DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 1/8/24 has been considered and entered. Claims 1-8 remain active in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3605675 in combination with KR2015021482.
EP3605675 teaches a binder composition for positive electrodes in a secondary battery whereby the binder composition includes acrylonitrile monomers, 1,3 butadiene monomers and butyl acrylate (abstract and examples 1 and 10)
EP3605675 fails to teach the inclusion of acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate monomers (AAEM) instead of the butyl acrylate (BA).
KR2015021482 teaches a bind composition comprising acrylic resin prepared by polymerization of monomer mixture and 1-20 wt% of acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate monomers (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified EP3605675 binder composition to substitute acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate monomers (AAEM) for the butyl acrylate (BA) as evidenced by KR2015021482 with the expectation of reducing swelling and improving flexibility and integrity of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, while the Examiner acknowledges that EP3605675 teaches hydrogenated polymers, the Examiner takes the position that using non-hydrogenated or partially hydrogenated polymers would have been within the skill of one practicing in the art to obtain the binder with similar expectation of success absent a showing to the contrary.
Regarding claim 3, EP3605675 teaches a hydrogenated polymer (pg. 16, line 26 and example 10)
Regarding claims 4 and 5, KR2015021482 teaches a bind composition comprising acrylic resin prepared by polymerization of monomer mixture and 1-20 wt% of acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate monomers (abstract). Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of KR2015021482 wt% range that corresponds to the claimed range. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, EP3605675 teaches the nitrile rubber to include 35 mass% of acrylonitrile and 65 mass% of 1,3 butadiene monomers while KR2015021482 teaches a bind composition comprising acrylic resin prepared by polymerization of monomer mixture and 1-20 wt% of acetoacetoxyethyl methacrylate monomers (abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of KR2015021482 wt% range that corresponds to the claimed range. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974). While the Examiner acknowledges the fact that the acrylonitrile and butadiene monomers are measures in mass% not wt%, the Examiner takes the position that these would be similar and hence would meet the claimed limitations. In support of the position, in example 10 of EP3605675, the components are disclosed as parts which would be equivalent to wt%.
Regarding claim 8, EP3605675 teaches the binder composition to be useful for secondary battery positive electrodes (Title and abstract).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712