Claim Objections
Claim are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 introduces the term “a plurality of solar cell units” but is then used incorrectly in claims 1 and 7 – 12, as all those claim’s use “the solar cell units” where they should use “the plurality of solar cell units.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes “and disposing the plurality of solar cell units in an encapsulation member such that angles defined by a height direction of the encapsulation member and upper surfaces of the solar cell units are 30 degrees to 90 degrees.” It is unclear what “height direction” means. For the instant examination, the Examiner interprets it as “vertical.”
Claim 8 includes “electrically connecting the solar cell units spaced apart from each other in the height direction through conductive members.” It is unclear what “height direction” means. For the purpose of the instant examination, the Examiner interprets it as “vertical.”
Claim 11 includes “a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, which are sequentially laminated, and wherein the conductive member includes a support part extending in a height direction.” It is unclear what “height direction” means. For the purpose of the instant examination, the Examiner interprets it as “vertical.”
Claim 12 includes “and disposing the plurality of solar cell units in an encapsulation member such that angles defined by a height direction of the encapsulation member and upper surfaces of the solar cell units are 30 degrees to 90 degrees.” means. For the purpose of the instant examination, the Examiner interprets it as “vertical.”
Claims 1-11 are rejected as claims 2 – 11 depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bende et al. US 20170018670 A1 (hereinafter Bende), and further in view of Hall et al. US 20190214938 A1 (hereinafter Hall)
Regarding claim 1, Bende discloses:
A method for manufacturing a photovoltaic module, the method comprising: forming a solar cell assembly by connecting a plurality of solar cells in an alignment direction in series; (Bende; FIG. 2; [0049] one or more solar cells 2 connected in series,)
Bende does not disclose:
forming a plurality of solar cell units by cutting the solar cell assembly along a cutting line in a direction being different from the alignment direction.
disposing the plurality of solar cell units in an encapsulation member such that angles defined by a height direction of the encapsulation member and upper surfaces of the solar cell units are 30 degrees to 90 degrees.
Hall discloses:
forming a plurality of solar cell units by cutting the solar cell assembly along a cutting line in a direction being different from the alignment direction. (Hall; FIG. 30; [0204]; 3020; 3031)
disposing the plurality of solar cell units in an encapsulation member such that angles defined by a height direction of the encapsulation member and upper surfaces of the solar cell units are 30 degrees to 90 degrees. (Hall; FIG 1E; paragraph [0135], the solar cells are arranged along the slope of the rooftop 164 and can be at angle relative to horizontal roofing member 150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Hall’s design into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to help maximize light capture efficiency, reduce surface dust and snow buildup, and optimize internal space for high-density module designs.
Regarding claim 2, Bende in view of Hall teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Bende in view of Hall discloses:
forming joining parts in joining areas of the adjacent solar cells; and connecting the plurality of solar cells in the alignment direction in series. (Bende; FIG. 2; [0049] one or more solar cells 2 connected in series; FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 3, Bende in view of Hall teaches the limitation of claim 2, as discussed above.
Bende does not disclose:
Wherein in the forming of the joining parts, each of the joining parts has a plurality of ball shapes disposed to be spaced apart from each other.
Hall discloses:
Wherein in the forming of the joining parts, each of the joining parts has a plurality of ball shapes disposed to be spaced apart from each other. (Hall; FIG 12B; 1298)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Hall’s design into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to prevent thermal fatigue and physical damage to the connections.
Regarding claim 4, Bende in view of Hall teaches the limitation of claim 3, as discussed above.
Bende does not disclose:
Joining parts are not disposed in an area, through which the cutting line passes, in the forming of the plurality of solar cell units.
Hall discloses:
Joining parts are not disposed in an area, through which the cutting line passes, in the forming of the plurality of solar cell units. ((Hall; FIG 12B; waterproof seal 1298 is not cut))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Hall’s design into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to prevent thermal fatigue and physical damage to the connections.
Regarding claim 5, Bende in view of Hall teaches the limitation of claim 4, as discussed above.
Bende does not disclose:
wherein in the forming of the joining parts, the joining parts are spaced apart from the area of the cutting line.
Hall discloses:
wherein in the forming of the joining parts, the joining parts are spaced apart from the area of the cutting line. (Hall; FIG 12B; 1298)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Hall’s design into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to prevent thermal fatigue and physical damage to the connections.
Regarding claim 6, Bende in view of Hall teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Bende in view of Hall discloses:
wherein the plurality of solar cell units is connected to each other in parallel through a pair of terminals. (Bend; [0051] In FIG. 3]; The first subset 2a, 2b is connected in parallel with a first by-pass diode 5a, the second subset 2b, 2c with by-pass diode 5b and the third subset 2c, 2d with by-pass diode 5c.)
Regarding claim 7, Bende in view of Hall teaches the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above.
Bende does not disclose:
wherein the solar cell units are arranged in parallel to a horizontal surface.
Hall discloses:
wherein the solar cell units are arranged in parallel to a horizontal surface. (Hall; FIG 1E; paragraph [0135], the solar cells are arranged along the slope of the rooftop 164, in parallel with the rooftop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Hall’s setups into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to maximize all-day daylight capture from the sky dome, and reduces wind resistance and mounting costs compared to tilted setups.
Regarding claim 8, Bende in view of Hall teaches the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above.
Bende does not disclose:
electrically connecting the solar cell units spaced apart from each other in the height direction through conductive members.
Hall discloses:
electrically connecting the solar cell units spaced apart from each other in the height direction through conductive members. (Hall; [0196]; FIG. 23 Contacts 2132 electrically connect to contacts 2130 vertically;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Hall’s setups into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be providing a pathway for current to flow.
Claims 9 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bende in view of Hall, and further in view of Lin et al. US 20210281215 A1 (hereinafter Lin) and Yoshikawa US 20220209032 A1 (hereinafter Yoshikawa)
Regarding claim 9, Bende in view of hall teaches the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above.
Bende in view of Hall does not disclose:
wherein the solar cell units include a first solar cell disposed on one side, and a second solar cell electrically connected to the first solar cell and disposed on an opposite side to extend, wherein the first solar cell includes a front electrode, an n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, which are sequentially laminated, and wherein the second solar cell includes an n-type semiconductor layer connected to the rear electrode of the first solar cell, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a terminal electrode connecting the n-type semiconductor layer and the conductive member.
Lin discloses:
wherein the solar cell units include a first solar cell disposed on one side, and a second solar cell electrically connected to the first solar cell and disposed on an opposite side to extend, wherein the first solar cell includes a front electrode, an n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode. (Lin; [0076] solar cell having front (sun side) surface and rear (shaded side) surface metallization patterns providing electrical contact to opposite sides of an n-p junction,) wherein the second solar cell includes an n-type semiconductor layer connected to the rear electrode of the first solar cell, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a terminal electrode connecting the p-type semiconductor layer and the conductive member, and wherein an opposite end of the terminal electrode extends to an opposite side of an opposite end of the p-type semiconductor layer. (Lin; [0076] the front surface metallization pattern is disposed on a semiconductor layer of n-type conductivity, and the rear surface metallization pattern is disposed on a semiconductor layer of p-type conductivity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Lin’s design into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to increase power generation potential.
Yoshikawa discloses:
a front electrode, an n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, which are sequentially laminated. (Yoshikawa; [0004] This solar cell includes: a p-type silicon substrate; an n-type impurity diffusion area and a light receiving surface electrode that are sequentially laminated on a light receiving surface side of the silicon substrate; and a rear surface passivation film and a rear surface electrode that are sequentially laminated on a rear surface side of the silicon substrate.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Yoshikawa’s design into Bende’s design. The reason to do this would be to help the final multi-layer sandwich resist humidity, heat, and physical wear overtime.
Regarding claim 10, Bende in view of hall teaches the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above.
Bende in view of Hall does not disclose:
The method of claim 8, wherein the solar cell units include a first solar cell disposed on one side, and a second solar cell electrically connected to the first solar cell and disposed on an opposite side to extend, wherein the first solar cell includes a front electrode, an n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, which are sequentially laminated, wherein the second solar cell includes an n-type semiconductor layer connected to the rear electrode of the first solar cell, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a terminal electrode connecting the p-type semiconductor layer and the conductive member, and wherein an opposite end of the terminal electrode extends to an opposite side of an opposite end of the p-type semiconductor layer.
Lin discloses:
wherein the solar cell units include a first solar cell disposed on one side, and a second solar cell electrically connected to the first solar cell and disposed on an opposite side to extend, wherein the first solar cell includes a front electrode, an n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, (Lin; [0076] solar cell having front (sun side) surface and rear (shaded side) surface metallization patterns providing electrical contact to opposite sides of an n-p junction,) wherein the second solar cell includes an n-type semiconductor layer connected to the rear electrode of the first solar cell, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a terminal electrode connecting the p-type semiconductor layer and the conductive member, and wherein an opposite end of the terminal electrode extends to an opposite side of an opposite end of the p-type semiconductor layer. (Lin; [0076] the front surface metallization pattern is disposed on a semiconductor layer of n-type conductivity, and the rear surface metallization pattern is disposed on a semiconductor layer of p-type conductivity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Lin’s design into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to increase power generation potential.
Yoshikawa discloses:
a front electrode, an n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, which are sequentially laminated. (Yoshikawa; [0004] This solar cell includes: a p-type silicon substrate; an n-type impurity diffusion area and a light receiving surface electrode that are sequentially laminated on a light receiving surface side of the silicon substrate; and a rear surface passivation film and a rear surface electrode that are sequentially laminated on a rear surface side of the silicon substrate.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Yoshikawa’s design into Bende’s design. The reason to do this would be to help the final multi-layer sandwich resist humidity, heat, and physical wear overtime.
Regarding claim 11, Bende in view of hall teaches the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above.
Bende in view of Hall does not disclose:
wherein each of the plurality of solar cell unit includes a first solar cell disposed on one side, and a second solar cell electrically connected to the first solar cell and disposed on an opposite side to extend, wherein the first solar cell includes a front electrode, a n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, which are sequentially laminated, and wherein the conductive member includes a support part extending in a height direction, a plurality of grip parts extending from the support part to the solar cell units, and a plurality of grip parts configured to grip the first solar cell, and a conductive part electrically connected to the front electrode of the first solar cell.
Lin discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of solar cell unit includes a first solar cell disposed on one side, and a second solar cell electrically connected to the first solar cell and disposed on an opposite side to extend, wherein the first solar cell includes a front electrode, a n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, (Lin; [0076] solar cell having front (sun side) surface and rear (shaded side) surface metallization patterns providing electrical contact to opposite sides of an n-p junction,) wherein the conductive member includes a support part extending in a height direction, a plurality of grip parts extending from the support part to the solar cell units, and a plurality of grip parts configured to grip the first solar cell, and a conductive part electrically connected to the front electrode of the first solar cell. (Lin; [0076] the front surface metallization pattern is disposed on a semiconductor layer of n-type conductivity, and the rear surface metallization pattern is disposed on a semiconductor layer of p-type conductivity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Lin’s design into Bende’s design. The reason for doing this would be to increase power generation potential.
Yoshikawa discloses:
a front electrode, an n-type semiconductor layer, a p-type semiconductor layer, and a rear electrode, which are sequentially laminated. (Yoshikawa; [0004] This solar cell includes: a p-type silicon substrate; an n-type impurity diffusion area and a light receiving surface electrode that are sequentially laminated on a light receiving surface side of the silicon substrate; and a rear surface passivation film and a rear surface electrode that are sequentially laminated on a rear surface side of the silicon substrate.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Yoshikawa’s design into Bende’s design. The reason to do this would be to help the final multi-layer sandwich resist humidity, heat, and physical wear overtime.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, and further in view of Hall.
Lin discloses:
forming an n-type semiconductor doping area and a p-type semiconductor doping area in each of a plurality of semiconductor substrates; forming a solar cell assembly by disposing a plurality of semiconductor substrates in a row in an alignment direction, and then connecting an n-type semiconductor doping area and a p-type semiconductor doping area between adjacent semiconductor substrate in series or parallel; forming a plurality of solar cell units each having an n-type semiconductor doping area and a p-type semiconductor doping area. [Lin; 0064] As illustrated in FIG. 6, in one embodiment, a given cut section of wire is to electrically couple at most two solar cells together in series, wherein the P-type doped diffusion area of one of the two solar cells is connected to the N-type doped diffusion area of the other solar cell...if solar cells are connected in parallel,)
Lin does not disclose:
cutting the solar cell assembly along a cutting line in a direction being different from the alignment direction
disposing the plurality of solar cell units in an encapsulation member such that angles defined by a height direction of the encapsulation member and upper surfaces of the solar cell units are 30 degrees to 90 degrees.
Hall discloses:
cutting the solar cell assembly along a cutting line in a direction being different from the alignment direction (Hall; FIG 12B; 1298)
disposing the plurality of solar cell units in an encapsulation member such that angles defined by a height direction of the encapsulation member and upper surfaces of the solar cell units are 30 degrees to 90 degrees. (Hall; FIG 1E; paragraph [0135], the solar cells are arranged along the slope of the rooftop 164 and can be at angle relative to horizontal roofing member 150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Hall’s design into Lin’s design. The reason for doing this would be to help maximize light capture efficiency, reduce surface dust and snow buildup, and optimize internal space for high-density module designs.
Conclusion
/WEI LI/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899