DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to Applicant's Amendment and Remarks filed in reply to the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 12, 2026.
By that response, claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 14, 15, 18–20, 22, 24 and 26 have been amended, claim 12 has been cancelled, and new claim 30 has been added. Claims 1–8, 11, 14–22, 24, 26 and 30 are pending in the application. New claim 30 has been reviewed and is drawn to the elected species of FIG. 4. Claims 1, 7, 8, 14 and 30 are examined on the merits herein.
The rejections of claims 1, 6–8, 12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) set forth in the prior Office Action are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendments and the cancellation of claim 12, except to the extent newly set forth below. The rejection of claims 1, 7, 8 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and the rejections of claims 6 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are likewise withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendments to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claim 1 requires, in step (b), that the cooling of the separated natural gas stream occur "in at least a first heat exchanger," and requires, in step (e), that the methane-rich overhead stream be cooled "in the first heat exchanger" — that is, claim 1 now requires that one and the same heat exchanger perform both the feed pre-cooling duty and the overhead cooling duty. Claim 1 further recites, in the alternative under step (f), limitation (f)(ii), in which the first cooled methane-rich stream is fed to a Main Cryogenic Heat Exchanger (MCHX) to produce a second cooled methane-rich stream, and the second cooled methane-rich stream is fed to the reflux drum.
The specification as filed does not describe the combination of these features. The only disclosure of a single heat exchanger that performs both the feed pre-cooling duty and the overhead cooling duty is the elected species of FIG. 4, in which part of feed stream 401 is pre-cooled in heat exchanger 409 against a warm mixed refrigerant stream, and overhead stream 407 is thereafter routed back to that same heat exchanger 409 to be partially condensed into two-phase stream 411, which is then fed directly to reflux drum 413. No MCHX is interposed between heat exchanger 409 and reflux drum 413; MCHX 425 of FIG. 4 instead receives overhead stream 423 from the reflux drum 413, i.e., downstream of the reflux drum (spec., ¶¶ 0043–0044; FIG. 4).
Conversely, the only disclosure of routing a cooled overhead stream through an MCHX before the reflux drum is the non-elected species of FIG. 3, in which the feed pre-chilling is performed in pre-chillers 311, 313 and the partial condensation of overhead stream 315 is performed in a separate chiller 317 — that is, in a different heat exchanger — before stream 319 is routed to MCHX 321 and then to reflux drum 327 (spec., ¶ 0042; FIG. 3). Indeed, ¶ 0044 of the specification expressly frames the single-heat-exchanger integration as a combination of the pre-chilling of stream 301 via pre-chillers 311, 313 and the partial condensation of overhead stream 315 via chiller 317 of FIG. 3, and identifies FIG. 4 as the embodiment in which that combination is realized. FIG. 4 contains no MCHX upstream of the reflux drum.
Accordingly, the specification does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession, at the time of filing, of a method in which the same "first heat exchanger" cools both the separated natural gas stream and the methane-rich overhead stream and in which the resulting first cooled methane-rich stream is thereafter fed to an MCHX upstream of the reflux drum. Because claim 1 recites limitations (f)(i) and (f)(ii) in the alternative ("and/or"), the claim as a whole encompasses this undescribed embodiment.
Claims 7, 8, 14 and 30 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Cancellation of alternative (f)(ii), or amendment of claim 1 so that step (f) is limited to alternative (f)(i), would obviate this rejection. Applicant is reminded that no new matter may be introduced. See 35 U.S.C. § 132(a).
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, step (b), recites "cooling at least a portion of the separated natural gas stream in one or more heat exchangers to form a pre-cooled feed stream, wherein cooling occurs in at least a first heat exchanger." The limitation "cooling" recited in the wherein clause lacks proper antecedent basis. Because that clause recites "wherein cooling occurs" rather than "wherein the cooling occurs," it cannot be determined whether the clause refers back to the cooling affirmatively recited earlier in the same step, to a further and distinct cooling operation, or to only a part of the cooling recited earlier in the step. The limitation should read --wherein the cooling occurs in at least a first heat exchanger--. For purposes of examination, the wherein clause is read as referring back to the cooling of at least a portion of the separated natural gas stream recited earlier in step (b). It follows from that reading that the recited "first heat exchanger" is one of the previously recited "one or more heat exchangers" in which at least a portion of the separated natural gas stream is cooled, and is not a further heat exchanger in addition thereto. Under this interpretation, step (b) requires only that at least one of the heat exchangers in which the separated natural gas stream is cooled be designated the "first heat exchanger"; step (e) then requires that the methane-rich overhead stream also be cooled in that same heat exchanger. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30 recites that "the first cooled methane-rich stream is at least partially condensed into a two-phase stream prior to feeding the first cooled methane-rich stream to the reflux drum." Parent claim 1 recites feeding the first cooled methane-rich stream to the reflux drum only under alternative (f)(i); under alternative (f)(ii), it is the second cooled methane-rich stream — and not the first cooled methane-rich stream — that is fed to the reflux drum. It is therefore unclear whether claim 30 requires that alternative (f)(i) be practiced to the exclusion of alternative (f)(ii), or whether the recited partial condensation may instead occur at any point along the flow path of alternative (f)(ii). For purposes of examination, claim 30 is treated as being satisfied under either alternative of step (f), so long as the methane-rich stream is at least partially condensed into a two-phase stream at some point prior to its introduction into the reflux drum. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7, 8 and 14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ducote, Jr. et al. (US 2020/0232703 A1).
Note that (US 2020/0232703 A1) is a continuation of App# 16/297,971, which was itself published as US 2019/0204007 on July 4, 2019, therefore Ducote is available as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) on this basis.
In regard to claim 1, Ducote teaches a method for operating a hydrocarbon removal system (a method for removing freezing components from a feed gas, employing a heavy hydrocarbon removal heat exchanger 312 and a scrub column 322), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) separating at least a portion of a natural gas stream (feed gas stream 306) to produce a split stream (the portion of the feed gas diverted through cooling bypass line 338 under the control of bypass valve 336, which bypasses the cooling passage 308 and which, in an alternative embodiment, enters the bottom of the scrub column 322 independently of the scrub column inlet stream 320) and a separated natural gas stream (the remaining portion of the feed gas stream 306 directed through the cooling passage 308) (¶¶ 0051, 0054; fig. 8); Ducote further teaching that a stream (326) optionally branches off of the exit stream (316) and is directed to a secondary feed cooling passage (328) of the heat exchanger (312) to form a secondary feed stream (332) that is delivered to the scrub column (322) (¶ 0053; fig. 8);
(b) cooling at least a portion of the separated natural gas stream in one or more heat exchangers (cooling passage 308, and secondary feed cooling passage 328, of the heavy hydrocarbon removal heat exchanger 312) to form a pre-cooled feed stream (exit stream 316, reduced in pressure via JT valve 318 to form the scrub column inlet stream 320, and secondary feed stream 332), wherein the cooling occurs in at least a first heat exchanger (heavy hydrocarbon removal heat exchanger 312, a multi-stream plate-and-fin heat exchanger which allows for convenient and energy-efficient integration of several streams into a single exchanger) (¶¶ 0018, 0051–0053; fig. 8);
(c) feeding the pre-cooled feed stream (320, 332) into a column (scrub column 322, which may be a column, drum or other scrub or stripping device), the column comprising an upper section (the top portion of the scrub column 322, into which the primary reflux stream 352 is introduced to reflux the vapor in the top portion of the column), a mid-section (the intermediate region of the scrub column 322 that receives the secondary feed stream 332 and the secondary reflux stream 372 through a secondary reflux liquid distribution passage), and a lower section (the bottom portion of the scrub column 322, to which the scrub column inlet stream 320 is fed and from which stream 354 is removed) (¶¶ 0052–0056, 0058; fig. 8);
(d) separating a methane-rich overhead stream (stream 358, which exits the top of the scrub column 322) and a bottom stream (stream 354) from a C5+ hydrocarbon-rich mixture (the freezing components, i.e., the heavy hydrocarbons which are condensed out of the rising vapor upon contact with the primary and secondary reflux liquid streams 352, 372, drop to the bottom of the scrub column 322, are removed as stream 354, and are sent to additional separation steps such as a condensate stripping system, the bottom stream being identified in fig. 8 as NGL directed to condensate handling) in the upper section of the column (322) (¶¶ 0056–0057; fig. 8);
(e) cooling the methane-rich overhead stream (358) in the first heat exchanger (the heavy hydrocarbon removal heat exchanger 312, in passage 360 thereof) to produce a first cooled methane-rich stream (stream 362) (¶ 0057; fig. 8); and
(f) subsequently, (i) feeding the first cooled methane-rich stream (362) to a reflux drum (reflux separation device 324, which may be a drum, column or other separation device known in the art) to produce a reflux stream (liquid stream 364, separated within the reflux separation device 324 and pumped via pump 366 through a reflux liquid component line to the top of the scrub column 322 as primary reflux stream 352) (¶¶ 0052, 0057; fig. 8).
Ducote thus teaches, within a single heat exchanger (312), both the cooling of the separated natural gas stream travelling to the scrub column (passages 308 and 328) and the cooling of the methane-rich overhead stream withdrawn from the top of that column (passage 360).
In regard to claim 7, Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising feeding the reflux stream into the column, the liquid stream (364) separated in the reflux separation device (324) being pumped via pump (366) and an associated reflux liquid component line to the top of the scrub column (322) as primary reflux stream (352), which after entering the scrub column (322) refluxes vapor in the top portion of the column (¶¶ 0057–0058; fig. 8).
In regard to claim 14, Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising a CO2 removal step and/or a H2S removal step, the feed gas stream (306) being provided after any pretreatment systems, and the pretreatment systems being depicted as receiving raw gas and discharging S, CO2, H2O and Hg removed therefrom (¶¶ 0037, 0051; figs. 1, 6, 7, 8).
In regard to claim 30, Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first cooled methane-rich stream is at least partially condensed into a two-phase stream prior to feeding the first cooled methane-rich stream to the reflux drum, Ducote stating that although stream (358) is preferably all vapor it contains components that liquefy at a higher temperature, with the result that "the stream 362 entering the reflux separation device 324, after passing through passage 360 of the heat exchanger 312, is two-phase," the two-phase stream (362) thereafter being separated into vapor and liquid components within the reflux separation device (324) (¶ 0057; fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ducote, Jr. et al. (US 2020/0232703 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0023889 A1).
In regard to claim 8, Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Ducote teaches a refrigeration for the heavy hydrocarbon removal heat exchanger (312) is supplied by the return vapor stream (356) withdrawn from the reflux separation device (324) and expanded across JT valve (374), and in the embodiments of figs. 6 and 7 a mixed refrigerant stream (158, 228) from the liquefaction compressor system is additionally directed to that heat exchanger without specification of its composition (¶¶ 0039, 0046, 0059; figs. 6–8), but does not explicitly teach that the one or more heat exchangers utilize an external refrigerant comprising propane.
However, Chen teaches a propane pre-cooled mixed refrigerant (C3MR) configuration in which the feed gas stream (302) is cooled in one or more propane kettles (collectively precooler 382) to a temperature preferably below zero degrees C. and more preferably between −20 degrees C. and −35 degrees C. before being sent to the scrub column (336), the propane being circulated in an external closed loop through a propane compressor (385) and one or more aftercoolers (387) and evaporated at multiple pressures to provide sequential cooling to the feed gas stream (302) and to the high pressure mixed refrigerant stream (374) (¶¶ 0110–0111; fig. 3). Chen further teaches that the refrigerant cycle used to supply cold refrigerant may be of any type suitable for carrying out the liquefaction of natural gas and that exemplary cycles include the propane pre-cooled mixed refrigeration cycle (C3MR) (¶ 0103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply the heat exchanger of Ducote with an external refrigerant comprising propane, as taught by Chen, because propane is expressly identified by Chen as a suitable and conventional external pre-cooling refrigerant for cooling a natural gas feed stream upstream of a scrub column, and because the selection of a known refrigerant from a finite number of identified, predictable refrigerants recognized in the art for this purpose would have yielded predictable results and required no more than ordinary skill.
The next rejection is presented in the alternative to the rejections above.
Claims 1, 7, 14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jager (US 2008/0115532 A1) in view of Ducote, Jr. et al. (US 2020/0232703 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Jager teaches a method for operating a hydrocarbon removal system (a method of producing a liquefied natural gas stream wherein, before liquefaction, heavier hydrocarbon components having a molecular weight higher than that of butane are removed from a natural gas stream to be liquefied), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) separating at least a portion of a natural gas stream (substantially vaporous feed stream 1 of natural gas, provided at a feed stream pressure and a feed stream temperature) to produce a split stream (first substream 3a, the minor substream, carried in first substream branch 3a) and a separated natural gas stream (second substream 3b, the major substream, carried in second substream branch 3b), the division being effected at a feed stream junction 2 in accordance with a specified split ratio (¶¶ 0050, 0058, 0063; figs. 1, 6);
(b) cooling at least a portion of the separated natural gas stream (second substream 3b) in one or more heat exchangers (heat exchanger 6, which divides the second branch into a warm part 3b and a cool part 7, and which may be provided as a plurality of heat exchangers 6, 6' operating in series) to form a pre-cooled feed stream (cooled second substream 7, cooled to a temperature lower than the feed temperature and preferably to −10 degrees Celsius or lower), wherein the cooling occurs in at least a first heat exchanger (heat exchanger 6), the heat exchanger 6 preferably using an external refrigerant supplied at 4 and withdrawn at 5 (¶¶ 0054–0055, 0059, 0085; figs. 1, 6);
(c) feeding the pre-cooled feed stream (7) into a column (scrub column 10, a distillation column provided with a number of trays 11 to allow separation of lighter hydrocarbon components from heavier hydrocarbon components in a plurality of separation stages), the column comprising an upper section (the region of the third feed point 7c situated near the top of the scrub column 10 and of the overhead stream discharge opening 12 arranged in an upper part of the column), a mid-section (the region of the second feed point 7b, situated overhead relative to the first feed point 7a and at one of the trays above the lower trays), and a lower section (the region of the first feed point 7a, relatively close to the bottom of the scrub column 10 and below the lowest phase separating tray 11, and of the bottom stream discharge opening 8 in a lower part of the column) (¶¶ 0051–0053, 0056, 0060; figs. 1, 6);
(d) separating a methane-rich overhead stream (top product overhead stream 16, drawn from the scrub column 10 via overhead stream discharge opening 12, being the natural gas from which the heavier hydrocarbons have been removed to a sufficient extent and being enriched in lighter hydrocarbon components) and a bottom stream (bottom product 17, discharged via discharge opening 8 and enriched in heavier hydrocarbons) from a C5+ hydrocarbon-rich mixture (the pretreated natural gas mixture containing heavier components C5+ that are potentially freezable during liquefaction of methane) in the upper section of the column (10) (¶¶ 0049, 0051, 0066; figs. 1, 6); and
(f) subsequently, (i) feeding the cooled methane-rich overhead stream to a reflux drum (separator 27, having a condensate outlet 35 discharging into line 15 and a vapour outlet 33 discharging into line 13) to produce a reflux stream (the condensate, in the form of condensed liquid, drawn from the mixed phase stream to obtain the scrub stream 18 supplied to the scrub column 10, an optional reflux pump 19 being provided between line 15 and line 18 to bring the liquid to a desired pressure level) (¶¶ 0079, 0081; fig. 6).
Jager teaches partially condenses the overhead stream (16) in an overhead condenser provided in discharge line (16) in the form of an overhead heat exchanger (14) having its own supply of refrigerant (30) and removal of spent refrigerant (31) — a heat exchanger separate from the heat exchanger (6) in which the second substream (3b) is cooled (¶¶ 0079, 0081; fig. 6), but does not explicitly teach cooling the methane-rich overhead stream in the first heat exchanger to produce a first cooled methane-rich stream, as recited in step (e) of claim 1.
However, Ducote teaches a heavy hydrocarbon removal system in which a single heavy hydrocarbon removal heat exchanger (312) both cools the natural gas feed travelling to the scrub column (cooling passage 308 and secondary feed cooling passage 328) and cools the stream (358) withdrawn from the top of the scrub column (322) in passage (360) thereof, the resulting two-phase stream (362) being directed to a reflux separation device (324) from which liquid stream (364) is pumped by pump (366) to the top of the scrub column (322) as primary reflux stream (352) (Ducote, ¶¶ 0051–0053, 0056–0058; fig. 8). Ducote teaches that such a multi-stream plate-and-fin heat exchanger "allows for convenient and energy-efficient integration of several streams into a single exchanger" and "offers the further advantage of being physically compact" (Ducote, ¶ 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jager by cooling the methane-rich overhead stream (16) within the same heat exchanger (6) in which the second substream (3b) is cooled, as taught by Ducote, rather than in a separate overhead heat exchanger (14). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to obtain the convenient and energy-efficient integration of several streams into a single multi-stream exchanger and the physically compact arrangement expressly taught by Ducote (¶ 0018), and in order to reduce the equipment count of the heavy hydrocarbon removal section — a benefit Jager itself identifies as an object of its disclosure, Jager teaching that in the embodiment of fig. 7 "even fewer equipment items are required" and that the embodiments of figs. 2 to 5 and of fig. 7 avoid the use of the overhead separator (27) and/or the reflux pump (19) (Jager, ¶¶ 0082, 0085). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B)
The proposed modification is further supported by Jager's own teachings regarding heat exchanger integration. Jager teaches that the first and second heat exchangers (6, 26) "can be combined in one housing, whereby the refrigerant can be operative at one pressure level," and depicts in figs. 4 and 5 arrangements in which those heat exchangers "are integrated into one housing each represented by a flow path," including an integrated heat exchanger embodying serial cooling (Jager, ¶¶ 0074–0075; figs. 4, 5). Jager further teaches that the embodiment of fig. 6 can be combined with one of figs. 2 to 5 (¶ 0083).
In regard to claim 7, Jager as modified by Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising feeding the reflux stream into the column, the scrub stream (18) being fed to the scrub column (10) via the third feed point (7c) overhead of the second feed point (7b), the scrub stream serving to supply a liquid capable of scrubbing heavier hydrocarbons and promoting downward transport of those components in the scrub column (Jager, ¶¶ 0056, 0065, 0081; figs. 1, 6).
In regard to claim 14, Jager as modified by Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising a CO2 removal step and/or a H2S removal step, Jager teaching that the hydrocarbon gas mixture is a natural gas mixture "previously treated to remove water, CO2, and sulphur by means and methods well known in the art," and that the raw natural gas stream is first decontaminated from water and acid gases, for which numerous physical and/or chemical processes exist (Jager, ¶¶ 0005, 0049).
In regard to claim 30, Jager as modified by Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first cooled methane-rich stream is at least partially condensed into a two-phase stream prior to feeding the first cooled methane-rich stream to the reflux drum, Jager teaching that the top product overhead stream discharged from the scrub column (10) through line (16) is partially condensed using a refrigerant, thereby forming "a mixed phase stream of vapour and condensate, which is led to the separator 27" (Jager, ¶ 0081; fig. 6). See also Ducote, ¶ 0057, teaching that the stream (362) entering the reflux separation device (324) after passing through passage (360) of the heat exchanger (312) is two-phase.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jager in view of Ducote, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0023889 A1).
In regard to claim 8, Jager as modified by Ducote teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Jager further teaches that the second substream (3b) is cooled in the heat exchanger (6) against an external refrigerant, the heat exchanger (6) having at least one supply of refrigerant (4) and one removal of spent or vaporized refrigerant (5), and preferably using an external refrigerant so as to constitute a dedicated heat exchanger (Jager, ¶ 0055; original claim 6; figs. 1, 6), but does not explicitly teach that the external refrigerant comprises propane.
However, Chen teaches that the feed gas stream (302) may be cooled in one or more propane kettles (collectively precooler 382) to a temperature preferably between −20 degrees C. and −35 degrees C. before being sent to the scrub column (336), the propane being circulated in an external closed loop through a propane compressor (385) and one or more aftercoolers (387), and that exemplary refrigerant cycles suitable for the disclosed systems include the propane pre-cooled mixed refrigeration cycle (C3MR) (Chen, ¶¶ 0103, 0110–0111; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ propane as the external refrigerant supplied to the heat exchanger (6) of Jager as modified, in view of the teachings of Chen, because propane is expressly identified in the art as a suitable external pre-cooling refrigerant for cooling a natural gas feed stream upstream of a scrub column, and the selection of such a known refrigerant would have yielded predictable results. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 421.
The next rejection is presented in the alternative to the above two rejections.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2018/0023889 A1) in view of Buijs et al. (US 2013/0098103 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Chen teaches a method for operating a hydrocarbon removal system (heavy hydrocarbon removal system 230 integrated with a natural gas liquefaction system), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) separating at least a portion of a natural gas stream (natural gas feed stream 202) to produce a split stream (second portion 202b, used as stripping gas to the bottom section 238 of the scrub column 236 and regulated by inlet valve 207) and a separated natural gas stream (first portion 202a) (¶ 0104; fig. 2);
(b) cooling at least a portion of the separated natural gas stream (202a) in one or more heat exchangers (economizer 232) to form a pre-cooled feed stream (the cooled first portion introduced into the scrub column 236 through feed stream inlet 235 at a temperature preferably below 0 degrees C. and more preferably between −10 degrees C. and −40 degrees C.), wherein cooling occurs in at least a first heat exchanger (economizer 232) (¶ 0104; fig. 2);
(c) feeding the pre-cooled feed stream into a column (scrub column 236), the column comprising an upper section (top section 237, known in the art as the rectification section), a mid-section (the region of the feed stream inlet 235, the boundary between the sections being dependent upon the location of the feed stream inlet 235), and a lower section (bottom section 238, known in the art as the stripping section) (¶¶ 0099–0100, 0105; fig. 2);
(d) separating a methane-rich overhead stream (overhead vapor stream 239, a methane-rich vapor fraction) and a bottom stream (bottom liquid stream 240, enriched in hydrocarbons heavier than methane) from a C5+ hydrocarbon-rich mixture (the natural gas feed containing C2–C5+ hydrocarbons and C6+ heavy hydrocarbons) in the upper section of the column (top section 237) (¶¶ 0002, 0100, 0105; fig. 2); and
(f) subsequently, (ii) feeding the first cooled methane-rich stream (the cooled overhead stream, corresponding to warmed overhead vapor stream 244 in unmodified Chen) to a Main Cryogenic Heat Exchanger (MCHX) (warm section 214 of main cryogenic heat exchanger 210) to produce a second cooled methane-rich stream (partially condensed natural gas stream 245, further cooled in economizer 252 to cooled feed gas stream 246 and expanded across pressure let-down JT valve 253), and feeding the second cooled methane-rich stream to the reflux drum (250, entered at inlet 247) to produce a second overhead stream (overhead vapor stream 251) that is essentially free of heavy hydrocarbons (the scrub column 236 being operated such that the stream routed onward for liquefaction is essentially free of freezing heavy hydrocarbons) (¶¶ 0106–0107; fig. 2).
Chen therefore teaches every limitation of step (b) of claim 1, including the requirement that the cooling occur "in at least a first heat exchanger." Under the interpretation of step (b) set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above, the economizer (232) is one of the "one or more heat exchangers" in which at least a portion of the separated natural gas stream (202a) is cooled to form the pre-cooled feed stream, and the economizer (232) is accordingly designated the "first heat exchanger" of claim 1 for purposes of this rejection.
Chen does not, however, teach cooling the methane-rich overhead stream in that first heat exchanger to produce a first cooled methane-rich stream, as recited in step (e) of claim 1. To the contrary, in the arrangement of FIG. 2, Chen warms the overhead vapor stream (239) within the economizer (232) by indirect heat exchange against the feed gas stream (202), and performs the subsequent cooling of the resulting warmed overhead vapor stream (244/245) in a separate economizer (252) located between the MCHE (210) and the reflux drum (250) (¶¶ 0106, 0109; fig. 2). The cooling of the separated natural gas stream and the cooling of the methane-rich overhead stream are thus performed in two different heat exchangers in Chen. Step (e) of claim 1 is the sole limitation of claim 1 not taught by Chen.
However, Buijs teaches a method of treating a hydrocarbon stream comprising methane in which a hydrocarbon stream (110) is divided by a feed splitter (115) into a first part hydrocarbon stream (130) that is pre-cooled in a pre-cooling heat exchanger (135) and passed to a first inlet (151) of an extraction column (125), and a second part hydrocarbon stream (120) that bypasses the pre-cooling heat exchanger (135) and is passed to a second inlet (121) of the extraction column (125) located gravitationally lower than the first inlet (151), the extraction column (125) suitably being in the form of a scrub column (¶¶ 0046, 0093, 0096; figs. 1, 3). Buijs teaches that the pre-cooled hydrocarbon stream (140) travelling to the column and the methane-enriched vapour effluent (160) withdrawn from the vapour outlet (159) of the column are both passed through one and the same extraction column heat exchanger (145), the pre-cooled hydrocarbon stream passing from first inlet (141) to first outlet (149) and the effluent passing from second inlet (161) to second outlet (169) thereof, and that this heat exchanger is preferably a plate-type heat exchanger such as a plate-fin heat exchanger and/or a printed circuit heat exchanger (¶¶ 0053, 0059, 0071; fig. 1).
Buijs further teaches that heat may be extracted from the pre-cooled hydrocarbon stream (140) between the first inlet (141) of the extraction column heat exchanger (145) and the first inlet (151) of the extraction column (125), and from the effluent stream (160) between the vapour outlet (159) of the extraction column (125) and the second outlet (169) of the extraction column heat exchanger (145), by heat exchanging against an auxiliary refrigerant stream (360), and that this additional heat exchange is performed within the extraction column heat exchanger (145) itself by passing the auxiliary refrigerant from an auxiliary inlet (361) to an auxiliary outlet (369) which, where the heat exchanger is of the plate type, communicate with an additional set of channels or chambers of that heat exchanger (¶¶ 0074–0076, 0091; fig. 1). Buijs expressly teaches that the methane-enriched hydrocarbon stream (160) may be either cooled or warmed within the extraction column heat exchanger (145), depending upon the composition of the hydrocarbon stream (110) and upon the pressure and temperature profile of the extraction column (125) (¶ 0080). Buijs thus teaches that the cooling of the feed to the column and the cooling of the column overhead stream may be, and are, carried out within a single heat exchanger unit.
Buijs additionally teaches the advantages obtained thereby: the temperature within the extraction column is decoupled or isolated from the temperature of the pre-cooled hydrocarbon stream and of the methane-enriched stream discharged on the other side of the heat exchanger, which assists in achieving the correct temperature profile in the column in a stationary state of operation (¶¶ 0078–0079); the temperature of the methane-enriched stream admitted to the downstream further heat exchanger is brought within less than 10 degrees C. of the temperature of the pre-cooled main refrigerant stream, which avoids the pinching and thermal stress that would otherwise be induced in a coil-wound heat exchanger and which may lead to unstable behavior in the cooling process and damage to the heat exchanger (¶¶ 0005, 0031, 0081); and the distillation may be performed without significantly decreasing the pressure, so that recompression of the vapour effluent prior to liquefaction may be minimized or dispensed with (¶ 0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the economizer (232) of Chen in view of the teachings of Buijs so that the methane-rich overhead vapor stream (239) is cooled — rather than warmed — within that same economizer, for example by providing the economizer as a plate-fin unit having an additional set of channels through which an auxiliary refrigerant is passed, as taught by Buijs (¶¶ 0053, 0074–0076, 0091). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to decouple the operating temperature of the scrub column from the feed gas temperature and thereby achieve the correct column temperature profile in steady-state operation, to better match the temperature of the overhead stream to that of the refrigerant admitted to the downstream main cryogenic heat exchanger and thereby avoid internal pinching and the thermal stresses that damage coil-wound exchangers, and to consolidate two heat exchange duties within a single plate-fin exchanger, all as expressly taught by Buijs (¶¶ 0005, 0031, 0053, 0078–0081).
The proposed modification is further supported by the teachings of Chen itself. Chen teaches adding an auxiliary refrigerant cooling circuit to an economizer for the express purpose of assisting in the cooling of an overhead vapor stream, a portion of the cold mixed refrigerant liquid (CMRL) stream (624) being expanded and directed to the economizer (652) to help cool the overhead vapor stream (645), with the spent slip stream (697) returned to the shell side of the MCHE (610) at an intermediate location (698) (¶ 0119; fig. 6). Chen also teaches that supplemental refrigeration and condensing duty may be provided by adding an additional cooling circuit in the economizer, the cooling medium being taken from any stream in the system colder than the feed gas temperature at the MCHE warm section outlet (¶¶ 0088, 0117). Chen further teaches that the heat exchangers of the disclosed systems may be plate and fin heat exchangers (¶ 0103). The modification therefore uses a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. See KSR, 550 U.S. 398. Additionally, consolidating the feed-cooling duty and the overhead-cooling duty within a single heat exchanger unit amounts to making integral what the prior art discloses as separate parts, which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965); MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B).
In regard to claim 7, Chen as modified by Buijs teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising feeding the reflux stream (bottoms liquid stream 254, pumped by liquid pump 255 and returned to the top end of the scrub column 236 as reflux stream 256 in order to provide the necessary reflux for operation of the scrub column and for washing down heavy hydrocarbons from the feed gas) into the column (scrub column 236) (Chen, ¶ 0107; fig. 2).
In regard to claim 8, Chen as modified by Buijs teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more heat exchangers utilize an external refrigerant comprising propane, Chen teaching a propane pre-cooled mixed refrigerant configuration in which the feed gas stream (302) is cooled in one or more propane kettles (collectively precooler 382) to a temperature preferably between −20 degrees C. and −35 degrees C. before being sent to the scrub column (336), the propane being circulated in an external closed loop through propane compressor (385) and aftercooler (387) (Chen, ¶¶ 0103, 0110–0111; fig. 3), and Buijs teaching that the pre-cooling refrigerant (230) supplied to the pre-cooling heat exchanger (135) that cools the first part hydrocarbon stream (130) may be a single-component refrigerant such as propane (Buijs, ¶¶ 0048, 0050; fig. 1).
In regard to claim 14, Chen as modified by Buijs teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising a CO2 removal step and/or a H2S removal step, Buijs teaching that the hydrocarbon stream may have been pre-treated to reduce and/or remove one or more undesired components such as CO2 and H2S (Buijs, ¶ 0041), and Chen teaching that the feed gas is processed in an acid gas removal unit which removes acidic components such as hydrogen sulfide and carbon dioxide from the feed gas stream prior to the scrub column (Chen, ¶¶ 0034, 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a CO2 removal step and/or a H2S removal step in the method of Chen as modified, in view of the teachings of Buijs, for the purpose of reducing and/or removing undesired components and thereby avoiding downstream freeze-out, corrosion, hydrate formation, and equipment damage in the cryogenic section of the plant.
In regard to claim 30, Chen as modified by Buijs teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the methane-rich stream is at least partially condensed into a two-phase stream prior to being fed to the reflux drum, Chen teaching that the overhead stream is cooled in the warm section (214) of the MCHE (210) to a temperature typically between −40 degrees C. and −60 degrees C. and is typically also partially condensed to form partially condensed natural gas stream (245), which is further cooled in economizer (252) and expanded across pressure let-down JT valve (253) such that sufficient liquid is formed, the resulting sub-critical pressure stream being introduced into the reflux drum (250) at inlet (247) where it is phase separated into bottoms liquid stream (254) and overhead vapor stream (251) (Chen, ¶¶ 0106–0107; fig. 2). See also the interpretation of claim 30 set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, unless otherwise noted below.
Applicant's request for clarification of the statutory basis of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Applicant's request is well taken and the record has been clarified in the section entitled "Clarification of the Statutory Basis of the Prior Art Applied" above. In short, Chen published January 25, 2018, well before the earliest possible effective filing date of the claimed invention (July 16, 2021), and is therefore available as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as a printed publication, irrespective of the identity of the applicant of Chen. The quotation of 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) in the prior Office Action was correct as to the statute available, and Applicant's observation that the Chen applicant is another party (Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. — the Examiner notes that the assignee identified on the face of Chen is Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., not Honeywell LNG LLC as stated in Applicant's remarks) does not remove Chen from the prior art. In any event, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendments, and the rejections now applied are under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Applicant's argument that Chen "expressly teaches heating overhead vapor stream 239 in economizer 232" does not establish teaching away. A reference does not teach away merely because it discloses a different arrangement; it teaches away only if it criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages the claimed solution. See In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP § 2145(X)(D). Chen contains no such criticism or discouragement. On the contrary, Chen itself teaches supplying supplemental cooling duty to an economizer by means of an added refrigerant cooling circuit for the express purpose of assisting in cooling an overhead vapor stream (Chen, ¶¶ 0088, 0117, 0119; figs. 5, 6), and teaches that the exchangers may be of the plate-and-fin type (¶ 0103). The proposed modification is thus consistent with, rather than contrary to, Chen's own teachings.
Applicant's characterization of the elected species is noted but does not distinguish the claims as drafted. Claim 1 does not require that the pre-cooled feed stream and the methane-rich overhead stream be the only streams cooled in the first heat exchanger, does not require any particular refrigerant, does not exclude additional heat exchangers upstream or downstream, and — by reason of the "and/or" of step (f) — does not require the direct routing from the first heat exchanger to the reflux drum that is shown in FIG. 4 of the present application. Limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763