DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Application Status
This office action is in response to the claims filed 1/29/2026.
Claims 22-35, 37, and 39-40 are currently pending and being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 1/8/2024 been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 forms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 27, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 26, 27, 29, and 31:
Claim 26 is indefinite because using “at least one of” and then listing two third video cameras implies the possibility of two third video cameras, which would be an indefinite alternative scenario.
Claims 27, 29, and 31 are indefinite for referencing the third video camera, of which there may be two, as currently claimed.
In claim 29, the “camera” lacks antecedent basis and should be changed to “video camera”.
Claims 30 and 32 are indefinite based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-27, 29-31, 33-34, 37, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gentili et al. US 6,067,780 in view of Franzaroli US 2018/0237179 and Futase US 2019/0259143.
Regarding claim 22:
Gentili teaches a system for packing tissue paper products in a wrapping sheet; wherein the system includes:
a packing machine (1) comprising:
a positioning device (100), adapted to position a wrapping sheet (4) along an insertion path, through which groups of tissue paper products to be packed are moved toward a feeding and packing path;
a feeder (5) adapted to insert the groups of tissue paper products in the insertion path up to the feeding and packing path;
a conveyor (18) adapted to move the groups of tissue paper products along the feeding and packing path through
a folding unit (7) arranged along the feeding and packing path, the folding unit being adapted to wrap the wrapping sheet around a group of tissue paper products of the groups of tissue paper products (see FIG. 5e); and
a closing system (8) adapted to close the wrapping sheet around the group of tissue paper products and to form a pack of tissue paper products, the closing system being arranged along the feeding and packing path downstream of the folding unit (see FIG. 6a); and a central control unit (abstract, “centralized control means”).
Gentili does not teach at least a first vision system for acquiring images of at least one portion of the pack of tissue paper products wrapped in the wrapping sheet, the first vision system comprising at least one video camera; the central control unit, connected to cameras of each vision system of said at least a first vision system and programmed to detect at least one defect in the pack of tissue paper products, based on the images taken by said each vision system, and adapted to intervene automatically on an operation parameter of the packing machine to adjust operation of the packing machine so as to reduce or to eliminate the at least one defect.
Franzaroli discloses a related system for packing tissue paper products in a wrapping sheet provided with at least a first vision system (170) for acquiring images of at least one portion of the pack of tissue paper products wrapped in the wrapping sheet ([0177]), the first vision system comprising at least one video camera ([0055]); the central control unit (0121), connected to cameras of each vision system of said at least a first vision system and programmed to detect at least one defect in the pack of tissue paper products, based on the images taken by said each vision system ([0150]), and adapted to intervene automatically on an operation parameter of the packing machine to adjust operation of the packing machine so as to reduce or to eliminate the at least one defect ([0198], 121 eliminates the defect by rejecting the defective pack).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Gentili by providing at least a first vision system with at least one camera for acquiring images of at least one portion of the pack of tissue paper products wrapped in the wrapping sheet, wherein the central control unit, connected to cameras of each vision system of said at least a first vision system and programmed to detect at least one defect in the pack of tissue paper products, based on the images taken by said each vision system, and adapted to intervene automatically on an operation parameter of the packing machine to adjust operation of the packing machine so as to reduce or to eliminate the at least one defect, as taught by Franzaroli, since this would reduce the number of defective packs exiting the machine for further processing.
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase does not teach wherein the central control unit interfaces with a database adapted to contain reference images of the packs of tissue paper products; and wherein the central control unit is programmed to compare images acquired by the at least one video camera with the reference images stored in the database; and wherein the central control unit is configured: to detect a defect in at least one image of the pack of tissue paper products acquired by at least one video camera based on comparison between the at least one image acquired and a reference image stored in the database; and in case a defect in the pack of tissue paper products is detected, to modify at least one operation parameter of the packing machine.
Futase discloses a related packaging system, wherein the central control unit (12) interfaces with a database (30) adapted to contain reference images of the packs of tissue paper products; and wherein the central control unit is programmed to compare images acquired by the at least one video camera with the reference images stored in the database ([0062], first two sentences); and wherein the central control unit is configured: to detect a defect in at least one image of the pack of tissue paper products acquired by at least one video camera based on comparison between the at least one image acquired and a reference image stored in the database ([0050], [0062]); and in case a defect in the pack of tissue paper products is detected, to modify at least one operation parameter of the packing machine ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of the combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase, such that the central control unit interfaces with a database adapted to contain reference images of the packs of tissue paper products; and wherein the central control unit is programmed to compare images acquired by the at least one video camera with the reference images stored in the database; and wherein the central control unit is configured: to detect a defect in at least one image of the pack of tissue paper products acquired by at least one video camera based on comparison between the at least one image acquired and a reference image stored in the database; and in case a defect in the pack of tissue paper products is detected, to modify at least one operation parameter of the packing machine, as taught by Futase, since this would provide an efficient way to modify the operation of the packaging system to achieve the desired wrapped products with minimal defects.
Regarding claim 23:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 22, as discussed above, wherein the at least a first vision system is arranged along the feeding and packing path downstream of the closing system (envisaged in FIG. 6 where the pack is already closed).
Regarding claim 24:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 23, as discussed above, wherein the at least a first vision system comprises at least a first camera (Franzaroli, 170) and a second camera(190, arranged opposite each other at the sides of the feeding and packing path.
Regarding claim 25:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 24, as discussed above, wherein the closing system (Gentili) comprises a first side closing device (46) and a second side closing device (46), arranged opposite each other at respective sides of the feeding and packing path, and adapted to join a first pair of flaps of the wrapping sheet on a first side surface of the pack of tissue paper products and a second pair of flaps of the wrapping sheet on a second side surface of the pack of tissue paper products (col. 8, lines 38-49); and wherein the first camera and the second camera are so arranged as to take images of the first side surface and of the second side surface of the pack of tissue paper products after the first pair of flaps of the wrapping sheet and the second pair of flaps of the wrapping sheet have been folded and joined (envisaged in FIG. 6 where the pack is already closed).
Regarding claim 26:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 24, as discussed above, wherein the at least a first vision system further comprises at least one of the following: a third video camera (Franzaroli, 14) so arranged as to frame the pack of tissue paper products from the top; a [third] video camera (150) so arranged as to frame the pack of tissue paper products from the bottom.
Regarding claim 27:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 26, as discussed above, wherein the third video camera (150) so arranged as to frame the pack of tissue paper products from the bottom, is a line scan camera, arranged at an opening along a lying-and-feeding surface where packs of tissue paper products lie and move (Franzaroli, see FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 29:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 26, as discussed above, wherein the packing machine further comprises a transverse closing device (Gentili, 18a), adapted to join two overlapped edges of the wrapping sheet that are substantially orthogonal to side surfaces of the pack of tissue paper products (col. 8, lines 1-30; cf. col. 1, lines 19-25), and wherein the third camera (Franzaroli, 150) so arranged as to frame the pack of tissue paper products from the bottom is arranged downstream of the transverse closing device along the feeding and packing path, so as to frame a surface of the pack of tissue paper products where the two overlapped joined edges of the wrapping sheet are arranged (Franzaroli, envisaged in FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 30:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 29, as discussed above, wherein the transverse closing device is arranged below the feeding and packing path (see FIG. 5c).
Regarding claim 31:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 29, as discussed above, wherein the third video camera is a line scan camera arranged in correspondence of a lying-and-feeding surface where the packs of tissue paper products lie and move, the lying-and-feeding surface extending along the feeding and packing path (Franzaroli, see FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 33 and 34:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 22, as discussed above, wherein the positioning device is combined with an unwinder (101) adapted to support a roll of web material (102), from which single wrapping sheets are cut by a cutting member (103).
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase does not teach wherein a second vision system having fifth video camera arranged either along an unwinding path of the web material from the unwinder up to the positioning device or in the positioning device is combined with at least one of the positioning device and the unwinder, to acquire images of the web material before or after the wrapping sheets have been cut and before the wrapping sheet is wrapped around the group of tissue paper products.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase, by providing a second vision system with an additional camera is combined with at least one of the positioning device and the unwinder, to acquire images of the web material either before or after the wrapping sheets have been cut and before the wrapping sheet is wrapped around the group of tissue paper products, in order determine defective wrapping sheets before they are applied to the products. Examiner notes that this would amount to a simple matter of duplicating and rearranging parts of the invention which has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. and C.), and would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 37:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 22, as discussed above, wherein the central control unit is configured to receive one or more of a piece of information on a geometrical arrangement of tissue paper products forming the group of tissue paper products (Franzaroli, [0287], [0288]); and a piece of information on at least one image printed on the wrapping sheet ([0290]).
Regarding claim 39:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 22, as discussed above, wherein the reference images of the packs of tissue paper products are either stored in advance in the database, or acquired when production starts, or acquired during production (Franzaroli, [0163], [0296]).
Regarding claim 40:
As discussed above, the combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches a method for producing packs of tissue paper products through a packing system, wherein the packing system includes: a packing machine comprising: a positioning device, adapted to position a wrapping sheet along an insertion path, through which groups of tissue paper products to be packed are moved toward a feeding and packing path; a feeder adapted to insert the groups of tissue paper products in the insertion path up to the feeding and packing path; a conveyor adapted to move the groups of tissue paper products along the feeding and packing path through a folding unit arranged along the feeding and packing path, the folding unit being adapted to wrap the wrapping sheet around a group of tissue paper products of the groups of tissue paper products; a closing system adapted to close the wrapping sheet around the group of tissue paper products and to form a pack of tissue paper products, the closing system being arranged along the feeding and packing path downstream of the folding unit; at least a first vision system for acquiring images of at least one portion of the pack of tissue paper products wrapped in the wrapping sheet, the first vision system comprising at least one video camera; a central control unit, connected to cameras of each vision system of said at least a first vision system and programmed to detect at least one defect in the pack of tissue paper products, based on the images taken by said each vision system, and adapted to intervene automatically on an operation parameter of the packing machine to adjust operation of the packing machine so as to reduce or to eliminate the at least one defect; or to signal, through a human-machine interface, any anomaly, and suggest a corrective action, the method comprising steps as follows:
acquiring, through the at least a first vision system, images of the packs of tissue paper products or of the wrapping sheet (Franzaroli, [0161]);
detecting a defect in the pack of tissue paper products or in the wrapping sheet comprising comparing images from said images acquired by the at least one video camera of said at least a first vision system with reference images stored in a database (Futase, [0063]);
suggesting a corrective action or performing a corrective action on at least one operation parameter of the packing system to correct the defect detected (Futase, [0063]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase, as applied above, and further in view of Ghini et al. US 6,223,506.
Regarding claim 28:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 25, as discussed above, wherein the first side closing device and the second side closing device comprise heating members (47) adapted to close the wrapping sheet (col. 8, lines 38-49).
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase does not teach wherein a temperature sensor is associated with at least one of the first side closing device and the second side closing device, the temperature sensor being arranged downstream of a respective one of the first side closing device and the second side closing device along the feeding and packing path, the temperature sensor being adapted to detect a temperature of the wrapping sheet in an area where the respective one of the first side closing device and the second side closing device has acted.
Ghini discloses a related wrapping and sealing system having “a number of temperature sensors (in particular, thermocouples), each associated with a respective sealing head 12 to determine the temperature of sealing surface 63 of respective plate 62. Control device 66 controls the known electric generator (not shown) to regulate the intensity of the electric current along each plate 62 according to the temperature of sealing surface 63, and to keep the temperature of sealing surface 63 equal to a given value at all times” (col. 5, lines 27-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of the combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase, by providing a temperature sensor associated with at least one of the first side closing device and the second side closing device, the temperature sensor being arranged downstream of a respective one of the first side closing device and the second side closing device along the feeding and packing path, the temperature sensor being adapted to detect a temperature of the wrapping sheet in an area where the respective one of the first side closing device and the second side closing device has acted, as suggested by Ghini, since this would help ensure “the temperature of sealing surface [is] equal to a [desired] value at all times”, leading to a more controlled system.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase, as applied above, and further in view of Loperfido et al. US 2004/0016213.
Regarding claim 35:
The combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase teaches the system of claim 33, as discussed above, but does not teach wherein the packing machine further comprises a perforating device adapted to perforate the web material unwound from the roll to define a pre-breakage line on the wrapping sheet.
Loperfido discloses a related system wherein the packing machine further comprises a perforating device (32) adapted to perforate the web material unwound from the roll to define a pre-breakage line on the wrapping sheet ([0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination of Gentili, Franzaroli, and Futase, by providing a perforating device adapted to perforate the web material unwound from the roll to define a pre-breakage line on the wrapping sheet, as taught by Loperfido, since this would provide a portion to allow easier access to the products for an end user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach wherein a temperature sensor is associated with the transverse closing device, the temperature sensor being adapted to detect a temperature of the wrapping sheet in a transverse closing area, downstream of the transverse closing device along the feeding and packing path, in an area where the transverse closing device has acted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection made in this action, necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARIUSH SEIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731