DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-14, 16-17 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 8,336,330).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a storehouse (refer to fig.2) comprising:
a first space (20) configured to provide a space in which goods are stored;
a second space (refer to the space where evaporator 23 is located at) configured to provide a space in which a first heat exchanger (23) is accommodated, the second space being fluidly connected to the first space (refer to the solid lined arrows communicating between spaces);
a third space (11) configured to provide a space in which a second heat exchanger is accommodated (refer to col. 5, lines 4-8, wherein a condenser is provided);
a first wall (compartment door 21 forming the first wall) defining at least a part of the first space (20);
a second wall (back wall of the compartment as in fig.2) defining at least a part of the second space;
a third wall (bottom wall of compartment 10 as can be seen from fig. 2) defining at least a part of the third space;
a partition wall (refer to fig.2 below, wherein the term “partition wall” is being considered as internal wall or barrier that divides an internal cavity into separate compartment or zones) that separates the first space from the second space; and
a fan assembly (including first blowing fan 26) disposed on a path through which a fluid in the second space flows out of the second space and including a fan having a blade,
wherein the blade includes a part located inside the partition wall (refer to fig. 2, and col. 5, lines 49-52, wherein the first blowing fan 26 is arranged at the first blowing port 25b located in the partition wall).
Regarding claim 2, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Lee discloses wherein the second space comprises a first region (region accommodating evaporator 23) and a second region (25d) disposed relatively closer to the first space (20) than the first region.
Regarding claim 3, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2. Further, Lee discloses wherein the first region (region accommodating evaporator 23) and the second region (25d) are disposed such that the fluid in the second space passes through the first region (region accommodating evaporator 23) and then flows toward the second region (towards outlets 25c).
Regarding claim 4, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2. Further, Lee discloses wherein the second region (25d) is disposed adjacent to the first region in a horizontal direction (next to each other as in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 4. Further, Lee discloses wherein a direction in which the fluid in the second space flows in the first region of the second space (upwards) is different from a direction in which the fluid flows in the second region (downwards) of the second space.
Regarding claim 8, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2. Further, Lee discloses wherein the second region (25d) of the second space is disposed adjacent to the first region (including evaporator 23) of the second space in a vertical direction (both regions extending vertically next to each other).
Regarding claim 9, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 8. Further, Lee discloses wherein a direction in which the fluid in the second space flows in the first region (upwards) is different from a direction in which the fluid flows in the second region (downwards).
Regarding claim 10, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 9. Further, Lee discloses wherein the direction in which the fluid in the second space flows in the first region (upwards) is opposite to the direction in which the fluid flows in the second region (downwards).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a storehouse (refer to fig.2) comprising:
a first space (20) configured to provide a space in which goods are stored;
a second space (including evaporator 23) configured to provide a space in which a first heat exchanger (23) is accommodated;
a first wall (including door 21) defining at least a part of the first space (20);
a second wall (refer to fig. 2 below) defining at least a part of the second space;
a fan assembly (including blowing fan 26) disposed on a path through which a fluid flows in or out of the second space; and
an air guide (refer to fig. 2 below) configured to change a flow direction of the fluid after passing through the first heat exchanger (23), at least a portion of the air guide being disposed in an inside of the second space (refer to fig. 2 below),
wherein the air guide comprises a first surface and a second surface (refer to fig. 2 below), and
wherein a direction in which the fluid in the second space flows along the first surface of the air guide (upwards) is opposite to a direction in which the fluid flows along the second surface (downwards) of the air guide.
Regarding claim 13, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, Lee discloses wherein the air guide comprises a portion of a surface of the second wall (refer to annotated fig.2 above).
Regarding claim 14, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, Lee discloses wherein the air guide is provided as a separate component coupled to the inside of the second space (refer to fig. 2, wherein the air guide is a portion of the second wall which said wall is a separate component coupled to the inside of the second space).
Regarding claim 16, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, Lee discloses wherein the first surface of the air guide is disposed closer to the first heat exchanger (23) than the second surface of the air guide (refer to annotated fig. 2 above).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Lee discloses a storehouse (refer to fig.2) comprising:
a first space (20) configured to provide a space in which goods are stored;
a second space (including evaporator 23) configured to provide a space in which a first heat exchanger (23) is accommodated;
a first wall (including door 21) defining at least a part of the first space (20);
a second wall (refer to fig. 2 below) defining at least a part of the second space;
a fan assembly (including blowing fan 26) disposed on a path through which a fluid flows in or out of the second space; and
an air guide (refer to fig. 2 below) configured to change a flow direction of the fluid after passing through the first heat exchanger (23), at least a portion of the air guide being disposed in an inside of the second space (refer to fig. 2 below),
wherein the air guide comprises a first surface and a second surface (refer to fig. 2 below), and
wherein a direction in which the fluid in the second space flows along the first surface of the air guide (downwards) is opposite to a direction in which the fluid flows along the second surface (upwards) of the air guide,
wherein the second surface of the air guide is disposed closer to the fan assembly than the first surface of the air guide (refer to fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 21, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Lee discloses wherein the storehouse includes a refrigerator (refer to fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Lee discloses wherein first heat exchanger includes an evaporator, and the second heat exchanger includes a condenser (refer to col. 5, lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses a storehouse (refer to fig. 2) comprising:
a first space (20) configured to provide a space in which goods are stored;
a second space (where evaporator 23 is located at) configured to provide a space in which a first heat exchanger (23) is accommodated;
a third space (11) configured to provide a space in which a second heat exchanger is accommodated (refer to col. 5, lines 4-8, wherein a condenser is provided);
a first wall (21) defining at least a part of the first space (20);
a second wall (refer to fig. 2 below) defining at least a part of the second space;
a third wall (bottom wall of the cabinet as in fig.2) defining at least a part of the third space (11);
a passage (25b) formed through the second wall and
a fan assembly disposed on a path through which a fluid in the second space flows out of the second space and including a fan (26),
wherein the fan (26) is disposed such that an axis of the fan meets the passage (25b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 8,336,330) in view of Ko (US 2021/0131717).
Regarding claim 11, Lee meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 8. Further, Lee discloses the first region of the second space (which houses the first heat exchanger), but fails to explicitly disclose a passage provided in the first region of the second space and through which water formed on a surface of the first heat exchanger is discharged to an outside of the second space.
However, Ko teaches a refrigerator (refer to fig. 19), including a passage (1170) provided in a space and through which water formed on a surface of a first heat exchanger (1200) is discharged to an outside of the space.
One having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration would recognize that by providing a passage provided in the first region of the second space and through which water formed on a surface of the first heat exchanger is discharged to an outside of the second space, is essential for maintaining efficiency, safety by reducing water damage risk.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee by providing a passage provided in the first region of the second space and through which water formed on a surface of the first heat exchanger is discharged to an outside of the second space, in order to reduce water damage risk in view of the teachings by Ko along with the knowledge generally available to one having ordinary skill in the art of refrigeration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-13, filed on 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11 and 21-24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection has been made.
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763