DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 37-47) in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Groups I (claims 1, 8-12 and 14), III (claim 48) and IV (claim 49) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/21/2026.
During a telephone conversation with Agent Fei-Huang Yang on 9/7/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the elected species, claim 47. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 46 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 47 recites “[t]he nanoparticle composition according to claim 37, wherein the nanoparticle composition comprises the nanoparticles alone”. This can be interpreted as the composition comprising the nanoparticles and a curable monomer but not the ligands. This can also be interpreted as the composition comprising the nanoparticles only, without a curable monomer or ligands. For the purpose of further examination, based on the originally filed specification, claim 47 is interpreted as the composition comprising the nanoparticles and a curable monomer but not the ligands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-39, 42-45 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uraoka et al (CN 112578634 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 37-39 and 42, Uraoka teaches a composition (X) for light-emitting device, comprising a photopolymerizable component (A), a photopolymerization initiator (B) [P5L38-39], and a phosphor (C) [P28L42-43]. The phosphor (C) is preferably quantum dot phosphor (C1) [P29L19] with average particle diameter of preferably 2 nm or more and 6 nm or less [P39L31-34]. The quantum dot phosphor (C1) can be graphene-type semiconductor particles [P29L48-54]. The photopolymerizable component (A) is preferably an acrylic compound (A8) which is preferably a polyfunctional acrylic compound (A81) including bisphenol F polyethoxy diacrylate [P11L42, P12L21-33]
The examiner submits that the quantum dot phosphor (C1) reads on the claimed nanoparticles because of the particle diameter of 2 nm or more and 6 nm or less. Graphene-type quantum dot phosphor is art recognized as carbon-based quantum dots containing aromatic rings.
The polyfunctional acrylic compound bisphenol F polyethoxy diacrylate reads on the claimed curable monomer containing an aromatic monomer as specified in claims 38-39.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select graphene-type quantum dot phosphor as the phosphor (C), and select bisphenol F polyethoxy diacrylate as the photopolymerizable component (A) in Uraoka’s composition, as they are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The photopolymerization initiator (B) reads on the claimed photopolymerization initiator.
Regarding claims 43-45, Uraoka teaches that the photopolymerization initiator (B) contains aromatic ketones, aromatic onium salt compounds, and acylphosphine oxide compounds including 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl-diphenylphosphine oxide and bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)diphenylphosphine oxide [P26L48-51, P27L15-16] which read on the recited formula (2) as evidenced by the applicant [0063-0064 spec.].
Regarding claim 47, since a ligand is not needed in Uraoka’s phosphor (C), the composition meets the claimed limitation of comprising the nanoparticles alone.
Claim(s) 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uraoka as applied to claim 37 above, further in view of Masanori (JP 2009237420 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 40-41, Uraoka teaches the composition in claim 37 and teaches bisphenol F polyethoxy diacrylate as the curable monomer as stated above. Bisphenol F polyethoxy diacrylate reads on the recited formula (1) in claims 40-41, except that Uraoka does not teach the relationship of n+m=4 in formula (1).
In the same field of endeavor, Masanori teaches a curable composition for liquid crystal display device comprising polymerizable monomer A-4 [0017-0018, Table 1 and 0178, Fourth Embodiment], which reads on the bisphenol F polyethoxy diacrylate with n=m=2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select Masanori’s A-4 as the bisphenol F polyethoxy diacrylate in Uraoka’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762