DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 contains the trademark/trade name Transcutol. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe diethylene glycol monoethyl ether and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 21 contains the trademark/trade name Span® 85. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe sorbitane trioleate and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corr (WO2019021005, disclosed by applicant).
Corr discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one cannabinoid and a propellant component comprising HFA-152a as an inhalable pharmaceutical formulation, which meets the limitation of claim 19 (Abstract and p. 2, line 5). Corr discloses the cannabinoid is cannabidiol (p.8, lines 6-8). Corr discloses the composition further comprise muscarinic antagonist, such as tiotropium, ipratropium and aclidinium and ling acting beta-2 agonist selected from formoterol arformoterol and bambuterol (p.9, lines 2-7). Corr discloses the composition comprises a flavor, such as peppermint oil and a cough suppressant, such as menthol (p. 9, lines 27 and 28). Corr discloses the composition comprises a solvent ethanol and/or glycerol (reference claim 26). Corr discloses the composition comprises at least one surfactant comprising polyvinylpyrrolidone and oleic acid (p. 11, lines 2 and 3). Corr discloses formulations that do not comprise delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol or corticosteroid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cifter et al. (EP2682099A1) in view of Corr (WO2019021005, disclosed by applicant).
Cifter et al. disclose a pharmaceutical composition for inhalation comprising a ling acting muscarinic antagonists in the form of a dry powder in admixture with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and its use in the treatment of respiratory condition selected from asthma, COPD and other obstructive airways diseases (Abstract). Cifter et al. disclose the composition comprises long and short-acting beta-2 agonist and muscarinic antagonist comprising tiotropium, glycopyrronium, ipratropium, arformoterol, bambuterol, pirbuterol and procaterol (p.5, para. [0036], [0039] and [0040]). Cifter et al. disclose the composition comprises the carrier lactose and mannitol ([0033]).
Cifter et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose a composition comprising at least one cannabinoid.
Corr discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one cannabinoid and a propellant component comprising HFA-152a as an inhalable pharmaceutical formulation, which meets the limitation of claim 19 (Abstract and p. 2, line 5). Corr discloses the cannabinoid is cannabidiol and treats COPD (p.8, lines 6-8). Corr discloses the composition further comprise muscarinic antagonist, such as tiotropium, ipratropium and aclidinium and ling acting beta-2 agonist selected from formoterol arformoterol and bambuterol (p.9, lines 2-7). Corr discloses the composition comprises a flavor, such as peppermint oil and a cough suppressant, such as menthol (p. 9, lines 27 and 28). Corr discloses the composition comprises a solvent ethanol and/or glycerol (reference claim 26). Corr discloses the composition comprises at least one surfactant comprising polyvinylpyrrolidone and oleic acid (p. 11, lines 2 and 3). Corr discloses formulations that do not comprise delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol or corticosteroid.
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have included cannabinoid in the formulation of Cifter, since they are known for treating COPD.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612