, which is a sodium salt of C18 saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid . However, Baron specifically notes that flow aid/glidant such as sodium stearate improve the flow characteristics. Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the artisan having the desire to improve the coating composition of Baron would be motivated to use amount of the stearate that would be improve the flow characteristic of the compositions in claims 1 and 12 by routine optimization. Further also, with regards to claims 1 and 12 c) or 1 and 12 d), the artisan would use amounts that would be effective for composition that would be effectively released at the desired site such as the intestine/colon.
It was settled in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) that generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
For claim 5 and 7, the composition of Baron comprises additional excipients and plasticizers; the amount of the further excipient and plasticizer could be used in amounts that would reasonably optimize the composition for release at the desired site, intestine/colon.
For claim 6, the flow aid of Baron meets the requirement for flow aid in claim 6.
For claim 11, Baron teaches that active agent can be in the form of powder or dispersed (paragraphs [0094], [0238]).
For claim 13, Baron teaches that the composition can be in liquid form as dispersion and the liquid forms are shakes or juices (paragraph [0183]) and juice is aqueous.
For claim 15, Barron administers the composition (see at least paragraphs [0008] and [0012]) meeting the method of using of claim 15.
Therefore, Baron as evidenced by ASSMUS renders claims 1-2 and 4-15 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., (US 20150150894 A1) as evidenced by ASSMUS et al., (WO 2020114714 A1). As applied to claim 1, and in view of TSENG et al. (US 20150342998 A1) and Iwasaki et al. (US 12091555 B1).
Claims 2 and 3 depend on claim 1. Claim 16 depends on claim 2.
Claims 1 and 2 have been described above to be rendered prima facies obvious over Baron as evidenced by ASSMUS. Baron teaches its composition to contain sodium stearate, a sodium salt of stearic acid fatty acid. Baron differs from claims 3 and 16 because Baron does not teach ammonium salt of aliphatic saturated monocarboxylic acid. However, it is known that sodium stearate is an anionic surfactant (see paragraph [0059] of TSENG) and ammonium decanoate, an ammonium salt of decanoic acid, is anionic surfactant (column 7, lines 26-28 of Iwasaki). Therefore, ammonium decanoate and sodium stearate are functionally equivalent such that functionally equivalent ammonium decanoate can be used in place of functionally equivalent sodium stearate with the expectation of having the same effect in the composition of Baron.
Therefore, Baron as evidenced by ASSMUS and in combination with the teachings of TSENG and Iwasaki renders claims 3 and 16 prima facie obvious.
No claim is allowed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Conclusion
/BLESSING M FUBARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613