DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 5-7 in the reply filed on 11 May 2026 is acknowledged. In view of Applicant’s amendments, the restriction requirement is withdrawn, and claims 8-10 are rejoined and examined on the merits.
Because all claims previously withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142 have been rejoined, the restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on 11 March 2026 is hereby withdrawn. It is noted that once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim 5-10 are currently pending and under examination.
This Application is a national phase application under 35 U.S.C. §371 of International Application No. PCT/KR2023/006022, filed May 3, 2023, which claims priority to Korean Patent Application Nos.: 10-2023-0024598, filed February 23, 2023, and 10-2022-0109087, filed August 30, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (IDS; WO 2021/034164, Published 25 February 2021; US 2022/0339198, Published Oct. 27, 2022 utilized as an English translation, and referred to hereafter), in view of Brodie et al. (US 2020/0188440; Published 2020).
With regard to claims 5 and 8, Chang et al. teach treating a subject having Alzheimer’s disease by administering a composition comprising glia-like cells differentiated from a human mesenchymal stem cell (hMSC) to the subject, the benefits of administration including reducing the expression of inflammasomes, and improving long-term memory with respect to spatial perception ability and enhancing spatial cognitive ability (Abs.). As the glia-like cells are administered to the subject, administration provides for regeneration of glial cells in the subject.
Chang et al. do not specifically teach that the subject has vascular dementia.
Brodie et al. teach the treatment of aging-associated diseases, including Alzheimer’s disease and vascular dementia, by administering a composition comprising modified MSC, including MSC differentiated to astrocyte-like cells (Abs.; Para. 23, 102; Ex. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chang et al. and Brodie et al., because both teach the treatment of age-related dementias by administration of a composition comprising MSCs that have been differentiated to glia-like cells. The treatment of vascular dementia by administration of a composition comprising MSCs that have been differentiated to glia-like cells is known in the art as taught by Brodie et al. The treatment of a subject with vascular dementia using the method of Chang et al. amounts to the simple substitution of one known type of age-related dementia for another that is also known to be treatable with glia-like cells, and would have been expected to predictably and successfully provide treatment for the additional disease type. Further, the treatment of an additional type of age-related dementia, including vascular dementia as taught by Brodie et al., would have been expected to predictably improve the method of Chang et al. by allowing for the treatment of an additional type of dementia, thus rendering the method more useful for a wider population.
With regard to claims 6 and 9, Chang et al. teach that the hMSCs are derived from bone marrow, adipose tissue, blood, or skin (claim 4).
With regard to claims 7 and 10, Chang et al. teach that the hMSCs are passaged 10 to 15 times (claim 3), which is fully encompassed with in twice to 15 times.
Double Patenting
Claims 5-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 11 of copending Application No. 17/615575 (reference application), in view of Brodie et al. (US 2020/0188440; Published 2020). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both encompass a method of treating an age-related dementia in a subject by administering glia-like cells induced from late-passaged hMSCs, including 13 to 15 passages, the hMSCs derived from bone marrow, adipose tissue, blood, or skin (Instant claims: 5-10; Reference application claims 1, 4, 11). The reference application does not specifically teach that the subject has vascular dementia.
Brodie et al. teach the treatment of aging-associated diseases, including Alzheimer’s disease and vascular dementia, by administering a composition comprising modified MSC, including MSC differentiated to astrocyte-like cells (Abs.; Para. 23, 102; Ex. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the reference application and Brodie et al., because both teach the treatment of age-related dementias by administration of a composition comprising MSCs that have been differentiated to glia-like cells. The treatment of vascular dementia by administration of a composition comprising MSCs that have been differentiated to glia-like cells is known in the art as taught by Brodie et al. The treatment of a subject with vascular dementia using the method of the reference application amounts to the simple substitution of one known type of age-related dementia for another that is also known to be treatable with glia-like cells, and would have been expected to predictably and successfully provide treatment for the additional disease type. Further, the treatment of an additional type of age-related dementia, including vascular dementia as taught by Brodie et al., would have been expected to predictably improve the method of the reference application by allowing for the treatment of an additional type of dementia, thus rendering the method more useful for a wider population.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653