This office action is in response to application filed 01/08/2024.
Claims 1-14 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims fail to place the invention squarely within one statutory class of invention. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term "a computer readable storage medium ", the term is not limited to non-transitory computer readable storage media, and can include transitory media (See http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/comments/2009-08-25_interim_101_instructions.pdf). The transitory media generally stores data/information in form of signals. Signals are form of energy. As such, the claim is drawn to a form of energy and/or signal per se. Energy is not one of the four categories of invention and therefore this claim(s) is/are not statutory. Energy is not a series of steps or acts and thus is not a process. Energy is not a physical article or object and as such is not a machine or manufacture. Energy is not a combination of substances and therefore not a composition of matter. Signal per se does not appear to be a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
[Claims that recite nothing but the physical characteristics of a form of energy, such as frequency, voltage or the strength of a magnetic field, define energy or magnetism, per se, and as such are nonstatutory natural phenomena. O'Reilly, 56 U. S. (15 How.) at 112-14. See also In re Nuijten. Docket no. 2006-1371 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 20, 2007)(slip. Op. at 18): "A propagating signal is not a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter"]
Thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaikkonen et al. (US 2022/0322445 A1) in view of Zhao et al. (WO 2016/165365 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13 and 14, Kaikkonen discloses a user equipment (UE), method or computer readable storage medium or an apparatus configured to transmit a first message of a random access procedure in a wireless communication system (see para. 0007), the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver (see fig. 4B);
at least one processor (see fig. 4B); and
at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (see fig. 4B) comprising:
receiving first information regarding a configuration of the random access procedure through the at least one transceiver (see para. 0046-0050, discloses as an example configuring of enabling LBT for RACH utilizing various configuration);
obtaining second information regarding a plurality of transmission occasions for transmission of the first message based on the first information (see para. 0046-0050, discloses SSB, preambles and ROs are linked such that RO can be determined);
determining an observation period based on a reference point related to the observation period (see para. 0035, discloses observation period for maintain duty cycle, see also para. 0059, discloses a bitmap representing ROs, therefore the start time is reference point); and
transmitting the first message on a transmission occasion within a period corresponding to a duty cycle of the observation period among the plurality of transmission occasions through the at least one transceiver without channel sensing (see para. 0035, 0046-0050, 0052-0056, discloses transmission of preamble in RO without LBT).
Kaikkonen fails to disclose but Zhao discloses wherein the reference point is configured based on a specific system frame number (SFN) or a specific slot (see page 12, paragraph 5-page 13, para. 5, discloses the reference point to be based on specific slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include wherein the reference point is configured based on a specific system frame number (SFN) or a specific slot as described by Zhao.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow transmission of short important messages without performing LBT.
Regarding claims 2, 8, Kaikkonen discloses the method wherein based on that all of the plurality of transmission occasions within the observation period are included in the duty cycle, the first message is transmitted without the channel sensing (see para. 0046-0049, describes various scenario of performing first transmission without channel sensing or applying SCSe).
Regarding claims 3, 9, Kaikkonen discloses the method wherein based on that the transmission occasion for the first message is not included in the duty cycle, the first message is transmitted after performing the channel sensing (see para. 0046-0050, discloses when first message is not part of duty cycle, i.e. LBT was performed, then performing LBT and then transmitting the message).
Regarding claims 4, 10, Kaikkonen discloses the method wherein based on that information regarding the reference point is not received, the reference point is set to an SFN with index 0 (note that this limitation is optional given the or statement of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, 11, Kaikkonen discloses the method wherein based on that the transmission occasion for the first message is not included in the duty cycle, the transmission of the first message is dropped (see para. 0056, discloses dropping, i.e. not transmitting when LBT is unsuccessful).
Regarding claims 6, 12, Kaikkonen discloses the method wherein the first message is a message 1 (Msg 1) or a message A (Msg A) (see para. 0046-0056), and wherein the transmission occasion is a random access channel (RACH) occasion for the Msg 1, a RACH occasion for the Msg A, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion for the Msg A (see para. 0046-0056, discloses RO for preamble, msg1/A).
Conclusion
NISHANT B. DIVECHA
Supervisory Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419