DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Actions on claims 1 – 2 and 4 – 13. Claim 3 is cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 2 and 4 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karsten (DE 102017216917 A1) as cited by Applicant – see machine translation provided in view of Abe et al. (JP 2020005104 A) citing equivalent (U. S. 2021/0261068 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Karsten teaches a system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) comprising: a cleaning device (droplet dispenser, 23; Fig. 3B) including a plurality of nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) configured to deposit droplets of liquid on an acceleration surface (protective screen, 4) situated upstream of the detection surface (field of view, 8), a tank (Paragraph [0038]) connected to the cleaning device (23) and configured to store the liquid (Paragraph [0038]), and a device for accelerating the movement of the droplets of liquid (superhydrophobic layer, 30 with hydrophobic layer of 4; Paragraph [0024]) from the acceleration surface (4) onto the detection surface (Paragraph [0025]).
Karsten does explicitly teach the cleaning system wherein the liquid has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface.
Abe, however, teaches the liquid (20) has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface (Paragraphs [0034] and [0047]; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Karsten to explicitly teach the liquid has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface, as taught by Abe, to provide a system that enhances wetting thus improving contact and signal transfer.
Regarding Claim 2, Karsten teaches the cleaning system of claim 1 as discussed above.
Karsten teaches droplets but does not explicitly teach the droplets have a volume of between 2 L and 50 L.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Karsten to explicitly teach the droplets have a volume of between 2 L and 50 L, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the
size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 4, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) are spaced apart from one another such that said droplets form a water front (Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 5, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said cleaning device (23) further comprises a perforated bar (Annotated Fig. 3B) connected on one side to said nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) and on another side to said tank (Paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 6, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said cleaning device (23) further comprises comprising a support element for the perforated bar (Annotated Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 7, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said acceleration device is: an air flow-projection device, or a device composed of a grid of electrodes that is configured to be passed through by an electrical current, or a device configured to create a Leiden frost effect, or a device configured to synthesize an ultrasonic wave propagating in the acceleration surface, or a device composed of particles of different polarities (Karsten teaches superhydrophobic layer as discussed in Paragraph [0038] which inherently teaches a composite material combining low surface energy chemistry with nanoscale surface roughness to trap air, creating a texture where water beads up and rolls off effortlessly, preventing wetting and allowing for self-cleaning; and thus teaches a device composed of particles of different polarities).
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Karsten teaches an assembly (Fig. 3B) comprising a detection surface (8) of a sensor (camera, 3) and a cleaning system (Fig. 3B), with the cleaning system (Fig. 3B) including a cleaning device (23) with a plurality of nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) configured to deposit droplets of liquid on an acceleration surface (protective screen, 4) situated upstream of the detection surface (Fig. 3B), a tank (Paragraph [0038]) connected to the cleaning device (23) and configured to store the liquid (Paragraph [0038]), and a device for accelerating the movement of the droplets of liquid (superhydrophobic layer, 30 with hydrophobic layer of 4; Paragraph [0024]) from the acceleration surface (4) onto the detection surface (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding Claim 9, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) wherein the sensor (3) is an optical sensor (camera, 3; Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 10, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) the detection surface and the acceleration surface form part of the sensor or the detection surface (8) and the acceleration surface (4) do not form part of the sensor (Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 11, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) wherein the detection surface (8) and the acceleration surface (4) are on the same plane (Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 12, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) a portion of the detection surface (8) is partially coincident with a portion of the acceleration surface (4; Fig. 3B).
Regarding Independent Claim 13, Karsten teaches a method for cleaning a detection surface (8) of a sensor (3) for a vehicle comprising: depositing droplets of liquid on an acceleration surface (4) of the sensor (3); the acceleration surface (4) being situated upstream of the detection surface (8), by means of a plurality of nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) of a cleaning device (23), accelerating the movement of the droplets of liquid from the acceleration surface (4) onto the detection surface (8) by means of an acceleration device (30; Paragraph [0038]).
Karsten does explicitly teach the cleaning system wherein the liquid has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface.
Abe, however, teaches the liquid (20) has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface (Paragraphs [0034] and [0047]; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Karsten to explicitly teach the liquid has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface, as taught by Abe, to provide a system that enhances wetting thus improving contact and signal transfer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated February 10, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Abe.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723