Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants’ amendment to claims 1 and 3 cured the deficiencies indicated by the examiner in the previous Office Action dated 6/27/2025. Objection to the drawings and rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as the claims being indefinite are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0354888 to Nakamura et al. (hereinafter, “Nakamura”), in view of International Application Publication No. WO 2020/159194 to Kwon et al. (hereinafter, “Kwon”).
Regarding clam 1, Nakamura in figures 1-6, 8 and 20 discloses a display device comprising: a display panel (Fig. 1-2: panel 21); a frame (frame 22 containing display body 61) which is located in a rear of the display panel (21), and to which the display panel is coupled; and a communication module (smart unit 62 containing antenna 121) which is adjacent to one side of the frame (22/61. As shown in figures 2, 6, and 20), is coupled to the frame(22/61), and has an antenna unit (121).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose “wherein the communication module comprises a plate thermally coupled to a rear surface of the antenna unit via a thermally conductive pad, wherein the plate is configured to dissipate heat generated from the antenna unit, and wherein a portion of the plate is positioned spaced apart from the antenna unit.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kwon in figures 1-3D teaches a display device (the electronic device 200/101 ) comprising: a display panel (display 201); a frame (housing 200 with side surfaces 221 and 222) which is located in a rear of the display panel (201, see Fig. 2A), and to which the display panel is coupled (Fig. 2A); and a communication module (antenna module 310) which is adjacent to one side of the frame (221/222 including side housing 32), is coupled to the frame (Fig. 3B), and has an antenna unit (para. [59]), wherein the communication module comprises a plate (conductor plate 320) thermally coupled to in contact with a rear surface of the antenna unit (310) via a thermally conductive pad (thermal interfacing materials (TIMs) 340. See Para. [63]), wherein the plate (320) is configured to dissipate heat generated from the antenna unit (310, see Para. [66]), and wherein a portion of the plate (320) is positioned spaced apart from the antenna unit (310, see Fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of “a plate thermally coupled to a rear surface of the antenna unit via a thermally conductive pad, wherein the plate is configured to dissipate heat generated from the antenna unit, and wherein a portion of the plate is positioned spaced apart from the antenna unit” according to Kwon with the display device of Nakamura to form the claimed invention to decrease the heat generated by the antenna module, as well as improve a structure for antenna heat emission that minimizes a mounting space (Kwon para. [5-7]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura in figure 2 discloses a display device wherein the antenna unit (62 with antenna 121) is located below a lower side of the frame (61). Moreover, Nakamura in figure 6 teaches a plate (rear cover 104) wherein the plate (104) extends upward from the antenna unit (121).
In addition, Shin in figure 8 teaches a display device wherein the plate (9) extends upward from the antenna unit (multi-band antenna line installing unit 41 and antenna unit 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of “a plate [that ]extends upward from the antenna unit” as taught by Shin with the device of Nakamura to form the claimed invention so that the shielding of electromagnetic wave due to the liquid crystal and the liquid crystal frame can be prevented, and efficiency of the radio frequency communication is improved (Shin para. [0065-0066]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura in figures 3-6 teaches a display device wherein the communication module comprises a housing (112) which provides an internal space where the antenna unit (121) is located, wherein the housing (112) comprises a hole (connection member 103) which is formed to penetrate the housing (112), and which faces a rear surface of the antenna unit (Fig. 5-6, hole formed on surface of rear cover 104).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura in figures 6, 8 and 14 discloses a display device wherein the frame (Fig. 6: display body 61) further comprises a lower fixing portion (connection member 103) protruding in a rearward direction from the frame (61), wherein the communication module comprises: a front housing (front panel 101) coupled to the lower fixing portion (103) at a rear of the frame (61); and a rear housing (rear cover 104) coupled to the lower fixing portion (103) at a rear of the front housing (101).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura in figures 8 and 14 discloses a display device wherein the frame (61) further comprises a pressing portion (103, see para. [0123]) which is formed by pressing one side of the frame (61) to the other side (pressing to the front of the display device), and at which the lower fixing portion is located (please see figure 8, 14 and para. [0123]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pressing portion )][AltContent: textbox (Lower fixing portion )][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Nakamura to use the pressing portion as claimed so that the display body 61 is attachable thereto and detachable therefrom. (Nakamura para. [0123])
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura in figure 14 teaches a display device further comprising a side frame (102d) which extends along the one side of the frame (101), which is fixed to the pressing portion (103), and through which the lower fixing portion passes (103 as reproduced in 8 above). (See also Figures 20 and 22 of Nakamura)
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura and Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0028236 to Yeh et al. (hereinafter, “Yeh”).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura in figures 2-6 discloses a display device wherein the antenna unit (121) is adjacent to one side of the frame at the outside of the frame (frame body 61, see Fig. 6), wherein a portion of the communication module (smart unit 62) surrounds the antenna unit (121), is spaced apart from the antenna unit (see Fig. 6).
Nakamura does not disclose a portion of the communication module has a thickness of 1 to 1.5 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yeh in figures 1A-3A teaches a display device having an antenna unit (20), and wherein a portion of the communication module (electronic device casing 100) has a thickness of 1 to 1.5 mm. (See para. [0046]: wherein the thickness of the communication module may vary depending on the support needed to maintain the strength of the fibers composing the communication module)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Yeh with the device according to Nakamura to form the claimed invention, since the thickness of the communication module is not a limiting factor as long as the materials used allows antenna signals to pass through (see Yeh para. [0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura and Kwon do not explicitly disclose: wherein a portion of the communication module is located in front of the antenna unit, and comprises a polycarbonate (PC) material.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yeh in figures 1A-3A teaches a display device comprising a polycarbonate (PC) material. (Yeh para. [0045 and 0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Yeh with the device according to Nakamura as modified to form the claimed invention, since the thickness and material of the communication module is not a limiting factor as long as the materials used allow antenna signals to pass through (see Yeh para. [0045-0046]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura and Kwon, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0151328 to Shin et al. (hereinafter, “Shin’328”).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura as modified above does not disclose a display device further comprising a base which is located between the frame and the front housing, and through which the lower fixing portion passes, wherein the base comprises a boss protruding from the base toward the front housing and inserted into the front housing.
However, Shin’328 in figure 9 teaches a display device further comprising a base (plate portion 83) which is located between the frame (panel frame 68) and the front housing (outer case 72), and through which the lower fixing portion passes (holes 88a, 88b), wherein the base (83) comprises a boss (fixing portions 84 and 85) protruding from the base (83) toward the front housing and inserted into the front housing (72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Shin’328 of a base which is located between the frame and the front housing, and through which the lower fixing portion passes, wherein the base comprises a boss protruding from the base toward the front housing and inserted into the front housing, with the device according to Nakamura to form the claimed invention to provide an antenna for radio communication which is installed to be electrically connected to a panel frame supporting a display in a state of being positioned within the case so that a wider grounding area is obtained and a transmitting and receiving efficiency can be heightened even without manipulation of the antenna by a user, and a mobile electronic equipment with the antenna. (Shin’328 para. [0017])
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura and Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0064904 to Luo et al. (hereinafter, “Luo”)
Regarding claim 15, Nakamura in figures 2-8 discloses a display device wherein the communication module (smart unit 62) further comprises: a housing (storage case 102) which provides an internal space where the antenna unit is located (Fig. 3-6 and 8 with antenna unit 121); an IR module (infrared rays (IR) receiving unit 173, evident in para. [0095-096] and Fig. 7) which is located in the internal space of the housing (62, see para. [0096], [0138], [0157] and Fig. 7-8), and which is adjacent to the antenna unit (121); and an input unit (brightness sensor 172, camera 175, microphones 176/177, and/or USB terminal connections 180/181) adjacent to the IR module (173), wherein the antenna unit comprises: a first antenna unit (one of a Bluetooth antenna 186, near field communication (NFC) antenna 187 or Wi-Fi antenna 188, evident in figure 9); and a second antenna unit (another one of 186/187/188) opposite to the first antenna unit, wherein the input unit (180/181) is located above a lower end of the housing (102, see Fig. 6 and 8).
Nakamura as modified above does not disclose: a second antenna unit opposite to the first antenna unit with respect to the IR module.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo in figures 1-2 and 5 teaches as display module wherein the antenna unit comprises: a first antenna unit (Fig. 1: first Wi-Fi antenna 1111); and a second antenna unit (second Wi-Fi antenna 1112) opposite to the first antenna unit (1111) with respect to the IR module (Fig. 2: photosensor 14/ infrared remote controller 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of a second antenna unit opposite to the first antenna unit with respect to the IR module according to Luo with the display device of Nakamura as modified above to form the claimed invention to reduce the width of the printed circuit board body and reduce antenna coupling by increasing the distance between each antenna (see Luo para. [0050]). Thus, creating a simple structure, convenient and fast assembly, greatly improving production efficiency, and greatly reducing the error rate of factory assembly. At the same time, the integrated module has good assembly position, strong reusability and versatility, and is capable of being adapted to multiple models, avoiding the waste caused by one integrated module only corresponding to one model (see Luo para. [0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regards to claim 3, the pertinent prior art, as a whole, when taken alone, or in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicants. For example, the prior art of record does not reasonably teach or suggest a display device wherein the antenna unit comprises: a first antenna unit; and a second antenna unit spaced apart from the first antenna unit in a longitudinal direction of one side of the frame, wherein the plate comprises: a first plate in contact with a rear surface of the first antenna unit; a second plate in contact with a rear surface of the second antenna unit; and a third plate positioned between the first plate and the second plate and connected to the first plate and the second plate.
Accordingly, claim 4 would be allowed for depending on the claim containing the allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, Hotta in figure 12 discloses a display device wherein the communication module further comprises a back cover (rear wall 32) covering a rear of the frame (peripheral wall 33), wherein a lower portion of the plate (6) is in contact with a rear surface of the antenna unit (5a).
However, the prior art of record does not reasonably teach or suggest a display device wherein an upper portion of the plate is located between the frame and the back cover, wherein the communication module further comprises a gap pad which is located between the upper portion of the plate and the back cover, and which is in contact with the upper portion of the plate and the back cover.
Accordingly, claims 6-7 would be allowed for depending on the claim containing the allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853