DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 13 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2024 and 07/18/205 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a device for accelerating the movement of droplets in at least claim 1. A review of the specification identifies the accelerating device as an air flow projection device or fan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karsten (DE 102017216917 A1) as cited by Applicant – see machine translation provided.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Karsten teaches a system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) comprising: a cleaning device (droplet dispenser, 23; Fig. 3B) including a plurality of nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) configured to deposit droplets of liquid on an acceleration surface (protective screen, 4) situated upstream of the detection surface (field of view, 8), a tank (Paragraph [0038]) connected to the cleaning device (23) and configured to store the liquid (Paragraph [0038]), and a device for accelerating the movement of the droplets of liquid (superhydrophobic layer, 30 with hydrophobic layer of 4; Paragraph [0024]) from the acceleration surface (4) onto the detection surface (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding Claim 3, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein the liquid has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface (the superhydrophobic layer, 30 of Karsten causes the liquid to bead up and forms drops (Paragraph [0025]), thus the liquid has a surface tension greater than a surface tension of said detection surface).
Regarding Claim 4, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) are spaced apart from one another such that said droplets form a water front (Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 5, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said cleaning device (23) further comprises a perforated bar (Annotated Fig. 3B) connected on one side to said nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) and on another side to said tank (Paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 6, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said cleaning device (23) further comprises comprising a support element for the perforated bar (Annotated Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 7, Karsten teaches the cleaning system for cleaning a detection surface sensor (Fig. 3B) wherein said acceleration device is: an air flow-projection device, or a device composed of a grid of electrodes that is configured to be passed through by an electrical current, or a device configured to create a Leiden frost effect, or a device configured to synthesize an ultrasonic wave propagating in the acceleration surface, or a device composed of particles of different polarities (Karsten teaches superhydrophobic layer as discussed in Paragraph [0038] which inherently teaches a composite material combining low surface energy chemistry with nanoscale surface roughness to trap air, creating a texture where water beads up and rolls off effortlessly, preventing wetting and allowing for self-cleaning; and thus teaches a device composed of particles of different polarities).
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Karsten teaches an assembly (Fig. 3B) comprising a detection surface (8) of a sensor (camera, 3) and a cleaning system (Fig. 3B), with the cleaning system (Fig. 3B) including a cleaning device (23) with a plurality of nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) configured to deposit droplets of liquid on an acceleration surface (protective screen, 4) situated upstream of the detection surface (Fig. 3B), a tank (Paragraph [0038]) connected to the cleaning device (23) and configured to store the liquid (Paragraph [0038]), and a device for accelerating the movement of the droplets of liquid (superhydrophobic layer, 30 with hydrophobic layer of 4; Paragraph [0024]) from the acceleration surface (4) onto the detection surface (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding Claim 9, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) wherein the sensor (3) is an optical sensor (camera, 3; Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 10, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) the detection surface and the acceleration surface form part of the sensor or the detection surface (8) and the acceleration surface (4) do not form part of the sensor (Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 11, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) wherein the detection surface (8) and the acceleration surface (4) are on the same plane (Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 12, Karsten teaches the assembly (Fig. 3B) a portion of the detection surface (8) is partially coincident with a portion of the acceleration surface (4; Fig. 3B).
Regarding Independent Claim 13, Karsten teaches a method for cleaning a detection surface (8) of a sensor (3) for a vehicle comprising: depositing droplets of liquid on an acceleration surface (4) of the sensor (3); the acceleration surface (4) being situated upstream of the detection surface (8), by means of a plurality of nozzles (Annotated Fig. 3B) of a cleaning device (23), accelerating the movement of the droplets of liquid from the acceleration surface (4) onto the detection surface (8) by means of an acceleration device (30; Paragraph [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karsten (DE 102017216917 A1) as cited by Applicant – see machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 2, Karsten teaches the cleaning system of claim 1 as discussed above.
Karsten teaches droplets but does not explicitly teach the droplets have a volume of between 2 L and 50 L.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Karsten to explicitly teach the droplets have a volume of between 2 L and 50 L, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the
size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: WO 2020254077 A1 to Gunter teaches a vehicle which preferably comprises an air brake that is fed from a compressed air line. A viewing window is located on the outside of the vehicle. An optical device, for example a light source or a light detector, is protected toward the outside by the viewing window. At least one gas nozzle is fed from the compressed air line. The gas nozzle is mounted near the viewing window and is designed to produce a gas stream across the viewing window during travel of the vehicle.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723