DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 5/12/2026. Claims 1-8 have been previously canceled. Claims 9-14 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new grounds of rejection made in view of newly cited Xu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0337568 A1) and Park et al. (U.S. Publication US 2019/0190669 A1).
Independent claim 9 has been amended to include a new limitation stating “wherein the processor determines mapping between the layers and a port of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource designated by using an SRS resource indicator (SRI) in the downlink control information, and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter for configuration of the SRS resource includes a parameter indicating a number of ports greater than 4 and a parameter indicating a number of combs greater than 4”. The other independent claims have also been amended to include similar limitations. Applicant argues that the previously cited prior art does not anticipate or render obvious these amended limitations. The Examiner agrees; however, after a further search of the prior art, it is believed that these amended limitations are rendered obvious in view of the teachings of newly cited Xu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0337568 A1) and Park et al. (U.S. Publication US 2019/0190669 A1).
Specifically, Xu et al. discloses using SRI within DCI to determine mapping between ports and corresponding layers of SRS resources indicated by the SRI (See paragraphs 227-229 and Figure 17 of Xu et al.). Using the SRI to determine mapping between ports and layers of SRS resources, as taught by Xu et al., has the advantage of allowing already defined fields within DCI to be used to control SRS resource mapping and transmission. Thus, it is believed that newly cited Xu et al. renders obvious the amended claim limitation requiring “wherein the processor determines mapping between the layers and a port of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource designated by using an SRS resource indicator (SRI) in the downlink control information”.
Further, Park et al. discloses using RRC signaling to configure each SRS resource by indicating a number of SRS ports and a corresponding number of transmission comb values, wherein LTE-A defines that a number of antenna ports and corresponding combs may be up to a maximum of eight (See paragraphs 138, paragraphs 330-349, and paragraph 487 of Park et al.). Using RRC signaling to configure the number of SRS ports and corresponding combs up to a maximum of eight, as taught by Park et al., has the advantage of using already defined message types to configure SRS for the increased number of ports and combs allowed in the LTE-A standards. Thus, it is believed that newly cited Park et al. renders obvious the amended claim limitation requiring “a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter for configuration of the SRS resource includes a parameter indicating a number of ports greater than 4 and a parameter indicating a number of combs greater than 4”.
Therefore, new grounds of rejection are made in view of newly cited Xu et al. and Park et al. Please see the rejections below for further detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/030685 A1) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0337568 A1) and Park et al. (U.S. Publication US 2019/0190669 A1).
With respect to claims 9 and 12, Huang et al. discloses a terminal performing a radio communication method and comprising a receiver and a processor (See paragraph 5, paragraph 32, and Figure 3 of Huang et al. for reference to a communication method performed by a UE, which is a terminal, comprising a transceiver that acts as both a receiver and a transmitter, and comprising a CPU, which is a processor controlling operations of the UE). Huang et al. also discloses receiving information indicating that a plurality of codewords for a physical uplink shared channel, including a first codeword and a second codeword, are scheduled by a single downlink control information (See paragraph 104 and paragraph 208 of Huang et al. for reference to the UE receiving information indicating that two transport blocks are enabled and scheduled via a single DCI, wherein the transport blocks are codewords, i.e. a first and second codeword, for PUSCH transmission). Huang et al. further discloses mapping the plurality of codewords to layers, a number of the layers being indicated by a precoding-information-and-number-of-layers field in the downlink control information (See paragraphs 207-208 and Table 1 of Huang et al. for reference to mapping the enabled codewords to layers, as shown in Table 1, wherein the number of layers is indicated by a “Precoding information and number of layers” field of the DCI). Huang et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the processor determines mapping between the layers and a port of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource designated by using an SRS resource indicator (SRI) in the downlink control information. However, Xu et al., in the field of communications, discloses using SRI within DCI to determine mapping between ports and corresponding layers of SRS resources indicated by the SRI (See paragraphs 227-229 and Figure 17 of Xu et al.). Using the SRI to determine mapping between ports and layers of SRS resources has the advantage of allowing already defined fields within DCI to be used to control SRS resource mapping and transmission. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Xu et al., to combine using the SRI to determine mapping between ports and layers of SRS resources, as taught by Xu et al., within the system and method of Huang et al., with the motivation being to allow already defined fields within DCI to be used to control SRS resource mapping and transmission. Huang et al. also does not specifically disclose a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter for configuration of the SRS resource includes a parameter indicating a number of ports greater than 4 and a parameter indicating a number of combs greater than 4. However, Park et al., in the field of communication, discloses using RRC signaling to configure each SRS resource by indicating a number of SRS ports and a corresponding number of transmission comb values, wherein LTE-A defines that a number of antenna ports and corresponding combs may be up to a maximum of eight (See paragraphs 138, paragraphs 330-349, and paragraph 487 of Park et al.). Using RRC signaling to configure the number of SRS ports and corresponding combs up to a maximum of eight has the advantage of using already defined message types to configure SRS for the increased number of ports and combs allowed in the LTE-A standards. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Park et al., to combine using RRC signaling to configure the number of SRS ports and corresponding combs up to a maximum of eight, as taught by Park et al., within the system and method of Huang et al., with the motivation being to use already defined message types to configure SRS for the increased number of ports and combs allowed in the LTE-A standards.
With respect to claim 10, Huang et al. discloses wherein the processor determines that the number of the layers indicated by the field is a total number of layers for the plurality of codewords, maps the first codeword to layers, a number of the layers for the first codeword being associated with the total number of layers, and maps the second codeword to layers, a number of the layers for the second codeword being associated with the total number of layers (See paragraphs 207-210 and Table 1 of Huang et al. for reference to the layers indicated by the “Precoding information and number of layers” field in the DCI being the total number of layers for mapping the codewords, wherein the codewords are mapped based on the indicated total number of layers as shown in Table 1).
With respect to claim 13, Huang et al. discloses a base station comprising: a transmitter and a receiver (See paragraph 32 and Figure 3 of Huang et al. for reference to a base station comprising a transceiver that acts as both a transmitter and a receiver). Huang et al. also discloses transmitting information indicating that a plurality of codewords for a physical uplink shared channel, including a first codeword and a second codeword, are scheduled by a single downlink control information (See paragraph 104 and paragraph 208 of Huang et al. for reference to transmitting, to a UE, information indicating that two transport blocks are enabled and scheduled via a single DCI, wherein the transport blocks are codewords, i.e. a first and second codeword, for PUSCH transmission). Huang et al. further discloses receiving the physical uplink shared channel including the plurality of codewords that are mapped to layers, a number of the layers being indicated by a precoding-information-and-number-of-layers field in the downlink control information (See paragraph 104, paragraphs 207-208, and Table 1 of Huang et al. for reference to receiving the PUSCH transmission from the UE with the enabled codewords mapped to layers, as shown in Table 1, wherein the number of layers is indicated by a “Precoding information and number of layers” field of the DCI). Huang et al. does not specifically disclose wherein a determined mapping between the layers and a port of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource designated by using an SRS resource indicator (SRI) in the downlink control information. However, Xu et al., in the field of communications, discloses using SRI within DCI to determine mapping between ports and corresponding layers of SRS resources indicated by the SRI (See paragraphs 227-229 and Figure 17 of Xu et al.). Using the SRI to determine mapping between ports and layers of SRS resources has the advantage of allowing already defined fields within DCI to be used to control SRS resource mapping and transmission. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Xu et al., to combine using the SRI to determine mapping between ports and layers of SRS resources, as taught by Xu et al., within the system and method of Huang et al., with the motivation being to allow already defined fields within DCI to be used to control SRS resource mapping and transmission. Huang et al. also does not specifically disclose a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter for configuration of the SRS resource includes a parameter indicating a number of ports greater than 4 and a parameter indicating a number of combs greater than 4. However, Park et al., in the field of communication, discloses using RRC signaling to configure each SRS resource by indicating a number of SRS ports and a corresponding number of transmission comb values, wherein LTE-A defines that a number of antenna ports and corresponding combs may be up to a maximum of eight (See paragraphs 138, paragraphs 330-349, and paragraph 487 of Park et al.). Using RRC signaling to configure the number of SRS ports and corresponding combs up to a maximum of eight has the advantage of using already defined message types to configure SRS for the increased number of ports and combs allowed in the LTE-A standards. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Park et al., to combine using RRC signaling to configure the number of SRS ports and corresponding combs up to a maximum of eight, as taught by Park et al., within the system and method of Huang et al., with the motivation being to use already defined message types to configure SRS for the increased number of ports and combs allowed in the LTE-A standards.
With respect to claim 14, Huang et al. discloses a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver and a processor, and the base station comprises: a transmitter and a receiver (See paragraphs 18-21, paragraph 32, and Figures 1 and 3 of Huang et al. for reference to a multiple access wireless communication system including a UE, which is a terminal, comprising a transceiver that acts as both a receiver and a transmitter, and comprising a CPU, which is a processor controlling operations of the UE, and including a base station comprising a transceiver that acts as both a transmitter and a receiver). Huang et al. also discloses the terminal receiving information indicating that a plurality of codewords for a physical uplink shared channel, including a first codeword and a second codeword, are scheduled by a single downlink control information (See paragraph 104 and paragraph 208 of Huang et al. for reference to the UE receiving information indicating that two transport blocks are enabled and scheduled via a single DCI, wherein the transport blocks are codewords, i.e. a first and second codeword, for PUSCH transmission). Huang et al. further discloses the terminal mapping the plurality of codewords to layers, a number of the layers being indicated by a precoding-information-and-number-of-layers field in the downlink control information (See paragraphs 207-208 and Table 1 of Huang et al. for reference to mapping the enabled codewords to layers, as shown in Table 1, wherein the number of layers is indicated by a “Precoding information and number of layers” field of the DCI). Huang et al. also discloses the base station transmitting the information and receiving the physical uplink shared channel (See paragraph 104 and paragraph 208 of Huang et al. for reference to the base station transmitting the DCI to the UE enabling the two codewords and receiving the PUSCH from the UE). Huang et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the processor determines mapping between the layers and a port of a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource designated by using an SRS resource indicator (SRI) in the downlink control information. However, Xu et al., in the field of communications, discloses using SRI within DCI to determine mapping between ports and corresponding layers of SRS resources indicated by the SRI (See paragraphs 227-229 and Figure 17 of Xu et al.). Using the SRI to determine mapping between ports and layers of SRS resources has the advantage of allowing already defined fields within DCI to be used to control SRS resource mapping and transmission. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Xu et al., to combine using the SRI to determine mapping between ports and layers of SRS resources, as taught by Xu et al., within the system and method of Huang et al., with the motivation being to allow already defined fields within DCI to be used to control SRS resource mapping and transmission. Huang et al. also does not specifically disclose a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter for configuration of the SRS resource includes a parameter indicating a number of ports greater than 4 and a parameter indicating a number of combs greater than 4. However, Park et al., in the field of communication, discloses using RRC signaling to configure each SRS resource by indicating a number of SRS ports and a corresponding number of transmission comb values, wherein LTE-A defines that a number of antenna ports and corresponding combs may be up to a maximum of eight (See paragraphs 138, paragraphs 330-349, and paragraph 487 of Park et al.). Using RRC signaling to configure the number of SRS ports and corresponding combs up to a maximum of eight has the advantage of using already defined message types to configure SRS for the increased number of ports and combs allowed in the LTE-A standards. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Park et al., to combine using RRC signaling to configure the number of SRS ports and corresponding combs up to a maximum of eight, as taught by Park et al., within the system and method of Huang et al., with the motivation being to use already defined message types to configure SRS for the increased number of ports and combs allowed in the LTE-A standards.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. in view of Xu et al. and Park et al., and in further view of Gao et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0258809 A1).
With respect to claim 11, although Huang et al. does disclose mapping two codewords to an indicated number of layers (See paragraphs 207-210 and Table 1 of Huang et al.)., Huang et al. does not specifically disclose using, for layer mapping of the plurality of codewords, correspondences for layer mapping for a physical downlink shared channel. However, Gao et al., in the field of communications, discloses that the same codeword to layer mapping may be used for both PDSCH and PUSCH assignment (See paragraphs 4-12 of Gao et al.). Using the same layer mapping correspondence for mapping codewords of a PUSCH as the correspondence used for mapping codewords of a PDSCH has the advantage of simplifying the mapping of codewords in both the uplink and downlink communication directions. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Gao et al., to combine using the same layer mapping correspondence for mapping codewords of a PUSCH as the correspondence used for mapping codewords of a PDSCH, as taught by Gao et al., within the system and method of Huang et al., with the motivation being to simplify the mapping of codewords in both the uplink and downlink communication directions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461