DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 12-17 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 8/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments with respect to the limitation “a 4-CL polypeptide having the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 8” being definite are persuasive (Arguments, page 10, paragraphs 2-3). However, claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending from a rejected base claim and not rectifying the source of indefiniteness.
Applicant argues against the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) on the grounds that claim 3 requires the production of frambinone from a defined HBA precursor (Arguments, paragraph 1 on page 12).
However, this argument is unpersuasive because claim 3 is drawn to a genetically modified strain and Applicant has failed to provide objective evidence that the limitation “the strain is capable of producing frambinone as compound of formula (I) from 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)but-3-en-2-one (HBA)” further limits the structure of the claimed strain, given that claim 1 already recites a list of recombinant genes that structurally define the strain.
Applicant argues against the written description rejection of claims 1, 4, 12, 14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) on the grounds that the specification defines in [0033] a functional variant of a benzalacetone reductase as a polypeptide sequence derived from one of the benzalacetone reductase enzymes defined by SEQ ID NOs: 1-6, including a sequence comprising one or more amino-acid substitutions, insertions and/or deletions, but retaining benzalacetone reductase activity and notably the ability to produce, in a Pseudomonas putida strain, a phenylbutanone or phenylbutanone derivative from a phenylbuten-2-one (Arguments, bottom paragraph on page 12).
However, this argument is unpersuasive because the specification does not exemplify any species of the claimed genus of benzalacetone reductase variants, nor does the specification disclose the structure-function relationship between the enzyme and its function. SEQ ID NO: 1-6 are approximately 350 amino acids in length. Thus, a variant with 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1-6 differs by as many as 18 amino acids. The specification provides no guidance as to the positions and types of amino acid substitutions that retain activity of the benzalacetone reductase variant.
Applicant argues against the rejection of claims 1, 4, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 101 on the grounds that the embodiment in which the strain comprises SEQ ID NO: 3 has been eliminated (Arguments, paragraph 1 on page 14).
However, this argument is unpersuasive because the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 still encompasses a strain comprising a functional variant of SEQ ID NO: 3. SEQ ID NO: 3 is still recited in part b) of claim 1. The presence of the words “genetically modified” and “recombinant gene” are not sufficient to confer markedly different characteristics to the strain because, as discussed in the rejection, SEQ ID NO: 3 is a naturally occurring, functional benzalacetone reductase in Pseudomonas putida.
Applicant argues against the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Espinosa-Urgel et al. (Applied and Environmental Microbiology, Sept. 2004, p. 5190–5198) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website) on the grounds that SEQ ID NO: 3 has been deleted from the reference sequences recited in claim 1 (Arguments, paragraph 3 on page 15). Applicant similarly argues against the nonstatutory double patenting rejections of record on the grounds that SEQ ID NO: 3 has been deleted from claim 1 (Arguments, paragraphs 4-5 on page 16).
However, these arguments are not persuasive because claim 1 part b) still recites SEQ ID NO: 3.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “frambinone as compound of formula (I),” which is missing an article. Applicant may consider amending to “frambinone as the compound of formula (I).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(New Rejection Necessitated by Amendment) Claim 1-4 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the limitation “b) a functional variant of benzalacetone reductase having an amino acid sequence bearing at least 95% identity with the amino acid sequence chosen from SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 2, SEQ ID NO: 3, SEQ ID NO: 4, SEQ ID NO: 5, or SEQ ID NO: 6 and maintaining a benzalacetone reductase activity at least equal to 95% of the activity measured with its unmodified equivalent. The claim does not present a closed group of alternatives. Applicant may consider amending the claim to recite chosen from SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 2, SEQ ID NO 3, SEQ ID NO: 4, SEQ ID NO: 5, and SEQ ID NO: 6. In addition, it is unclear what the unmodified equivalent is for each of the variants.
Claim 4 is indefinite because the claim recites the strain further comprises one or more additional recombinant genes chosen from (i), (ii), and (iii). However, claim 1 already recites in part a) that the strain comprises (i)-(v), leading to ambiguity in the claim scope. Applicant may consider amending claim 4 to change the alphanumeric designator so that it does not overlap with claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the polypeptide with tyrosine ammonia lyase activity is a polypeptide having at least 95% identity with the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 7 polypeptide and encoding an enzyme with TAL activity. The combination of an amino acid sequence with “encoding an enzyme with TAL activity” leads to ambiguity in the claim scope as to whether the sequence is an amino acid sequence or a nucleic acid sequence since a gene (nucleic acid sequence) encodes a protein. Applicant may consider amending claim 12 to “wherein the polypeptide with tyrosine ammonia lyase activity has at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7.”
Claim 14 is similarly indefinite for “a 4-CL polypeptide having at least 95% identity with the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 and encoding an enzyme with 4-CL activity.”
Claim 16 is similarly indefinite for a BAS polypeptide having at least 95% identity with the sequence SEQ ID NO: 9 and encoding an enzyme with BAS activity.
Claims 2-4 and 12-17 are rejected for depending from a rejected base claim and not rectifying the source of indefiniteness discussed above.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the strain comprises a recombinant gene coding for the (NADP(+)-dependent) 2-alkenal reductase from Capsicum annuum having the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 6 and wherein the strain is capable of producing a compound of formula (I), by converting a phenylbuten-2-one synthesized in situ or added to a culture medium into the compound of formula (I). Claim 2 fails to further limit claim 1. Claim 2 is broader in scope than claim 1 because the second wherein clause can encompass a genetically modified strain comprising additional genes besides those recited in claim 1.
Claim 3 recites wherein the genetically modified strain is capable of producing frambinone as compound of formula (I) from 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)but-3-en-2-one (HBA) . Claim 3 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 2 upon which claim 3 depends because claim 2 already recites all of the structural elements of the genetically modified strain. Applicant may consider incorporating the subject matter of claim 3 as a wherein clause into claim 2.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
(New Rejection Necessitated by Amendment) Claims 1-4 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites a genus of functional variants of benzalacetone reductase having an amino acid sequence bearing at least 95% identity to the amino acid sequence selected from SEQ ID NO: 1 to 6 and maintaining a benzalacetone reductase activity at least equal to 95% of the activity measured with its unmodified equivalent. Claim 4 recites a genus of polypeptides having tyrosine ammonia lyase activity, polypeptides having 4-coumarate-CoA ligase activity, and polypeptides having benzalacetone synthase activity. Claim 12 recites a genus of tyrosine ammonia lyase polypeptides having at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7. Claim 14 recites a genus of 4-coumarate-CoA ligase having at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 8. Claim 16 recites a genus of benzalacetone synthase polypeptides having at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 9.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would not have recognized, at the time the application was filed, that the inventors had possession of the claimed genera of functional benzalacetone reductase variants or variants of SEQ ID NO: 7-9.
The specification does not disclose any variants of benzalacetone reductase or variants of SEQ ID NO: 7-9. Rather, the specification discloses in silico screening of candidate benzalacetone reductases followed by the cloning and expression of the genes encoding SEQ ID NO: 1-6 in P. putida (specification [0086], [0088], [0090], Fig. 1). No variants of SEQ ID NO: 1-9 are generated.
Regarding the genus of benzalacetone reductase variants, the prior art of Milke et al. (Microbial Cell Factories 19.1 (2020): 92; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) teaches that curcumin reductase (CurA) from E. coli is a benzalacetone reductase (Abstract Results). Milke teaches a codon-optimized variant of the curA gene (page 4, left column, middle of paragraph). Milke does not generate any variants of the CurA protein. CurA from E. coli is only 70.25% identical to the CurA from P. putida (SEQ ID NO: 3): see [0087] of the instant specification. Milke teaches that both E. coli and S. cerevisiae both possess unidentified endogenous reductases with benzalacetone reductase activity (page 2, left column, paragraph 2).
Wang et al. (Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology 103.9 (2019): 3715-3725; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) teaches that 4-hydroxybenzylidene acetone is reduced to raspberry ketone by benzalacetone reductase, which is an NADPH-dependent reductase (page 3716, left column, paragraph 2). Wang teaches that RiRZA1 (from raspberry plant or Rheum ideus) is an NADPH-dependent benzalacetone reductase (page 3716, left column, paragraph 2).
Milke et al. (Microbial Cell Factories 19.1 (2020): 92; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) teaches that the amino acid substitution G191D in RiRZA1 confers relaxed substrate specificity, allowing the enzyme to accept NADH as a cofactor (page 4, left column, paragraph 1).
Thus, the state of the art with respect to benzalacetone reductases was highly unpredictable just before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a limited number of species of benzalacetone reductase identified by the prior art. Neither the prior art nor the specification teaches the structure-function correlation between benzalacetone reductase and its activity (i.e. the specific residues required for catalytic function).
Regarding the genus of tyrosine ammonia lyase variants (variants of SEQ ID NO: 7), Zhou et al. (Applied microbiology and biotechnology 100.24 (2016): 10443-10452; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) teaches a small number of species of functional tyrosine ammonia lyase variants from Rhodotorula: S9N, A11T, and E518V (Abstract). S9N increases expression level, A11T improves catalytic efficiency, and E518V enhances affinity between TAL and L-tyrosine (Abstract). However, the presently claimed genus covers variants with far more than three amino acid point mutations. 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7, which is 693 amino acids, encompasses variants with as many as 35 amino acid substitutions.
Regarding the genus of variants of SEQ ID NO: 8 (which is a feruloyl-CoA synthase from P. putida), the prior art does not teach any variants of feruloyl-CoA synthase from P. putida.
Regarding the genus of variants of SEQ ID NO: 9 (BAS from Rheum palmatum), a small number of species of variants are taught by the prior art. Morita et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 107.2 (2010): 669-673; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) teaches a chalcone-producing Rheum palmatum BAS variant comprising the amino acid substitutions I207L and L208F (Abstract). However, the presently claimed genus of BAS variants encompasses far more than two amino acid substitutions. SEQ ID NO: 9 is 384 amino acids long, so a variant with 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 9 can have as many as 19 amino acid substitutions.
Given the limited number of species of variants taught by the prior art and disclosed by Applicant, and the lack of a structure-function correlation between the enzymes and their activities, the person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been able to reasonably predict and visualize the species of the claimed genera. Therefore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would not have recognized, at the time the application was filed, that the inventors had possession of the claimed genera of benzalacetone reductase variants and variants of SEQ ID NO: 7-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
(New Rejection Necessitated by Amendment) Claims 1, 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the judicial exception of a product of nature without significantly more. The rationale for this determination is explained below.
A flowchart has been established to determine subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101. See MPEP 2106 part (III) and 2106.04 part (II)(A). The flowchart comprises answering: Step 1) Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Step 2A Prong One) Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon? Step 2A Prong Two) Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? Step 2B) Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? The claims are analyzed for eligibility in accordance with their broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 1 recites a genetically modified strain of Pseudomonas putida comprising a recombinant gene coding for a functional variant of SEQ ID NO: 3 with at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 3 and at least 95% of the activity of SEQ ID NO; 3. Claim 1 is drawn to a composition of matter, which is one of the four statutory categories of invention (Step 1: Yes). Claim 1 recites a strain of Pseudomonas putida bacteria, which is a product of nature judicial exception (Step 2A Prong One: Yes). Pseudomonas putida is a naturally occurring environmental bacteria (see Abstract of de Lorenzo et al., Journal of bacteriology 206.7 (2024): e00136-24; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). P. putida naturally contains the gene Q88K17_PSEPK, as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003 website, cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026; see “Organism”), which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (OA Appendix A of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Although the method preamble recites that the strain is “genetically modified,” no genetic modification is actually recited within the claim for the embodiment in which the strain comprises SEQ ID NO: 3. Thus, the claim recites the judicial exception of a product of nature (Step 2A Prong One: Yes). Furthermore, “recombinant” is interpreted according to its plain and ordinary meaning as relating to, or resulting from, a new combination of genetic material and thus encompasses genes formed through natural biological processes as well as genes formed through artificial genetic engineering in a laboratory.
Claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are drawn to the strain itself (Step 2A Prong Two: No). The claims do not recite any additional elements besides the judicial exception of a product of nature (Step 2B: No).
Claims 4 and 14 are ineligible for the embodiment in which the additional gene is SEQ ID NO: 8 because SEQ ID NO: 8 is 99% identical to a naturally occurring gene of P. putida as evidenced by WP_409262622 (2024 website cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). See the alignment in OA Appendix B of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026. Thus, sequences with at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 8 encompass the naturally occurring P. putida WP_409262622.
SEQ ID NO: 1-2, 4-7, and 9 are heterologous genes (not native to P. putida). Thus, the embodiments of claims 1 and 4 in which the strain comprises any of SEQ ID NO: 1-2, 4-7, and 9 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim 15 is eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because polypeptides with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 8 have markedly different characteristics (i.e. amino acid residues) than P. putida WP_409262622.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The following rejections are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Espinosa-Urgel et al. (Applied and Environmental Microbiology, Sept. 2004, p. 5190–5198; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
The specification defines a “genetically modified strain” in [0045] as a strain which comprises either (i) at least one recombinant nucleic acid, or transgene, stably integrated into its genome, and/or present on a vector, for example a plasmid vector, or (ii) one or more unnatural mutations by nucleotide insertion, substitution or deletion, said mutations being obtained via gene transformation techniques or via gene editing techniques known to those skilled in the art. Thus, the specification defines a genetically modified strain as either having a recombinant nucleic acid or transgene in its gene or having one or more unnatural mutations (mutations not present in the wild-type strain). The process by which the product is made, such as obtaining mutations by gene transformation techniques, is only given weight insofar as it limits the structure of the claimed product. Recombinant is interpreted according to its plain and ordinary meaning as relating to, or resulting from, a new combination of genetic material and thus encompasses genes formed through natural biological processes as well as genes formed through artificial genetic engineering in a laboratory.
Espinosa-Urgel teaches P. putida KT2440R, which is a spontaneous rifampin-resistant derivative of KT2440 in which a point mutation (A to G) in nucleotide 1562 of the rpoB gene results in amino acid 521 changing from aspartic acid to glycine (page 5191, Materials and Methods, Strains, plasmids, and culture conditions, left column, paragraph 1). Thus, KT2440R is a genetically modified strain because it contains a spontaneous point mutation.
P. putida KT2440 naturally contains the gene Q88K17_PSEPK as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (Organism), which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (OA Appendix A of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Since KT2440R only contains the spontaneous mutation D521G, then KT2440R necessarily contains Q88K17_PSEPK. Since Q88K17_PSEPK is identical to SEQ ID NO: 3, then the enzyme necessarily has 100% of the benzalacetone reductase activity.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Espinosa-Urgel et al. (Applied and Environmental Microbiology, Sept. 2004, p. 5190–5198; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026), as applied to claim 1 above, further evidenced by WP_409262622 (2024, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
See discussion of Espinosa-Urgel and Q88K17_PSEPK above, which is incorporated into this rejection as well.
This rejection applies to the embodiment in which the strain further comprises SEQ ID NO: 8, which is a feruloyl-CoA synthase.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Pseudomonas putida also naturally contains the gene feruloyl-CoA synthase, as evidenced by WP_409262622 (Title), which is 99% identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 8 (OA Appendix B of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following rejections are necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 1, 4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cankar et al. (WO 2019/097049 A1) in view of Loeschcke et al. (Applied microbiology and biotechnology 99.15 (2015): 6197-6214) and Stephanopoulos et al. (US 2012/0034661 A1) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Cankar teaches a process for the production of raspberry ketone (frambinone) comprising culturing a prokaryotic microbial cell expressing tyrosine ammonium lyase (TAL), 4-coumarate-CoA ligase (4CL), benzalacetone synthase (BAS), and optionally benzalacetone reductase (lines 5-6 on page 13, Cankar claim 1). Cankar teaches that the tyrosine ammonia lyase is from Rhodobacter capsulatus, Saccharothrix espanaensis, or Flavobacterium johnsoniae. Cankar teaches that benzalacetone synthase catalyzes the first step in the production of raspberry ketone and that benzalacetone synthase is a member of the polyketide synthase family (lines 26-29 on page 1).
Cankar does not teach that the prokaryotic microbial cell is Pseudomonas putida.
Loeschcke teaches that P. putida KT2440 is a genetically tractable, non-harmful generally recognized as safe-certified strain that allows laboratory-scale studies as well as industrial-scale production of natural products (Abstract and page 6197, right column, Introduction, paragraph 1). Loeschcke exemplifies a variety of polyketides that are produced by genetically modified strains of P. putida KT2440 (Table 1 on page 6200).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to express tyrosine ammonium lyase (TAL), 4-coumarate-CoA ligase (4CL) and benzalacetone synthase (BAS), in Pseudomonas putida KT2440. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce raspberry ketone in Pseudomonas putida KT2440. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Loeschcke teaches that this strain is a genetically tractable host for the production of natural products at both laboratory and industrial scales.
P. putida KT2440 naturally contains the gene Q88K17_PSEPK as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (Organism), which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (OA Appendix A of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Since Q88K17_PSEPK is identical to SEQ ID NO: 3, then the enzyme necessarily has 100% of the benzalacetone reductase activity.
Regarding claim 12, Cankar does not teach that the tyrosine ammonium lyase has at least 95% identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 7.
Stephanopoulos teaches the R. glutinis tyrosine ammonia lyase having SEQ ID NO: 33 (page 17, Table S1), which is 99.5% identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 7 (OA Appendix E of this action).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the generic tyrosine ammonium lyase of Cankar with the R. glutinis tyrosine ammonia lyase of Stephanopoulos having SEQ ID NO: 33 (99.5% identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 7). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the R. glutinis tyrosine ammonia lyase has the required function, thus they are art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose. Furthermore, R. glutinis is also a microorganism.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cankar et al. (WO 2019/097049 A1) in view of Loeschcke et al. (Applied microbiology and biotechnology 99.15 (2015): 6197-6214) as evidenced by A0A379I7G8_PSEFL (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
Cankar teaches a process for the production of raspberry ketone (frambinone) comprising culturing a prokaryotic microbial cell expressing tyrosine ammonium lyase (TAL), 4-coumarate-CoA ligase (4CL) and benzalacetone synthase (BAS), and optionally benzalacetone reductase (lines 5-6 on page 13, Cankar claim 1). In one embodiment, the benzalacetone synthase is SEQ IDN O: 17 (line 38 on page 7). SEQ ID NO: 17 is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 9 (OA Appendix D of this action). Cankar teaches that benzalacetone synthase catalyzes the first step in the production of raspberry ketone and that benzalacetone synthase is a member of the polyketide synthase family (lines 26-29 on page 1).
Cankar does not teach that the prokaryotic microbial cell is Pseudomonas putida.
Loeschcke teaches that P. putida KT2440 is a genetically tractable, non-harmful generally recognized as safe-certified strain that allows laboratory-scale studies as well as industrial-scale production of natural products (Abstract and page 6197, right column, Introduction, paragraph 1). Loeschcke exemplifies a variety of polyketides that are produced by genetically modified strains of P. putida KT2440 (Table 1 on page 6200).
P. putida KT2440 naturally contains the gene Q88K17_PSEPK as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (Organism), which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (OA Appendix A of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Since Q88K17_PSEPK is identical to SEQ ID NO: 3, then the enzyme necessarily has 100% of the benzalacetone reductase activity.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to express Cankar’s tyrosine ammonium lyase (TAL), 4-coumarate-CoA ligase (4CL) and benzalacetone synthase (BAS) having SEQ ID NO: 17 (identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 9), in Loeschcke’s Pseudomonas putida KT2440. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce raspberry ketone in Pseudomonas putida KT2440. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Loeschcke teaches that this strain is a genetically tractable host for the production of natural products at both laboratory and industrial scales.
Double Patenting
The following rejections are necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 1 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/962,309 (hereafter ‘309) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 4 are anticipated by claims 10-11 of ‘309.
Claim 10 of ‘309 recites a genetically modified Pseudomonas putida strain comprising a gene encoding a tyrosine ammonia lyase; and/or a gene encoding a 4-coumarate-ligase, and/or a gene encoding a benzalacetone reductase.
Claim 11 of ‘309 recites the strain further comprises a gene encoding a feruloyl synthase.
Regarding claim 1, Pseudomonas putida contains an endogenous benzalacetone reductase as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (see Organism on page 1), which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (OA Appendix A of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Therefore, the genetically modified strains of claims 10-11 of ‘309 necessarily contain benzalacetone reductase because they are P. putida strains and no genetic modification is recited to knock out the endogenous benzalacetone reductase.
Regarding instant claim 4¸this rejection applies to the embodiment in which the P. putida further comprises a gene encoding a tyrosine ammonia lyase and/or a gene encoding a 4-coumarate-ligase. Instant claim 4 is anticipated by claim 10 of ‘309.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/962,309 (hereafter ‘309) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026), as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, further evidenced by WP_409262622 (2024, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 14 is anticipated by claims 10-11 of ‘309.
Regarding instant claim 14, claims 10-11 of ‘309 do not recite the sequence of the feruloyl-CoA synthase or 4-courmarate ligase.
However, Pseudomonas putida also naturally contains the gene feruloyl-CoA synthase, as evidenced by WP_409262622 (Title), which is 99% identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 8 (OA Appendix B of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). The protein encoded by the gene necessarily has 4-coumarate ligase activity in addition to feruloyl-CoA synthase activity since the sequence is 99% identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 8.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/962,309 (hereafter ‘309) in view Stephanopoulos et al. (US 2012/0034661 A1) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
See discussion of claim 10 of ‘309 and Q88K17_PSEPK above, which is incorporated into this rejection as well.
Claim 10 of ‘309 does not recite that the tyrosine ammonium lyase has at least 95% identity to the instant SEQ ID NO: 7.
Stephanopoulos teaches the R. glutinis tyrosine ammonia lyase having SEQ ID NO: 33 (page 17, Table S1), which is 99.5% identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 7 (OA Appendix E of this action).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the generic tyrosine ammonium lyase of claim 10 of ‘309 with the R. glutinis tyrosine ammonia lyase having SEQ ID NO: 33 (99.5% identical to the instant SEQ IDN O: 7). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the R. glutinis tyrosine ammonia lyase has the required function, thus they are art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose. Furthermore, R. glutinis is also a microorganism.
Claims 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/962,309 (hereafter ‘309) in view of Cankar et al. (WO 2019/097049 A1) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
See discussion of claim 10 of ‘309 and Q88K17_PSEPK above, which is incorporated into his rejection as well.
Claim 10 of ‘309 does not recite that the genetically modified strain further comprises the benzalacetone synthase having SEQ ID NO: 9.
Cankar teaches process for the production of raspberry ketone (frambinone) comprising culturing a prokaryotic microbial cell capable of expressing tyrosine ammonium lyase (TAL) activity, 4-coumarate-CoA ligase (4CL) and benzalacetone synthase (BAS), and optionally benzalacetone reductase (lines 5-6 on page 13, Cankar claim 1). In one embodiment, the benzalacetone synthase is SEQ IDN O: 17 (line 38 on page 7). SEQ ID NO: 17 is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 9 (OA Appendix D of this action).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recombinantly express SEQ ID NO: 17 of ‘309 (identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 9) in the genetically modified Pseudomonas putida strain of claim 10 of ‘309 in order to further engineer the strain to produce raspberry ketone per the teaching of Cankar. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Cankar.
Claims 1, 4, and 12-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 8-9 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/289,895 (hereafter ‘895) as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK (2003, website; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026) and Milke et al. (Microbial Cell Factories 19.1 (2020): 92; cited in the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4 and 12-17 are anticipated by claims 6, 8-9 and 11-13 of ‘895.
Claim 1 of ‘895 is drawn to a genetically modified strain of Pseudomonas putida comprising a mutated AroF-I gene encoding 3-deoxy-D-arabino-heptulosonate-7-phosphate (DAHP) synthase, the sequence of which has at least 90% identity to the sequence SEQ ID NO: 1 and having at least one P160L mutation, a P160L/Q164A double mutation, or a P160L/S193A double mutation.
Claim 6 of ‘895 recites the strain further comprises one or more additional recombinant genes selected from TAL, 4-CL and BAS.
Claims 8-9 are drawn to a method of synthesizing a phenylpropanoid compound comprising growing the genetically modified strain of claim 6.
Claim 11 of ‘895 requires the TAL has at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7.
Claim 12 of ‘895 requires the 4-CL has at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 8.
Claim 13 of ‘895 requires the BAS has at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 9.
Regarding instant claim 1, P. putida contains an endogenous benzalacetone reductase as evidenced by Q88K17_PSEPK, which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (OA Appendix A of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026), so the genetically modified strains of claims 6, 8-9, and 11-13 of ‘893 necessarily contain benzalacetone reductase because they are P. putida strains and no genetic modification is recited to knock out the endogenous benzalacetone reductase.
Regarding instant claims 12-13, claim 11 of ‘895 requires the TAL has at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7. SEQ ID NO: 7 of ‘895 is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 7. The range of at least 80% identity overlaps with at least 95% identity.
Regarding instant claims 4 and 14-15, claim 12 of ‘895 requires the 4-CL has at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 8. The instant SEQ ID NO: 8 is identical to the SEQ ID NO: 8 of ‘895 (OA Appendix C of the Non-Final Action mailed on 6/1/2026).
Regarding instant claims 16-17, claim 13 of ‘895 requires the BAS has at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 9. The range of at least 80% identity overlaps with at least 95% identity. SEQ ID NO: 9 of ‘895 is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 9.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/CANDICE LEE SWIFT/Examiner, Art Unit 1657