DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahalank (US Publication 2020/0021953 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 9-10, Mahalank (US Publication 2020/0021953 A1) teaches, a method for processing a message, comprising: receiving a short message (see paragraph 57 and figure 8; FIG. 8 is a flow chart illustrating exemplary steps for SMS-based IoT device triggering using an MTC-IWF to generate and send SMS-based IoT device trigger messages; see paragraph 58; If the IoT device is stationary, control proceeds to step 402, where the MTC-IWF generates and sends an SMS-based IoT trigger message to the serving node for the stationary IoT device); acquiring a signaling simplification flow corresponding to the short message, wherein the signaling simplification flow is generated after simplifying a signaling standard flow (see paragraph 58; For stationary IoT devices, such as utility meters, MTC-IWF 120 may be configured with the IoT device identity and, the address of the serving MME, MSC, SSP, or other serving node); and performing a signaling operation on the short message according to the signaling simplification flow (see figure 8, the determination of the successful deliver in step 406; if the delivery is successful the operation moves to step 408 and if not, the operation moves to step 410; both paths read on the signaling operation).
In regards to claims 2 and 15, Mahalank teaches, wherein the step of obtaining a signaling simplification flow corresponding to the short message comprises: sending a signaling request for obtaining the signaling simplification flow to a signaling optimization module (see figure 2, line 2, paragraph 32; MTC-IWF 120 sends a subscriber information request); receiving a signaling response fed back by the signaling optimization module (see figure 2, line 3, paragraph 33; In line 3 of the message flow diagram, HSS/HLR 124 sends a subscriber information response to MTC-IWF 120); when the signaling simplification flow carried in the signaling response is available, executing a subsequent signaling operation on the short message according to the signaling simplification flow (see figure 2 lines/step 4a and the subsequent steps after step 4a); and when the signaling simplification flow carried in the signaling response is unavailable, or the signaling simplification flow is not carried, or the signaling response is not received within a pre-set time, executing a signaling operation on the short message according to the signaling standard flow corresponding to the short message (see figure 5 and paragraph 50; In line 5, MME 114 attempts to deliver the trigger message to IoT device 104 and determines that IoT device 104 is not reachable. In line 6, MME 114 responds to MTC-IWF 120 indicating that IoT device 104 is not reachable. In response, MTC-IWF 120 buffers the SMS message including the trigger message for a redelivery attempt).
In regards to claims 3 and 16, Mahalank teaches wherein a process of generating the signaling simplification flow by the signaling optimization module comprises: inquiring whether history signaling cache data of a same type of history short messages sent by the short message sending end is locally cached; and when the history signaling cache data is found, simplifying the signaling standard flow based on the history signaling cache data to obtain the signaling simplification flow (see paragraph 32; In line 2 of the message flow diagram, MTC-IWF 120 sends a subscriber information request through the S6m interface to HSS/HLR 124 to resolve the external identifier or MSISDN to an international mobile station identifier (IMSI) and retrieve the related HSS stored routing information including the identities of the IoT device's serving core network (CN) node(s)).
In regards to claim 8, Mahalank teaches, wherein the short message comprises any one of the following: a registration message, a deregistration message, a mobile originate message and a mobile terminated message (see paragraph 30; IoT devices are triggered using SMS message generated by SMS-SC 108).
In regards to claim 11, Mahalank teaches the step of inquiring whether history signaling cache data of a same type of history short messages sent by the short message sending end is locally cached comprises: identifying the short message sending end according to an International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (IMSI) carried in the signaling request; the IMSI is used as a key to inquiry whether history signaling cache data of the same type of history short messages sent by the short message sending end is locally cached (see paragraph 32; MTC-IWF 120 sends a subscriber information request through the S6m interface to HSS/HLR 124 to resolve the external identifier or MSISDN to an international mobile station identifier (IMSI) and retrieve the related HSS stored routing information including the identities of the IoT device's serving core network (CN) node(s)).
Allowable Subject Matter & Relevant Prior Art
Claims 4-7, 12-14 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art Lu et al. (US Publication 2023/0247394 A1) teaches, a process for UE registration for SMS; the system for the process includes a SMS function.
Prior art Zamora et al. (US Publication 2022/0360954 A1) teaches, in figure 6, an example of a MT-SMS delivery reattempt using a UE Ready for SMS event and SMS Registration Notification Flag.
In regards to claims 4 and 17, the cited prior art fails to particularly teach, the determining of the running state as claimed.
In regards to claim 7, claim 13, claim 14 and also claim 20, the cited prior art fails to particularly teach, the trigger determination being carried out based on the success rate of the delivery of the short message as claimed.
In regards to claim 12, the cited prior art fails to tech, deleting a signaling part for generating the history signaling cache data from the signaling standard flow to obtain the simplified signaling flow.
Conclusion
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466