DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The generic amended claim(s) which refer to “the signal processing of the input being related to playback level dependent” has been further considered and the prior art of Beer disclose of various aspect of processing including such “col.5 line 1-15/wherein the amplitude may be adjusted according to the processing for each loudspeaker” and thus such processing include the playback level which will be adjusted and taken into account.
The overall claim(s) which merely refer to “filtering harmonic in certain frequency to reproduce directional sound” has been further considered and is conventional in the prior art as cited in Beer (US 9,191,743 B2), thus the applicant is urged to contact examiner for any issue which may help to advance prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 11, 19, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Beer (US 9,191,743 B2).
Claim 1 , the prior art herein refer to as Beer disclose of a method for directionally reproducing an input audio signal by a loudspeaker array including one or more gradient loudspeakers (fig.3 (140); col.5 line 15-22); the method comprising the steps of: receiving said input audio signal (fig.3 (102/300); col.3 line 55-65; col.4 line 25-32); processing said input audio signal by signal processing to generate a processed audio signal, wherein said step of processing comprises a step of filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said input audio signal, wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies below said directionally controllable frequency band, wherein the step of processing said input audio signal is playback dependent (fig.3 (322-324); fig.4 (420/440); col.5 line 10-15; col.6 line 25-45 & col.7 line 1-25/the signal processed may be also be adjusted with a particular amplitude and thus provide such playback level ); generating a plurality of driving signals for said plurality of loudspeakers by signal processing, wherein said plurality of driving signals are generated based on said processed audio signal by application of directional control filters (fig.3 (330); col.4 line 5-10; col.6 line 44-50); and reproducing directional sound representing said input audio signal based on said plurality of driving signals using said loudspeaker array (fig.3 (140); col.6 line 50-55).
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein said processing said input audio signal comprises attenuating said bass frequency band of said input (col.6 line 40-45).
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein said steps filtering harmonics comprises representing one or more of said lower order harmonics by harmonics within said directionally controllable frequency band (fig.4 (420/440); col.7 line 15-25).
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein said steps of filtering harmonics comprises increasing a gain of one or more harmonics within said directionally controllable frequency band (col.7 line 1-20).
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein said step of filtering harmonics comprises generating one or more harmonics in said directionally controllable frequency band based on one or more of said lower order harmonics (col.7 line 10-20).
11. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein processing said input audio signal is performed based on an analysis of said input audio signal, wherein said analysis comprises detecting a presence of one or more lower order harmonics in said bass frequency band (fig.2; col.6 line 1-15).
19. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein said directional control filters are applied using any methods of acoustic contrast control or pressure matching (col.7 line 10-20).
29. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein said input audio signal is directionally reproduced within an adaptive sound zone of an acoustical environment, and wherein said input audio signal is directionally reproduced in said adaptive sound zone by application of adaptive directional control filters (col.5 line 30-35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer (US 9,191,743 B2) and You (US 10,893,362 B2).
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, but the prior art never mentioned the method as wherein said filtering harmonics comprises frequency shifting one or more of said lower order harmonics of said bass frequency band to said directionally controllable frequency band.
However, You disclose of a filtering harmonic comprises frequency shifting one or more of said lower order harmonics of said bass frequency band to said directionally controllable frequency band (col.2 line 55-65). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such method filtering harmonic comprises frequency shifting one or more of said lower order harmonics of said bass frequency band to said directionally controllable frequency band so as to provide good bass production with virtual sound.
20. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, but the art never specify the method wherein said directional control filters comprise any of finite impulse response filters, infinite impulse response filters, or any combinations thereof.
However, You disclose of the similar method wherein said directional control filters comprise any of finite impulse response filters, infinite impulse response filters, or any combinations thereof (col.5 line 40-55). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted method wherein said directional control filters comprise any of finite impulse response filters, infinite impulse response filters, or any combinations thereof so as to ensure soothing and reduction of noise between frames.
21. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, although, the prior art never specify wherein said directional control filters comprise integrating finite impulse response filters.
However, You disclose of the similar method wherein said directional control filters comprise integrating finite impulse response filters (col.5 line 40-55). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted method wherein said directional control filters comprise integrating finite impulse response filters so as to ensure soothing and reduction of noise between frames.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer (US 9,191,743 B2).
15. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, wherein said bass frequency band and said directionally controllable frequency band are mentioned (fig.2), however, the art never mentioned of such bass band and controllable frequency band are separated in frequency by a border frequency, wherein said border frequency ranges from 200 Hz to 700 Hz.
However, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by varying the characteristics of either bass band and controllable frequency band by specifying the bass band and controllable frequency band as being separated in frequency by a border frequency, wherein said border frequency is in the range of from 200 Hz to 700 Hz for achieving the same expected result for generating the desired virtual pitch.
Claim(s) 24, 41, 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer (US 9,191,743 B2) and Hall (US 8,638,959 B1).
24. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, but the art never specify as wherein said step of generating a plurality of driving signals further comprises gradient processing.
However, Hall disclose of the similar method wherein a plurality of loudspeaker comprising wherein said step of generating a plurality of driving signals further comprises gradient processing (col.8 line 45-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills I the art could have modified the mentioned plurality loudspeakers by specifying such loudspeakers comprising wherein said step of generating a plurality of driving signals further comprises gradient processing for providing the directivity pattern signals.
Claim 41, the prior art disclose of a loudspeaker array system for directionally reproducing an input audio signal comprising: an input arranged to receive the input audio signal (fig.3 (102/300); col.3 line 55-65; col.4 line 25-32); one or more signal processors; and a plurality of loudspeakers.
Although, Beer never specify of wherein said plurality of loudspeakers comprises one or more gradient loudspeakers. However, Hall disclose of the similar aspect regarding loudspeakers wherein a plurality of loudspeakers comprising one or more gradient loudspeakers, (col.8 line 45-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills I the art could have modified the mentioned plurality loudspeakers by specifying such loudspeakers comprising one or more gradient loudspeakers for providing the directivity pattern signals.
The prior art further disclose of wherein said one or more signal processors are configured to process said input audio signal to generate a processed audio signal, wherein said input audio signal is processed by filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said input audio signal, wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies below said directionally controllable frequency band and wherein said input audio signal processing is input playback level dependent (Beer- fig.3 (322-324); fig.4 (420/440); col.5 line 10-15; col.6 line 25-45 & col.7 line 1-25); wherein said loudspeaker array system is arranged to generate a plurality of driving signals based on said processed audio signal by application of directional control filters (fig.3 (330); col.6 line 44-50); and wherein said plurality of loudspeakers are configured to directionally reproduce said input audio signal based on said plurality of driving signals (Beer-fig.3 (140); col.6 line 50-55).
48. (Previously Presented) The loudspeaker array system according to claim 41, wherein said loudspeaker array system is arranged in an enclosure (col.5 line 30-35).
Claim 49, Beer disclose of a method for directionally reproducing an input audio signal by a loudspeaker array comprising a plurality of loudspeakers , (fig.3 (140); col.5 line 15-22).
Although, Beer never specify of wherein said plurality of loudspeakers comprises one or more gradient loudspeakers. However, Hall disclose of the similar aspect regarding loudspeakers wherein a plurality of loudspeakers comprising one or more gradient loudspeakers, (col.8 line 45-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills I the art could have modified the mentioned plurality loudspeakers by specifying such loudspeakers comprising one or more gradient loudspeakers for providing the directivity pattern signals.
Beer further disclose of the method comprising the steps of: receiving said input audio signal (fig.3 (102/300); col.3 line 55-65; col.4 line 25-32); processing said input audio signal by signal processing to generate a processed audio signal, wherein said processing comprises filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said input audio signal, wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies below said directionally controllable frequency band and wherein said input audio signal processing is input playback level dependent (fig.3 (322-324); fig.4 (420/440); col.5 line 10-15; col.6 line 25-45 & col.7 line 1-25); generating a plurality of driving signals for said plurality of loudspeakers by signal processing, wherein said plurality of driving signals are generated based on said processed audio signal by application of directional control filters (fig.3 (330); col.6 line 44-50); and reproducing directional sound representing said input audio signal based on said plurality of driving signals using said loudspeaker array(fig.3 (140); col.6 line 50-55), wherein said input audio signal is directionally reproduced within a sound zone of an acoustical environment (col.5 line 30-35).
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer (US 9,191,743 B2) and Konagai et al. (US 7,970,153 B2).
claim 32, the method according to claim 1, as mentioned wherein said input audio signal is a first input audio signal, said processed audio signal is a first processed audio signal, but Beer never mentioned wherein the method further comprising: receiving a second input audio signal, said second input audio signal being different from said first input audio signal; processing said second input audio signal by signal processing to generate a second processed audio signal, and reproducing directional sound representing said first input audio signal and said second input audio signal based on said generated driver signals using said loudspeakers array.
However, Konagai et al. disclosed such method processing different input signals and further method comprising: receiving a second input audio signal, said second input audio signal being different from said first input audio signal; processing said second input audio signal by signal processing to generate a second processed audio signal, and reproducing directional sound representing said first input audio signal and said second input audio signal based on said generated driver signals using said loudspeakers array (fig.1 (1/3/11-12); fig.4). thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding the processing related to different inputs and comprising processing said second input audio signal by signal processing to generate a second processed audio signal, and reproducing directional sound representing said first input audio signal and said second input audio signal based on said generated driver signals using said loudspeakers array so as to allow different user to listen to distinct content signals.
Although the prior arts lacked the processing associated with the second input audio signal as being related to filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said second input audio signal; generating a plurality of driving signals for said plurality of loudspeakers by signal processing, wherein each driving signal is generated based on said directionally controlled frequency band of said first processed audio signal and said second processed audio signal by application of directional control filters, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior arts including the general processing associated with filtering harmonic by Beer by specifying of the first and second input each implement processing related to related to filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said second input audio signal; generating a plurality of driving signals for said plurality of loudspeakers by signal processing, wherein each driving signal is generated on the basis of said directionally controlled frequency band of said first processed audio signal and said second processed audio signal by application of directional control filters for achieving the same result as to provide such virtual pitch effect for the bass signals for each of the first and second input.
33. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 32, wherein said first input audio signal is directionally reproduced in a first sound zone and wherein said second input audio signal is directionally reproduced in a second sound zone, and wherein an acoustical environment comprises said first sound zone and said second sound zone (kon-fig.4).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer (US 9,191,743 B2) and Hall (US 8,638,959 B1) and Konagai et al. (US 7,970,153 B2).
Claim 43, the loudspeaker array system according to claim 41, but the prior art never specify such aspect wherein said loudspeaker array system comprises a plurality of amplifiers, each amplifier of said plurality of amplifiers being configured to adjust a gain of a generated driving signal and provide said gain- adjusted generated driving signal to a respective loudspeaker of said plurality of loudspeakers .
Konagai et al. disclosed such array system comprises a plurality of amplifiers, each amplifier of said plurality of amplifiers being configured to adjust a gain of a generated driving signal and provide said gain- adjusted generated driving signal to a respective loudspeaker of said plurality of loudspeakers (fig.2/7 (6); col.9 line 20-30). Thu, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect regarding the array system comprises a plurality of amplifiers, each amplifier of said plurality of amplifiers being configured to adjust a gain of a generated driving signal and provide said gain- adjusted generated driving signal to a respective loudspeaker of said plurality of loudspeakers so as to provide the generating amplified output to corresponding speaker array.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695