DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 68-69, 71-74, 78, 80-81, 83-84, 86-87, 89-90, 92-93, 95 and 98-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a (1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rouse et al., (hereinafter Rouse’465), United State Patent No. 10,428,465 and evidenced by Hongjia et al., (hereinafter Hongjia) in “Chemical composition and characterization of cellulose for Agave as a fast growing, drought-tolerant biofuels feedstock.”
With regard to claims 68-69, 71-74 and 80-81, 83-84, 86-87, 89-90, Rouse’465 discloses tissue products comprising agave fibers and methods of producing the same. Rouse’465 teaches fiber derived from: non-wood plants of the genus Agave, of the family Asparagaceae, such as, Agave tequilana, Agave sisalana and Agave fourcroydes, and part of the succulent family as-well, which may be used in the manufacture of tissue products without sacrificing important tissue properties such as strength, durability, bulk and stiffness. The tissues can be single or multi-ply; see column 2, lines 54-55 and column 7, lines 19-33. Rouse’465 teaches tissues comprising agave fiber, having a geometric mean tensile (GMT) from about 600 g/3” to about 1,200 g/3” (converts to about 77 N/m to 155 N/m), sheet bulk greater than about 12.0 cc/q, and a stiffness index of less than about; see column. 1, line 47 to column 2, line 5. In an embodiment, it provides a tissue product comprising at least about 16 wt.% of the tissue product, high yield agave fiber, and comprising less than about 35 wt.% of the tissue product, long average fiber length wood pulp fibers, such as NSWK and SSW, the tissue product having a sheet bulk greater than about 12.0 cc/g, a Stiffness Index less than about 10.0 and a CD Durability greater than about 13.0; see column, 2, lines 11-18. The single-ply through-air dried tissue product has a basis weight from about 35 to about 45 g/m2; see column 2, lines 25-27, but also teaches that the formation of facial tissues; see column 2, lines 51-55, which are known to have basis weight of less than 30 gsm1. Rouse’465teaches the making of the same product as claimed in the specification and previous claims 96-97, now cancelled; see column 2, lines 51-55. Although Rouse’465 does not explicitly teach the absorbency, this property must inherently be within the claimed range, since the products are made using the same raw materials at the same or overlapping amounts and using the same process as disclosed. The hemicellulose and lignin content of Asparagaceae, such as, Agave tequilana, Agave sisalana and Agave fourcroydes are within the claimed range as evidenced by table 1 on page 4952 of Hongjia.
With regard to claims 78 and 80, Rouse’465 teaches that the high yield agave fiber used has a fiber length of 1.1 mm; see Table 1 on column 6.
Regarding to claims 90, 92-93 and 95, Rouse’465 discloses the use of fibers, see column 5, lines 14-58, which are inherently never-dried fibers, i.e., never been previously used or used as a dry-market pulp.
It seems that the reference teaches all the limitations of the claims or at the very least the minor modification(s) to obtain the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 68-69, 71-74, 78, 80-81, 83-84, 86-87, 89-90, 92-93, 95 and 98-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a (1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rouse et al., (hereinafter Rouse’109), WO 2018/156109 A1 as evidenced by Hongjia, cited above.
With regard to claims 68-69, 71-74 and 80-81, 83-84, 86-87, 89-90, Rouse’109 discloses tissue products comprising agave fibers and methods of producing the same. Rouse teaches fiber derived from: non-wood plants including Agave tequilana, Agave sisalana, Agave fourcroydes, Phyllostachys edulis, Bambusa vulgaris, Phyllostachys nigra, etc.; see page 3, lines 17-21, along with wood fibers. Rouse’109 teaches that the non-wood fibers are added in amounts between 5 to 50% by weight; see page 2, line 11 through page 3, line 9 and page 8, lines 18-25, and teaches that the tissues can be single or multi-ply; see page 6, lines 9-13 and page 11, lines 3-12. Although Rouse’109 teaches basis weight greater than 30 gsm, but Rouse’109 also teaches that the tissues can be also to facial tissues; see page 5, lines 25-28 and it is well-known that such tissues have basis weight of less than 30 gsm and teaches tissues comprising non-wood fibers, having a geometric mean tensile (GMT) from about 500 g/3” to about 1,200 g/3” (converts to about 64 N/m to 155 N/m); see paragraph bridging pages 6 and 7. Rouse’109 teaches the making of the same product as claimed disclosed; see page 5, lines 25-28. Although Rouse does not explicitly teach the absorbency, this property must inherently be within the claimed range, since the products are made using the same raw materials at the same or overlapping amounts and using the same process as disclosed. As to the amount of Hemicellulose, Rouse’109 teaches the use of agave which includes succulents and have hemicellulose and lignin content within eth claimed range; (Hongjia table 1 on page 4952).
With regard to claims 78 and 80, Rouse’109 teaches that the non-wood fibers used has a fiber length between 1.0 to 3 mm; see paragraph bridging pages 8 and 9 and teaches the Agave fiber used has length within the claimed range, 1.0-3.0; see page 20, lines 1-3.
Regarding to claims 90, 92-93 and 95, Rouse’109 discloses the use of never-dried non-wood, since Rouse’109 teaches the use of Bamboo that has been Kraft pulped, no secondary or re-pulped non-wood fibers. The same is shown for the wood pulp/fibers; see examples, starting on page 17.
With regard to claims 98-99, Rouse teaches the use of the Poaceae family; see page 5, line 23.
It seems that the reference teaches all the limitations of the claims or at the very least the minor modification(s) to obtain the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 68-69, 71-74, 78, 80-81, 83-84, 86-87, 89-90, 92-93, 95 and 98-99 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Tissue Paper Material and Tissue Paper Product including Non-Wood Fibres.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 Facial tissue typically has a basis weight between 14 and 20 grams per square meter (gsm). This low basis weight contributes to the softness and absorbency of facial tissues. The specific weight can vary slightly depending on the manufacturer and product specifications, but this range is common for facial tissue and paper handkerchiefs according to Wikipedia