DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 20 October 2025 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Usami et al. (US 2003/0129456).
Considering claim 1, Usami teaches a cemented carbide having high hardness and toughness suitable as a cutting tool (abstract). An embodiment is taught of a cemented carbide comprising a hard phase of WC, at least one of carbides, nitrides, and carbonitrides of Groups 4a-6a, and a binder phase (Paragraph 24). Examples are taught where the cemented carbide comprises by weight% 8.0% Co, 2.0% TiC (e.g. a compound), 1.0% NbC (e.g. a compound), and 87.0% WC (Paragraph 186; Table 1, Sample No. 1) where the WC has a mean particles size of 8.0 µm and the compound powders (e.g. TiC, NbC, etc.) have an average particle diameter of 2.0 µm (Paragraph 186) which corresponds to a A/B ratio of 100(2.0/8.0) = 25. This relationship falls within and anticipates that which is claimed. See MPEP 2131.03.
Considering claims 3-4, Usami teaches examples of TiC and NbC (Table 1) (e.g. groups 4a and 5a with carbon).
Considering claim 5, Usami does not expressly teach the claimed crack point A as recited. However, Usami teaches a cemented carbide tool of substantially identical materials having a substantially identical composition as that which is claimed. As such, the claimed crack point A is expected to be present as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Considering claim 6, Usami teaches where the cemented carbide is a cutting tool (Paragraph 187).
Considering claim 7, Usami teaches where the cemented carbide is coated with a PVD layer of TiN (Paragraph 196). Further, the recitation of “formed by…” is considered a product-by-process limitation and is not considered to render a patentable distinction over the prior art. See MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami et al. (US 2003/0129456) as applied to claim 1 above.
Considering claim 2, the teachings of Usami as applied to claim 1 are outlined above. In addition, Usami teaches where the size of the WC powder and powder of carbide, nitride, or carbonitride may be 0.5-10 µm (Paragraph 95). While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed cemented carbide this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Usami as this is considered a combination of WC and hard compounds overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, the courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close such that one skilled in the art would expect them to possess the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 and Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the examiner’s position that there is no patentable distinction between the claimed 0.4 µm or less and the lower limit of 0.5 µm of the carbide, nitride, or carbonitride taught by Usami (e.g. rounding, significant figures, etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kitagawa et al. (US 5,603,071), Miura et al. (US 2005/0019614), Aoki (US 2006/0134466), and Nomiyama et al. (US 2019/0061011) teach a cemented carbide anticipating and/or rendering obvious the claimed cemented carbide.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784