DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al (US 2023/0295361).
With regards to claims 1-4 and 6, Wu teaches the following compound:
or
(0013) reading on the claimed formula.
With regards to claims 7, 9-11, and 13, Wu teaches the following compound:
or
(0013) reading on the claimed formula. Wu teaches the compound to be used in a composition that contains the above monomer as well as an initiator (abstract).
With regards to claim 8, Wu teaches the composition to include an additional photocurable monomer (abstract).
With regards to claim 14, Wu is silent on the dynamic viscosity of the composition. However, the viscosity of a composition is dependent on the types and amounts of compounds used in a composition. Therefore, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the claimed tests are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claim 15, Wu teaches the initiator to be a photoinitiator (0018).
With regards to claims 16 and 19-20, Wu teaches the composition to be used for inkjet printing (0024) wherein the composition is applied to a substrate (0070) followed by curing with ultraviolet radiation (0019).
With regards to claim 17, Wu teaches the composition to be used in an optical electronic component (title).
With regards to claim 18, Wu teaches the composition to be used for an organic light-emitting diode (0020).
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheesman et al (1/28/2015, Materials today communication, 3, 122-129).
With regards to claims 1-3 and 6, Cheesman teaches the following compound:
(page 123).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The art does not include the compound wherein the claimed R3 is as defined.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763