DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasushi, US 2021/0359028 (PCT Application).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Yasushi teaches a display device comprising:
a pixel electrode PEg;
a counter electrode KE provided over the pixel electrode; and
a functional layer (Light Emitting Layer, EMG) provided between the pixel electrode and the counter electrode,
wherein the functional layer EMr and EMg has a first portion overlapping an end of the pixel electrode EDr, and a second portion overlapping a middle of the pixel electrode EDr, and the first portion is thicker than the second portion and wherein the first portion covers the end of the pixel electrode with reference to Fig. 7 under “second amendment”.
Regarding Claim 3, Yasushi teaches wherein the functional layer is a light-emitting layer EMG, the light-emitting layer has a first light-emitting-layer portion EMg and EMr corresponding to the first portion and overlapping the end of the pixel electrode PEr, and a second light-emitting-layer portion EMr corresponding to the second portion and overlapping the middle of the pixel electrode PEr, and the first light-emitting-layer portion is thicker than the second light-emitting-layer portion with reference to Fig. 7 under “second amendment”.
Regarding Claim 4, Yasushi teaches wherein the light-emitting layer includes a first light-emitting layer EMr containing a first light-emitting material configured to emit light at a first wavelength that is an emission center wavelength (red), and a second light-emitting layer EMg containing a second light-emitting material configured to emit light a second wavelength that is an emission center wavelength (green), the pixel electrode includes a first pixel electrode PEr and a second pixel electrode PEg, the first light-emitting layer includes a first first-light-emitting-layer portion overlapping an end of the first pixel electrode PEr, and a first second-light-emitting-layer portion EMr overlapping a middle of the first pixel electrode, the first light-emitting-layer portion includes the first first-light-emitting-layer portion, and a second first-light-emitting-layer portion overlapping, in the second light-emitting layer, the end of the first pixel electrode, and the first light-emitting-layer portion is thicker than the first second-light-emitting-layer portion with reference to Fig. 7 under “second amendment”.
Regarding Claim 6, Yasushi teaches wherein the second wavelength (green) is shorter than the first wavelength (red).
Regarding Claim 10, Yasushi teaches a method for manufacturing a display device with a functional layer provided between a pixel electrode and a counter electrode provided over the pixel electrode, the method comprising the steps of: a) forming a photosensitive composition layer containing a functional material onto a pixel electrode; and b) subjecting the photosensitive composition layer to exposure and development (photolithography), to form the functional layer having a first portion that overlaps an end the pixel electrode, and a second portion that overlaps a middle of the pixel electrode, wherein the first portion is thicker than the second portion with references to Figs. 1 and 7 as was described earlier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasushi, US 2021/0359028 in view of Ushikubo, US 2021/0294440.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Yasushi teaches an insulating layer PF provided under the pixel electrode with reference to Fig. 2 and teaches about electrodes linked to TFT (switching element) below the electrodes, but fails to teach wherein the pixel electrode is connected to a switching element via a contact hole provided in the insulating layer, the switching element being provided under the insulating layer, and the first portion extends to a region where the contact hole is formed and comprising an insulating portion filled in the contact hole.
Ushikubo teaches a display device with pixel electrodes and switching element via a contact hole provided in the insulating layer, the switching element being provided under the insulating layer and comprising an insulating portion filled in the contact hole
with reference to Figs. 10 – 13 for the benefit of constructing the display unit, however fails to teach first portion extends to a region where the contact hole is formed.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yasushi and form first portion extending to a region where the contact hole is formed since his first portion extends to the left that is customary to have the contact hole for LED display devices.
Regarding Claim 11, Yasushi in view of Ushikubo teaches a method for manufacturing a display device including a plurality of pixel electrodes including a first pixel electrode and a second pixel electrode, a counter electrode provided over the plurality of pixel electrodes, and a light-emitting layer provided between the plurality of pixel electrodes and the counter electrode, and including a first light-emitting layer containing a first light-emitting material and a second light-emitting layer containing a second light-emitting material, the method comprising the steps of.
a) forming a first photosensitive composition layer containing the first light-emitting material onto the plurality of pixel electrodes, followed by exposure and development, to form a first light-emitting layer including a first first-light-emitting-layer portion that overlaps an end of the first pixel electrode, and a first second-light-emitting-layer portion that overlaps a middle of the first pixel electrode; and
b) forming a second photosensitive composition layer containing the second light-emitting material onto the first light-emitting layer, followed by exposure and development, to form a second light-emitting layer including a second first-light-emitting-layer portion that overlaps the end of the first pixel electrode and the first first-light-emitting-layer portion, and a second second-light-emitting-layer portion that overlaps a middle of the second pixel electrode, wherein a set of the first first-light-emitting-layer portion and the second first-light-emitting-layer portion is thicker than the first second-light-emitting-layer portion as was described earlier in rejecting Claims 1, 2, 4 and 10.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasushi, US 2021/0359028 in view of Wang, US 2006/003252833.
Yasushi teaches a functional layer, but fails to teach the functional layer includes a charge transport layer provided over the light-emitting layer, the charge transport layer has a first charge-transport-layer portion corresponding to the first portion and overlapping the end of the pixel electrode, and a second charge-transport-layer portion corresponding to the second portion and overlapping the middle of the pixel electrode, and the first charge-transport-layer portion is thicker than the second charge-transport-layer portion.
Ushikubo teaches an organic display device wherein the functional layer includes a charge (electron) transport layer 340 provided over the light-emitting layer 330 with reference to Fig. 7 in paragraph 54 for the benefit of making OLEDs with better display characteristics in paragraphs 4 – 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yasushi and form a charge transport layer provided over the light-emitting layer for the benefit of making OLEDs with better display characteristics as taught by Ushikubo in paragraphs 4 – 7.
It would also have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the charge transport layer will have a first charge-transport-layer portion corresponding to the first portion and overlapping the end of the pixel electrode, and a second charge-transport-layer portion corresponding to the second portion and overlapping the middle of the pixel electrode, and the first charge-transport-layer portion is thicker than the second charge-transport-layer portion since it is a layer part of the functional layer and is taught by Yasushi and described in rejecting Claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For Claim 5, the novelty is a third first-light-emitting-layer portion overlapping an end of the second pixel electrode, and the third first-light-emitting-layer portion is thicker than the second second-light-emitting-layer portion and for Claim 12, subjecting the second photosensitive composition layer to exposure and development, to simultaneously form a third first-light-emitting-layer portion that overlaps an end of the second pixel electrode, and the third first-light-emitting-layer portion is thicker than the second second-light-emitting-layer portion. The art of record does not disclose or anticipate the above limitation in combination with other claim elements nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to form a device including the above limitation.
Conclusion
/ASOK K SARKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 April 1, 2026