DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 have been cancelled.
Claims 5-15 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “concentrate valve each concentrate valve” in lines 13-14 should be replaced with --concentrate valve, each concentrate valve--.
Claim 13: “at least sensor” in line 1 should be replaced with --at least one sensor--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the flow of input water" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-15 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deslauniers (WO 95/29750).
With respect to claims 5-7, Deslauniers discloses a filtration system, as shown in Fig. 1, having the method steps of: providing an assembly of at least two fluidly linked reverse osmosis units 60, 60’ (water treatment systems), each of said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’ having reverse osmosis components, as shown in Fig. 1; said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’, fluidly linked in parallel with respect to the flow of input water, as shown in Fig. 1; said assembly having an input water line 22, as shown in Fig. 1, a product water line 68, as shown in Fig. 1, and a concentrate line 62, as shown in Fig. 1, wherein said input water line 22, said product water line 68 and said concentrate line 62 fluidly link said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’, as shown in Fig. 1; said concentrate line 62 having at least one concentrate valve 74 each concentrate valve 74 corresponding to at least one of said water treatment systems 60, 60’, as shown in Fig. 1; flowing feed water through said input water line 22 to each of said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’, wherein each of said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’ form concentrate and product water, as shown in Fig. 1; wherein concentrate from at least one of said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’ corresponding to said at least one of said concentrate valve 74 flows to mix with feed water, as shown in Fig. 1; and flowing said mix of feed water and concentrate to said input water line 22 of a water treatment system 60, 60’, in said assembly, as shown in Fig. 1 (see page 8, lines 20-26).
Deslauniers does not disclose closing at least one concentrate valve of said at least one concentrate valves; wherein closing of said at least one concentrate valve reverses the flow of concentrate in a section of said concentrate line; and wherein one concentrate valve is closed. However, Deslauniers teaches valves 74 and 92, as shown in Fig. 1. Valve 74 directs flow through concentrate line 62 and to drain line 94 and valve 92. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to close at least one concentrate valve, as claimed by applicant, in the system disclosed by Deslauniers, in order to direct the concentrate to a desired line and optimize the filtration system. It is obvious that closing concentrate valve 92 would reverse the flow of concentrate in a section of the concentrate line 62.
With respect to claim 8, Deslauniers discloses wherein concentrate from one water systems of said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’ is mixed with feed water, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 9, Deslauniers discloses wherein concentrate from at least two treatment systems of said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’ is mixed with feed water, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 10, Deslauniers discloses wherein concentrate from at least three treatment systems 60, 60’, 90, of said at least two water treatment systems, is mixed with feed water, as shown in Fig. 1 (see page 9, lines 1-10).
With respect to claim 11, Deslauniers discloses wherein said at least one concentrate valve 74 is selected from the group consisting of manual valves, an automatic valve, solenoid valves and combinations thereof, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 12, Deslauniers discloses wherein said assembly includes at least one external pump 56, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 13, Deslauniers discloses wherein said assembly further comprises at least sensor 52 for monitoring the TDS content of said mix of feed water and concentrate, as shown in Fig. 1 (see page 7, lines 13-20).
With respect to claim 14, Deslauniers discloses wherein said at least two water treatment systems 60, 60’ are identical with respect to components contained therein, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 15, Deslauniers lacks wherein at least one water treatment system may be delinked from said assembly without affect the other systems in the assembly. However, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to perform maintenance of a system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 8, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Deslauniers does not disclose an assembly of water treatment systems where concentrate may be flowed from one or more systems in the assembly to one or more other systems in the assembly: This argument is not persuasive. Deslauniers teaches an assembly of water treatment systems 60, 60’, as shown in Fig. 1, where concentrate may be flowed from one or more systems in the assembly to one or more other systems in the assembly, since Deslauniers teaches that the concentrate is recycled by means of line 62 to inlet line 22 (see page 8, lines 20-26). This means concentrate may be flowed from one system 60 to other system 60’ in the assembly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773