DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-36 were originally cancelled.
Species 1: Claims 37-47 are withdrawn from consideration [Not Elected].
Species 2: Claims 48-56 Elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sargsyan et al. (US #2020/0066296) in view of Tan et al. (WO #2020/042707 A1).
Regarding Claim 48, Sargsyan discloses a method for enhancing audio signals (Fig. 1; ¶0004: a method of speech enhancement, the neural network contains a structure, and parameters based on a previous training using predefined noise data and clean speech data to result in a known ratio mask), comprising:
obtaining, by a control system, a distorted audio signal (Sargsyan ¶0030 discloses several overlapped frames of noisy speech);
generating, by the control system, a frequency-domain representation of the distorted audio signal (Sargsyan ¶0030 discloses compute Fourier coefficients of each frame);
providing, by the control system, the frequency-domain representation to a trained machine learning model (Sargsyan ¶0030 discloses concatenate them with a noise model and take as an input for a neural network [NN]).
Sargsyan may not explicitly disclose wherein the trained machine learning model comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN) comprising a plurality of convolutional layers and to a recurrent element, wherein an output of the recurrent element is provided to a subset of the plurality of convolutional layers; determining, by the control system, an enhancement mask based on an output of the trained machine learning model; generating, by the control system, a spectrum of an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on the enhancement mask and the distorted audio signal; and generating, by the control system, the enhanced audio signal based on the spectrum of the enhanced audio signal.
However, Tan (title, abstract, Figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the trained machine learning model comprises a convolutional neural network (CNN) (Tan ¶0021 discloses the convolutional recurrent neural network model is constructed by training a pre-collected speech training set using the convolutional recurrent neural network. ¶0027 discloses the speech training set is composed of background noise collected in daily environments, various types of male and female voices, and speech signals mixed with specific signal-to-noise ratios) comprising a plurality of convolutional layers and to a recurrent element (Tan ¶0022 discloses the convolutional neural network is a convolutional encoder-decoder structure, wherein the encoder includes a set of convolutional layers and pooling layers, the structure of the decoder is the same as that of the encoder in reverse order, and the output of the encoder is connected to the input of the decoder. ¶0120 discloses the CRN model has five convolutional layers in the encoder, five deconvolutional layers in the decoder, and two LSTM layers between the encoder and decoder), wherein an output of the recurrent element is provided to a subset of the plurality of convolutional layers (Tan ¶0095 discloses the convolution operation in CNN is based on a two-dimensional structure. It’s definition of the local receptive field is that each low-level feature is only related to a subset of the input, such as the topological neighborhood);
determining, by the control system, an enhancement mask based on an output of the trained machine learning model (Tan ¶0082 discloses the acoustic features obtained in step S110 are used as input to a convolutional recurrent neural network model. Iterative calculations are performed in the convolutional recurrent neural network model to calculate the ratio membrane for the acoustic features. ¶0083 discloses in this step, the IRM [Ideal Ratio Mask] is used as the target of the iterative calculation. The IRM of each time-frequency cell in the spectrum can be expressed by the equation in ¶0085. ¶0086 discloses by predicting an ideal ratio membrane during supervised training, and then using the ratio membrane to mask acoustic features, a denoised speech signal can be obtained. ¶0087 discloses step S130: Use a ratio membrane to mask the acoustic features. ¶0088 discloses in step S140, the masked acoustic features are synthesized with the phase of the single-channel sound signal to obtain a denoised speech signal);
generating, by the control system, a spectrum of an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on the enhancement mask and the distorted audio signal (Tan ¶0089 discloses once trained, the trained CRN [Convolutional Recurrent Network] can be used for speech denoising applications. Using a trained neural network for a specific application is called inference or operation. During the inference phase, each layer of the CRN model processes noisy signals. The T-F mask is derived from the inference results and then used to weight [or mask] the amplitude of noisy speech to produce a clearer enhanced speech signal than the original noisy input); and
generating, by the control system, the enhanced audio signal based on the spectrum of the enhanced audio signal (Tan ¶0090 discloses the masked spectral amplitude vector, along with the phase of the single-channel audio signal, is sent to the inverse Fourier transform to derive the speech signal in the corresponding time domain).
Sargsyan and Tan are analogous art as they pertain to speech enhancement. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify speech enhancement sytstem (as taught by Sargsyan) to greatly reduce the number of neural network parameters, the amount of data storage, and the requirement for system bandwidth since this scheme uses a pre-trained convolutional recurrent neural network model (as taught by Tan, ¶0091) to achieve good noise reduction performance while greatly improving the real-time performance of single-channel speech noise reduction (Tan, ¶0091).
Regarding Claim 49, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 48, wherein obtaining the frequency-domain representation of the distorted audio signal comprises:
generating an initial frequency-domain representation of the distorted audio signal (Sargsyan ¶0030 discloses several overlapped frames of noisy speech. claim 1 performing a discrete Fourier transform on each frame of a first subset of said plurality of frames to provide a plurality of frequency-domain outputs. claim 2 performing a discrete Fourier transform on each frame of a second subset of said plurality of frames to provide a plurality of frequency-domain outputs. claim 3 performing a discrete Fourier transform on each frame of a third subset of said plurality of frames to provide a plurality of frequency-domain outputs); and
applying a filter that represents filtering of a human cochlea to the initial frequency-domain representation of the distorted audio signal to generate the frequency-domain representation of the distorted audio signal (Sargsyan ¶0035 discloses the input of the NN is computed using bark scale band features; Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding Claim 50, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 49. But Sargsyan may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of convolutional layers comprise a first subset of convolutional layers with increasing dilation values and a second subset of convolutional layers with decreasing dilation values.
However, Tan (title, abstract, Figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the plurality of convolutional layers comprise a first subset of convolutional layers with increasing dilation values and a second subset of convolutional layers with decreasing dilation values (Tan ¶0021 discloses the convolutional recurrent neural network model is constructed by training a pre-collected speech training set using the convolutional recurrent neural network. ¶0027 discloses the speech training set is composed of background noise collected in daily environments, various types of male and female voices, and speech signals mixed with specific signal-to-noise ratios. ¶0095 discloses the topological local constraints within a convolutional layer make the weight matrix very sparse, so the two layers connected by the convolutional operation only have local connections. This claim recites implementation details with regards the CNN architecture. In the absence of any remarkable associated technical effect, this claim is not regarded to be inventive).
Sargsyan and Tan are analogous art as they pertain to speech enhancement. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify speech enhancement sytstem (as taught by Sargsyan) to greatly reduce the number of neural network parameters, the amount of data storage, and the requirement for system bandwidth since this scheme uses a pre-trained convolutional recurrent neural network model (as taught by Tan, ¶0091) to achieve good noise reduction performance while greatly improving the real-time performance of single-channel speech noise reduction (Tan, ¶0091).
Regarding Claim 51, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 50. But Sargsyan may not explicitly disclose wherein an output of a convolutional layer of the first subset of convolutional layers is passed to a convolutional layer of the second subset of convolutional layers having a same dilation value.
However, Tan (title, abstract, Figs. 1-13) teaches wherein an output of a convolutional layer of the first subset of convolutional layers is passed to a convolutional layer of the second subset of convolutional layers having a same dilation value (Tan ¶0095 discloses the convolution operation in CNN is based on a two-dimensional structure. Its definition of the local receptive field is that each low-level feature is only related to a subset of the input, such as the topological neighborhood. This claim recites implementation details with regards the CNN architecture. In the absence of any remarkable associated technical effect, this claim is not regarded to be inventive).
Sargsyan and Tan are analogous art as they pertain to speech enhancement. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify speech enhancement sytstem (as taught by Sargsyan) to greatly reduce the number of neural network parameters, the amount of data storage, and the requirement for system bandwidth since this scheme uses a pre-trained convolutional recurrent neural network model (as taught by Tan, ¶0091) to achieve good noise reduction performance while greatly improving the real-time performance of single-channel speech noise reduction (Tan, ¶0091).
Regarding Claim 52, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 50. But Sargsyan may not explicitly disclose wherein the output of the recurrent element is provided to the second subset of convolutional layers.
However, Tan (title, abstract, Figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the output of the recurrent element is provided to the second subset of convolutional layers (Tan ¶0095 discloses the convolution operation in CNN is based on a two-dimensional structure. Its definition of the local receptive field is that each low-level feature is only related to a subset of the input, such as the topological neighborhood. This claim recites implementation details with regards the CNN architecture. In the absence of any remarkable associated technical effect, this claim is not regarded to be inventive).
Sargsyan and Tan are analogous art as they pertain to speech enhancement. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify speech enhancement sytstem (as taught by Sargsyan) to greatly reduce the number of neural network parameters, the amount of data storage, and the requirement for system bandwidth since this scheme uses a pre-trained convolutional recurrent neural network model (as taught by Tan, ¶0091) to achieve good noise reduction performance while greatly improving the real-time performance of single-channel speech noise reduction (Tan, ¶0091).
Regarding Claim 53, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 48. But Sargsyan may not explicitly disclose wherein the output of the recurrent element is provided to the subset of the plurality of convolutional layers by reshaping the output of the recurrent element.
However, Tan (title, abstract, Figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the output of the recurrent element is provided to the subset of the plurality of convolutional layers by reshaping the output of the recurrent element (Tan ¶0093 discloses step S121: Combine the convolutional neural network with a recurrent neural network with long short-term memory to obtain a convolutional recurrent neural network. ¶0095 discloses the convolution operation in CNN is based on a two-dimensional structure. Its definition of the local receptive field is that each low-level feature is only related to a subset of the input, such as the topological neighborhood. This claim recites implementation details with regards the CNN architecture. In the absence of any remarkable associated technical effect, this claim is not regarded to be inventive).
Sargsyan and Tan are analogous art as they pertain to speech enhancement. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify speech enhancement sytstem (as taught by Sargsyan) to greatly reduce the number of neural network parameters, the amount of data storage, and the requirement for system bandwidth since this scheme uses a pre-trained convolutional recurrent neural network model (as taught by Tan, ¶0091) to achieve good noise reduction performance while greatly improving the real-time performance of single-channel speech noise reduction (Tan, ¶0091).
Regarding Claim 54, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 48. But Sargsyan may not explicitly disclose wherein the recurrent element is at least one of a gated recurrent unit (GRU), a long short-term memory (LSTM) network or an Elman recurrent neural network (RNN).
However, Tan (title, abstract, Figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the recurrent element is at least one of a gated recurrent unit (GRU), a long short-term memory (LSTM) network (Tan ¶0097 discloses a recurrent neural network with long short-term memory [LSTM] is a type of temporal recurrent neural network) or an Elman recurrent neural network (RNN) (Tan ¶0108 discloses Convolutional recurrent neural networks [CRNs] are obtained by combining convolutional neural networks with recurrent neural networks that have long short-term memory. CRN combines the characteristics of CNN and LSTM, thus enabling efficient speech denoising while significantly reducing the number of neural network parameters and effectively decreasing the size of the CRN).
Sargsyan and Tan are analogous art as they pertain to speech enhancement. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify speech enhancement sytstem (as taught by Sargsyan) to greatly reduce the number of neural network parameters, the amount of data storage, and the requirement for system bandwidth since this scheme uses a pre-trained convolutional recurrent neural network model (as taught by Tan, ¶0091) to achieve good noise reduction performance while greatly improving the real-time performance of single-channel speech noise reduction (Tan, ¶0091).
Regarding Claim 55, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 48, wherein generating the enhanced audio signal comprises multiplying the enhancement mask by the frequency-domain representation of the distorted audio signal (Sargsyan ¶0040 discloses the systems and methods then multiply successive frames with the scale coefficient, in order to scale the energy of the signal to the target energy. Post processing tools also include ratio mask modification. ¶0061 discloses first, create the input matrix that will be input to the NN. This is done by taking the ratio mask predicted by NN for the previous frame and multiplying it by the amplitudes of the Fourier coefficients of the previous frame of the noisy speech audio).
Regarding Claim 56, Sargsyan in view of Tan discloses the method of claim 48, wherein the distorted audio signal is a live-captured audio signal and/or includes one or more of reverberation or noise (Sargsyan ¶0060 discloses process noisy speech audio to obtain speech enhancement. The noisy speech audio can be audio that has not previously been used in training the NN. ¶0026 discloses the methods and systems can further be used for noise robust automatic speech recognition [a.k.a. speech to text], and for improved machine understanding of intents in human speech [Alexa, Google Home, etc.]).
Conclusion
/YOGESHKUMAR PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691